Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world of Gran Pulse is sinking into the sea and what remains is now called Nova Chrysalia. With only thirteen days remaining until the end of the world, Chaos reigns in a world that never ages. New life cannot be born. People need salvation. As Lightning, it is your mission to save asThe world of Gran Pulse is sinking into the sea and what remains is now called Nova Chrysalia. With only thirteen days remaining until the end of the world, Chaos reigns in a world that never ages. New life cannot be born. People need salvation. As Lightning, it is your mission to save as many souls as possible so that they may be brought to the new world. Along the journey, you will encounter familiar faces and engage new foes in all new lands. You must ultimately choose which souls to save and which to abandon and fully understand Lightning's true destiny. It all ends here. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Lightning Returns: FFXIII - TGS 2013 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 28, 2015
    72
    The PC porting of Final Fantasy XIII's last installment is the best of the trilogy, but it still isn't enough to raise the game from its intrinsic mediocrity.
  2. Dec 22, 2015
    70
    The PC version of Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII is a good porting that runs smoothly at 1080p/60fps on older PCs. The game has still few balancing issues, but its combat system can be fun.
  3. Jan 11, 2016
    70
    A great pc port of a not-so-great jrpg. It’s still a decent experience for fans of the series or the genre though, and the sheer technical value of this version is enough to try it out if you missed it in the past.
  4. Jan 11, 2016
    68
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Dec 13, 2015
    60
    It may be one step forward and two steps back in the overall Final Fantasy XIII series, but it is still an attractive package.
  6. Mar 1, 2016
    60
    In comparison to XIII it’s certainly a stronger experience, but it’s a case of whether you can stomach yet another adventure in that vein.
  7. CD-Action
    Mar 4, 2016
    60
    Lightning returns for the last time, as a PC port, and wow, Japanese do not understand computers at all. Not even mouse support!? [02/2016, p.59]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jan 8, 2016
    10
    good ported game. you can take 60 fps in game. battle system is real time system and have 4 skill you can use in battle. defense attack magicgood ported game. you can take 60 fps in game. battle system is real time system and have 4 skill you can use in battle. defense attack magic and debuff. there are a lot of skills you can choise and you can use 4 skills. open world gameplay. graphics and city designs are perfect. i liked them. scenario is not good and not bad. it is mixed but there are cliches. no skill tree. you can make stronger your character with items and skill. skills can be improved. also outfits can make your character stronger. every outfit is different. some of all are phsycal damage some of all magical damage some of all tanky-like paladin-. every outfit has 4 skill you can make custom. no teammates only lightning. and lightning can use 3 outfits in a battle.

    i think it is good arpg game. better than 13 and 13-2.
    Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2016
    10
    Amazing music, Original combat system, Open World and best graphics than console versions, highly recommended for players looking for aAmazing music, Original combat system, Open World and best graphics than console versions, highly recommended for players looking for a challenge game , time is not merely a problem, complete the game you tomata at least 50 to 60 hours depending on the difficulty , 100% recommended 10/10 Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2017
    10
    I liked this game a lot, first of all, Lightning used to be together with his friends and family in FFXIII, in FFXIII-2 she was separated fromI liked this game a lot, first of all, Lightning used to be together with his friends and family in FFXIII, in FFXIII-2 she was separated from everyone but watching from the shadows. In LRFF she finally fulfills her dreams where she can be reunited with everyone, though, shortly after the events of this game, they are separated (again) but this time Eclair (Lightning) accepts her fate and steps off the train. It kind of reminds me of my own life: I met people bound by fate and without them I'd never be in the position I'd be in now. I tried to meet everyone again, but it seemed to be impossible.

    Luxerion was very dark, and the slow piano music made me teary. You are looking for your friends; the time is running out, and here you are, in a city where one man sings the saviour song, and you just stand still and want to cry. It feels like there is no hope.

    The romantic music that Masashi Hamauzu really causes me to feel melancholic; the music is 10/10.
    Yusnaan at night felt like Sapporo, northern of Japan, where I was walking around with a girl I liked very much at the park when there were neon lights everywhere, just like that city. During the night the music becomes very festive-like, and then the fireworks parade makes the game feel a little bit more lively.

    The wilderness also had great music composed by Mizuta Naoshi, and re-used tracks from FFXIII-2, this further made me feel very nostalgic. During the dark, I really felt alone and when I found the Moogle village I felt fuzzy and warm. But I kept thinking about the Chocobo. Once we went through the forests together, it didn't feel lonely anymore.

    The desert didn't have a sad atmosphere to it, and also because we meet one comrade. Seeing the train rails in the sky and thinking it will go to the city areas made me feel ''connected''

    Next the battle system: there were so many garbs with abilities attached to them, and in the beginning I was so confused, I couldn't understand how battle worked. However, once I got the hang of it, combining and firing off gigantic spells on my enemies and critting because they are weak to it felt so satisfying.

    The atmosphere was fantastic; the music fitted well and I'm listening to it on daily basis, the story about uniting and then accepting farewell was very sad and nice, the battle system felt satisfying, the art and level design were superb!
    Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2017
    9
    Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII - достаточно интересное окончание трилогии Final Fantasy XIII если и не в сюжетном плане, то вLightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII - достаточно интересное окончание трилогии Final Fantasy XIII если и не в сюжетном плане, то в геймплейном уж точно. Игра в отличии от других частей делает уклон в экшен добавляя в механику таймер который заставляет игрока продумывать план действий на перёд и активно двигаться по не самом сильном сюжету. В боевой системе управление доступно только за Лайтинг (в некоторых случаях в партию дают помощников, но это единичные случаи), система умений перенесена с персонажей на костюмы с помощью которых можно комбинировать разные приёмы. Так же боевая система стала ещо более активная и зрелищная, что в общем учитывая современные реалии скорее преимущество чем недостаток, хотя чистокровным слешером игра не стала. Основной сюжетный квест не особо оригинальный и упорно продвигает одну тему "дружба спасёт мир" что впрочем не смотря на свою наивность смотрится достаточно мило, есть несколько неплохих сюжетных поворотов, а также большое количество сайд-квестов от банального найди/собери/убей до вполне интересных детективных историй. Графика и стиль игры не равномерные, чувствуется "бюджетность игры": основные персонажи и монстры проработанные значительно лучше чем простые боты разнообразие которых создаётся комбинацией разных типов одежды, аксессуаров и причёсок, но особым недостатком не являются, если воспринимать игру на уровне игр поколения ПС3, также в игре реализован псевдо-открытий мир в виде четырёх больших локаций исследования. Музыкальное оформление игры выдержано на достаточно высоком уровне как в плане музыки (особенно музыканты в поселениях), так и внутриигровых звуков и озвучки персонажей. Относительно ПК версии стоить отметить достаточно хорошую оптимизацию и не требовательность игры, хотя в 2015 году можно было и сделать более разнообразную настройку параметров игры, также игра не поддерживает использование мыши, хотя это назвать большой проблемой не выходит, всё равно через пол-часа час привыкаешь.
    В общем игра получилась достаточно добротным представителем JRPG с элементами ARPG.
    Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2016
    9
    I had anxiety about the time limit until the second playthrough when I realized I had like 3 or more days left and I had done everythingI had anxiety about the time limit until the second playthrough when I realized I had like 3 or more days left and I had done everything except wipe out all last ones. Lot of content, but it's set-up to where you can do all of it. Still I'm taking my time and just playing it multiple playthroughs instead of even trying to use a guide and play everything all at once.

    I won't spoil anything or even tell you anything you can see from any other honest review--meaning anything 7 and up. I'll just say this is truly Final Fantasy and I haven't felt like this about the franchise since 6 (when it was still called 3 in the US). XIII series is really great. Totally epic. Not sure what the best trilogy in gaming of all time is, but this would be a top candidate for me. Haven't finished Witcher 3 yet.
    Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2017
    8
    Good solid game. While I'd say games like Lost Odyssey and Final Fantasy 15 are most definitely the better games, I enjoyed my time in theGood solid game. While I'd say games like Lost Odyssey and Final Fantasy 15 are most definitely the better games, I enjoyed my time in the Lightning trilogy. The branching paths of Final Fantasy 13-2 are gone for the most part in 13-3, replaced by a time limit. This is a bit of a letdown since, I know most players do in fact love exploring in RPG/adventure games rather than being rushed through the main story. Although playing parts of Lightning Returns over and over is quite a good time, it is a bit limiting that you can't stop or slow down the clock. Overall I do have to recommend this one as it is many times superior to FF13, and if I was to compare it to FF Type 0...I would give Type 0 the nod in terms of story but not gameplay. There is something very satisfying, in a Devil May Cry sort of sense, about playing Lightning Returns in different ways and what it truly needed was more optional bosses. I give it an 8 out of 10 since it lacks the branching paths FF fans really love. Overall it is an impressive game, don't overlook this even if you've not tried FF13 before since it's better. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2017
    0
    time limit. unoriginal quests. world ends regardless. worst ff ever.

    squeenix tried to squeeze more money out of player base and fans.
    time limit. unoriginal quests. world ends regardless. worst ff ever.

    squeenix tried to squeeze more money out of player base and fans. AVOID

    You absolutely NEED a guide for the "good" ending or to find a particular enemy. Also, some enemies are invincible.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews