Mafia III Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1693 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In 1968, after years in Vietnam, Lincoln Clay knows this truth: Family isn't who you're born with, it's who you are willing to die for. Now back home, in a new New Orleans, Lincoln is dedicated to rebuilding his life, but established ties keep him from exiting the city. It'll take more thanIn 1968, after years in Vietnam, Lincoln Clay knows this truth: Family isn't who you're born with, it's who you are willing to die for. Now back home, in a new New Orleans, Lincoln is dedicated to rebuilding his life, but established ties keep him from exiting the city. It'll take more than a few friends to make it in this new world. Intense gun fights, hand-to-hand combat, white knuckle driving and street smarts will all be required. But with the right crew, tough decisions and some dirty hands, it's possible to ascend to the top of the city's underworld. It's about time to create a new family. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mafia III - Lincoln Clay The Soldier Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Oct 17, 2016
    80
    Mafia 3 is a title that should be tried to the end to be appreciated. The story of Lincoln Clay is worth to be played, because too often the narrative plot is put aside in favor of high resolution textures and stunning special effects.
  2. Oct 18, 2016
    78
    If anything, I think the game is worth checking out for the story alone. It’s unfortunate that the gameplay is so much of a slog that some players may not think the story is worth the trouble. However, if you have the time, the extra coin, and love mob stories, this tale has a satisfying end.
  3. Oct 24, 2016
    73
    Mafia III does most things right, though. It is an enjoyable game, one that has probably the best licensed soundtracks for a game outside of a music-based game. The combat and cover mechanics work really and the cut-scenes allow the story to progress smoothly in the wonderfully presented city of New Bordeaux.
  4. Oct 14, 2016
    60
    Mafia 3's goals are ambitious and even laudable, but to tell a serious story about race, especially within the form of an open-world action game, requires heavy lifting. For all of the writing's attempts to push the genre forward, its game design is trapped in the open-world conventions of five years ago. That stale foundation isn't strong enough to hold the weight of Mafia 3's words — even if they're words that are worth hearing.
  5. Feb 8, 2017
    60
    The story and characters are excellent and the game is enjoyable, but the open world detracts from the experience rather than adding to it.
  6. Nov 3, 2016
    58
    Hangar 13 has done a terrible job on the PC port. But even ignoring all those pesky technical issues, Mafia 3 suffers from lack of variety. The game’s open world is dead and artificial, while the great atmosphere and competent storytelling feel wasted.
  7. Oct 10, 2016
    40
    It tells its story well, with smart writing and some superb characterisation that elevate its simple revenge plot. Ultimately, however, it never capitalises on its open world potential, instead succumbing to an almost constant lull of tediously unimaginative repetition that makes for a boring and dated open-world shooter.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 343
  1. May 20, 2020
    10
    I had a bad opinion when it first released...Gotta say that now after 4 years that ive retried playing it i find this game is a dope! I enjoyI had a bad opinion when it first released...Gotta say that now after 4 years that ive retried playing it i find this game is a dope! I enjoy every moment of it. Music ,enviroment , gun shooting all i wanted. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2016
    8
    Great story and great gameplay. Amazing game overall! Highly recommended!!

    -- It's funny how everyone is crying about the 30fps problem...
    Great story and great gameplay. Amazing game overall! Highly recommended!!

    -- It's funny how everyone is crying about the 30fps problem... I know it's a shame that we have these kind of 'issues' in 2016 but for God sake... Grow up! 2k already said that they are working on it. You are like 5 years old kids crying about stupid things... If you are a real gamer, you will enjoy the game no matter what. Now I understand why everyone hate the PC community... We are always showing how stupid we are basing our reviews on a frame rate and not on the game itself.--
    Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2021
    7
    The definitive edition is a very good game. Most bugs have been fixed. There are very few Bug. The story is very good. The vehicles areThe definitive edition is a very good game. Most bugs have been fixed. There are very few Bug. The story is very good. The vehicles are well controlled. The game can become repetitive after a long time. Many times you do the same thing in the game. I recommend buying it at a discounted price. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2016
    4
    Game sadly feels like an unfinished product. A lot of technical difficulties, slighlty outdated graphics and more technical problems. Story onGame sadly feels like an unfinished product. A lot of technical difficulties, slighlty outdated graphics and more technical problems. Story on the other hand is good, but after an hour or two game got extremely repetetive, to the point of being a chore, not a fun experience Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2016
    2
    My older rig (PhenomII x6 1090T + 16GB DDR3 + GTX 960) couldn't run this game as it needs SSE4.x Instruction set for some reason which myMy older rig (PhenomII x6 1090T + 16GB DDR3 + GTX 960) couldn't run this game as it needs SSE4.x Instruction set for some reason which my Processor Lacks . So I had to play this on a Friends PC.

    1. Graphics : Terrible Terrible graphics - All I see is low res textures with washed out colors and a horrible yellow filter .

    FC2 had this color filter too - but at least it didn't look like a blurry mess like this one . This game has 10 GBs of movies and ~6 GBs of audio + 15 Gb laguage packs. . Everything else goes to models, animation and textures. So one can guess, why the game is so blurry and why it can’t be fixed by any patch. They simply made it with year 2000 textures. Most of them do not exceed 512×512 pixels in resolution. Meh.

    2. AI - Non Existent .
    3. Repetitive ? - yes , but i didn't mind it.
    4. Combat - Satisfying , not challenging at all - but GOOD.
    5. Story - Good .
    6. Vehicle control - easy , mafia 2 had harder controls .
    7. Optimization : Really really poor - A game that looks this bad with such a terrible AI should not demand this kinda resource.

    Question to the Devs - why do you need SSE4.x instruction set for this dogs**t?

    Current state of game : unfinished .

    AAA games these days ......;.....
    Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2016
    1
    Mafia 2 is my favorite game of all time. Mafia 3 is the worst game I have ever played. It is complete waste of time. Very ugly game andMafia 2 is my favorite game of all time. Mafia 3 is the worst game I have ever played. It is complete waste of time. Very ugly game and terrible PC port. They have destroyed one of the coolest franchise in gaming industry. WP! Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2020
    0
    Great Music, nice combat, stupid story of having to kill the leader first and beating the 2nd half of the game felt rather repetitive, but itGreat Music, nice combat, stupid story of having to kill the leader first and beating the 2nd half of the game felt rather repetitive, but it included some cool characters and enjoyable moments Expand

See all 343 User Reviews

Trailers