Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 18, 2019
    78
    Onimusha is still a good action game, that run smoothly on PC and give us an hope for a new brand title.
  2. Jan 15, 2019
    70
    Onimusha is still pleasant and fluid to play, showing off those beautiful precalculated backgrounds that we once loved. However, the remastared version suffers from its lack of new content, and doesn't fix some of the problems we faced many years ago.
  3. Jan 15, 2019
    70
    While control issues still hamper Onimusha: Warlords Remastered, the game looks and runs better than ever, and the hard-hitting combat keep it fun and exciting throughout.
  4. Jan 15, 2019
    70
    A short but sweet gem of a game dusted off and polished by Capcom for a quick nostalgia trip. Visual and auditory upgrades make this the definitive version of Onimusha: Warlords, but nothing can hide the game’s aging design.
  5. Jan 15, 2019
    68
    A fun relic of the early PS2 days that I still like a lot, but slightly too dated for most players to enjoy.
  6. Jan 15, 2019
    65
    I definitely had fun with Onimusha: Warlords, despite many of its mechanics and visuals aging poorly since 2001. A lot of my enjoyment comes from revisiting an old favorite, but there's not enough new stuff here to recommend this to someone new to the series. The save system, terrible animations, and unskippable cutscenes just don't work in the modern era. It's a shame, because Onimusha is one of my favorite PS2 games, and just a few tweaks to some of the older systems would have helped enormously. The modern release is exactly how I remember it, and unfortunately in 2019, that's just not good enough.
  7. Jan 15, 2019
    60
    Onimusha: Warlords is a lazy remaster of an honourable but anachronistic video game. The new control system is a nice addition but we simply expected something more.
  8. Jan 23, 2019
    50
    Onimusha: Warlords still boasts solid story and innovative creature design, but more than anything else, this title is lesson on game design in the days when consoles could have beautiful art or 3D worlds, but not both.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 14 out of 30
  1. Jan 27, 2019
    9
    Don't listen to the haters, this is an excellent port. While I wish they had included the first 3 games in a single package, the first gameDon't listen to the haters, this is an excellent port. While I wish they had included the first 3 games in a single package, the first game was the only one I actually played back in the day and it's aged fairly well. The addition of analog movement and widescreen resolutions make this 2001 classic even better. Full Review »
  2. Jan 16, 2019
    0
    It's not a good remastering. PCSX2 can do better.
    Whoever did this should be ashamed.
  3. Jan 15, 2019
    9
    The port was good. I wish they brought the whole series because part 2 is so much better. Thank you for bringing this to pc though. Loved it.The port was good. I wish they brought the whole series because part 2 is so much better. Thank you for bringing this to pc though. Loved it. Now if i get part 2. I can beat taht game multiple times due to the better and funner gameplay. Thank you!!!1 Full Review »