User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 383 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 383

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2020
    9
    Absolutely fantastic metroidvania. Between Team Cherry (Hollow Knight) and Moon Studios ( Ori franchise) metroidvanias will never be the same again.
  2. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    Сказать что эта игра шедевральна - значит ничего не сказать. Каждый аспект игры великолепен: сюжет, подача, визуальный дизайн, музыкальное сопровождение, геймплей, атмосфера, вообще все, что можно упомянуть (кроме технической составляющей, но об этом позже). Игра является прямым продолжением прошлой части и начинается практически сразу после ее окончания, но что самое важное - являетсяСказать что эта игра шедевральна - значит ничего не сказать. Каждый аспект игры великолепен: сюжет, подача, визуальный дизайн, музыкальное сопровождение, геймплей, атмосфера, вообще все, что можно упомянуть (кроме технической составляющей, но об этом позже). Игра является прямым продолжением прошлой части и начинается практически сразу после ее окончания, но что самое важное - является красивым финалом всей этой истории. Игру не оставили недосказанной с открытым финалом для возможности доить ее дальше, пока она не выдохнется, игра закончена, точки расставлены, история этого мира рассказана. Что касается геймплея, то он слегка отличается от прошлой части. Боевая система теперь представляет из себя набор скилов, которые можно прокачивать, покупать и размещать в активные слоты (а можно и нет, на ваше усмотрение). Ровно по такому же принципу в игре присутствуют пассивные умения. Так же в игре появилось поселение, которое можно прокачать, что даст нам минимальные плюшки, и цепочка сайдквестов, которые выполняются у разных NPC. Во всем остальном - это тот же самые ори, метроидвания с сильным упором на платформинг, челленджи и нарратив. В целом меня абсолютно все нововведения порадовали и я все 20 часов с упоением проходил игру.

    Что касается технической составляющей... ну не обошлось без ложки дегтя. Не знаю в каком состоянии находится игра в момент прочтения обзора, но на старте оно было далеко от идеального. Я столкнулся лишь с небольшим количеством багов: пару раз игра зависала намертво, пару раз провалился под текстуры, проблема с иконкой одного сайдквеста, которая зависла на карте (она не исчезала до конца игры, это бесило меня невероятно). Что удивляет больше всего - это то, что игра вышла на "золото" еще в январе(!), чем moon studios занимались 3 месяца, для меня так и останется загадкой, а чем они занимаются на момент написания отзыва - для меня еще большая загадка. С релиза прошла почти неделя, а патчем даже не пахнет. В общем, не все так хорошо через неделю после релиза как хотелось бы.

    Резюмируя: игра просто фантастическая, даже проблемы с технической частью не смогли перебить тот восторг, который я получил после прохождения игры. Видно, что moon studios делали игру с большой любовью. Персонажи игры словно живые, к ним проникаешься, за них переживаешь, с ними грустно расставаться. Пройти дилогию Ori все равно, что прожить маленькую жизнь, настолько она полна эмоциями, переживаниями и событиями. В итоге 10/10, Ori and the Will of the Wisps к прохождению обязательна.
    Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good product! But it have same bugs,I hope moon studio fix quickly!I love the game! Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2020
    10
    Before I say anything else play the first game. Only than could you truly appreciate how masterful this game is. I don't even want to call it a game because it is truly beyond that title.
    The visuals are like walking through a living and breathing painting were every brush stroke is perfection. The music, the sound, the emotion of this game is genre defining in its excellence. Triple A
    Before I say anything else play the first game. Only than could you truly appreciate how masterful this game is. I don't even want to call it a game because it is truly beyond that title.
    The visuals are like walking through a living and breathing painting were every brush stroke is perfection. The music, the sound, the emotion of this game is genre defining in its excellence. Triple A developers take note.
    This is how you make a game. This is how you make art..this is how you tell a story.
    Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    I could easily drop 2 points for horrendous technical problems. Freezing, frame skipping, ctd, sound issues, slow downs...
    But level design, story and presentation is utterly perfect multiply perfect! Story will break your hearth 10/10
  6. Mar 17, 2020
    10
    Amazing game. Played through the first game for the first time about a week ago when it was on sale. Loved the first one so much I bought this game the very next day. Game is a blast to play, music is amazing, love the characters/story, and so many emotional parts.

    Currently, the game runs well with only a few minor bugs. An uncommon issue I had is the music would sometimes cut to a
    Amazing game. Played through the first game for the first time about a week ago when it was on sale. Loved the first one so much I bought this game the very next day. Game is a blast to play, music is amazing, love the characters/story, and so many emotional parts.

    Currently, the game runs well with only a few minor bugs. An uncommon issue I had is the music would sometimes cut to a brief ZAP sound mid track for a split second. Other than that it's one of my favorite games of all time already!
    Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    Novy Ori dohráno za nějakých cca 16 hodin a hlásá mi to tu 97% :D Samozřejmě si tam skočím ještě na pár zastávek abych dosebral nějaké ty achievy a měl tam tu 100% položku.

    Hra je nádherná. Stejně jako kdysi první díl. Hudba je tu nádherná. Stejně, jako kdysi první díl. Příběh je tu nadhe…… no prostě chápete :D Teď co se liší oproti prvnímu dílu. Hodně se druhy díl inspiroval od hry
    Novy Ori dohráno za nějakých cca 16 hodin a hlásá mi to tu 97% :D Samozřejmě si tam skočím ještě na pár zastávek abych dosebral nějaké ty achievy a měl tam tu 100% položku.

    Hra je nádherná. Stejně jako kdysi první díl. Hudba je tu nádherná. Stejně, jako kdysi první díl. Příběh je tu nadhe…… no prostě chápete :D Teď co se liší oproti prvnímu dílu.

    Hodně se druhy díl inspiroval od hry Hollow knight. Což je jenom dobře protože ta hra je pro mě další 10/10 ehm spoiler alert na hodnocení na konci :D Svět je tu mnohem plnější než byl první díl. Potkáváme zde různá stvořeni a svět díky tomu působí plně a živě. Je tu spousta vedlejších úkolů, které jsou prostě fajn a osvěžují průchod a back tracking po světě.

    Souboje s bossy. Těch je tu mnohem vice a jsou mnohem propracovanější. Nejvíc mi dala zabrat pavoučice a finální boss s jeho poslední fází byl dost agresiv :D

    Co se týče hlavního příběhu tak ten byl pro Oriho velmi osudový. Ale na druhou stranu pro „Hlavní“ vedlejší postavy už nějak nezbyl. Je pravda, že moc prostoru neměli ani minule. Tak tady ho bylo ještě méně :D Příběh byl hlavně o Orim a nových postavičkách z nové lokality.

    Za mě parádní hra. Jen mi nějak přijde, že jsem ji dohrál moc rychle (teď se koukám na steam a první díl mi tu píše 8hodin, to musí byt nějaká blbost ne ?) Přesto těch 16 hodin je fajnová délka a další 4 v tom podle mě ještě nechám.
    Expand
  8. Mar 23, 2020
    7
    Overall I feel this entry does not compare favorably to other modern platform/metroidvania. Games like Hollow Knight surpass Ori in terms of tightened combat and better realized world building.

    Ori's strength is in its fluidity of movement and while its levels are well designed to have interesting movement challenges, the enemies and bosses feel like afterthoughts with combat that
    Overall I feel this entry does not compare favorably to other modern platform/metroidvania. Games like Hollow Knight surpass Ori in terms of tightened combat and better realized world building.

    Ori's strength is in its fluidity of movement and while its levels are well designed to have interesting movement challenges, the enemies and bosses feel like afterthoughts with combat that doesn't feel as tight or important.
    I also wanted to say that the story didn't capture me as it keeps trying to backtrack its darker themes instead of engaging. I would also like to have seen more growth given this is game two.
    Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2020
    8
    I've seen a lot of people complaining about bugs, I didn't have any problems in my playthrough.

    It felt like you got a good number of powerups earlier in this game, compared to the prequel, it was nice not having to run around without even a double jump half the game. There are more abilities this time and they're pretty cool. The music and graphics is still very beautiful. Nice
    I've seen a lot of people complaining about bugs, I didn't have any problems in my playthrough.

    It felt like you got a good number of powerups earlier in this game, compared to the prequel, it was nice not having to run around without even a double jump half the game. There are more abilities this time and they're pretty cool. The music and graphics is still very beautiful.

    Nice relaxing game. The combat is still pretty lame though imo.
    Expand
  10. Mar 14, 2020
    9
    Definitely a step up from the original Ori in every single aspect, except it is still buggy as hell and runs pretty bad, but I expect Moon Studios to fix it in no time.

    You will be stuck on a lot of puzzles due to lack of hints, and some are straight up bad and require you to think like the developer(I am talking about the one when you ride Ku and have to blow certain enemy into a
    Definitely a step up from the original Ori in every single aspect, except it is still buggy as hell and runs pretty bad, but I expect Moon Studios to fix it in no time.

    You will be stuck on a lot of puzzles due to lack of hints, and some are straight up bad and require you to think like the developer(I am talking about the one when you ride Ku and have to blow certain enemy into a destructible wall)

    But other than that, this game is phenomenon, GOTY contender for sure
    Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2020
    9
    This game is nothing short of a Masterpiece. The visuals are a work of art, the music is stunning, the gameplay is exciting and it plays incredibly smoothly. I can't say anything bad about this game. It's an improvement on the first one in every way, and that's saying something!. They set the bar very high now if there will be 3rd.
  12. Mar 17, 2020
    9
    Великолепное продолжение первой части. Игра стала намного масштабнее, красивее и динамичнее, по сравнению с первой частью. Лучший платформер. Лучший саундтрек. Лучшая атмосфера. Лучший эксклюзив Microsoft. Игра конечно же не без недостатков, но я почему-то еще до выхода был уверен, что игра меня не разочарует. За такие проекты хочется платить, потому что вкладывали душу в проект! 9/10, такВеликолепное продолжение первой части. Игра стала намного масштабнее, красивее и динамичнее, по сравнению с первой частью. Лучший платформер. Лучший саундтрек. Лучшая атмосфера. Лучший эксклюзив Microsoft. Игра конечно же не без недостатков, но я почему-то еще до выхода был уверен, что игра меня не разочарует. За такие проекты хочется платить, потому что вкладывали душу в проект! 9/10, так как нюансы с графикой и звуком не дают мне поставить максимальный балл, к остальному - у меня вопросов нет! Expand
  13. Mar 11, 2020
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Moon Studios did everything right with this sequel. It's truly a masterpiece. Do yourself a favor and play this gem.
  14. Mar 13, 2020
    8
    I do like this game, but it so happened that in this review I will be focusing mostly on what I dislike about it. Maybe I woke up on the wrong side of the bed on release day or something - who knows. Altogether the game is a lot of solid, high quality experience, raising the bar in 2D games, and a true delight to your eyes. I'm happy to have played it, but I'm just not sure whether it isI do like this game, but it so happened that in this review I will be focusing mostly on what I dislike about it. Maybe I woke up on the wrong side of the bed on release day or something - who knows. Altogether the game is a lot of solid, high quality experience, raising the bar in 2D games, and a true delight to your eyes. I'm happy to have played it, but I'm just not sure whether it is the sequel I anticipated.
    As of 13.03.20, the game suffers a great number of glitches. Ori gets stuck in a number of places, gets teleported, the game freezes and on rare occasions hangs your PC dead. Most problems are tackled by loading a save or mashing buttons randomly. Also, the game may be working not quite right on Full HD displays as it is meant for Ultra HD, sometimes aliasing or shimmering may be seen.
    Ultimately, the thing I missed most while playing was the melancholic, lonely atmosphere. Reasons why I think it changed:
    - The locations. They have changed from a cozy, admirable magical forest into uncomfortable-to-horrifying environments, where you don't feel safe except for special safe zones and want to run faster. Also, although the map got bigger, it doesn't give you a lot of chance or wish to run through the same places many times to get used to them. The locations are always full of scary looking spikes and
    - Enemies, which are now often nightmare monsters instead of nice or funny-ish looking creatures.
    - Ori is now nearly a Rambo who is ready to fight anything nearly with his bare hands from the beginning.
    - The game design got more generic, with buying skills and weapons, autosave, a "motherbase"-thing, a lot of NPCs to talk to, bosses and things like that. Also, it gets repetitative and predictible, as all sections of the plot have similar structure.
    Storywise the game has not really matched the Blind Forest. The majority of the plot is farfetched and not closely as emotional, except for the ending which, although is not logically connected with the rest of the plot enough, left me completely devastated.
    A good thing is that the story is much richer, there are events happening and quests changing all the time compared to BF.
    Gameplaywise it's more sophisticated in a good way, ever-changing and never bores you, but a lot of tools are used only in special sections and/or are replaced with other ones later on. Also, if you've played through BF a couple times, this one will not be as challenging, but rather like another walkthrough of BF, but on a different map.
    Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2020
    10
    Just Another MasterPiece That Will Make You Cry Perfect Musics Perfect Cutscene Everything Is GOOD! 10/10
  16. Mar 18, 2020
    7
    Ori and the Will of the Wisps. After the breathtaking adventure we had for the first time in the blind forest, moon studios prepare us for yet another amazing journey, or is it? The will of the wisps is a game that made me feel a lot of conflicts after I finished it. Even tho it has stunning visual, amazing story and storytelling, very decent and well-developed characters and a story thatOri and the Will of the Wisps. After the breathtaking adventure we had for the first time in the blind forest, moon studios prepare us for yet another amazing journey, or is it? The will of the wisps is a game that made me feel a lot of conflicts after I finished it. Even tho it has stunning visual, amazing story and storytelling, very decent and well-developed characters and a story that binds to the ambiance of the world are some of the many advantages this game has. The problem is that many times gamers tend to look at a game only a storytelling way ( which if this was the case this would take a solid 9+ ). But sadly I felt it's gameplay a bit disappointing. There were way too many similarities for example with Hollow Knight as they had adopted the trinkets system as well as the sword skills etc. This though is a very small issue that many might not even consider, what made me dislike a part of the game is repetitiveness in compare to the previous one ( blind forest ), as it is like we are visiting the same locations or the story is kinda the same ( without being though ) and in general, I felt that moon studios wanted to create something new but without venturing away from the safety of the Blind Forest. The game lacked some very major gameplay characteristics like simplicity, clarity, and bug-free.

    The game provides you with so much content that it is never properly explained how it can be used ( which in some cases it is good cause it allows you to explore it) in some others, it is just too much. I felt that there were way too many skills and weapons for you to wield even though there was a clear overpowered set where you could overpower most of the enemies in the game with ease. I truly used 1/4 of my entire arsenal in the throughout my entire gameplay. And so I think it lacks simplicity.

    Over that there were situations where fighting a boss was not hard only because the mechanics of the boss were hard, but because the environment around me did not help my eyes and my senses to follow ori. There were situations that I was taking damage and because of the many particles and many flashing lights on the screen I did not see that one of my dashes did not take action, I took some damage and did not know where ori is. This was happening occasionally and it is the first time I experience it so much in a game and I thought it would be right to be addressed.

    Lastly and sadly the game had a lot of minor and major bugs. Most of the were minor with little effect on the game itself and still, it was not appropriate to be playing a game of such range and still drowning in pools of mud without touching them, teleporting at death or having yourself trapped in a corner and eventually dying.

    My final verdict is that ori and the will of the wisps is still an incredible and amazing game. From visuals to storytelling it is a creation of masterpiece, but I believe that moon studios did not "invest" in the implementation of the game as much as they did on the storytelling of its adventure.
    Expand
  17. Mar 11, 2020
    10
    Ori and the Will of the Wisps managed to overcome his predecessor Ori and the blind Forest, which has already been a masterpiece without question. Awesome & engaging gameplay. Awesome graphics & atmosphere. Awesome & wonderful soundtrack. Already the first must-play-game in this early decade.
  18. Mar 12, 2020
    10
    I honestly didn't think that improving this game past what Ori and the Blind Forest achieved was even possible but they some how managed to do it. With the implementation and clear inspiration from Hollow Knight, I'd say that Ori and the Will of the Wisp has created a new standard for the Metroidvania genre as a whole and has raised the bar completely in turns of design, graphics, andI honestly didn't think that improving this game past what Ori and the Blind Forest achieved was even possible but they some how managed to do it. With the implementation and clear inspiration from Hollow Knight, I'd say that Ori and the Will of the Wisp has created a new standard for the Metroidvania genre as a whole and has raised the bar completely in turns of design, graphics, and gameplay. If you haven't played Blind forest, I'd suggest doing so before you play Will of the Wisp but even then... This game is astonishing. Expand
  19. Mar 11, 2020
    10
    Ori and the Will of the Wisps is amazing! The visuals, music and game mechanics are all incredible. You can tell this game was a complete labor of love by Moon Studios! I really enjoy the melee changes that were made as Ori feels like a right badass now :)

    At $30 price point you are getting an amazingly engaging and innovative game with AAA polish. How could you go wrong with that?
  20. Mar 11, 2020
    10
    Wow! Ori and the Will of the Wisp is one of those games you will remember for the rest of your life. It has everything and does it in perfection. Awesome and tight controls with excellent plattforming puzzles, heartbreaking story combined with stunning visuals and an outstanding soundtrack. You fail alot, but you cannot blame the game for it, it’s all your fault:D
  21. Mar 12, 2020
    10
    this is one of the best games I have ever played, truly a masterpiece. I would encourage everyone to try out this beautiful gem for a game. good work moon studios.
  22. Mar 14, 2020
    10
    Ori and The Will of the Wisps? How about Ori and the heartbreaker of the wisps?

    Unlike the first game where it starts with a gut punch, this sequel likes to bait you into thinking this will be a happy game, but does the ol switch-a-roo and then give you the gut punch. Seriously, because the emotional moments come when you least expect it, its delivery is more powerful than the first
    Ori and The Will of the Wisps? How about Ori and the heartbreaker of the wisps?

    Unlike the first game where it starts with a gut punch, this sequel likes to bait you into thinking this will be a happy game, but does the ol switch-a-roo and then give you the gut punch. Seriously, because the emotional moments come when you least expect it, its delivery is more powerful than the first game. So story-wise, this game is better.

    The graphics and colors are here to blow your brains out. IT IS BEAUTIFUL. From the simple animation of the grass, to the heavy explosion of blue lights of your abilities, everything is a total eyecandy. Even the creepy areas look majestic.

    The sound and music compliments the beautiful look of the game; they are just pure eargasm. I honestly was worried that the music won't be as amazing compared to the first game, but Moon Studios absolutely blew it out of the water; You can listen to the songs for hours and not get emotionally moved.

    Gameplay is amazing. For a game that looks so kids-friendly, the game can actually get really hard, just the way I like it. It requires you to have precious timing and aim of your movements on certain situations or else you end up dying. It's not impossible, but challenging enough to test your reflexes

    10/1 0
    Expand
  23. Mar 14, 2020
    10
    We all know it's a masterpiece of a game, made by people that clearly loves what they do and cares to create something special. Even so... it's too underrated. I feel bad to get this game on Microsoft Game Pass, I will buy this beautiful game as soon as possible on steam. Thank you Moon Studios, and congratulations.
  24. Mar 14, 2020
    10
    A good game, with a few bugs, you have to wait for a patch that will fix them
  25. Mar 13, 2020
    10
    Novas mecânicas, mais conteúdo e um modo de multi interessante, confesso que spirit trials me convenceu que o jogo evoluiu muito, está obviamente bem mais bonito, mas por conta disso tem problemas de performance. Nada que algumas atualizações não resolveria, simplesmente o melhor indie dessa geração até então.
  26. Mar 21, 2020
    7
    It look good, platforming is good, combat is not that great, boss fight doesn't feel thrilling.
    Also there's some weird performance issues sometimes.
    A like the ending, but hate the final boss.
    It's just ok, but better than the first one.
  27. Mar 11, 2020
    10
    Stunning visuals, music and gameplay. Like its predecessor, it's a true masterpiece in the genre. Highly recommend.
  28. Mar 13, 2020
    10
    The definition if beauty. It's beyond perfect, reason being that the prequel was perfect already.
  29. Mar 12, 2020
    10
    Великолепный шедевр! Геймплейно и визуально стала ещё лучше чудесной первой части.
    Музыка, художественное исполнение, анимации, огромный бесшовный мир, боевая система... Просто не верится что на свете есть настолько прекрасное произведение искусства.
    Великолепный шедевр! Геймплейно и визуально стала ещё лучше чудесной первой части.
    Музыка, художественное исполнение, анимации, огромный бесшовный мир, боевая система... Просто не верится что на свете есть настолько прекрасное произведение искусства.
  30. Mar 13, 2020
    10
    This game is just plain awesome. The music, the art style the sense of exploration and how you learn new mechanics and gain skills is just not found in other games of this genre. The game is simple at its core but the puzzles and progression feel really balanced from beginning to end. If you are looking for a fanciful single player metroidvania game, Just buy it - can’t think of anyone whoThis game is just plain awesome. The music, the art style the sense of exploration and how you learn new mechanics and gain skills is just not found in other games of this genre. The game is simple at its core but the puzzles and progression feel really balanced from beginning to end. If you are looking for a fanciful single player metroidvania game, Just buy it - can’t think of anyone who would be disappointed by this game. Expand
  31. Mar 11, 2020
    10
    This is some GOAT tier stuff right here folks
    Brilliant in every way imaginable
  32. Mar 15, 2020
    1
    My savegame is corrupted and because this game only uses 1 autosavegame , I lost all my progress (about 12h). Waiting for a fix or response from technical support.
  33. Mar 21, 2020
    2
    I genuinely wanted to love and enjoy this game, but there's nothing enjoyable about it. I highly recommend against it as half the abilities don't work 95% of the time. Whether you're running away from a boss chasing you out of an area (where they don't direct you whatsoever so you'll find yourself confused), fighting said boss, or just trying to navigate the game, it's all so tedious andI genuinely wanted to love and enjoy this game, but there's nothing enjoyable about it. I highly recommend against it as half the abilities don't work 95% of the time. Whether you're running away from a boss chasing you out of an area (where they don't direct you whatsoever so you'll find yourself confused), fighting said boss, or just trying to navigate the game, it's all so tedious and they provide you with little to no information.

    Half the controls don't even work for most of the game, I was fighting a boss and it comes to a point where all you can do is melee him, yet the melee doesn't work on him? I'm standing a foot away, swinging a giant hammer, and... nothing, but if I move an inch forward, I take damage.

    Honestly, there's nothing enjoyable about this game, they downgraded Ori 1 and ruined it with a very poorly executed plot twist at the end that is only there for the sake of making you feel bad... which is again, 95% of the game. It's depressing, down on itself, and doesn't even attempt to be fun. They kill characters that you can't even hope to care for because they do it almost off the bat before any character-building whatsoever. I'm happy I have the Xbox Game Pass because if I spent $30 on a game that doesn't slightly work, I'd be pissed. Stay away from Ori & The Will of The Wisps, it's not as fun or charming as people paint it out to be, the storytelling is next to nonexistent, and it just tries to make you feel **** or depressed in literally every area of the game with little to no satisfaction once you clear an area.
    Expand
  34. Mar 18, 2020
    0
    Anybody who rated this game a 10 clearly either hasn't played it, or just rated it based on a trailer.

    Performance is absolutely atrocious on both PC & Xbox One X at any settings. The Day 1 patch was unable to fix the constant slowdowns to 5FPS whenever there is intense lighting on-screen (which is often). The physics are very buggy, they randomly glitch-out requiring a full restart of
    Anybody who rated this game a 10 clearly either hasn't played it, or just rated it based on a trailer.

    Performance is absolutely atrocious on both PC & Xbox One X at any settings. The Day 1 patch was unable to fix the constant slowdowns to 5FPS whenever there is intense lighting on-screen (which is often).
    The physics are very buggy, they randomly glitch-out requiring a full restart of the game.
    Ori is a 2.5D platformer with painted environments, it shouldn't be taxing for performance at all. The gameplay has potential but it currently isn't much fun to play in slow-motion every 15 seconds.

    Should we wait a few months for the inevitable 'Definitive Edition' rerelease, like the first game when it became unfixable?

    The story is good and there is potential for fun but it's currently very broken. Wait for patches / rerelease in a few months.
    Expand
  35. Mar 13, 2020
    7
    Good game with a poor performance. Unaceptable performance ( RTX 2070 S + SSD M.2 + Ryzen 3600X+ 16 GB Patriot 3600 + Cossair MX 750W ). Unacceptable stuttering
  36. Mar 17, 2020
    0
    terrible performance, game breaking bugs, some puzzles cannot be solved without restarting the game forcing you to lose hours of progress
    sound is glitchy
    there is a very noticeable input lag the escape from the giant owl sequence is unsufferable, bad, unfun and unclear, i hope anyone who designed it gets put against the wall and quartered if i had paid money for this i would be even
    terrible performance, game breaking bugs, some puzzles cannot be solved without restarting the game forcing you to lose hours of progress
    sound is glitchy
    there is a very noticeable input lag
    the escape from the giant owl sequence is unsufferable, bad, unfun and unclear, i hope anyone who designed it gets put against the wall and quartered
    if i had paid money for this i would be even more mad :)
    Expand
  37. Mar 11, 2020
    10
    Just amazing, go play it, it is better in every way than the first, there are a couple of bugs but once patched it will perfect in every way
  38. Mar 13, 2020
    10
    This is a must play game for any platformer fan. Beautiful art design, beautiful soundtrack, simply the whole game is just beautiful, a true masterpiece. Expands on everything possible from the prequel, I did not encounter anything to what I would say "This does not fit here", definitely GOTY contestor.
  39. Mar 11, 2020
    9
    Коротко и просто - Шедевр как и 1ая часть. Визуально, музыкально...просто великолепно
  40. Mar 12, 2020
    9
    Really good game, nice visuals, story, new combat and abilities. Must play.
  41. Mar 12, 2020
    10
    Moon studios took an already established full masterpiece and yet they managed to improve on it in every single aspect. Ori and the will of the wisps sets a new high bar for how sequels should be done from now on
  42. Mar 12, 2020
    8
    Even if we won't blaming all 'first-week bugs', the second part of Ori is not something like ther first one - it a bit worser. Well, game is good, is rather good, but it is not such good as BF. Too many abilities (for some uses only), more simple fast-travel system, worser plot and kinda so-so final.
    But anyway it has great visuals, great musics, awesome combat system, many different and
    Even if we won't blaming all 'first-week bugs', the second part of Ori is not something like ther first one - it a bit worser. Well, game is good, is rather good, but it is not such good as BF. Too many abilities (for some uses only), more simple fast-travel system, worser plot and kinda so-so final.
    But anyway it has great visuals, great musics, awesome combat system, many different and difficult enemies, interesting new mechanics - that all making Will of the Wisps a really good game.
    Just not such wonderful as Blind Forest.
    Expand
  43. Mar 14, 2020
    9
    Amazaing platformer game with great story which lacked in the first one and great combat still could be more challenging.
  44. Mar 15, 2020
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all I had too many game breaking bugs where I had to restart the game. This didn't gave me the pleasure I had hoped for.

    But when the game was running it was the same old butter smooth game play I experienced from the blind forest. Personally I didn't like the big boss battles that much, because sometimes I feel like I cheesed the fight a little. If the boss abilities could be a little bit more telegraphed I would have enjoyed that better, I think.

    What i loved the most where the side missions. They have lots of personality and are a good way for world building. And the best side quest is the one where you help build a home for all the woodland creatures.

    The story is a bit simple, but that doesn't make it bad. Better to have a simple story that is told beautifully than a complex story that is told badly.

    And the last point of this review. The music and art. I have nothing other to says then 12 out of 10. They just did it again. Out of this world.

    All in all its a great game and I enjoyed the time with it. I am sure that the dev's are fixing the bugs right now. When those game breaking bugs are fixed I would give it a 9. But right now that's not the case.
    Expand
  45. Mar 14, 2020
    10
    M A S T E R P I E C E!!! One of best game ever. Some performance issue on XBOX but perfect on PC. Don't miss this game!
  46. Mar 17, 2020
    10
    Game of the Year Contender for 2020, music is epic, gameplay is perfection, artstyle is Beautiful.
  47. Mar 27, 2020
    3
    The bugs in this game make it completely unplayable. I am at 50% completion and probably will never go back to finish it. Auto aim system is an actual joke I can not actually think of a reason it was made this terrible unless it was a legit joke by the devs you can shoot at a boss but if there is a crystal, you are aiming at that and it WILL NOT change the direction after the crystal isThe bugs in this game make it completely unplayable. I am at 50% completion and probably will never go back to finish it. Auto aim system is an actual joke I can not actually think of a reason it was made this terrible unless it was a legit joke by the devs you can shoot at a boss but if there is a crystal, you are aiming at that and it WILL NOT change the direction after the crystal is gone you keep shooting at the ground (IT IS AWESOME IN BOSS FIGHTS if you never want to win). Sometimes the path will be open when you run from a boss but don't count on it one run everything will be fine the next run oops all the paths are closed restart the challenge. Never would have played the first one if I had known we would end up in this buggy wasteland. Companies need to STOP SHIPPING BROKEN GAMES. The bones of the game are good (story, visuals, level design) the flesh is necrotic and rotting (mechanics are a real unplayable mess). 3/10 fix it. Expand
  48. Mar 18, 2020
    10
    Jeeze, I honestly couldn't imagine them topping the first game but they did. They added so much depth to the combat system. They did just enough to keep it familiar looking while adding side quests, lovable NPCs, and fantastic puzzles. This game is a total blast and it was well worth the 5 year wait between titles. Moon Studios is a goldmine.
  49. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    A TRUE MASTERPIECE THAT SETS NEW STANDARDS WITHIN GENRE!

    Ori and the Will of the WIsps - is emotional rollercoaster executed with perfection in gameplay mechanics. This is also step up from predecessor in every way possible. The whole game is bigger (like a lot bigger), gameplay a lot more varied, combat a lot more refined. There is greater diversity of biomes, environments, enemies and
    A TRUE MASTERPIECE THAT SETS NEW STANDARDS WITHIN GENRE!

    Ori and the Will of the WIsps - is emotional rollercoaster executed with perfection in gameplay mechanics. This is also step up from predecessor in every way possible. The whole game is bigger (like a lot bigger), gameplay a lot more varied, combat a lot more refined. There is greater diversity of biomes, environments, enemies and ofc greater variety of mechanics to play with. From presentation perspective - this is absolute piece of art - both visuals and OST are simply striking.

    It's hard to tell much more without spoiling things - so I will leave at that. The game is ESSENTIAL MUST PLAY and is likely making my TOP 5 of all time.

    I will be honest here - I expected a great game, but didn't expect it to surpass all, already high, expectations by that much.

    Ignore all negative reviews - those people obviously don't know what they're talking about. Probably COD victims taking on a game that is beyond them.
    Expand
  50. Mar 27, 2020
    10
    This game is an absolute goddamn masterpiece. The music, the storytelling, the gameplay, the graphics, every part of this game is brilliant. Unbelievably good and so satisfying. Thank you Moon Studios for this.
  51. Mar 26, 2020
    7
    Buen juego con un arte muy cuidado, pero me parece basatnte repetitivo, al cabo de unas horas el gameplay es un poco monótono. Aun así buen juego.
  52. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    This game is a total masterpiece, with many improvements over the first one (witch also was phenomenal)! Just buy it, you'll have a great experience!
  53. Mar 29, 2020
    9
    MUST HAVE! Precioso una obra maestra. Arte hecho en videojuegos. Jugabilidad 100%100. Visualmente espectacular. Gracias por hacer juegos así. Tendreis mi dinero siempre. Arriba el tito Phil y su game pass para pc.
  54. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Wow, this game is a masterpiece, I enjoyed every second of it, it's beautiful, emotional game with remarkable soundtrack.
  55. Mar 27, 2020
    10
    игра получилась великолепной, музыка отличная, геймплей разнообразен и интересный, графика изумительная, сюжет хорош. 10 из 10.
  56. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Jogo, incrivel. Gameplay totalmente balanceada, história e OST muito bem feitos parabéns a todos os envolvidos que me emocionaram jogando.
  57. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Un platform/metroidvania favoloso, sequel di Ori and the Blind Forest che migliora sotto ogni aspetto. Un combat system rivisto e migliorato, un level design stupefacente e uno stile grafico sensazionale, un piccolo capolavoro. Il gioco inoltre non è per nulla facile, man mano che si va avanti con la storia la difficoltà aumenterà notevolmente.
    Da sistemare con una patch giusto qualche
    Un platform/metroidvania favoloso, sequel di Ori and the Blind Forest che migliora sotto ogni aspetto. Un combat system rivisto e migliorato, un level design stupefacente e uno stile grafico sensazionale, un piccolo capolavoro. Il gioco inoltre non è per nulla facile, man mano che si va avanti con la storia la difficoltà aumenterà notevolmente.
    Da sistemare con una patch giusto qualche calo di frame in alcune aree e lo sblocco di alcuni achievements che rimangono bloccati.
    Expand
  58. Mar 27, 2020
    7
    A lot of what I hear, read and visually see about "Ori and whatever we're calling the sequel," is its a beautiful game. Well that's not a lot to go on, a lot of things are beautiful, women, flowers, a freshly minted LP, that weird factory smell that you only get from buying a brand new car off the lot, my point is there are a lot of things that look great, but may be a total mess from aA lot of what I hear, read and visually see about "Ori and whatever we're calling the sequel," is its a beautiful game. Well that's not a lot to go on, a lot of things are beautiful, women, flowers, a freshly minted LP, that weird factory smell that you only get from buying a brand new car off the lot, my point is there are a lot of things that look great, but may be a total mess from a technical standpoint and that's kind of where this series intends to go (if they make a third game in five years). Ori, or at least are first adventure with him, it, her, namely a spirit of the eternal forest or whatever, was a sleeper hit. It had some very tight platforming, some very memorable portions that certainly still standout in my mind, though not as detailed as I remember them, and it also had a fantastic control scheme. It was simple, clean, it was the way that your making me feel tonight, and all that jazz. One of the things that I can't get off my mind about this sequel is the course spreading of additions that are kind of sending me mixed messages about how the developer wants me to play their game. First off, you now have three ability action buttons, a little more complicated, but nothing too crazy, and an ability wheel to swap them while pausing all the action in the meantime. You now have shards, which represent different passive, or active bonuses to either damage, health pickups, experience points, etc.. Now I know that you know you think this new game is amazing, probably because its been five years since the first one came out, but I'm inclined to disagree. They have stuffed this turkey past the brim, with good ideas for sure, but a lot of additions aren't always necessary to making a game more fun or giving it more replay-ability. Which by the way, I don't even think the first game is too much fun replaying for a second time, so I don't see any way Moon Studios is going to get me to replay this nightmare of a second installment. We now have NPC shopkeepers, characters that sell maps, weapon upgrades, they'll even upgrade certain abilities too, and theirs even a guy who keeps track of everything I've done in the game. As if I need a reminder of how long I've been playing, or how many times Ori has fallen victim to a bed of spikes. This array of new features is so dense, irritating and for me it totally destroys the pacing. Would you like to save this forest and help out its Spirits Ori? Or would you like to do more challenge rooms, enemy arena fights and side-quests to pad out the run time? Its a little silly and self-evident that the developers took even some of the first games criticism that seriously. It was an okay, albeit short, first title, and that's not a big deal. Ramping things up, adding more stuff to do, isn't always a great way to keep people hooked. Its just more stuff to do. As for me the story is a little bit lax in this game, but the actual cinematic sequences really need a skip button at this point. I'm not really invested in their new story because the first one was open-and-shut, it had a fine conclusion though a bit "disney-esque in terms of its complete forgiveness of all the boss monsters at the end. I don't really know where to begin with Ori and the will of the wisps, its just fine, it doesn't really hook me with its emotionally gripping tale, and I'm not upset if it tries to. Visually I found this game astoundingly difficult to play. The on-screen dizzying cacophony of bright bloom, background effects, bright shiny lights and swirling colors made it exceedingly difficult in some sections to tell what on God's green holy earth was even happening. I recall the giant spider boss being genuinely difficult since her attacks were telegraphed, but I couldn't tell where from as she blends into the background. I also could not figure out where her hit box was at all in order to avoid said highly telegraphed attacks and it took several attempts to beat her. Of course I put the game down after this, its just not as well designed as the first one. I have about three hours in-game, the moment-to-moment movement around areas feels very tedious to me, and I'm not interested in the additional mini-quests or side characters. I also don't care about the story, which is a bit of deal breaker unfortunately. I've found quite a few glitches that are kind of irksome, namely that the same button you use to "hook" to enemies and dash in another direction are also the same button to stick to blue moss on ceilings or blue flowers that act as make-shift grappling hooks and platforms. Often I would be pulled up, when I really just wanted to latch onto an enemy, so I'm chocking this up to a bug most likely. I feel the Unity engine does a good job, but it does have some frame drops on occasion. To me, it just didn't really feel as streamlined, or as naturally flowing as Ori and the Blind Forest. The pacing just seems off. Expand
  59. Mar 17, 2020
    10
    An incredible experience which lives up to the amazing first game.
    Atmosphere is everything in this game, and you will be on the end of your seat with certain bosses and certain levels.
  60. Mar 25, 2020
    9
    Magnificent continuation of the adventures of Ori spirit, a little ruined the impression of bad optimization at the start, but it does not change just a great game on all sides and a favorite story. I really hope that we will return to the world of Ori..
  61. Mar 16, 2020
    10
    I really enjoyed playing Ori and the of the wisps. The game has an incredible visual art style and a magnificent original score. The gameplay is challenging but also rewarding. The story is lovely and the game has a lot to offer for everyone playing it.
  62. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    One of the best Metroidvania platforming skill based game ever, the perfect sequel, it expand and improve the previous chapter.
    A fascinating storytelling, wonderful art direction and a perfect gameplay make Ori one the best title in its genre, some technical issues with not performing PCs but nothing that could damage the experience.
  63. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    JUEGAZO LA PUTA MADRE!!
    Sin duda ORI AND THE WILL OF THE WISPS ofrece excelentes mejoras a su anterior, vale mucho la pena, 100% recomendando, lo he jugado en PC y XBOX, va excelente, gran historia y banda sonora.
  64. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    One of the best platformers ever played. The visuals and the environment is by far the best from all platformers out there. The soundtrack is great, and the gameplay (as well as the controls) are satisfying and great. Amazing game overall, I highly recommend it.
  65. Mar 16, 2020
    8
    A little messy from the Microsoft store. I kind of regret not buying it on Steam.
  66. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    The game is a masterpiece. The music composer Gareth Coker really did an awesome job as always. The soundtracks along with the art style and story is excellent. The action sequence and gameplay improved a lot with new abilities and content. I was very happy with the first game "Ori and the Blind Forest" and never wanted it to end. So I made sure the "Will of the Wisps" would take longer toThe game is a masterpiece. The music composer Gareth Coker really did an awesome job as always. The soundtracks along with the art style and story is excellent. The action sequence and gameplay improved a lot with new abilities and content. I was very happy with the first game "Ori and the Blind Forest" and never wanted it to end. So I made sure the "Will of the Wisps" would take longer to finish by starting off with "Hard" difficulty. And I enjoyed every second of it. Expand
  67. Mar 18, 2020
    10
    This game is just incredible... Ori and the blind forest was already a masterpiece but this game level up every aspect of the previous games : in graphics, game play, character, word design and level disign, and the freaking music
  68. Mar 24, 2020
    9
    One again blown away with the score, visuals and art direction. The combat has a couple tweaks that make it feel very fresh.
    I did suffer a couple of frame dips here and there on the Xbox Game Pass PC version of the game. Besides that, I highly recommend this game if you enjoyed the first!
  69. Mar 18, 2020
    10
    This game is an absolute gem, it's just as good as the first game but just better in almost every way.
    I 100%ed this game to see absolutely everything it had to offer, and it is amazing.

    10/10 would 100% again!
  70. Mar 19, 2020
    10
    The Best game ever. Beautiful music, graphics, gameplay, lore. Very emotional journey you don't forget.
    10/10 perfect game.
  71. Mar 17, 2020
    10
    I enjoyed every second of it. The game mastered the art style and music with a very solid and fun gameplay.
  72. Mar 21, 2020
    10
    Музыка - 10
    Дизайн локаций - 10
    История - 10
    Один из лучших платформеров, выходящих когда либо.
  73. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    Настоящая сказка. Идеальный сиквел. Буквально каждые 10 минут новая игровая механика, сногсшибательный визуал, красивая музыка и продолжительность в два раза больше чем оригинал.
  74. Mar 24, 2020
    9
    Better than Ori and the blind forest.Fantastic graphics, good music and gameplay.
  75. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    Wonderful experience from start to finish, it's a perfect mix between stunning visuals, beautiful music and really tight gameplay, simply incredible
  76. Mar 19, 2020
    10
    шикарная игра, все просто афигенно я просто пишу рандомный текст чтобы можно было поставить 10 баллов.
  77. Mar 26, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just as good as the first one :) I enjoyed the game play idk if this one was easier or if I that's just how it felt but it was funny nonetheless and just like the first one i got excited in parts and i cried in some parts I would definitely recommend this game. Ps creator stop making me cry lol Expand
  78. Mar 21, 2020
    10
    Ori and the Will of The Wisps is better its predecessor in every aspect, but overall experience not just better - it's fantastic!
    This game is absolute masterpiece.
    Thank you, Moon Studios, for one of the best games I've played.
  79. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    Um dos melhores metroidvanias já criado se não o melhor! A arte e polimento desse game é de uma qualidade que eu jamais vi em outro game se não a franquia Ori. A arte, música, mecânica e ambientação são de tirar o fôlego, a forma como tudo flui te passa uma sensação tão boa enquanto joga isso. é uma obra de arte interativa literalemnte.
  80. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    I bought this game on Steam and did not regret it. The best I've played in a while, probably since RDR 2 or RE2.
  81. Mar 26, 2020
    10
    Originally i was mad about performance issues but that will be fixed. Overall amazing mechanics and beautiful story.
  82. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Every aspect of this game is amazing. Captivating characters, beautiful world, incredible game play, flawless music. One of the best games I've ever played.
  83. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    I have waited this so desperately after I had finished Ori and the blind forest, and it really satisfied me again for sure. I spent whole day to clear this game because I couldn't put my controller down LOL
  84. Mar 22, 2020
    10
    it has been a long time when I play part 1, and this time really made me more satisfied than the last one.
  85. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    This game is just a masterpiece, it is a pleasure to play it. It was the best 9 hours of my life. The plot is delightful. The finale made me cry, it was amazing. From this ending, I started crying and then went to smoke a cigarette to digest it and calm down
  86. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    On PC this game runs absolutely perfect. I'm running on a 3900x, RTX 2080 and Aurous X570 master with 32 gigs of CL 16 Ram. I have no issues whatsoever. 1440P and I limit my FPS at 117fps, it's pretty much locked. I can unlock the framerate and get far higher fps, but prefer smooth frametimes. Visually it's stunning, you go into certain areas and just think wow. The audio is superb,On PC this game runs absolutely perfect. I'm running on a 3900x, RTX 2080 and Aurous X570 master with 32 gigs of CL 16 Ram. I have no issues whatsoever. 1440P and I limit my FPS at 117fps, it's pretty much locked. I can unlock the framerate and get far higher fps, but prefer smooth frametimes. Visually it's stunning, you go into certain areas and just think wow. The audio is superb, beautiful soundtrack and icing on the cake it's in Dolby Atmos if you have the equipment to take advantage of it. It probably won't win game of the year with Cyberpunk, TLOU2 and Halo Infinite coming out this year, but definitively needs to be in that group. Expand
  87. Mar 23, 2020
    8
    游戏确实是个好游戏,但是bug是真得多。后期血条太长,过于简单,各种闪退bug穿模bug和任务进度强行回溯的bug,真的很烦。游戏可以打9.5分我认为目前只逊于bloodstain,加上bug8分不能再多了
  88. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    Вновь Moon Sturios погружает игроков в волшебный и сказочный мир игры о духе Ori и его невероятных и захватывающих приключений. По сравнению с первой частью игра заметно прогрессировала и добавилось множество NPC, которые не дают заскучать и добавляют свои краски и истории, пускай их квесты могут казаться где-то банальными, но в любом случае они дополняют историю всего мира игры и делаютВновь Moon Sturios погружает игроков в волшебный и сказочный мир игры о духе Ori и его невероятных и захватывающих приключений. По сравнению с первой частью игра заметно прогрессировала и добавилось множество NPC, которые не дают заскучать и добавляют свои краски и истории, пускай их квесты могут казаться где-то банальными, но в любом случае они дополняют историю всего мира игры и делают её еще более интересной. Боевую систему также разбавили добавили множество возможностей для побед над врагами, к сожалению, мне не понять людей, которые остались недовольны недостатком активных способностей и то, что их нужно периодически менять, чтобы подстроиться под окружение и врагов. Уверен, что сделано это было лишь для максимальной вариативности ваших действий и возможности применения фантазии для уничтожения врагов, можно всю игру молотить всех лишь клинком, можно лишь луком, при желании можно использовать весь арсенал способностей и умений.
    Сюжет не перестаёт радовать, конечно в нём нет какой-то глубокой философии и подтекстов, какие например можно найти во втором Silent Hill, но тем не менее это всё же игра-сказка, она позволяет окунуться прекрасный мир населённый самыми разнообразными существами и позволяет самому ощутить себя немного ребёнком.
    Технически игра сделана, конечно, не идеально и имеется к чему придраться. В случае смерти может зареспавнить в текстуру с которой может быть проблематично выбраться, иногда случаются проблемы со звуком, это проблемы на которые жаловались многие, но сам столкнулся с гличами звука буквально 2-3 раза за прохождение игры. Даже имея далеко не самое топовое железо игра совсем погибает в лагах и просадках фпс, в игре по сути не имеется никаких настроек графики, но при этом они не сказать бы что обязательны. С другой стороны, если замылить игру и убрать все эффекты потеряются все краски и восхищения связанные с картинкой мира.
    Отдельно хотелось бы выделить музыкальное сопровождение, как и в первой части за него отвечал Gareth Coker. Музыка бесподобно дополняет игру и отлично подобрана к каждой локации, любому босс файту и катсценам. Абсолютно не надоедливые мелодии, даже ставя игру на паузу и слушая музыку, можно получать удовольствие от игры.
    Думаю, как и первая часть игра получит множество наград, включая игру года, просто потому что сейчас уже нет игр, которые могут вызывать такую палитру эмоций от прохождения, сюжета и музыкального сопровождения. Обязательно советую с прохождению Ori and The Will of the Wisps, даже никакие технические огрехи не смогут испортить впечатление от прохождение, в любом случае уверен в скором времени всё пофиксят и исправят.
    Expand
  89. Mar 25, 2020
    9
    A simple history that leads to a memorable ending and pleasant gameplay that captivate the player.
    Unfortunately, i had some issues of frame rate drops playing on xbox one, nevertheless, one of the best platform games of the generation.
  90. Mar 25, 2020
    9
    I've played a lot of Metroidvania titles and in the many years I've been playing games, this is my favorite since Metroid Fusion (which I think is a massively underrated title). The artwork is beautiful and the music complements whatever Ori is going through nicely. If you aren't playing this game you're missing out on one of the best titles Microsoft has put out in years, although to beI've played a lot of Metroidvania titles and in the many years I've been playing games, this is my favorite since Metroid Fusion (which I think is a massively underrated title). The artwork is beautiful and the music complements whatever Ori is going through nicely. If you aren't playing this game you're missing out on one of the best titles Microsoft has put out in years, although to be fair the bar isn't that high.

    Only issues are that you may experience some periodical lag or frame drops, but it definitely isn't game-breaking. I had one time where the game crashed completely, and for many people that is a dealbreaker for some reason. I like giving companies the benefit of the doubt though, and I think it's fair to take into consideration the fact that although this was published by Microsoft, it was developed by a much smaller team and you should bear in mind that they had limited resources in making the game. But love was definitely poured into this project, and you can tell. This is one of 2020's must-play games so far. In my opinion the only good one that had come out this year so far up to the time of its release.
    Expand
  91. Mar 26, 2020
    10
    Bad game — no! Few bugs — maybe! Masterpiece metroidvania platformer — yes! I`ve enjoyed it until the very end with 100% completion.
  92. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    I would never have thought that this type of game could evoke so much emotion in me. Absolutely fantastic - Thank you Moon Studios, Thank you Microsoft for that game
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Mar 24, 2020
    95
    What you end up with is an almost perfect game within the MetroidVania genre. If you have to mention something to blame the game, it is perhaps that more could have been added in the form of online or multiplayer action, but even that is a conscious choice. Developer Moon studios knows what it is good at and opts for that. While playing, you never feel that you are missing anything.
  2. Mar 23, 2020
    80
    A very good platformer with awesome production values. The central character feels good to control, the story is fine and the game is basically unmatched when it comes to graphics. But the gameplay itself, although competent, could use a lot more variety.
  3. Mar 22, 2020
    91
    Ori and the Will of the Wisps is more than just a worthy successor to Blind Forest. It enriches and improves all its parts in every aspect, and it is a Metroidvania game that will be remembered for years.