User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 650 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2017
    7
    It's not that bad of a game. The beginning when you didn't really what was going was pretty scary and the school bits were terrifying! But, the frustrating moments in the town cut the scale factor and it became more of a convoluted mess toward the end. It turned into more of a laughing stock then a horror game.
  2. Feb 9, 2020
    7
    Отличная игра, достойное продолжение. Благодаря концовки (начиная примерно с кровавого дождя) игра дотягивает до своей оценки 7/10, первая половины игры бред, пробежки по деревушке ни о чем, подумал, что данная часть провал полный, но концовка все исправила. Проходить можно и нужно!Отличная игра, достойное продолжение. Благодаря концовки (начиная примерно с кровавого дождя) игра дотягивает до своей оценки 7/10, первая половины игры бред, пробежки по деревушке ни о чем, подумал, что данная часть провал полный, но концовка все исправила. Проходить можно и нужно!
  3. Aug 3, 2020
    7
    Prefiero el primero, pero no se puede negar que no deja de ser un muy buen juego de terror.
  4. May 3, 2017
    5
    6h of running, character get's stuck on the environment , no alternate routes to escape/dodge enemies, AI is even worse than the 1st, too linear, horrible ending, visuais are ok and some sequences are good, but that's all
  5. Apr 29, 2017
    5
    Running simulator 2017? ............. So what happened with Red Barrels ? I don't really understand how this became what it is considering how great the first game was. I'm really confused. This game is repetitive, boring, and not scary at all.. but sure it looks pretty! Thats a nice **** lamp!
  6. Apr 29, 2017
    5
    outlast 2 is the most false reviewed game i ever saw since black ops 3 zombies this game is really disappointing and let me explain why:

    firstly the game is not that scary at most creepy but not scary. unlike outlast 1 and the dlc whistle blower that scare your **** the first 20 min you start playing them , this game keeps the creepy atmosphere for like 3 4 hours, im not joking this
    outlast 2 is the most false reviewed game i ever saw since black ops 3 zombies this game is really disappointing and let me explain why:

    firstly the game is not that scary at most creepy but not scary. unlike outlast 1 and the dlc whistle blower that scare your **** the first 20 min you start playing them , this game keeps the creepy atmosphere for like 3 4 hours, im not joking this game doesnt scare you at all unlike the first one that slaps you with jump scares and makes you hide and wish to god that they wont find you , that is what made that game so good but this game is just bad it looks good yes but its really bad at being a horror game. the story is very bad and Cliché and the ending is just a fk you to the face no explanation no nothing ,this game just wants you to buy the dlc for answers.

    pros:
    - game is so beautiful the graphics are just wow
    - atmosphere is creepy as hell
    - the school parts omg the school parts they are the most scariest moments of the game and made me almost cry
    - sound is perfect music is spot on i really liked it

    cons ( there are a lot)
    -after 2 to 3 hours of gameplay not a single scare or anything you just go and explore
    -this game is a cat and mouse simulator literally the whole gameplay of the game is you running away not jocking the whole game is about running away since hiding is so bad becuase the enemies find you instantly
    -most of the good parts are at the school illussions but when you come back to the redneck area from a horror game the game becomes a sports game because the only thing that you are doing is running away
    -the ending is sht and doesnt explain anything about everything that happened
    -that one enemie that is chasing you through the whole game is sht because she is not that scary just annoying
    - blayke the guy that you play as is weird af he can barely jump on simple rocks but he can parkur he can kick someone but cant pick up a weapon and wreck people with it

    this game had a lot of potential but it lost it its not scary ( except for the school part) and you just die a lot in this game for not picking the right road and run away most of the time thats it

    my final score to this game is 5.5/10 its not worth 30 dollars at all you can easly skip this game and buy resident evil 7 its a better horror game believe me
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2017
    6
    I am so sorry Red Barrels I wanted to love this game but it looks like its just another crappy sequel to the horror genre Outlast 1 was amazing it was intense it was atmospheric and looked and sounded nice too but how the hell did you mess this up Outlast II had a lot going for it great graphics great sounds great atmosphere but the levels are not built for the perfect outlast experienceI am so sorry Red Barrels I wanted to love this game but it looks like its just another crappy sequel to the horror genre Outlast 1 was amazing it was intense it was atmospheric and looked and sounded nice too but how the hell did you mess this up Outlast II had a lot going for it great graphics great sounds great atmosphere but the levels are not built for the perfect outlast experience the story is just one massive **** and the ending was the most confusing crap that I have ever seen in a video game it was just like when i finished daylight it was disappointing and it just left you there and the devs are going hey buy our DLC so you can find out what happened you pieces of **** so you know what if Outlast III ever happens please for the love of God DO NOT **** IT UP Expand
  8. Apr 30, 2017
    5
    In essence this is just a pretty walking simulator, with mostly linear pathing, single object puzzles, and incoherency to cover up the desire to make a silent hill game, while trying to not cross that copyright line. The storyline over-reaches in complexity to appear more intelligent than it is, and when coupled with excessively repetitive gameplay, just to end with a cliffhanger, leavesIn essence this is just a pretty walking simulator, with mostly linear pathing, single object puzzles, and incoherency to cover up the desire to make a silent hill game, while trying to not cross that copyright line. The storyline over-reaches in complexity to appear more intelligent than it is, and when coupled with excessively repetitive gameplay, just to end with a cliffhanger, leaves little to be desired. I guess the actual answers will come in paid DLC, which is unforgivable.

    The battery mechanic to drive exploration is silly when "dying" just give you a free one. Similarly, the overabundance of bandages makes the damage system pointless. But the worst part are all the skippable notes with no game need to read them. There is only one worth mentioning that suggests this is an extension of the microwave project from the original game. Since it is one that you are guaranteed to find it is frustrating if you miss it. Not that the science fantasy explanation (microwaves do not work like that) is a high point, but is the only answer you will get in this game.

    The worst part is all the weapons that are laying around (a gun in a dead man's hand in the first 10 minutes), flashlights that operate off of Sony handicam batteries that you also cannot pickup or use (far more efficient than night vision or mic), or batteries that travel between the "real" world and the silent hill version (Blake's mind). These aspects just destroy immersion, and help wear you down to reach the "I do not care" phase where you are just pushing through this to finish as quickly as possible. At one point you even have your camera taken away, jump to the alternate world, and when you return it is mysteriously back in your hand. Not to mention the thousands of dead/dying and hundreds of crazies that no one else in the state notices. Considering they kill all outsiders on sight, that is quite the feat of BS writing.
    Expand
  9. May 3, 2017
    5
    at the time of outlast 1 , it was the scariest and most unexpected horror story i ever experienced and so i have expected outlast 2 to top that , overall the game was really hard to play due to the intense ear ache it caused me with the extreme volume raise with each jump-scare , and mind you - this game is based on jump scares (so did outlast 1) , so i played with little to no volume ,at the time of outlast 1 , it was the scariest and most unexpected horror story i ever experienced and so i have expected outlast 2 to top that , overall the game was really hard to play due to the intense ear ache it caused me with the extreme volume raise with each jump-scare , and mind you - this game is based on jump scares (so did outlast 1) , so i played with little to no volume , environment wise it was the most gorey and most detailed blood spilled scenery i ever witnessed in a video game , the puzzles were annoying , but not as annoying as Resident Evil 7 , compared to that they were fairly easy , i am with mixed feelings about the plot and the unclear ending really left a bad taste for me , and while it is a game : i think that a camera man that's going to the wilderness should be stacked with portable chargers... it was a real menace to be economical and to search for batteries every second. Expand
  10. May 3, 2017
    6
    It's not a bad game, but I've been very disappointed by the fact that they changed the game from a mix of esplorative-ish/puzzle-ish/stealth-ish to a hardcore stealth; you will spend all the time either hiding or running away.

    Some people will surely like it, but it's a polarizing approach to game design (especially, when compared to the first installment). The atmosphere/graphics
    It's not a bad game, but I've been very disappointed by the fact that they changed the game from a mix of esplorative-ish/puzzle-ish/stealth-ish to a hardcore stealth; you will spend all the time either hiding or running away.

    Some people will surely like it, but it's a polarizing approach to game design (especially, when compared to the first installment).

    The atmosphere/graphics are great, for sure, and I have nothing against stealth game - therefore, the 6.
    Expand
  11. May 14, 2017
    7
    Not the best horror game out there, and maybe it doesn't match up to the first one either, but it's still well made. It does the horror things well with an okay (yet confusing) story, but sometimes makes things boring and predictable - mixed with confusing and frustrating level design. Overall, great, but not excellent.
  12. Apr 30, 2017
    7
    We say that this is one of the most anticipated horror games of this year, clearly the game made a name for itself with the first one. Outlast 2 takes the successful formula of the first game, shakes it up a bit to create a more immersive and frightening horror experience. Some how this game felt more difficult to complete(i played on normal difficulty and died like 100 times), howeverWe say that this is one of the most anticipated horror games of this year, clearly the game made a name for itself with the first one. Outlast 2 takes the successful formula of the first game, shakes it up a bit to create a more immersive and frightening horror experience. Some how this game felt more difficult to complete(i played on normal difficulty and died like 100 times), however that's not bad point. The huge drawback for this game is vague story. Now that I have finished a game, and watched a story explanation I still don't understand a lot of things. I feel like that there is not strict line between the hallucinations and reality, which created a very confusing story. Also the game can become repetitive after hours into gameplay. Outlast 2 is an excellent game, with good gameplay, and tons of scares, however with a better story it would have achieved more. I still prefer the first game and i still hope that they release DLC which would clear up the messy plot. Expand
  13. Apr 27, 2017
    7
    Nah, man, nah. First outlast was a really great game - solid 8/10.
    But with Outlast 2 something went out of their hands.
    + Awesome grpahics + Variety of levels like woods, mines, town, country side etc. + interesting story + great ost + interesting bosses design + section with raft was awesome These are strong sides. Now for the weak ones.. - trial and error chasing sequences are
    Nah, man, nah. First outlast was a really great game - solid 8/10.
    But with Outlast 2 something went out of their hands.
    + Awesome grpahics
    + Variety of levels like woods, mines, town, country side etc.
    + interesting story
    + great ost
    + interesting bosses design
    + section with raft was awesome
    These are strong sides. Now for the weak ones..
    - trial and error chasing sequences are dumb (they've made it so twitchers could scream more on streams)
    - sometimes you don't know where to go (that windmill stage was awful, or I spent like 20 minutes searching for the way out of that "Stone cage" while midget with crossbow was on my ass)
    - awful ending that doesn't explain anything
    Don't get me wrong - it's a good game worth buying with a fair price, but has some issues unlike previous game.
    Anyway, I just hope guys will make some additional content - Whistlblower was awesome after all.
    Expand
  14. Oct 18, 2017
    7
    Nothing too spectacular really, I guess I am suffering from to high expectations, as it was recommended as the scariest game ever... it goes nowhere near scariness of evil within, or silent hill, it's not extremely bad ether, if you are afraid or darkness and freaks then this is your game...
  15. Apr 27, 2017
    7
    While it's not necessarily bad, it's nothing special and didn't really surprise me as much as the first game. It has a decent story and graphics. I also liked the new gameplay elements like bandages, recording and camera mic. That's all great and all, but don't forget it's a horror game - I expected way more since this is an AAA horror game. I must say the settings wasn't as terrifying asWhile it's not necessarily bad, it's nothing special and didn't really surprise me as much as the first game. It has a decent story and graphics. I also liked the new gameplay elements like bandages, recording and camera mic. That's all great and all, but don't forget it's a horror game - I expected way more since this is an AAA horror game. I must say the settings wasn't as terrifying as the first one. Perhaps it's just me, but a closed setting like a haunted hospital terrifies me more than an open area like in Outlast 2. So, since the setting isn't scary, the only thing that could potentially be spooky are jump scares and chases. Jump scares is a cheap way to scare players - there are a lot of them in this one. And chases, well yeah, some of them are intense. Overall - it's a pretty decent game, though if you haven't played the first part, then you should play it first. Outlast and its Whistleblower DLC felt better than it's sequel. 7/10 Expand
  16. Oct 15, 2017
    5
    As a game it is very good, but it abuses too much in some situations of trial and error and an sometimes very unfair AI. Good game is clear, but those flaws tarnish the experience a little.
  17. May 10, 2018
    7
    На мой скромный взгляд геймплея игре не достает.
    Сделать дважды симулятор ходьбы и бега от безумцев - это как минимум странно.
    Для тех кто любит пощекотать себе нервы вполне пойдет, но ничем другим кроме страха быть застигнутым в этих "салочках" от монстров вас игр а не удивит и не испугает. За свой ценник вполне недурно , но лично мне странно, что ГГ вообще не в состоянии себя
    На мой скромный взгляд геймплея игре не достает.
    Сделать дважды симулятор ходьбы и бега от безумцев - это как минимум странно.
    Для тех кто любит пощекотать себе нервы вполне пойдет, но ничем другим кроме страха быть застигнутым в этих "салочках" от монстров вас игр а не удивит и не испугает.
    За свой ценник вполне недурно , но лично мне странно, что ГГ вообще не в состоянии себя защитить...
    Возможность вырубить противника не является чем-то невероятным, просто скучно сидеть и только сидеть, а еще убегать.
    Надеюсь далее разработчик концепцию доработает.
    Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2018
    6
    Outlast 2 doesn't manage to scare me like the first game did, the gameplay remains exactly the same while carrying the same flaws the first game had and more. This game essentially comes down to running from point A to point B for 8 or so hours. Its a mixed bag of a game, i really don't know if this is a good game or not.
  19. Apr 25, 2017
    6
    Really good... and really bad.

    As another horror game, excellent, as Outlast 2, a total deception. No continuation to the history, completely different ambience and thematic and so on. Please devs, if this is NOT Outlast 2 don't use it's name, you will get better acceptation from the Outlast fans.
  20. Apr 25, 2017
    7
    Why on earth did they do this?

    My feelings towards this game are mixed like you wouldn't believe. I truly loved the first one and its DLC, but this sequel simply does not hold a candle to the first game. While the premise definitely paved the way for a truly terrifying horror experience with quite an astonishing plot and impressive overall interactions, the result is simply not alike
    Why on earth did they do this?

    My feelings towards this game are mixed like you wouldn't believe.
    I truly loved the first one and its DLC, but this sequel simply does not hold a candle to the first game.
    While the premise definitely paved the way for a truly terrifying horror experience with quite an astonishing plot and impressive overall interactions, the result is simply not alike (at least in terms of gameplay). While the mistakes of the first game could easily be forgiven as it was their first installment, it is quite clear that finding these very faux pas again within the second installment's core is getting aggravating. It scares the world out of you through chases but there are still a lot of abstruse choices that make the game far less impressive than the first.

    You still cannot defend yourself even during situations that would have anyone go berserk in a desperate attempt to save their life. You can puh down a godd*mn tree but cannot even throw even a single punch... Neither can you dodge attacks nor use your environment to slow down/hit your pursuers whereas the level design has quite a number of things that could allow such features. I'm not speaking about killing enemies or feeling powerful at all, I'm just tackling this willingly pared down gameplay which proves to be more frustrating than really frightening. Seriously, someone's attacking you but you can't even retaliate using your fists or a chair when inside a house to survive? If not a permanent ingame feature, the least they could do was to include defense animations as part of scripted events, where you slap an enemy's face so as to gain time to go and hide for instance which would have otherwise been impossible if the enemy had not been stunned beforehand for a little while. Imagine the chase possibilities it could have brought... What bores the satanist out of me is that they had the means to do it yet they chose not to. There's no variety of any kind as you spend your playthrough doing the same thing over and over (run, hide and change batteries and so forth...) Some people will clearly say "no you're dumb, you're not supposed to defend yourself in Outlast blablablahhh" and I'll tell those that when a second installment is being set up, it is logically expected to bring on further improvements which here is clearly not the case. This is FULL recycling.

    Despite that, the atmosphere is truly terrific God-almighty. An absolute ambient masterpiece, a reference when it comes to stifling, jeopardizing your mental health. Absolutely insane, graphically the game is stupendous - and it is precisely because it is beautiful that it should have all the more so been far better in terms of gameplay core mechanics as the game had the inner guts to be as it happens far better thanks to bigger resources.

    The scenario is good especially when it comes to setting and staging as it has a very strong basis. It quite succeeds in throwing you in the midst of some of the most mother-godd**mn-fuc*in' twisted moments ever depicted in a horror game. Some scenes are an absolute wonder of insanity and often manage to make you feel morally uncomfortable for getting off upon watching. The thing is, that despite this very strong basis, there are way to many huge incoherences because of the lack of intel given to the player (which I may not expound here to avoid any kind of spoilers). this gets really confusing at sometimes. Another thing : it's high time they got rid of useless jumpscares... That is not horror, it's low cost. It doesn't ruin the thrill of being chased/hunted down (which is the scariest part) but still, substandard jumpscares should not be allowed in such a strongly-based game.

    I'm so pi*sed off Red Barrels, you could have done something amazing in every field but you partially failed at delivering me the inferno I've been craving for more than three years and half. **** it!
    6,5/10 (7 here because there's no half option).
    Expand
  21. Apr 26, 2017
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To sum it up, a hugely well made disappointment.
    I loved the camera, the fact you could record things and watch them and hear him commentate over it is a welcoming change which I hope they use in future Outlast's (if there is any). The graphics were fairly good. As I played this on PC it's fantastically optimised, didn't get a single crash in my 6 and half hour playthrough and not a single time I dropped below 100fps.
    The story was disappointing and confusing. You needed collectables to actually understand anything which is a shame. i dislike the forced chases through the game, and after the first couple of hours it just became the same thing over and over again. The new stamina mechanic is ridiculous and never should have been added to the game, it was very frustrating, if you was in that position you wouldn't slow down when being chased by a mad man with an axe.
    I have more negatives than positives for the game but I gave it a 7 because I was well immersed in the game and was genuinely frightened by most of the chases and enemies in the game.
    Hopefully they continue and improve the story with DLC coming out.
    Expand
  22. Apr 26, 2017
    5
    Nice graphics, story is interesting and awesome, characters are well rounded out and interesting, locations are jawdropping and the tensions are high! really love this game!
  23. May 3, 2017
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *SPOILERS AT THE END* I will give a warning before I start spoiling things. First half is spoiler free.

    I have mixed feelings about this game. I have to say, where it it succeeds it excels and where it fails it fails badly.

    The game is certainly scary, at parts, but the trial-and-error gameplay style switches it from "scary" to "frustratingly annoying" real quick, and a few gameplay tweaks could have changed this. I love a good challenge in a game, but I want to feel more terrified while playing a horror game than I want to be challenged, and it seems like the game tried so hard to be the latter it sacrificed horror elements at times in the process. Sometimes the controls felt off and I also found myself dying a lot because of the game and not my own inability to play. I often found myself getting stuck on a big pile of nothing and being killed in the process. The framerates would also randomly drop (and some play throughs it wouldn't, even in the exact same spot) which also gave me some difficulty playing. I also felt like the game relied too much on using the night vision mode on the camera and that the sound detector was kind of worthless in most of the game.

    It did do a lot of things right, though. It certainly was scary when it tried to be. It was certainly tense, and the story was interesting, even if the ending needed more to it (I'll touch more on that in the spoilers). The character designs I felt were good. Numerous enough to feel like there was some kind of real variety there. I also liked the setting, even if it was cliche and unoriginal, I think it set the mood quite well.

    *SPOILERS*

    And here's some of the stuff in specific I did and didn't like.

    While I hated my first encounter with Marta, I found her pretty scary throughout most of the encounters you have with her. Her scenes certainly felt tense and made you feel like you were actually running for your life. Except the last encounter at the end where she dies. I actually hated that, even though her death scene admittedly was relieving to see since she was such a bad person, I guess.

    I hated Val. I felt Val was just an uninteresting, extremely unlikable in a bad way. I just didn't like Val and felt like their story fell a bit short, even though it had the potential to be really interesting. I felt like this character and story arc needed to be flushed out more, and not just through notes laying around.

    I didn't understand the flashbacks. I think they were great at flushing out some of the story, but the monster (whatever it is) feels really out of place. This would have been better as strictly a psychological horror experience where you can't die. I think it would have broken up the monotony of the game and would have made it feel more brilliant. Maybe that's just me.

    I didn't get the Scalled, even though they admittedly looked creepy they were syphilitics who were starving. In large numbers I'm sure they would have been strong, but these people were frail and dying. I don't get how they were able to kill Blake. I mean, it made no sense given their condition. You could be taken out by one without issue. It makes the main character look really weak. Laird and Nick were interesting and maybe the best villains in the game, but their deaths? It felt anti-climactic to be honest.

    Finally, Knoth, who committed suicide, was certainly interesting. As a despicable villain I think he worked. I just wish there was more explaining how he gained so much influence in the first place. That's the same thing that bugs me about Val, though.

    What I do understand is the people are all delusional because of a machine created by the Murkoff Corporation. I can get that's a motivator, but it still left a lot of questions unanswered, especially at the end. We don't find out how Lynn's pregnancy moved along so fast. That can't be explained by that machine. It's all so confusing and was never answered, even though it should have been. It honestly reeks of DLC that's probably already finished but won't be released for months.

    Overall, I think Outlast 2 is good. Not great, but above average. It has some really bad flaws that I think are shameful and could have been easily avoided which would have made it better. As it stands the first game is better.
    Expand
  24. May 20, 2017
    5
    Видно сразу, что люди, которые ставят высокую оценку - делают это для хайпа. Типа "Это же Аутласт! Кирпичи! 10 батареек из 10" и это грустно. Аутласт 2 - разочарование. Симулятор поиска батареек, беготни и бредовых телепортаций из локации в локацию.Видно сразу, что люди, которые ставят высокую оценку - делают это для хайпа. Типа "Это же Аутласт! Кирпичи! 10 батареек из 10" и это грустно. Аутласт 2 - разочарование. Симулятор поиска батареек, беготни и бредовых телепортаций из локации в локацию.
  25. May 19, 2017
    5
    This game has an amazing graphic but sadly it’s too dark in the area, I can see nothing without turning on the camera every time. Finding a way to run is very confusing because it’s too dark and area is too narrow, so every time I am stuck in a corner or a group of madman and dying and repeat the same process until I found my way out.

    Hiding in this game is useless, because enemy will
    This game has an amazing graphic but sadly it’s too dark in the area, I can see nothing without turning on the camera every time. Finding a way to run is very confusing because it’s too dark and area is too narrow, so every time I am stuck in a corner or a group of madman and dying and repeat the same process until I found my way out.

    Hiding in this game is useless, because enemy will find you anyway no matter where you hide, so you can run only to progress throughout the game. When you want to run to the checkpoint, the character is always exhausted and then you die which is frustrated sometime because you have to listen to the same dialogue and getting jump scare over and over, which won’t make you feel scared anymore.
    Expand
  26. May 11, 2017
    7
    Great game, but gameplay suck balls. Seriously, gameplay suck really hard and stealth mechanic with level design FaiL. I do not know in what game i died more, in Dark Souls or Outlast 2&!
  27. May 23, 2017
    6
    The first Outlast game was not that good, and this makes up for that while committing other errors.

    Firstly, the atmosphere and the premise is much more attractive, the location switches and all makes it less repetitive than it's prequel, but, we also get the same problem it had, this hide and seek game that just doesn't make any sense. I don't know how they thought that repeating
    The first Outlast game was not that good, and this makes up for that while committing other errors.

    Firstly, the atmosphere and the premise is much more attractive, the location switches and all makes it less repetitive than it's prequel, but, we also get the same problem it had, this hide and seek game that just doesn't make any sense.

    I don't know how they thought that repeating the same thing, even with that annoying camera would make sense, because even with it context, it's just a bad gimmick to avoid the typical flashlight.

    The things that doesn't work this time, an OP enemy that sees you even when you are hidden just because it triggers the script, the noise detector that fakes enemy location and the replay feature of the camera is useless.

    The story is not as bad as the last one, they put some effort on the context with those letters, and some scenes are well orchestrated, but all in all it doesn't feel as solid as it should.
    Expand
  28. Jul 17, 2021
    6
    определенно лучше первой части
    сеттинг с фанатиками мне нравиться, но механика оставляет желать лучшего
    графика в сценах на высоте
  29. Mar 27, 2021
    6
    A decent atmospheric horror, but nowhere near as wholesome as Outlast and Whistleblower. The sequel still has the same (although improved) camera/nightvision mechanic, plays similarly and looks pretty good, but sadly lost quite a bit from the unsettling atmosphere of the original, and it repeatedly and deliberately broke the immersion, which made it feel more inconsistent. It also largelyA decent atmospheric horror, but nowhere near as wholesome as Outlast and Whistleblower. The sequel still has the same (although improved) camera/nightvision mechanic, plays similarly and looks pretty good, but sadly lost quite a bit from the unsettling atmosphere of the original, and it repeatedly and deliberately broke the immersion, which made it feel more inconsistent. It also largely relied on gore and sexual violence to induce the horror, which is not my cup of tea. Still a pretty decent game, just not as satisfying as the original. Expand
  30. Sep 18, 2021
    6
    ====================IIIIIIIIII GAME SCORE : 64 IIIIIIIIII====================
  31. Mar 9, 2021
    5
    Seeing that this game came after Outlast , it got worse the environment got less scary and the only thing that happens is people chasing you.
  32. Dec 14, 2021
    7
    Sono ancora in dubbio se chiamare questo Outlast 2 meglio o peggio del primo capitolo. Da una parte, abbiamo un'atmosfera convincente, l'intelligenza artificiale migliorata e ottime musiche di contorno; dall'altra parte abbiamo storia prevedibile, personaggi blandi e inseguimenti eccessivi e ripetitivi. Un peccato, perché con meno cliché e ripetizioni, poteva venir fuori una perla.
  33. Jan 31, 2021
    7
    its okay
    not as good as the first. it has a scary setting. good ambience.
    its too heavy on cheesy jump scares
    lack luster story
  34. Mar 22, 2022
    7
    Outlast 2 is a first-person psychological horror survival video game developed and published by Red Barrels. It's the sequel to the 2013 video game Outlast, and features a journalist named Blake Langermann, along with his wife Lynn, roaming the Arizona desert to explore the murder of a pregnant woman only known as Jane Doe. Both get separated in a helicopter crash, and Blake has to findOutlast 2 is a first-person psychological horror survival video game developed and published by Red Barrels. It's the sequel to the 2013 video game Outlast, and features a journalist named Blake Langermann, along with his wife Lynn, roaming the Arizona desert to explore the murder of a pregnant woman only known as Jane Doe. Both get separated in a helicopter crash, and Blake has to find his wife while traveling through a village inhabited by a deranged sect that believes the end of days are upon them. Expand
  35. Jul 2, 2021
    5
    Summary:
    In my opinion, the original was way better than this one. Personally, I didn't like it at all.
  36. Oct 27, 2020
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has got to be one of if not the most overrated horror sequel of all time. If you're going into this game expecting an immersive story, innovative gameplay, and non-stop scares, prepare to be disappointed. You have to do at least 8 minutes of research to even get an idea of what the hell's going on. You can read the letters sure, but they don't really explain a whole lot. The gameplay is literally no different from the first Outlast. You'd think they'd implement some sort of self-defense mechanic or arm you with something other than a **** $30 Walmart brand video camera. I'm not saying they should arm you with some of North Koreas most powerful nuclear weaponry but come on. At least impalement something like a light shove that gives you time to get away from whatever's attacking. That horror charm the first Outlast had has deliberately been replaced by gross out horror and unnecessary shock values in this game. You have the witch, who is so obviously meant to be a stand-in for Chris Walker. At least the first Outlast used Chris Walker sparingly. This game just overuses the witch so much to the point that any scary element to her is just non existent. It's not all that bad however. The school sections genuinely surprised me. I'd be lying if I said they didn't almost make me **** myself. I used to attend a Catholic school, and holy **** was that place terrifying at night. That would've been a great setting for an Outlast game. It's disappointing when you proceed to look at what we got instead. The school sections are the only reason why I didn't rate this game lower if I'm being perfectly honest. Needless to say, this game failed to live up to it's predecessor. It's a lazy mediocre sequel with an ending that leaves you bewildered and frustrated rather than wanting more. I am still immensely excited for the third installment next year. I just hope that Red Barrels has learned from their mistakes. Expand
  37. Dec 23, 2020
    7
    It is good but not like the first gamenrjejsdndjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjs
  38. May 8, 2021
    7
    After the first game, this game felt like a disappointment for me. Probably because it was too different than the first one? Also the first one had better plot and atmosphere I think. It's not a bad game, but just disappointing for me.
  39. Apr 29, 2022
    7
    Good horror at the beginning. the game is already scary at the very beginning, towards the middle the game becomes "run and hide" optimization is normal, the game design is amazing
  40. Aug 1, 2022
    7
    Disgusting, confounding style again, but less tension. Awful consolish controls and checkpoints, awful scripts & screamers. Stupid battery system, stupid one-hole gameplay.

    Gameplay: combat mechanics 2/10 stealth [stupid scripts and AI, unfair system] 5/10 atmosphere [stupid scripts and AI, stupid flashbacks] 8/10 Gameplay as immersive horror [stupid scripts & screamers] 7/10
    Disgusting, confounding style again, but less tension. Awful consolish controls and checkpoints, awful scripts & screamers. Stupid battery system, stupid one-hole gameplay.

    Gameplay:
    combat mechanics 2/10
    stealth [stupid scripts and AI, unfair system] 5/10
    atmosphere [stupid scripts and AI, stupid flashbacks] 8/10
    Gameplay as immersive horror [stupid scripts & screamers] 7/10

    Story [sjw bullsh!t, stupid flashbacks] 4/10

    Graphics [nice indoors, good first-person] 9/10

    Sounds & music [no music controls] 9/10

    .
    All the ideas of Condemned/Call of Cthulhu, but without combat mechanics. Such a shame.
    Expand
  41. Jun 30, 2022
    6
    At first I thought it was a good game, but when I played it, I discovered that it was just a repetition, just run and hide, and the gameplay is rather boring
  42. Aug 9, 2022
    7
    Honestly after a few hours I had to get a refund while I could. And honestly what I got to complain about is what everyone else did who disliked the game too.Honestly after a few hours I had to get a refund while I could. And honestly what I got to complain about is what everyone else did who disliked the game too.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. Oct 23, 2019
    50
    A faltering sequel that borrows even more liberally from well-worn horror tropes than its predecessor, Outlast 2 ends up a middling entry despite its high production values and some shining moments of found footage fright.
  2. Jul 5, 2017
    57
    Red Barrels built the sequel on the tried more of the same principle, but this is by far is not the worst problem of the second installment.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 5, 2017
    60
    Instead of the standard entertainment, we received unnecessarily over-combined horror game with atmosphere incomparable to the original one. [Issue#275]