Oxenfree Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 305 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Oxenfree is a supernatural thriller about a gaggle of friends who inadvertently open a ghostly rift. You assume the role of Alex, and you’ve just brought your new stepbrother Jonas to an overnight island party gone horribly wrong.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Oxenfree - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. May 29, 2016
    100
    Oxenfree is well written, immaculately acted, and superbly paced. And the most important thing is a conversation system that brings to life lived-in characters actually talking to each other instead of struggling to emerge from a turn-based dialogue game. Oxenfree is the Robert Altman of videogames.
  2. Jan 15, 2016
    90
    Oxenfree is a fantastic horror game, and Night School Studio has definitely pulled out all the stops to bring this story to life. Its classic Telltale meets the horror movies of the 1980s, and they’ve hit all the right notes. The branching storylines, likeable characters, and underlying dread and mystery really help this game to accomplish everything it could. Oxenfree is sure to keep you guessing until you reach the final ending screen. At which point I can’t promise you won’t just start over, ready to explore the ghostly realm ocne again.
  3. Jan 28, 2016
    90
    Night School’s creepy teen horror more than succeeds at being a chilling supernatural tale, but its real strength lies in its rough, earnest, truthful account of five teen lives and the ways that they grow and fracture under the worst, most unearthly kind of pressure.
  4. Jan 19, 2016
    80
    Oxenfree is a story about human interaction and how we choose to treat each other, all set against a backdrop of supernatural horror. It just feels really human in spite of all the weird stuff.
  5. Jan 25, 2016
    80
    Oxenfree is a wonderful narrative and explorative experience that succeeds in innovating the way in which dialogues are incorporated in videogames. It’s a big feat, that together with the interesting story and the stellar audio production values is well worth the price.
  6. Jan 15, 2016
    78
    In the end, Oxenfree is absolutely a game about teenage bullshit (forgive me for being a little disingenuous earlier). But it manages to revitalize that narrative by focusing on feeling more than substance; it glances at each character’s inner struggle rather than serving it up for a full meal.
  7. Jan 16, 2016
    50
    Pacing is a problem, but the experience can be a memorable one if you buy into Night School Studio’s concept.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73
  1. Oct 13, 2016
    10
    Oxenfree is the second game I've purchased from Steam, and despite my Mac being a little too slow for it, I loved this game!! Yes, it's short,Oxenfree is the second game I've purchased from Steam, and despite my Mac being a little too slow for it, I loved this game!! Yes, it's short, but it has a really great story, great dialogue, the characters are great and the soundtrack is amazing. I even love the painterly background.

    If you get to play this game, don't play it once and then stop. Play it again right away. The supernatural stuff you saw during your first playthrough "bleed through" to your second "timeline" and the story goes deeper still. Not to mention that you can get multiple endings based on your play style. ;) Those hidden trophies are there for a reason.

    I just love this game so much despite the massive bugs I got, but I'm a full time video game tester, and I attribute most of these bugs to my mac just being too slow. I don't generally game on my mac so it's forgiven. Give this game a try, it's a diamond in the rough.
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2018
    10
    Thought it was going to be another "Firewatch" waste of time. Slow start, but wow, what a finish. Do yourself a favor and play this. I've beenThought it was going to be another "Firewatch" waste of time. Slow start, but wow, what a finish. Do yourself a favor and play this. I've been playing games for 30 years, and this holds the intellectual merits of a great game. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2017
    9
    Oxenfree is a fantastic game that I would definitely recommend picking up if you are interested. The plot and themes are solid, but theOxenfree is a fantastic game that I would definitely recommend picking up if you are interested. The plot and themes are solid, but the meaningful character interactions and fantastic dialogue system help push the game to a new level… Minor flaws aside. After my 5 hour journey was complete, It felt like everything had been a real adventure, and one that I’m happy I was able to have. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2018
    8
    Un juego con 0 jugabilidad centrado por completo en la historia con varios finales. Tiene una historia muy original y atipica, me ha gustadoUn juego con 0 jugabilidad centrado por completo en la historia con varios finales. Tiene una historia muy original y atipica, me ha gustado mucho, pero se me ha hecho muy corto, y con un final un poco brusco Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2020
    7
    Oxenfree could be described as a story-driven walking simulator, one that revolves around snappy dialogue, of which there is a lot. It's aOxenfree could be described as a story-driven walking simulator, one that revolves around snappy dialogue, of which there is a lot. It's a very nice-looking game, with gorgeous background art and excellent animation of the 3D character models, and the voice acting is good, but there is no real gameplay to speak of, apart from making dialogue choices and tuning your radio to the right frequency in the right place. It's still engaging though, and does a good job of using jumpscares to illustrate to you (the player) what Alex (the protagonist) is experiencing.

    The game feels more like an interactive movie than a game, in that there is a story that unfolds linearly, and your contribution to this story amounts to walking to the next place and clicking on something. There's nothing wrong with that per se, and the game uses the time it takes you to walk to the next plot point to initiate conversations with the other characters. The problem comes when you want to go off-story to explore the island or look for the hidden radio signals that flesh out the plot, when it becomes painfully apparent just how slowly you navigate the circuitous environment. Some sort of fast-travel system would have been very welcome.

    It reminded me of a Joss Whedon teen movie with supernatural horror elements, right down to teenage characters being played by actors in their twenties or thirties. The characters all talk like sarcastic smartasses basically all the time, which makes sense at the start but which starts to grate, and which I thought undermined the disturbing life-and-death story.

    Your dialogue choices change how the other characters talk to you, but not the plot, except for the ending. I know this because I am on my third playthrough; without wanting to spoil it, the plot cleverly allows for replays to continue the story in a way that gives the player insights that the characters don't have. I found it quite frustrating how some dialogue choices you make seem to have much more significance than others - at the end there are summaries of the decisions you made, and some of these were choices I was not aware I'd made.

    Despite these complaints it's still a fun, short experience (3-4 hours if you just follow the plot), and I still enjoyed it enough to play all the way through it twice.
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2020
    6
    Very disappointing game. Starts really slow and makes you bored really fast with bland characters. The horror aspects of the game are mostVery disappointing game. Starts really slow and makes you bored really fast with bland characters. The horror aspects of the game are most entertaining but they are spaced out by painfully long walks. The whole game i had a feeling there is no space for failure no matter what you choose to do or say. Graphics and sounds are average which is fine. Over all really boring game. Expand
  7. May 28, 2020
    0
    The visual component is 5 out of 10. This decently looks, unfortunately, only in the screenshots, in general, this visual style palls in theThe visual component is 5 out of 10. This decently looks, unfortunately, only in the screenshots, in general, this visual style palls in the first half hour of the game and causes only yawning.
    The plot - 3 out of 10. Boring, stupid.
    The gameplay is 0 out of 10. Unfortunately it is not there, most of the dialogs and interactions can simply be ignored, there is little to change.
    Music - 0 out of 10. A rare example of such a mediocre composer, I really have not heard such terrible musical accompaniment for a long time. I hope this person quits music lessons and will not injure others.
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews