Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Feb 12, 2020
    90
    Phoenix Point is, without a doubt, one of the best strategy games to come out in the last few years.
  2. Dec 4, 2019
    90
    Phoenix point is a little rough around the edges, but if you manage to look past its bugs you'll be treated to one of the most nuanced and entertaining turn-based strategy games to arrive in quite some time.
  3. Dec 3, 2019
    90
    Phoenix Point may not meet the legacy of its celebrated forebear X-Com, but then few games ever will. Elegant, atmospheric, and energetic, Gollop’s latest remains remarkably hard to put down.
  4. Dec 3, 2019
    90
    Die hard fans of XCOM will likely fall in love with Phoenix Point, a hard-as-nails challenge that offers procedurally-generated replayability and a suite of tactics to help you thrive on and off the battlefield.
  5. Dec 9, 2019
    88
    If you are familiar with the genre, you know what to expect with Phoenix Point. Little flourishes, like letting you manually aim your shots, inject some new life into a fairly predictable genre. It is the plot and the aesthetic that make Phoenix Point truly shine though; the world is so strange and immersive that you will love playing the game over and over to learn everything you can — which is precisely how the game is meant to be played. Even though it doesn’t shine technically, Phoenix Point has it where it counts — in an engaging gameplay experience.
  6. Dec 3, 2019
    86
    Almost identical to XCOM 2 in visuals and gameplay, although not as polished. Hit zones provide more tactical depth, though.
  7. Dec 13, 2019
    82
    Phoenix Point is a game fans of the genre should not miss. Sure, it has some flaws, but it’s a very solid first entry for a new IP, and we hope it continues to grow –the foundation is so good it could easily be one of the best strategy franchises.
  8. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    80
    In some ways, the game may look simple, but the opposite is true. Thanks to the difficulty and intriguing environment you will spend dozens of hours playing the game. [Issue#301]
  9. Feb 28, 2020
    80
    This is a true spiritual successor to X-Com games. The tense atmosphere and terribly lopsided fight to save humanity make this a wonderful strategic experience.
  10. Edge Magazine
    Jan 3, 2020
    80
    It's hardly the deepest strategy game around, but it effectively sets up the loop these games revel in, one thing feeding into another so you can never quite find the right moment to put it down [Issue#341, p.110]
  11. Jan 3, 2020
    80
    Julian Gollop knows what he’s doing, and his experience lends tremendous breadth to this crowdfunded indie game. It keeps your mind busy as you try to achieve your goals in the most efficient way possible. I’ll go one step further: it’s what XCOM 2 should have been.
  12. Dec 20, 2019
    80
    Phoenix Point expands upon the XCOM formula brilliantly, offering a fantastic campaign that leaves you twisting and turning. Despite a bit of a slog through the middle section of the game, there’s a lot to love here, and Snapshot Games has every right to be proud of the work that they’ve put in to bring this wonderful end-of-the-year delight to life.
  13. Dec 18, 2019
    80
    Phoenix Point has plenty of bold new ideas for the XCOM genre, but not all of them have the same level of shine. It can feel a bit unwieldy at times, a bit less user-friendly than you'd hope. But it's a game that feels more concerned with experimentation than perfection, that's more interested in discovering new paths to take than walking one that's already well-trodden.
  14. Dec 16, 2019
    80
    I don't see any real reason to recommend Phoenix Point more than the Firaxis games. But if you've spent hundreds of hours with XCOM and you've had enough of the series, you might notice the small differences to the competitor and thus be offered some variety.
  15. 80
    While Phoenix Point has flaws, technical hiccups, needs a bit of polish and some of its systems feel dated, there are some genuinely exciting mechanics and world-building to this experience. The monster evolution system isn’t as revolutionary as you might want/be expecting but it’s executed to a point where it does force you to change your playstyle and gives a nice sense of thematic presence. Overall, if you like Julian Gollop-designed experiences, experimental strategy games and gun-infused crabs, Phoenix Point is a must.
  16. Dec 10, 2019
    80
    Phoenix Point stands out in the tactical-RPG genre, even from obvious comparisons to XCOM, because it so fearlessly explodes the management systems on the battlefield. Even among tactics fans, it's clear this isn't a game for everyone, but if you're looking for something to really sink your teeth into, Phoenix Point is it.
  17. Dec 10, 2019
    80
    Phoenix Point is an entertaining experience for all of those who interested in the tactical-strategy genre. It mostly uses the same elements that we’d seen in the XCOM series, but thanks to several new features, the gameplay distinguishes itself from XCOM. However, you have to get along with some disappointing technical issues.
  18. Dec 6, 2019
    80
    Even though it doesn’t reinvent the wheel, at the end of the day, strategy fans – and certainly XCOM fans – will enjoy the improvements that Phoenix Point makes, especially if this is just the beginning.
  19. Dec 4, 2019
    80
    Phoenix Point’s blend of combat, research management and global exploration is thoroughly compelling, even if the factions can be a little trying. Whether you’ve got fond memories of Julian Gollop’s original game or not, he and his team have taken old school strategy and dragged it kicking, screaming and gurgling into the modern day.
  20. Dec 3, 2019
    80
    A very capable game that excels at the strategy layer, but the tactical sphere is a bit sterile and leaves you feeling cold.
  21. Feb 7, 2020
    79
    Newcomers won't find any flash or forgiveness in the story or difficulty; this is a hardcore strategy game through and through. None of those points deter from my overall enjoyment of Phoenix Point, though. It's a fantastic game, and I'm excited to see what Gollup has in mind for DLC. I certainly plan to play more of this game and improve my tactics. At the moment, my only Phoenix-like revival skills lie in save scumming.
  22. Dec 4, 2019
    79
    The gameplay of Phoenix Point is similar to the X-COM series but introduces tons of dazzling innovation. It's hard to get started but once you master all the strategies you will become a die-hard fan. The biggest problem, for now, is that the game suffers from an array of annoying bugs.
  23. Dec 9, 2019
    77
    Surely an interesting game, Phoenix Point nevertheless suffers from some opaque mechanics and too much micromanagement. Julian Gollop is proposing a valid spin on the X-COM formula, but Firaxis' War of the Chosen remains a bridge too far.
  24. Dec 3, 2019
    77
    Strategically delicious, Phoenix Point’s biggest problem is lackluster technical execution.
  25. Dec 19, 2019
    75
    Phoenix Point is a good vision of the XCOM-style turn strategy weighed down by its structure and low intensity in the fighting.
  26. Dec 17, 2019
    75
    Phoenix Point is ambiguous: on the one hand, it will appeal to all turn-based strategy enthusiasts who are looking for an old-school experience, on the other it will surely find the resistance of those who are used to something else.
  27. Dec 9, 2019
    75
    Phoenix Point offers a great return to a more complex, more involving, if not a little too slow (at times) version of the XCOM style of game. Featuring a massive amount of customisation and personalisation, from the building of your own personal Earth-saving force as well as diplomacy with the surviving factions, you have a massive amount to sink your teeth into. Add onto this some of the best tactical gameplay around and a very replayable nature, you have something that will suck you in. There are issues, it can grind to a halt at times and it can also feel a little repetitive with repeated side-missions. In the long run, this is a great game and one that is well worth spending your time with.
  28. Dec 7, 2019
    75
    Phoenix Point is a collection of fantastic new ideas installed on the solid foundations of the X-COM franchise. While it lacks the content to offer the replay value of the more recent X-COM games, it’s still a great game that will test your strategic mettle to its very limits.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 3, 2019
    Playing Phoenix Point has been a powerful propulsion back through my past, pinballing me through 25 years of alien-fighting nostalgia. And if I still find myself returning to it again, keen to blow the floor out from under another tentacled terror the moment I finish this review, then you know it's got much more right than wrong. Even if I never reach the end, I will still have enjoyed the journey, and the friends (soldiers) I met (renamed as my friends) along the way.
  2. There’s slow-burn greatness in Phoenix Point. It’s a game where you might be exploring a site, bracing for ambush, but instead find an abandoned theme park dedicated to a novelty boy band of hedge fund managers called the Lucrative Lads. Where you dread the thud of a parasitic worm dropping from a roof to the ground at your feet. Where the cold utilitarianism trained by XCOM slowly melts, and ideology begins to influence your diplomacy. It’s warmer, stranger, than its genremates. But it’s harder work to enjoy. Like its most outlandish guns and powerful armours, it takes a few hours’ research to get there.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 311 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Dec 4, 2019
    10
    The best game I've bought this year. Though I've only bought about 3 full priced games.
    I have well over 800 hours in XCOM 2 and bought the
    The best game I've bought this year. Though I've only bought about 3 full priced games.
    I have well over 800 hours in XCOM 2 and bought the original Microprose terror from the Deep on UK release day in the 90's and completed it on the hardest level many times.
    This is pitched somewhere between the Firaxis games and the Microprose games in terms of depth. It has a lot of user QOL improvements, good graphics and despite a couple of bugs (Overwatch can be flakey) it is a great game already.
    The tutorial does a great job. It explains the basics but leaves so much to discover,a nd that is - after all - a HUGE part of the game. Discovering what to buildm what goes where. There does not seem to be a right way to win, different strategies seem to work if they are well thought out. But the game lets you discover much for yourself and for me that is far preferable to being hand held.
    After the tutorial you can do anything and everything - but only at a superficial level. The rest is for you to find out. That's the ideal tutorial as far as I'm concerned Discovery and imagination are key gameplay ideas that so many developers destroy by forcing you to play a certain way and explaining every nut and bolt of the game
    It's a lot more stable (for me) than XCOM 2 was at launch and looks considerably better, The geoscape is a vast improvement over the Firaxis game. The UI in the base is clean and simple to understand the aliens are wonderful and that game has become a classic with solid developer support, well priced and effective DLC's and a massive boost from an enthusiastic modding community.
    Phoenix Point starts in a better place (as far as I'm concerned) and with good support could (and perhaps should) be a better game in timer than XCOM 2 is with mods, DLC's and bug fixes.
    It's a solid game now. 50-60 hours for a game that costs quite a bit less than most AAA releases.

    I'll be playing this game a lot in the coming months. This and Factorio are the only two games I'll play till Spring probably. Wish I had more time for games and wish there were more games like this :)
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2019
    4
    The fact that Snapshot games kept referring to Firaxis' last two Xcom games ended up hurting it.
    Truth is I was bored ten minutes in, 3 hours
    The fact that Snapshot games kept referring to Firaxis' last two Xcom games ended up hurting it.
    Truth is I was bored ten minutes in, 3 hours later? It hadn't changed.
    You start out with two soldiers, rescue a third one (not as much as a hello), afterwards you're told to do some repairs. Then suddenly you have 3 more soldiers the next mission (no introductions, you didn't recruit them, you're just left with a "Huh... where did these guys come from?"

    Story/narrative feels completely absent (save the cutscenes giving you a vague introduction).
    As it's quite impossible to not compare it to Firaxis' games? I've got to say... I -miss- Bradford, Chen, Vahlen, Lily (Xc2). Having characters (that aren't faceless/without personality) did wonders for that game. Truth is? In Phoenix Point I don't feel I -care- for the soldiers under my command, nor any other people you come across.

    Phoenix Point to me, is just a bunch of numbers, menus and stats. I'm a backer (who -really-really-really- hoped the game would be up to expectations. At the very least not be disappointing.
    As reviews are always linked to what you feel about a game (are you having fun or not), I'm having trouble recommending it.

    As for me, personally? I'm not enjoying it (6 hours in). I -do- hope, and I really mean that, that Phoenix Point will keep evolving, and perhaps over time it'll win me over
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 3, 2019
    4
    so much good ideas... so much they **** it up.

    QA / release is really... WTF ? So many bugs... So many ! 1. Game freezes constantly
    so much good ideas... so much they **** it up.

    QA / release is really... WTF ?

    So many bugs... So many !

    1. Game freezes constantly
    2. You cant see damage done by aliens when zoomed
    3. zooming and focus is just bugged

    Here you see the difference between AAA Studio vs start up ... Oh **** I really wanted to love the game. But I can not start over every mission over and over again because of the constant freezes

    be careful with nvidia 1080 / 1080ti these seem to have problems

    Hope they will fix the game. It has so much potential
    Full Review »