User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1312 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2022
    5
    Recommended
    39.4 hrs at review time
    100% With all Achievements
    Gameplay 5/10
    Music and sound 5/10
    Screenplay 2/10
    Technical 6/10
  2. Aug 6, 2022
    9
    gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
  3. Aug 6, 2022
    9
    One of my all-time favorite games. Everything about this game is so replayable, and it's very cheap, I got the Steam version on sale for 2 bucks.
  4. Aug 3, 2022
    8
    I used to play this with smartphone when I was younger and it's nice to see this on steam. Even if it comes easy now, I enjoyed thoroughly during my play time.
  5. Jul 30, 2022
    9
    EMATARY GRAVE MAN - BLEED A RIVERSEMATARY GRAVE MAN - BLEED A RIVERSEMATARY GRAVE MAN - BLEED A RIVERSEMATARY GRAVE
  6. Jul 26, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fun and wonderful game, unfortunately, the series, if you turn a beautiful turn after the second carrot. Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2022
    10
    The first game is the only, good, fun, and well done character design after the first one just went downhill
  8. Jul 9, 2022
    9
    игра даёт постоянно что то новое, но многие уровни проходятся по одному простому шаблону, так же под конец чувствуется усталость от однообразия, хорошо хоть есть бонус уровни которые разбавляют геймплей.
    И самое интересное это естественно как раз таки эти самые бонус уровни которые открываются после прохождения игры
    игра даёт постоянно что то новое, но многие уровни проходятся по одному простому шаблону, так же под конец чувствуется усталость от однообразия, хорошо хоть есть бонус уровни которые разбавляют геймплей.
    И самое интересное это естественно как раз таки эти самые бонус уровни которые открываются после прохождения игры
  9. Jul 4, 2022
    10
    This game is amazing this title that interested me even more to pc gaming the artstyle is great the gameplay for some might be boring but for me its great
  10. Jul 1, 2022
    7
    Un defensa de torres clásico y magnífico que si eres amante del género no puedes dejar pasar, jamás te dejará estar cómodo cambiando de estilo de gameplay casi continuamente, un Juegazo que quedará para la historia del género.
  11. Jun 11, 2022
    9
    Plants vs Zombies is a game released on May 5th, 2009. the game is... well, basically the title of the game, you fight plants against zombies. recommend this game if you like tower defense games, Because this game is like a tower defense game, with loads of fun minigames. there are five worlds, and each of them has different gimmicks. the first one does not really have one actually, thePlants vs Zombies is a game released on May 5th, 2009. the game is... well, basically the title of the game, you fight plants against zombies. recommend this game if you like tower defense games, Because this game is like a tower defense game, with loads of fun minigames. there are five worlds, and each of them has different gimmicks. the first one does not really have one actually, the night world has no sun falling from the sky, the pool world is world 1 but there's water in the middle 2 tiles, the fog world is night mixed with pool, but there's fog so you can't really see most of the map, and then the final one, you have to plant pots to plant plants on. I said plants at least 3 times in that sentence. also, you cant use plants like spike weed in the pots cuz, how the hell is that thing supposed to fit? anyways, there are a ton of memorable minigames like I. zombie, vase breaker, portal combat, combat, and especially last stand, and I haven't even gotten into the soundtrack in this game! the OST in this game is really good, especially the roof wave and pool wave for me. this is a 9/10 game for me. Expand
  12. May 26, 2022
    10
    Чёртовы зомби практически съели мои мозги хорошо что у меня всегда рассада стоит на подоконнике
  13. May 26, 2022
    9
    this game is a classic that everyone should play.
    Really funny, the drawing style is great
    A game that makes you nostalgic and that keeps you glued to the screen
  14. May 8, 2022
    10
    This game still holds up against other tower defense games, it's fun and well made. Like seriously if you somehow haven't played this game than you should.
  15. Apr 12, 2022
    10
    I am so addicted to this game when I was a kid and I feel like I can play this game from start to finish if I have time. That's how I love this game, I'll play it again for nostalgia reasons. How you feel the sense of accomplishment and achievement is the best. Planting in your zen garden, raising zombies in the aquarium, whacking zombies, forming strategies, real-time, and other uniqueI am so addicted to this game when I was a kid and I feel like I can play this game from start to finish if I have time. That's how I love this game, I'll play it again for nostalgia reasons. How you feel the sense of accomplishment and achievement is the best. Planting in your zen garden, raising zombies in the aquarium, whacking zombies, forming strategies, real-time, and other unique forms of ideas are shown in this game. It is mainly planting and forming strategy but you know what's 's best? The music, sound fx, main background music, and the variety of different designed and constructed plants and zombies. That's your expansion of experience. Play this game dang it. Expand
  16. Apr 4, 2022
    8
    Good classic tower defense game. Gameplay is simple, Fair and balanced. Visuals still hold up years later. I recommend this game.
  17. Apr 2, 2022
    9
    Masterpiece at it's finest.The game might seem repetitive at first howevet it does a great job at preventing that from happening by adding new game modes and plants to use!This game is an absolute icon.
  18. Mar 20, 2022
    8
    Plants vs. Zombies is a 2009 tower defense video game developed and published by PopCap Games. The player takes the role of a homeowner amid a zombie apocalypse. As a horde of zombies approaches along several parallel lanes, the player must defend the home by putting down plants, which fire projectiles at the zombies or otherwise detrimentally affect them. The player collects a currencyPlants vs. Zombies is a 2009 tower defense video game developed and published by PopCap Games. The player takes the role of a homeowner amid a zombie apocalypse. As a horde of zombies approaches along several parallel lanes, the player must defend the home by putting down plants, which fire projectiles at the zombies or otherwise detrimentally affect them. The player collects a currency called sun to buy plants. If a zombie makes it to the house on any lane, the player loses and must restart the level. Expand
  19. Mar 19, 2022
    9
    The interface is wonderful. You have so much information immediately available to you. Google Maps always has a minimap in the lower left corner, which gives you a good overview of the area. Getting information about people gives you a clear, clear window. Hacking offers a menu with easily recognizable icons, so you always know what your button presses will do.
  20. Mar 19, 2022
    10
    _in your head, zombie, zombie из песни слов не выкинешь, как и эту прекрасную игру. Вышедшая на чём угодно, как зомби - вирус заразила почти всё население, и тут же на трупах убиенных подобно растениям дала плоды другим не мало важным продуктам линейки Plants vs. Zombies

    _in your head, zombie, zombie. You can't throw words out of a song, just like this beautiful game. Released on
    _in your head, zombie, zombie из песни слов не выкинешь, как и эту прекрасную игру. Вышедшая на чём угодно, как зомби - вирус заразила почти всё население, и тут же на трупах убиенных подобно растениям дала плоды другим не мало важным продуктам линейки Plants vs. Zombies

    _in your head, zombie, zombie. You can't throw words out of a song, just like this beautiful game. Released on anything, like a zombie, the virus infected almost the entire population, and immediately on the corpses of those killed, like plants, it gave rise to other important products of the Plants vs. Zombies
    Expand
  21. Mar 18, 2022
    8
    The only real way to describe this game is just that it's overall pretty good. Even though it holds your hand the whole way through, and there is not too much extra content, it is overall very charming and fun to waste a couple hours to try to beat this classic.
  22. Mar 12, 2022
    10
    Прошёл игру за один день (за 10 часов). Топовая стратегия про зомби с кучей уровней и красивой графикой.
  23. Feb 21, 2022
    6
    ⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀
  24. Feb 18, 2022
    10
    Un juego demasiado divertido, sobran las palabras sobre este juegazo atemporal.
  25. Jan 27, 2022
    10
    It's one of the best game I played when I was little :D. It's pretty fun to play.
  26. Jan 17, 2022
    9
    An excellent game, lucidly engaging with exceptional humour and style manifested through the cartoonish zombies. The first levels are slightly dull, but the game ramps up in difficulty and intrigue with its new introduction of intrepid plants and diverse zombies that allows addictiveness. Despite the potential simplicity, there are vast challenges allowing sublime replayability, notablyAn excellent game, lucidly engaging with exceptional humour and style manifested through the cartoonish zombies. The first levels are slightly dull, but the game ramps up in difficulty and intrigue with its new introduction of intrepid plants and diverse zombies that allows addictiveness. Despite the potential simplicity, there are vast challenges allowing sublime replayability, notably its mini-games. Nevertheless, the sequels are of decidedly lower quality attributed through EA. Expand
  27. Jan 16, 2022
    10
    I love this game. It is so fun to play and easy to play. Nice idea for Popcap, it is entertaining me when I was child until now.
  28. Jan 15, 2022
    8
    GOOD: 8.2/10
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐

    Story: 8.3
    Gameplay/Controls/Kamera: 9.8
    Graphics: 7.5
    Sound/Music: 7.6
    Character Customization/Level Design: 8.5
    FUN: 7
  29. Jan 13, 2022
    9
    so funny
    very funny game if I need to compare among all other games by the way.
  30. Jan 9, 2022
    4
    My scores for this game
    Story : 8/10
    The logic of the game story is good, the zombies attack the house and the man defends his brain and we defend in the garden, then we go to the roof. Graphics : 5/10 The game graphics are old, the creators did not bother to make it at least HD so that we could play. Musics : 10/10 The songs of this game are still fresh and beautiful for me, full
    My scores for this game
    Story : 8/10
    The logic of the game story is good, the zombies attack the house and the man defends his brain and we defend in the garden, then we go to the roof.
    Graphics : 5/10
    The game graphics are old, the creators did not bother to make it at least HD so that we could play.
    Musics : 10/10
    The songs of this game are still fresh and beautiful for me, full score.
    Details : 7/10
    In this game, follow the details of today's games, it is excellent in its own style.
    Game play : 10/10
    The gameplay of this game in my opinion has no rival TD style, but in 6 rows and in the whole game you need to plant all the plants.
    Variety : 10/10
    The variety of games is so great that now I can play but I can not play
    Expand
  31. Dec 30, 2021
    10
    Plants vs Zombies are a greatest game i played in my childhood second is Angry Birds. The Gameplay is so much beautiful and fun, i defeated Dr. Zomboss several times, and watering plants in Zen Garden everytime, this game just hits my nostalgia.
  32. Dec 21, 2021
    9
    one of my favorite games i played this game when i was 8 and i love this game if you didnt played this then play this now PLAY PVZ **** if u dont have money then play mobile version
  33. Dec 20, 2021
    7
    I thought this game wasn't mean to be on PC because I first discovered it back then on iOS... I guess this is a great example of self-centeredness despite myself ! So this is officially the primary version of this tower-defense worldwide success. I don't get why it isn't considered as a 'Must-Play' in here. Story is funny especially with its terrific DAVE the neighbor character. Plants areI thought this game wasn't mean to be on PC because I first discovered it back then on iOS... I guess this is a great example of self-centeredness despite myself ! So this is officially the primary version of this tower-defense worldwide success. I don't get why it isn't considered as a 'Must-Play' in here. Story is funny especially with its terrific DAVE the neighbor character. Plants are funny, zombies are funny. The feeling of progression is terrific even if some strategies kind of ruin the play once you get to know them. It goes the same for upgrades : some really save your life when you need them to. Levels and environments are as varied as colorful. Mini-games offer different gameplays. Boss fights are amazing. Easter eggs are hilarious to find. The main story is still quite short (as you can see, 'Plants vs. Zombies' seems to have been designed to be a kind of mini-game itself) but after that, you can play it again in a more difficult mode ! Steam achivements are really hard and long to get. Also since a level lasts between 5 and 15 minutes it can feel truly repetitive, because all you have to do is a) plant sunflowers, b) collect enough sun and c) invest sun on defensive plants. Again and again until the boss appears. Clearly fun to play but well... Not more than something like 7 to 10 hours. (I only persevered in order to get the achievements of course.) Expand
  34. Dec 19, 2021
    10
    Highly Recommended : 10/10
    1. Graphics : GOOD
    2. Gameplay : GOOD
    Definitely worth a try !
  35. Nov 19, 2021
    7
    great aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  36. Nov 18, 2021
    10
    This game is one of the best the music the sprites the final boss the minigames the story I think umm
  37. Sep 13, 2021
    10
    игра, которую я обожал в детстве и до сих пор у меня о ней хорошие воспоминания
  38. Sep 6, 2021
    9
    опять же игра из детства хорошая и максимально интересная
  39. Sep 3, 2021
    10
    um jogo perfeito criado em uma epoca perfeita. tem uma cassetada de level e uma cassetada de personagem/inimigo. perfeito
  40. Aug 30, 2021
    9
    So addictive game even though it's simple, totally new idea, never played a game like this, and everyone loves it
  41. Aug 6, 2021
    10
    This Game Was my Childhood, good design, no bugs, VERY GOD DAMN MUSIC! best mobile game of all time!
  42. Jul 22, 2021
    8
    good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good ZONBI
  43. Jun 14, 2021
    8
    Хороший аркадный тавер дефенс, основанный на овощах и зомби, Есть лучшая версия в виде мобильной игры. Советую попробовать
  44. Jun 1, 2021
    9
    This game was a very big part of my childhood, I remember playing it on my first PC that my grandma gave give me. After quite a few playthroughs (on multiple devices), the PC version is clearly superior. This game definitely made the Tower Defense genre what it is today. I highly recommend it.
  45. Apr 24, 2021
    8
    Still a really fun strategy game all these years later. EA really ruined this franchise before it even started, didn't they?
  46. Apr 24, 2021
    7
    Its a fun game, its nothing too special and its really not a deep game at all, its a fun little tower defense with a really fun twist.

    There is enough content to warrant the price and the fun you get.
    Just don't expect a deep game, its almost a mobile game.
  47. Apr 4, 2021
    10
    Игра просто великолепна, мне нечего сказать. В этот шедевр надо поиграть самому.
  48. Mar 16, 2021
    9
    It's a fun game, does what it's ment to do, and does it well. It has personality and it has style. I loved the zombie bowling minigame, as well as the the overall art direction. It's definitly worth the $10 on steam, and with the amout of actual content is worth the $20 if you want a boxed copy.
  49. Feb 7, 2021
    9
    [RU]
    Музыка, геймплей, стилистика! Такие игры делают редко. Настоятельно рекомендую
  50. Feb 2, 2021
    9
    ‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍
  51. Jan 15, 2021
    8
    Fun and simple. Perhaps the difficulty level is not too high, but generally speaking it was quite enjoyable to play.
  52. Jan 9, 2021
    10
    asdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasd
  53. Jan 3, 2021
    10
    Любимая игра детства. Прекрасно всё: геймплей, дизайн, идея, музыка, враги.
  54. Jan 2, 2021
    10
    дети Донбасса поймут. прекрасный геймплей, захватывающий сюжет. нестареющая классика нах
  55. Nov 22, 2020
    8
    unstoppable nostalgic game that just hits you right when you get the game back, with a great fun purpose and system for the game, and always does it's best to make users have an enjoyment for the game itself!

    most of the features in this game just make the game as a whole when you get it, enjoyable.
  56. Nov 13, 2020
    8
    Plants Vs Zombies is a great game! I love the idea of an army of plants defending their home versus a zombie force. The plants could use some balancing though. Some combos are OP and unable to be defeated. My biggest issue with the game is how easy it is. I usually like easy games but in this case it needs some challenges to overcome. Now for the positives... I love the sound design! ItPlants Vs Zombies is a great game! I love the idea of an army of plants defending their home versus a zombie force. The plants could use some balancing though. Some combos are OP and unable to be defeated. My biggest issue with the game is how easy it is. I usually like easy games but in this case it needs some challenges to overcome. Now for the positives... I love the sound design! It really fits in with the slightly cheap looking graphics. Not that the graphics are bad but it just looks a bit outdated for even 2009. Finally the levels are designed well but like I said earlier are just a bit too easy. So overall, I like Plants VS Zombies but there are a few flaws.

    8/10
    Expand
  57. Oct 11, 2020
    5
    Interesting idea for a Tower Defence setting, but doesn't offer much more than that.
  58. Aug 15, 2020
    10
    Потрясающая игра, часто играл в неё в детстве. Даже сейчас играть в эту игру интересно и, что самое важное, увлекательно!
  59. Aug 3, 2020
    9
    This is the only good game in the PVZ franchise, not that I've played all of them but from what I've seen, all the other games look and feel nothing like this gem. Please PopCap, please cancel the pay to win agreement with EA, don't work for them, and re-hire George Fan!
  60. Jun 30, 2020
    10
    es EL juego de estrategia por excelencia, debes probarlo si o si, plants vs zombies logro introducir a mucha gente al genero de estrategia, incluso si no te gustan los juegos de estrategia, plants vs zombies te va a divertir, tiene mucho contenido, mucha rejugabilidad, mucha variedad, muy bien balanceado, etc. etc. solo juegalo, aunque sea la version para celular, cualquier version tienees EL juego de estrategia por excelencia, debes probarlo si o si, plants vs zombies logro introducir a mucha gente al genero de estrategia, incluso si no te gustan los juegos de estrategia, plants vs zombies te va a divertir, tiene mucho contenido, mucha rejugabilidad, mucha variedad, muy bien balanceado, etc. etc. solo juegalo, aunque sea la version para celular, cualquier version tiene las excelentes mecanicas que hicieron a este juego la super franquicia que es el dia de hoy Expand
  61. Jun 7, 2020
    10
    it's a real best strategy game and YOU also need to play this game and when you have nothing to do then this game will give a lot of good memories
  62. May 27, 2020
    9
    Plants Vs. Zombies is an addictive tower defense game that is still loads of fun a decade later. The gameplay is simple. You use sun to create a defense that'll prevent zombies from reaching the house. At the back of every lane, there's a lawn mower. If a zombie touches a lawn mower, it'll clear the entire lane. You only have a single lawn mower per lane. There's a large variety of plantsPlants Vs. Zombies is an addictive tower defense game that is still loads of fun a decade later. The gameplay is simple. You use sun to create a defense that'll prevent zombies from reaching the house. At the back of every lane, there's a lawn mower. If a zombie touches a lawn mower, it'll clear the entire lane. You only have a single lawn mower per lane. There's a large variety of plants to choose from. There are over 50 fruits and veggies to annihilate the trespassing undead. Later on in this game, you'll unlock a garden, a shop, and an almanac. The garden is a place where you'll grow plants. You can sell the plants and get coins and diamonds. The shop is a van where you can buy minigames, plants, and much more. The almanac gives small descriptions about each plant and zombie which'll likely make you chuckle. Perhaps my favorite thing about this game is its personality. There's a load of character in every corner of this magnificent game. The dialogue is humorous and Crazy Dave is simply an amazing character. This game's music is spectacular and will certainly get stuck in your head. In conclusion, Plants Vs Zombies is an awesome tower defense experience that is certainly worth the price. Have a lovely day/night, folks! Expand
  63. Apr 18, 2020
    8
    Plants Vs Zombies es, en lo personal, mi videojuego de estrategia favorito. Con una gran direccion artistica y una gran banda sonora, se las ingenia para no caer en el olvido. Cada planta y zombi es unico, la personalidad se siente en este videojuego. Y la cantidad de contenido que tiene es brutal (aunque si que depende bastante del post game, no se si me entienden...). Aunque si tengo quePlants Vs Zombies es, en lo personal, mi videojuego de estrategia favorito. Con una gran direccion artistica y una gran banda sonora, se las ingenia para no caer en el olvido. Cada planta y zombi es unico, la personalidad se siente en este videojuego. Y la cantidad de contenido que tiene es brutal (aunque si que depende bastante del post game, no se si me entienden...). Aunque si tengo que reconocer que puede llegar a ser bastante facil a veces, el modo en el que se aprovechan todas las mecanicas jugables es en el modo supervivencia. Y tambien no me gusto que las versiones de Xbox 360 y PS3 sigan siendo superiores a dia de hoy... Pero quitando eso, Plants vs Zombies es mi videojuego casual, y uno de mis videojuegos favoritos! Demuestra que incluso un juego casual, puede rivalizar incluso con juegos AAA. Totalmente recomendado. Expand
  64. Mar 26, 2020
    9
    Para ser un juego simple es demasiado entretenido, si o si amaras este juego
  65. Feb 11, 2020
    10
    Plants Vs. Zombies is a perfect game. No stupid DLC or Microtransactions, a great story mode, excellent humor, awesome split-screen, and great mini-games. This game is an amazing classic that at least everyone can have a good time playing a silly strategy game with you planting sunflowers and bombs against disco and jack-in-the-box zombies.
  66. Jan 11, 2020
    10
    Best tower defense ever. Challenging but fair. With nice touches of humour. And the minigames and extra modes only make it better.
  67. Nov 5, 2019
    8
    I really games like this on the app store. Too many games are adopting the free to play style with ads, micro transactions, and a quick hook which fades away after a week. Plants verse zombies is a simple game of tactics, which is paced very well and has aged very well aesthetically and even gameplay wise.
  68. Oct 20, 2019
    10
    This is probably a 9.5. There is so much fun to be had and so many different things to do. There might be three legitimate complaints. If you do adventure mode a couple of times, it does feel like a chore. The game is probably too easy. Some of the mini games is very heavily luck based as are some of the endless puzzle boards. Otherwise, it is close to perfect. I spent a lot of time withThis is probably a 9.5. There is so much fun to be had and so many different things to do. There might be three legitimate complaints. If you do adventure mode a couple of times, it does feel like a chore. The game is probably too easy. Some of the mini games is very heavily luck based as are some of the endless puzzle boards. Otherwise, it is close to perfect. I spent a lot of time with this game, but unlike games I haveily invest in, it was almost always fun throughout. Expand
  69. Sep 17, 2019
    8
    A very fun tower defense game. A must-play for anyone that enjoys the genre.
  70. Jul 24, 2019
    10
    O primeiro Tower Defense a gente nunca esquece!

    PvZ foi um dos primeiros games que pirateei, e não que me orgulhe disso, mas 10 anos depois pude ter meu primeiro PC gamer e comprar o game com meu proprio dinheiro. E não tem muito o que falar, o visual e ost do jogo são unicos. Mesmo após anos, a musica ainda gruda na minha cabeça como se fosse a primeira vez que eu tinha escutado. Fora
    O primeiro Tower Defense a gente nunca esquece!

    PvZ foi um dos primeiros games que pirateei, e não que me orgulhe disso, mas 10 anos depois pude ter meu primeiro PC gamer e comprar o game com meu proprio dinheiro.
    E não tem muito o que falar, o visual e ost do jogo são unicos. Mesmo após anos, a musica ainda gruda na minha cabeça como se fosse a primeira vez que eu tinha escutado. Fora a nostalgia gigantesca.

    As Fases são bem diversificadas e o jogo é bem balanceado, por conta de seu sistama de counter, no minimo, interessante. Infelizmente o jogo acaba rapido e sua continuação foi arruinada pela EA e sua ganancia. Ademais, nada disso mancha a imagem de um dos melhores games do genero, na qual todos deveriam jogar.
    Expand
  71. Jun 4, 2019
    6
    Fun game to play during breaks. Lots of enemy classes keep things interesting. Multiple strategies can lead to victory.
  72. Apr 28, 2019
    10
    Oh it feels great coming back to review this gem of a game. (NO TLDR NEEDED)
    it's simple and does what its meant to, this game was a part of my childhood and for that, ill remember it forever. I came back to replay it and hell, it still has it.
    The end level and mini games are some of the most epic levels in a tower defense and the reward from the end level brought tears to my eyes. I
    Oh it feels great coming back to review this gem of a game. (NO TLDR NEEDED)
    it's simple and does what its meant to, this game was a part of my childhood and for that, ill remember it forever. I came back to replay it and hell, it still has it.

    The end level and mini games are some of the most epic levels in a tower defense and the reward from the end level brought tears to my eyes. I will remember you in my heart and hope that you will be preserved in gaming forever. 10/10 classic and a must play
    Expand
  73. Dec 30, 2018
    9
    An absolute masterpiece (for casuals)! If only the games on phone were a bit more like this one.
  74. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    As a puzzle games lover, this title make me play a lot of hours. The minimalist but awesome gameplay it's that make this game addictive, with charismatic characters and a crazy history.
  75. Nov 25, 2018
    10
    So fun, so addictive, so creative and original. A must play for anyone who's looking a break from all those AAA shooters, RPGs and MMOs!

    By the way, if you're a WoW player, you need to play through this game. The only thing I can say without spoiling anything is go to Tarren Mill ;)
  76. Nov 16, 2018
    8
    Очень классная игра. Потрясающая мультяшная рисовка, много юмора и идея не подкачала. Для любителей tower defense отличный экземпляр в коллекцию.
  77. Sep 8, 2018
    8
    I’ve never been a big tower defense guy but there is something about this game that I’ve always kind of liked. It’s probably a mixture of the strategy involved, the cartoony style and simplistic gameplay. This is a game that I’ve sat down and played many times but I’ve never actually beaten the game. It was on Steam, it was on sale so I picked it up.

    If you don’t know what Plants Vs
    I’ve never been a big tower defense guy but there is something about this game that I’ve always kind of liked. It’s probably a mixture of the strategy involved, the cartoony style and simplistic gameplay. This is a game that I’ve sat down and played many times but I’ve never actually beaten the game. It was on Steam, it was on sale so I picked it up.

    If you don’t know what Plants Vs Zombies is, it’s essentially you vs Zombies. What you use to defend yourself against Zombies with plants. You can shoot them, eat them, slow them down or light them on fire but the thing about Zombies is. They keep coming. That’s the tower defense aspect of the game. Sometimes they come during the day, sometimes it’s at night and at the end they try getting into the house via the roof. As you progress through the campaign, you unlock more effective plants to use against the Zombies.

    This is a fun game, I was a little surprised to see this game on Steam if I’m going to be honest. I always thought of this game as a mobile app but honestly, it’s a well-made game. Not only is there a main quest but there is also mini-games and several puzzles to solve. I ended up putting 50 hours into this game. There is a depth to the game that is unexpected but and when you deploy thoughtful strategies and they work out. Its an extremely rewarding game. This game has me thinking that I should give more tower defense games a chance.
    Expand
  78. Jun 30, 2018
    9
    Plants vs. Zombies es un juego divertido, completo y divertido, tiene una jugabilidad excelente y adictiva.
  79. Jun 13, 2018
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. The game never gets boring. I can see it reaching the popularity of Five Nights at Freddy's or even higher. The game keeps you playing by presenting you with new plants and new challenges. Everything here is very well done.
  80. Mar 9, 2018
    10
    this game is great almost 10 years old and still holds up well today. there are 49 different plants to chose from and like 20 zombies if you are looking for a game that is easy adventure and hard too 100% this is for you
  81. Dec 5, 2017
    10
    Es un juego muy divertido 100% rejugable, amplio, de mis favoritos de todos los tiempos,lo recomiendo mucho también en nintendo DS me parece la mejor plataforma para jugarlo por el stylus y los minijuegos exclusivos.
  82. Jul 30, 2017
    8
    I think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give this game a try.
  83. Apr 6, 2017
    10
    Simple, Fun and Charming
    Those that dont like games still go WOW over this game and those that think they want long and complicated games go WOW.
    Its a game that somehow manages to appeal to everyone
  84. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    One of the most fun "little" games ever. I must have completed its campaign 3-4 times. If you somehow live under a rock and haven't played this game, get it ASAP. Totally recommended. It is very addicting and fun!
  85. Jul 6, 2016
    10
    Gameplay : 10
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8
    Sound : 9
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 10
  86. Jun 15, 2016
    10
    Congratulations to the developper of this great game: It looks not only funny and creative, but also intelligent and gives you an interesting gameplay with many possibilities.
  87. Dec 24, 2015
    8
    My only trouble with this game is resolution on PC. Otherwise, it is probably as good as this kind of game gets. Great aesthetics, good humor and addictive gameplay.
  88. Sep 28, 2015
    9
    Highly addictive and creative. Offering several different modes and challenges from different angles of a house. The main adventure mode didn't prove to be difficult till the end but the mini games and puzzles add the extra level of difficulty for thrill seekers. Amazing.
  89. May 25, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  90. May 6, 2015
    10
    This game, is amazing. If only EA had not ripped the heart out of PopCap by owning them... Then maybe there would have been a chance for an amazing sequel, but instead it was infected with greedy developers full of FTP plaguing aspects.

    this game is a 10/10 without question, but PVZ 2 is maybe a 2/10, and that is being generous. If you have not played PVZ original, and are wasting
    This game, is amazing. If only EA had not ripped the heart out of PopCap by owning them... Then maybe there would have been a chance for an amazing sequel, but instead it was infected with greedy developers full of FTP plaguing aspects.

    this game is a 10/10 without question, but PVZ 2 is maybe a 2/10, and that is being generous.

    If you have not played PVZ original, and are wasting your time with PVZ 2. I pity you, I truly do.

    Unbelievable game supporting the ORIGINAL developer, that was canned during EA take over. Stop ruining benevolent companies please EA. You are a cancer that won't stop metastasizing....
    Expand
  91. ave
    Mar 25, 2015
    9
    The strange thing about Plants vs Zombies is that you just can't imagine how Pop Cap came up with such an unexpected game. One can imagine a meeting where someone suggested to make a Tower Defense, another one suggested to fight zombies as a joke and a last one wrapped it up with plants. And voilà ! one of the best tower defense to date !

    Not only Plants vs Zombies is a good Tower
    The strange thing about Plants vs Zombies is that you just can't imagine how Pop Cap came up with such an unexpected game. One can imagine a meeting where someone suggested to make a Tower Defense, another one suggested to fight zombies as a joke and a last one wrapped it up with plants. And voilà ! one of the best tower defense to date !

    Not only Plants vs Zombies is a good Tower Defense, funny and accessible to both casual and seasoned players, but it features a main Adventure mode, multiple mini-games, puzzles and the dreaded survival mode. This game is a gem, don't miss it !
    Expand
  92. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    An extremely fun game, the mini games and the puzzle are some nice features too. But the real winner for me is the music... It's phenomenal, one of the best I've ever found in a game... Ever.
  93. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    This keeps the autenticity of a funny game, really addictive and challengful. I really like it, even there is no more updates, like the 2nd game in the series, which is not like this one.
  94. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    A charming and addictive little game with a lot more to do than you bargained for. Aside from the base game there are also mini games, puzzles, and survival modes. Each offers something new and different so there's certainly enough variety to keep you entertained for a while. The only downside is the terrible resolution.
  95. May 8, 2014
    10
    Plants vs. Zombies is a fantastic and adorable game that I have been playing for the past 5 years. True, it IS a little too easy, okay a LOT too easy for a tower defence game. Honestly, this game is insanely good and I love it, but too easy. There also aren't masses and masses of weapons to choose from, or enemies to fight them with. Not perfect, due to those things, but I still give it aPlants vs. Zombies is a fantastic and adorable game that I have been playing for the past 5 years. True, it IS a little too easy, okay a LOT too easy for a tower defence game. Honestly, this game is insanely good and I love it, but too easy. There also aren't masses and masses of weapons to choose from, or enemies to fight them with. Not perfect, due to those things, but I still give it a 10/10 for the awesome graphics, great gameplay and superb replay value. Expand
  96. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    It's a great game based around great progression and a fun idea. There's a very steady and fair difficulty curve and an even more fair learning curve. PvZ is a ton of fun and I've completed it twice over the past few years, you get a lot of play time out of it even if you only play through it once. Great balancing, tons of enemies, tons of plants for defense, multiple different levelIt's a great game based around great progression and a fun idea. There's a very steady and fair difficulty curve and an even more fair learning curve. PvZ is a ton of fun and I've completed it twice over the past few years, you get a lot of play time out of it even if you only play through it once. Great balancing, tons of enemies, tons of plants for defense, multiple different level layouts, many different approaches and strategies, PvZ is just an amazing game overall! The User Scores and Critic Scores don't lie, if you don't have it yet, you're missing out! Go get it! Some people complain about the graphics, I think they're cute, and with such a silly concept for the game, it wouldn't look right if it had more serious graphics: it was a design choice, definitely not a lack of skill.

    I personally recommend the PC version way over the XBOX360 version simply because using a mouse is much more efficient, I game on my XBOX a good amount and it hurt my hands to try to play intense levels with the 360 controller.
    Expand
  97. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    An endearing title with sunflowers and sunshine, perfect for casual game goers with its charming graphics and simple game play. Two distinct game 'modes' within the story mode are the Day and Night modes. Very strategic but very satisfying once you are able to find a good method to get through each round. My only complaint is for it to be longer but other than that, a great play for allAn endearing title with sunflowers and sunshine, perfect for casual game goers with its charming graphics and simple game play. Two distinct game 'modes' within the story mode are the Day and Night modes. Very strategic but very satisfying once you are able to find a good method to get through each round. My only complaint is for it to be longer but other than that, a great play for all player levels alike. Expand
  98. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    I remember I had lot of fun playing this game, and I was completely addicted to it. But replaying sucks, because that damn Crazy Dave chose stupid plants for me... haha!
  99. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    By far the best "casual tower defense" on mobile. If you love this genre, don't miss this game. The replay value is also big, there is no in app, a lot of game mode. The game is original, hail to the dev !
  100. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    "Plants vs. Zombies" is fun the first time you play it. But after you beat the levels and you play it the second time, it really does get boring. However, the game is simple and silly, so perhaps kids and teens would enjoy the game more.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Hardcore Gamer
    80
    Plants vs. Zombies is a huge game with a great sense of humor, and while it tends to play itself once a strategy is completed and the field of fire constructed, putting it all together and experimenting with the possibilities stays fun for a long, long time. [Summer 2009]
  2. AceGamez
    100
    Plants vs Zombies is what casual gaming is really all about; it's intuitive, easy to start and stop at any time, and has a tremendous variety of gameplay modes.
  3. Pop Cap realizes another masterpiece. Plants Vs. Zombies re-invents tower defense game and offer a great number of minigames and other activities.