Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jan 14, 2016
    90
    Lazy Bear Games have created a retro themed-world that is wonderfully entertaining and simply must be experienced by gamers far and wide.
  2. Jan 12, 2016
    87
    Punch Club is fun and incredibly addictive. It's one of those games you can't stop playing once you've started, so give this one a try if you're looking for something different.
  3. Jan 15, 2016
    85
    Punch Club is a game with a lot of personality. From its realistic gameplay to the little surprises it has tucked away, there’s something special about it that will have you hooked. In spite of the moments that feel like a lot of grinding, it’s an enjoyable title.
  4. Apr 6, 2016
    80
    Punch Club is not a game for everyone. Fans of the genre will love it, but a certain repetitiveness makes it not recommended to those looking for adrenaline and action in a videogame.
  5. Feb 18, 2016
    80
    If you are looking for an excellent 16-bit fighter game then look no further than Punch Club as it’s a hell of a lot of fun to play and sink some hours into.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 16, 2016
    80
    Punch club is quite funny and a bit magic play, as it is also very repetitive and grueling manager of a novice boxer. [Issue#260]
  7. Jan 24, 2016
    80
    The final score-card on Punch Club is that it packs a huge amount of game into a tiny little package. This game, despite its cutesy appearance, is actually a pretty deep and sophisticated recreation of a struggling fighter’s life.
  8. Jan 22, 2016
    80
    This is one of the most ambitious time management games in recent months. With lots of humour, a fairly deep and tactical turn based fight management, a whodunit for good measure and an inspired 16-bit-retro-fell to it, Punch Club will draw you in. But within all the movie quotes and references you’ll also find a great amount of grind.
  9. Jan 18, 2016
    80
    Punch Club combines strategic, management and RPG elements, all surrounded by a nice 8bit style.
  10. Jan 23, 2016
    77
    The simple retro look of Punch Club hides that this is actually a pretty deep management game. It can be very repetitive and frustrating, but the fighting system is lively and the pop culture references are highly entertaining.
  11. Jan 15, 2016
    76
    Whilst the need for constant grinding may prove too much for players looking for a carefree 80's-90's thrill, the sheer amount of love, soul and polish that has gone into every one of Punch Club's pixels, more than makes up for it. A delightful taste of what made our late childhood and early adolescence so much fun to live through and a pretty addicting management sim in its own right.
  12. CD-Action
    Mar 30, 2016
    75
    A charming and highly addictive game that can wear you down with its repetitiveness and unavoidable grind. [03/2016, p.49]
  13. Jan 28, 2016
    75
    It would have been so easy to make Punch Club a freemium game, but the developer didn't and that is good. Punch Club is a simulation game that sometimes reaches the level of Theme Hospital, which is very admirable.
  14. Jan 25, 2016
    75
    Punch Club - an interesting hybrid of a sports manager, an RPG and a strategy game - is a very satisfying game that generates real emotions. It's a product tailored for mobile platforms but the PC version is pretty much the same. Even if it becomes repetitive, it definitely deserves the attention of lovers of small, independent games.
  15. Jan 22, 2016
    75
    It's an overall well developed experience, and if you like the genre will probably keep you entertained for a while.
  16. Jan 22, 2016
    75
    Truly an homage to the glorious eighties, Punch Club is an interesting project with a good challenge level, partially ruined by passive fights and a repetitive campaign.
  17. Jan 13, 2016
    75
    So would I suggest checking out Punch Club if you find the idea of a fighting simulator intriguing? Sure, provided you can acclimate to the more tedious aspects of managing stat bars and schedules, which might not require a great deal of concentration but still involve a certain level of babysitting that I haven’t found appealing so far.
  18. Jan 11, 2016
    75
    Punch Club is yet another example of how small teams that focus on gameplay that's engaging can offer interesting long-term experiences even if they do not feature impressive graphics or stories.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 121
  2. Negative: 21 out of 121
  1. Jan 13, 2016
    4
    Interesting gameplay and design, cozy 80's atmosphere make this game fun at first. The problem is it get way too repetitive (annoyinglyInteresting gameplay and design, cozy 80's atmosphere make this game fun at first. The problem is it get way too repetitive (annoyingly repetitive and boring) pretty soon making you do the same actions over and over again. At the end it feels like one of those cheap browser games, what a letdown. Full Review »
  2. Jan 11, 2016
    9
    Love it! A great combination of tycoon&rpg&strategy. After hundreds of fights, I still enjoy watching how the opponents are being crushed :)Love it! A great combination of tycoon&rpg&strategy. After hundreds of fights, I still enjoy watching how the opponents are being crushed :) The story created from pieces of all those Rocky-like movies produced in 80's, is exaggeratedly elementary, but it makes you smile a lot! The game is not so simple though, it took me about 10 hours to complete 80% of the game, and now I'm already thinking of re-starting my journey. Full Review »
  3. Jan 23, 2016
    3
    This game starts so promising with many hints to 80+90s culture.Why is this game falling flat to its face?Lets see:

    Sound:I really like the
    This game starts so promising with many hints to 80+90s culture.Why is this game falling flat to its face?Lets see:

    Sound:I really like the sound of the game.The theme in the backround suits the retrotheme very well.No voiceover.

    Visuals:The game looks for it trys to achieve pretty good.The pixel-artstyle looks great and reminds me of a great time when i played games as a chil.The characters are memorable, the enviroment too.No assets have been used twice which is a good thing in the modern game-world.In the fights i think they could have done much better.Sometimes punches or kicks wont connect that well.Looks stupid.Might be a bug, i dont know.

    Gamrplay:Up to this point the game was an easy 7 or 8.With the gameplay everything is falling apart.The first 1-2 hours are great.You have enough progression an story to keep you interested.After that bad design kills every will to play more, at least for me because the game gets repetetive as hell pretty quickly.The core-problem is that you lose stats on a daily basis and the loss is very big.So after some hours youre just klicking your way through the game between work, gym and fighting.If you do the other possible activitys you punish yourself too much because you lose stats and because of that you will lose fight and so on.

    Conclusion:In the end the mechanics of the game are so flawed that they overshadow everything great in the game.The great visuals go into the garbage can, the nice sound too.What remains is a repeteive clickfest and time-waster.So much potential.The story for example is pretty interesting, funny and sometimes branching i think.With the flawed mechanics i was so bored i stoped playing and this is always not a good sign.For me the game is below average.Maybe they fix the stats decrease!That would help the game a lot and with that fix Punch Club would be a "must buy" for retrofans and fans of the genre.
    Full Review »