Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
Buy On
  1. Aug 1, 2019
    70
    We have to admit that the single player in this game has no potential. Not everyone wants to play all day long, exploring the map, like in Fallout – it just gets boring. Rage 2 could become a perfect Battle Royale experience or pretty simple MMO, but as the game, designed for single player walkthrough, it can keep your interest only for a couple of evenings, perhaps forcing you to come back from time to time to explore all corners of this world.
  2. May 30, 2019
    70
    All in all, Rage 2 is a good way to pass the time, especially since this summer is going to be a long one and there aren’t major releases planned. The story itself can be finished quickly if you ignore the sidequests, but if you want to do everything, you’re going to spend at least double that.
  3. May 26, 2019
    70
    Exciting FPS mechanisms are accompanied by an inadequate open-world, a disappointing story and very short duration. RAGE 2 could be much better.
  4. May 14, 2019
    70
    Rage 2 offers a pretty standard open world, but adds formidable shooting action, an awesome upgrade system and entertaining extra skills to it. It's fun to be a super-soldier, though not as exorbitant as we hoped it would be.
  5. May 14, 2019
    70
    Some of the best first-person shooting on PC, but the rest of the game struggles to keep up with it.
  6. May 13, 2019
    70
    Rage 2 delivers incredible action at a ridiculous pace which makes it easily one of the best FPS experiences I've had in years. Sadly the rest of the game falls flat in comparison, with uninspired open world design, clunky driving and a shallow story that can be finished in just a couple of hours.
  7. May 13, 2019
    70
    The pace of id and Avalanche’s FPS is neutered by a dull open world and thin story but, in an unbridled whirlwind of gruesome gibs, you probably won’t care.
  8. May 13, 2019
    70
    For all of its attempts at garish glitter, Rage 2 is a muted, cliché, and uninspiring experience that's propped up by spectacular shooting and neverending battles that sometimes live up to the promise of a carnival of carnage.
  9. Jun 28, 2019
    68
    Rage 2 can be an enjoyable experience… to a certain extent. Unfortunately, you will hit that wall in just a few hours.
  10. May 17, 2019
    65
    Rage 2 might retain the signature and utterly satisfying shooting of id games, but it cannot overcome the significant repetition of its "map cleaning" structure marred by a startlingly limited number of main missions.
  11. May 13, 2019
    65
    With Rage 2, Id Sofware and Avalanche combines their expertise to create a FPS in an open world with exciting but repetitive fights. If the superpowers and weapons unlocked in the Arches allow you to have fun for a few hours, the big lack of stakes changes everything. You can count about ten main missions, mixed with mandatory micro-objectives, before seeing the end of the adventure, i.e. 6 to 8 hours in one go. It is possible to complete all the secondary objectives of the map in order to gain more power, but without any real goal to achieve. What's the point then?
  12. May 13, 2019
    65
    Rage 2 takes Doom-like gunplay and puts in just another dull open world game that doesn’t do anything particularly memorable.
  13. May 24, 2019
    60
    The shooter core is as healthy as can be, but everything surrounding it is seriously lacking. The open world is empty, the artificial intelligence is stupid, the content tends to be reused. The only element that really works is the action.
  14. Rage 2 could be amazing, but it fails on wrong game design, short story and lack of character.
  15. May 14, 2019
    60
    Rage 2 suffers the same fate as many other open-world games. It tries to lure the player in with the size of its world, then needs to conjure an abundance of content to fill it. But, when you mix up every colour, you always end up with brown, and the impact of Rage 2’s scintillating shooter action is dulled as a result.
  16. May 13, 2019
    60
    The action is mostly exhilerating, but the open world is a rather strangely lifeless barebones experience - except for the ressources, that you find in an inflationary abundance.
  17. May 13, 2019
    60
    Rage 2 has a fun core gameplay loop, but everything around it falls flat on its face.
  18. May 13, 2019
    60
    The wild, exceptional combat of Rage 2 contends with some of the genre's greats, but it's disappointing that the game's world squanders its potential.
  19. Jun 12, 2019
    50
    Playing Rage 2 is infuriating. Despite the exemplary action and fluid controls, the shooter is cluttered with core design flaws that impeded my enjoyment. There is a damn good game buried underneath the low stakes story that’s filled with cutscenes that are interrupted by other cutscenes meant to explain a new character’s contrived backstory, and set in a world that lacks personality. Unfortunately, what we got is Avalanche’s Rage 2. Any game bearing id’s legacy should be all-play and no work, yet Rage 2 is too much work with not enough play.
  20. May 13, 2019
    50
    As much as I wanted Rage 2 to work, it just doesn’t deliver the best that it could from the two top-notch studios working on it. Right now, I can’t rightfully recommend picking it up at full price, as I just don’t feel there’s enough content here to warrant what they’re asking.
  21. May 13, 2019
    50
    Rage 2's brilliant shooting fails to make up for its shortcomings everywhere else. Because even though there's fun to be had in the Wasteland, the shooting fails to keep me wanting more after not too many hours of gameplay. And when that happens, the lackluster story, the shallow characters and the repetitive mission systems all reveal what a bland experience this really is.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 26, 2019
    Combat is so well constructed that it really serves to highlight how much could’ve been done to streamline Rage 2 into something more disciplined – not necessarily a linear shooter, but something more contained so that the superlative heights of its wild gunplay cut through the comparatively tame open-world filler more consistently.
  2. May 13, 2019
    Artistically, it's uninspired. But mechanically, it's one of the best shooters I've played in years.
  3. May 14, 2019
    The playground is very real in this game. You're meant to have more toys to mess with than the story's length can realistically justify. That feels like the whole point. Rage 2 left me wanting in the best way, and I can't wait to see what's next.
  4. May 14, 2019
    I hoped for better. I’m still plugging away at it, and I’m not willing to slap a score onto Rage 2 this early. That said, it’s not doing much for me at this point in time. I’ve found myself wanting to reinstall Doom and replay that instead. It’ll take half the time, and I think I’d probably have twice as much fun.
  5. May 14, 2019
    Rage 2 is enjoyable as long as I make the effort to do very simple things in the silliest ways possible, and game’s many systems reward this style of play more by their quality than by any extrinsic payoff. There is creativity and joy hidden here. You just have to find it beneath the pile of ideas pulled from a thousand other games.
  6. The parts I like far outweigh the parts I don’t. I’ve got my weirdo NPCs, my Ark hunting, my Whoopinkoffs and Dimbledicks. I’ve found every Ark, now, but I still plan on gambolling between side activities. I still want to explore, even though I wish I was exploring a world that had been less generically destroyed. Most of all, I want to do more super-powered fighting. I might not even bother swapping from that rifle.
  7. May 16, 2019
    Rage 2 is a game that knows what it is and what it wants to do, and it does that particular thing very well. There’s a bit of fluff padding out the experience, but the core of the game is solid. Really, though, Rage 2 does something very rare: it offers an experience you’ve already seen plenty of times, but makes it fun regardless.
  8. May 13, 2019
    The interplay between the AI, your abilities, the physics of the world, and your guns is some of the best I’ve seen, and I never thought I would be saying anything like that about a sequel to Brown Shooter: Apocalypse. There’s much more to this than its kooky, pink-hued marketing campaign. If you sleep on it, you’re sleeping on one of the best – if not the best – single-player FPS games of this generation.
  9. May 13, 2019
    Some of what’s wrong in Rage 2 feels like compromised implementation of fundamentally good ideas, but I think its fatal flaw is that it’s a game obsessed with feeling fun rather than trusting any of its ideas to be fun.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 609 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 14, 2019
    3
    Good gunplay and lot of upgade buffs

    BUT

    BAD story
    Bad characters
    Bad voice acting
    Bad empty world
    Boring overall
  2. May 14, 2019
    1
    Typical bugthesda game. To be honest the shooter mechanics are great, but the rest is awefull. Empty open world, boring characters, zero and ITypical bugthesda game. To be honest the shooter mechanics are great, but the rest is awefull. Empty open world, boring characters, zero and I mean ZERO story.
    For 10-15 h campaign it is not worth 60-70 $/€. Days gone is a ton more fun than this game and has no microtransactions
    Full Review »
  3. May 14, 2019
    4
    Would not recommend unless on sale.

    Its a decent game but its not worth of its current price tag. Contents start to run dry and become
    Would not recommend unless on sale.

    Its a decent game but its not worth of its current price tag.

    Contents start to run dry and become repetitive after awhile. But the gun play is good and dynamic.
    Full Review »