Spider-Man: Web of Shadows Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New York City has been invaded and only Spider-Man can save it. The fate of New York is in your hands...Take Control. Spider-Man: Web of Shadows gives you an unprecedented level of gameplay choice, including, for the first time, control over the game's direction and outcome. Choose howNew York City has been invaded and only Spider-Man can save it. The fate of New York is in your hands...Take Control. Spider-Man: Web of Shadows gives you an unprecedented level of gameplay choice, including, for the first time, control over the game's direction and outcome. Choose how Spider-Man fights, which powers to upgrade, who in the Marvel universe to fight with or against, and the fate of New York City itself. Choose wisely. [Activision] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Web of Shadows is an improvement over previous Spider-Man titles, but still lacks the punch we expect from such a popular movie-based intellectual property. A poorly told story coupled with mediocre and often repetitive action sequences have thwarted this titles chances of blockbuster glory this Christmas.
  2. Only go buy this game if you are a die-hard Spiderman fan, or have an unhealthy obsession with bad voice acting.
  3. Don’t get me wrong, Web of Shadows is unquestionably better than Spider-Man 3 was. But again Treyarch fails at porting the game from consoles to PC.
  4. 53
    Web of Shadows has its moments of fun, but they're lost in a sea of gaffes that True Believers are likely to revile.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    50
    Despite the weird controls, console nature and repetitive play, WOS almost becomes fun (in a kind of ridiculous way) once you get into the groove. Possibly better when drunk. [January 2009, p.60]
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    50
    A handful of fresh ideas is drowned out by dull level design and omnipresent stereotype. Smooth moves, destructible environments, plenty of combos... but tedious quests, shortage of other superheroes (and supervillains). Wasted potential indeed. [Issue#173]
  7. PC Format
    38
    Web of Shadows aims for a sandbox GTA-style open environment, but has neither the verve, nor the technical ability to pull it off. [Jan 2009, p.101]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Mar 24, 2019
    10
    Действительно очень динамичная и интересная игра, интригующий сюжет, персонажи, графика, боевая система и тд.
    10/10
    Действительно очень динамичная и интересная игра, интригующий сюжет, персонажи, графика, боевая система и тд.
    10/10
  2. Jul 4, 2021
    10
    I would just say its the best spiderman game ever made. Im still havent finished the marvel spiderman yet, but every other spiderman games areI would just say its the best spiderman game ever made. Im still havent finished the marvel spiderman yet, but every other spiderman games are the same comic transposition made over and over again (except for the movie trilogy). In this game you can finally use the black suite power properly and you can fight one of the most brutal spiderman foe. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2021
    10
    bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom jogos bom..
  4. EdYoung
    Mar 26, 2009
    8
    in general, not a bad game, and defenitly not hard. the graphics are the best I have ever seen, despite the Sonic Heroes type glossy characterin general, not a bad game, and defenitly not hard. the graphics are the best I have ever seen, despite the Sonic Heroes type glossy character look. I like how this game takes a new twist to Spider-man though, in the previews I though it was Spider-man Vs Zombies not Spider-man Vs Symbiot. the way the citys look changes to represent the path taken is an added bonus I took the good guy path though, so wasn't much change heh working on bad guy now. Primarily what blows this game for me is the fact that you need to kill so many henchmen or gangsters or w/e to progress in a mission, and you need to back track to a set number of targets over and over no mater how far you get from them, fortunately the Web Swinging becomes faster as you level. the Aerial battles (Tendril pull/Web pull skills) are my fave they send your opponents flying and its rare to get hit while using them unless you have real bad timing :p watching your opponent bounce around after you knock them down with a web strike never gets old for me :) but the old school lame in-fight jokes of Spider-man do >.< Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2021
    8
    Оценка такова по двум причинам. 1. Боёвка (сверхдинамичная и разноплановая). 2. Ностальгия (без неё никак). Вообщем и целом, одна из лучшихОценка такова по двум причинам. 1. Боёвка (сверхдинамичная и разноплановая). 2. Ностальгия (без неё никак). Вообщем и целом, одна из лучших игр про паука. Главное - удовольствие от этой игры ты получишь, даже спустя 13 лет с момента выхода. Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2020
    7
    After the disaster of Spider-Man 3 and Friend or Foe, comes an underrated Spider-Man game marred with a poorly executed concept of a story inAfter the disaster of Spider-Man 3 and Friend or Foe, comes an underrated Spider-Man game marred with a poorly executed concept of a story in a open-world that feels more alive than Spider-Man 2. Aspyr did a lovely job porting the game to PC with gorgeous visuals but failed with appropriating the controls. Like I said before, the story of this game has a great concept but it's marred with repetitve story missions and Spider-Man's vocal performance (if you got Helfer to voice Black Cat why not pick Josh Keaton as Spidey). All in all, after the success of Marvel's Spider-Man, I can simply say how you should give this game another chance since it did provide us with comic book esque storyline. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2020
    0
    i would give it a 9.5 if i could. this game is incredible in every aspect. just a bit glitchy but definitely my favorite spidey game and ii would give it a 9.5 if i could. this game is incredible in every aspect. just a bit glitchy but definitely my favorite spidey game and i played all of them. (also recommended but gets a lot of **** is spider-man 3 ps2) Expand

See all 23 User Reviews