Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Oct 8, 2020
    91
    Squadrons is the sort of game that EA needs to make more of. Tight, focused experiences that meet a need perfectly. Any fan of space combat should be diving into this the first chance they get.
  2. Oct 13, 2020
    90
    An enticing multiplayer experience that does a fantastic job of slowly easing players into its intricate design, Star Wars: Squadrons is making its mark on the gaming world. As long as Motive Studios can keep up with this momentum, I can’t see it crashing anytime soon.
  3. Oct 9, 2020
    90
    Squadrons in the best Star Wars-based experience that a video game has offered in the past 10 years, at least.
  4. Oct 7, 2020
    90
    There's also no B-Wing, which frankly, is just unacceptable. But Squadrons does a lot of things right. And it's the closest thing we're to a new X-Wing or Tie Fighter we're going to get. Though it's a stand-alone game, it's also a fantastic complement to Battlefront 2's starfighter assault mode, giving aces new and old two very good options to choose from.
  5. Oct 5, 2020
    90
    Ultimately, that's what this game is. The online gameplay has always been the focus, from the moment it was first advertised to us. It's a thrilling space combat game, rivaling many of the experiences I've had in Elite: Dangerous with the bonus of being set in one of the most iconic science fiction franchises of all time. If space combat is your thing, you need to own this game.
  6. Oct 5, 2020
    90
    Star Wars: Squadrons puts you in the lovingly reimaged cockpits from the storied franchise, making you feel like you've truly stepped into the Star Wars universe. All of the hallmarks of a AAA title are here, and the VR mode doesn't disappoint despite not being a true built-for-VR title. Although we were expecting a bloated tutorial-focused campaign, the story mode turns out to be a true highlight of the game, and introduced. Multiplayer still feels like its evolving, although there's at least the peace of mind that you'll always find a match thanks to cross-platform support across console and PC.
  7. Oct 1, 2020
    90
    After such a long wait for a successor to X-Wing and TIE Fighter, Star Wars: Squadrons feels like a lucky shot with a proton torpedo.
  8. Oct 7, 2020
    88
    Squadrons is a Star Wars experience I’ve been looking for since the ‘90s. A two-decade quest has come to an end. I’d happily pay for a bit more single player content, and I hope the devs have some tricks up their sleeves to expand the multiplayer. I’d love a PvE horde mode of some kind.
  9. Oct 1, 2020
    88
    An extremely good new entry in the Star Wars franchise. An excellent game with three great game modes.
  10. Oct 11, 2020
    85
    When all is said and done, Star Wars: Squadrons is a truly awesome (and I use this word with the classic definition of "inspiring awe") experience for anyone looking for an arcade space shooter. For fans of the universe or anyone with a VR headset, it's a must-play. Sure, it has shortcomings in the single-player and it may not be as "hardcore" of a simulator as some were hoping for, but what Motive has delivered here is more than just a strong foundation. I genuinely hope they build off of it moving forward, either with updates or sequels, because it's hard not to love everything they've built.
  11. Oct 1, 2020
    85
    Star Wars: Squadrons is an excellent aerial combat game and a pleasing return to the franchise roots. No gimmicks, no cons, no messing around: anyone who ever dreamed of being a fighter pilot in the Star Wars universe needs to check this out, asap.
  12. Nov 2, 2020
    83
    Star Wars: Squadrons is a tight, laser-focused experience that knows exactly what it is and exactly what it isn’t. This focus causes it to be a little bit light on content, but with a launch price of $40, it is a much easier pill to swallow. I can say that the flight is just as enjoyable on hour 20 as it was on minute 1, and if you are looking for a gorgeous flight simulator, without the in-depth knowledge and practice that a game like Microsoft Flight Simulator demands, Star Wars: Squadrons is it.
  13. Oct 2, 2020
    83
    Star Wars: Squadrons delivers on great dogfighting, even when its campaign doesn't live up to its full potential.
  14. Oct 1, 2020
    83
    Squadrons’ single-player may fizzle out frequently like a malfunctioning hyperdrive motivator, but the multiplayer continually impresses and is worth the price of entry alone.
  15. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 4, 2021
    80
    The one and only chance to be a space pilot in a galaxy far far away. Living and experiencing adrenaline filled dogfight is simply breathtaking. [Issue#307]
  16. Oct 31, 2020
    80
    While there may be some issues out of cockpit, Star Wars: Squadrons is an excellent spiritual successor to the X-wing series that captures the look and feel of Star Wars.
  17. Oct 9, 2020
    80
    Star Wars: Squadrons is a probably unwanted but successful mixture of the classic X-Wing and Rogue Squadron series. It combines a fantastic Star Wars atmosphere with an entertaining campaign, and convinces with an arcade gameplay feel, despite surprisingly complex controls. A higher rating is only prevented by an underwhelming multiplayer mode.
  18. Oct 9, 2020
    80
    Despite certain shortcomings regarding both its single-player and multiplayer content, Star Wars: Squadrons is a glorious, nostalgic throwback to a game genre that has been sorely missing from our lives for more than 20 years.
  19. Oct 8, 2020
    80
    Star Wars: Squadrons is a great overall package, though. At just $39.99, it doesn't have to include all the features you'd expect from a full priced triple-A studio title. For the money, it delivers a lot for the money. It's definitely one that will stay in rotation on my PC for quite a long time. Especially for the VR immersion.
  20. Oct 7, 2020
    80
    Overall, Star Wars: Squadrons should delight even the most jaded among the community. Doing a bombing run in a Y-Wing is among the best experiences I’ve ever had in VR. The game has a little bit of everything for everyone, and it should especially be embraced by those who still remember fighting among the stars more than two decades ago.
  21. 80
    The child in me was happy with the first turn of my TIE Interceptor, but the adult in me also has to recognise a very straight-forward campaign and a surprising lack of multiplayer modes. But what’s there is pretty good, thanks to a phenomenal flight system, clever maps and strategic progression system. Oh, and VR support.
  22. Oct 6, 2020
    80
    Star Wars: Squadrons delivers on nearly all fronts with a tight focus on space combat, multiplayer dogfights, and immersive VR support.
  23. Oct 6, 2020
    80
    Minor gripes aside, for fans of Star Wars, fans of arcade-style space combat, and fans of just flat-out immersive VR, it doesn’t get a whole lot better than Star Wars: Squadrons.
  24. Oct 5, 2020
    80
    The difficulty may push some people away, but those that commit to learning the ropes are in for a thrilling and unforgettable experience.
  25. Oct 5, 2020
    80
    Star Wars: Squadrons revives some of the best space combat from older games, but its delivery stumbles with a forgettable story and condensed multiplayer variety.
  26. Oct 5, 2020
    80
    In the end though, by not committing to either the sim-style of TIE Fighter or the arcade-action of Rogue Squadron – the middle-ground falls a short of brilliance. Most campaign missions follow a similar flow, rarely delving into sheer cinematic spectacle or pure sim-like protracted and intense battles. But there’s no denying that when played in VR Squadrons often feels like a dream come true - and when it stays on target, it’s a force to be reckoned with.
  27. Oct 5, 2020
    80
    Star Wars Squadrons has taken an impressive first step in revitalising the Star Wars fighter pilot game. With a tale that feels like a genuine part of the galaxy far, far away, and space combat that gives you the tools to be an X-Wing or TIE fighting ace. Whether you’re on the light or the dark side of the Force, this is a game that Star Wars fans need to play.
  28. Oct 2, 2020
    80
    Star Wars: Squadrons is a slim but highly enjoyable revival of the classic LucasArts space sims. It's hampered by a limited number of maps, and its signature Fleet Battles are a bit of a drag, but its moment-to-moment combat is sheer delight. With a solid single-player campaign and above-average VR implementation, Star Wars: Squadrons is the multiplayer space combat game we've wanted since the days of X-Wing vs. TIE Fighter.
  29. Oct 2, 2020
    80
    After Jedi Fallen Order, another game from EA uses in the best way the Star Wars franchise. This is a real space simulation a la X-Wing and Tie Fighter with excellent graphic and VR support.
  30. Oct 2, 2020
    80
    A game that was much-needed. It is a work of love for all the fans of the saga who grew up with the old dogfight games. Superb graphics for a game packed with action.
  31. Oct 1, 2020
    80
    Star Wars: Squadrons is ultimately the space shooter long awaited by fans, with careful execution and always respectful of the original material ... a success, no more no less.
  32. Oct 1, 2020
    80
    Squadrons feels like more than the sum of its parts. Most importantly, it does exactly what it set out to do – and does it very well indeed. It’s EA’s smallest-scale console Star Wars title yet – but also its best. Fleet Battles feel a little long and sometimes listless, and some will no doubt pine for a little more content – I personally would’ve really liked to see a 20-player (or more) deathmatch mode. But it’s nevertheless difficult to really criticize such a tightly-wound, complete package. As such, it’s an easy recommendation.
  33. Oct 1, 2020
    79
    Board the X-Wing or Tie Fighter and journey to a galaxy far, far away. Star Wars: Squadrons is good shooter focused on multiplayer mission-based objectives.
  34. Oct 1, 2020
    78
    Flying in sidereal spaces offers sensations of pure exaltation, with the contribution of game systems as effective as they are layered, which especially on the multiplayer side guarantee production an absolutely convincing strategic profile. On the other hand, however, the weakness of the single player campaign, combined with the scarcity of the multiplayer offer and some fluctuations on the technical side, prevents the Electronic Arts title from achieving excellence.
  35. Oct 16, 2020
    77
    Although there exist a few unneglected flaws and bugs, Star Wars: Squadrons is fun for both Star War fanboys and flight game novices.
  36. Oct 14, 2020
    75
    While Star Wars Squadrons will delight fans by giving them the opportunity to fly the saga's iconic ships in majestic space settings, both the storyline and the characters are a little too superficial and the collision system is poorly handled. However, the pleasure experienced stick-in-hand is still there, especially in virtual reality, a pleasure that multiplayer battles manage to enhance.
  37. Oct 13, 2020
    75
    The typical gamer will find Star Wars Squadrons a difficult game with a bland storyline and poor content. Others will have an opportunity to take out their joysticks and find out just how great the classic Star Wars sims were. It's good that the gaming community was reminded of the classics like X-Wings and TIE Fighers, but I'm still waiting for a true gem to come in the future.
  38. Oct 12, 2020
    75
    Star Wars: Squadrons is a tightly designed experience with satisfying space combat gameplay at its core. Although it could use a bit more content and there are some issues to be ironed out, the title manages to remain engaging and entertaining with each new battle.
  39. If you are looking for a game that can spend time and take you a long time, it is a good idea to give Star Wars: Squadrons a chance.
  40. Oct 9, 2020
    75
    With all of that consider Squadrons handles the Star Wars intellectual property was handled extremely well and the gameplay is pretty accessible. It is visually stunning and immerses players in the universe by putting exceptional control into their hands, launching them immediately into the fantasy. Even if you are not the greatest at flight combat, the single-player experience, and AI battles can provide a great experience in a galaxy far, far away.
  41. Oct 5, 2020
    75
    All in all, Star Wars Squadrons ends up trying to cater towards many different players, whether that be beginners or experts, flat screen or VR, and ends up feeling a bit flat with a lack of nuance and depth. However, the VR and HOTAS support more than makes up for it, and the simulated flying mechanics are decent if limited. It’s an enjoyable experience for the average Star Wars and flying sim fan, and perfect for getting beginners more interested in the latter. But you will almost definitely enjoy it more with a head mounted display and a full throttle-and-stick setup.
  42. CD-Action
    Dec 18, 2020
    70
    To put it simply, Star Wars: Squadrons is a low-budget X-Wing vs TIE Fighter II based off of Battlefront II’s space battles. I admit that I expected more, but after two decades we finally got a new Star Wars sim (leaning towards the arcade side, but still) and I did enjoy it. It looks and sounds like a Star Wars game should, and Motive’s successful effort to balance such dissimilar crafts as the X-Wing and the TIE Fighter is commendable. [12/2020, p.64]
  43. Oct 15, 2020
    70
    STAR WARS: Squadrons is a very well-accomplished installment of the franchise. A complete surprise thanks to the effective combination of arcade action and hard simulation. However, not everything shines; the limited scope, in campaign and multiplayer, drags down what could be a solid entry in the franchise.
  44. Oct 15, 2020
    70
    Didn’t hate it. Didn’t love it. Don’t feel like it soiled my fond memories of the last X-Wing series in any serious way. It’s just another in a long line of Star Wars games that could have been great and instead ended up being solidly mediocre.
  45. Oct 12, 2020
    70
    The real reason that you're driven to keep playing Squadrons is for the pure joy of dogfighting, whether that be in the game's team deathmatch mode, campaign setpieces, or perhaps in VR on PS4 and PC, where the sensory deprivation and head-tracking give you an extra layer of physical response to your flight maneuvers, which can be exciting for as long as you can stomach it. The campaign's narrative leaves you wanting, and the flagship Fleet Battles can be incredibly uneven. But the feeling of Squadrons' core flight combat is gratifying enough to sustain you through it all. The involved nature of juggling all tasks required to operate your cool starfighter at peak efficiency while soaking in the more mechanical sights and sounds of Star Wars is a stimulating experience that Squadrons just gets right.
  46. Oct 5, 2020
    70
    Star Wars: Squadrons is a flawed homage to flight sims of decades past. It’ll be a dream come true for fans of the X-Wing and Rogue Squadron series. It’s the type of Star Wars game that seemed to be extinct. It’s a niche title that highlights the fantastic starfighters of the franchise...However, Squadrons does have issues, mostly with its setting. The campaign has a very “been there, done that” feel and is set in one of the least exciting time periods in the new canon. The multiplayer is a ton of fun, but lacks the content to stay entertaining over the long term.
  47. Oct 1, 2020
    70
    Despite its lack of epicness, Star Wars Squadrons is a pleasant surprise. Whether you're a Star Wars fan or not, you have a good chance to enjoy what this Space Opera game has to offer, which is a great achievement for Motive Studios.
  48. Nov 21, 2020
    60
    There’s a good concept at the core of Star Wars: Squadrons, as flying a space fighter and managing its systems can be a lot of fun, however, you have to be a very dedicated Star Wars fan to enjoy a drab campaign with just a handful of memorable moments and watered-down multiplayer modes from Battlefront 2.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 1, 2020
    Before I go sending the developers my wish list for additional features, however, I should probably wait for them to finish the game (at least on the PC version). As a straightforward, reasonably priced arcade blaster with some unique flair, Squadrons has its charm—and is easier for me to recommend, especially to families, than Battlefront 2 ever was (not the highest of praise, but still). I'm just hopeful it gets closer to a recommended state of polish and bug squashing. [Impressions]
  2. Oct 1, 2020
    There’s a lot to be excited about with Star Wars: Squadrons. It not only meets all of my expectations, it wildly exceeds them. VR support for the entire game instead of just a single mission taste makes this the game we’ve always dreamed of so many years ago. It truly is the sequel to all of those great early PC games so many years ago, but with all of the modern bells and whistles. Put simply, if you are a Star Wars fan, it doesn’t get better than this.
  3. Oct 1, 2020
    Star Wars: Squadrons’ single-player campaign missions are a feast for Star Wars fans’ eyes and ears, especially in VR. Its engaging space combat is a great balance of approachable arcade control with the added nuance of simulation-like systems, which combine with astonishingly detailed ships and cockpits for the most authentic-feeling ride since LucasArts’ legendary X-Wing and TIE Fighter games back in the ‘90s. Star Wars: Squadrons doesn’t end up doing anything too memorable with its charming characters or interesting rival squadron setup, but this campaign still tells an entertaining Star Wars story I enjoyed no matter which cockpit I was in. [Single-Player score = 80]
  4. Oct 1, 2020
    For me, Star Wars: Squadrons is hands down the very best space combat sim this series has ever seen. That's not hyperbole; the closest rival here is more than 20 years old. Even if Motive never supports Squadrons past release, what we're playing on day one is everything this X-Wing-loving nerd has ever wanted from a Star Wars game.
  5. Oct 1, 2020
    Simply put, Star Wars: Squadrons is the total package. If all you have at your disposal is a console, a decent TV, and a working controller, you’re going to have a wonderful time. If you have a throttle, stick, and rudder pedals, you’re really in for a treat. And, if you happen to be able to afford VR, you may never want to take that headset off again. [Polygon Recommends]
  6. It’s easy to argue that Star Wars: Squadrons doesn’t offer quite enough. Players get what is essentially an eight-hour tutorial which acts as a prelude for the game’s multiplayer, a limited but fun offering of modes with some potential for great staying power. [Review in Progress Score = 70]
  7. Oct 1, 2020
    Squadrons is probably not the Star Wars game for everyone. The steep difficulty curve combined with the relatively limited campaign makes it more of a niche kind of game than other, more accessible Star Wars space combat titles. But for players willing to put in the time (and invest in the hardware), the end result is a game that brings you closer to flying around an X-Wing than ever before.
  8. Oct 2, 2020
    It's a new take on old ideas, in a new era, for a new audience. It’s a strong beginning, but a beginning nonetheless.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 332 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 3, 2020
    1
    Should be named SJWars: Propaganda

    Low quality game with politics instead of gameplay and technical features
  2. Oct 3, 2020
    3
    Let aside the identity politics (skip story, skip dialogs : who cares?*), the game suffers from several issues : technical and otherwise.Let aside the identity politics (skip story, skip dialogs : who cares?*), the game suffers from several issues : technical and otherwise.

    First, speaking from the point of view of a HOTAS player:
    Flight sticks have an horrible big dead zone.
    Some actions are needlessly cumbersome and horribly designed (I would need two thumbs to do one of them, when using simply 2 buttons would have made it both easy and efficient : no can do).

    As far as the game goes, there are stuttering problems even with high-end hardware.

    Playing, it took me a while to realise listening to the objective was counter-productive : kill everything and do NOT do what they tell you to do, it's usually a one-way ticket to lose.

    During one of my earliest missions, I died several times before understanding I was too close from some "damaging area" while chasing other fighters. It didn't appear to be a bother for any other ship but mine.

    I also despise the small maps (turn around now or die, whoops : too late). Your "team" often flights next to you which makes it weird when you realise they are following you following them in the wrong direction.

    At the end of one mission, escaping a place at high velocity (it was a requirement), I found myself way past the rendez-vous point when it finally appeared after the pointless chit-chat ended. Boom : I'm dead. You can imagine I will not try this ♥♥♥♥ again to get the survivalist achievement.

    Speaking about stupid or unfair deaths : at the end of yet another mission (Empire), I managed to destroy specific parts of a big enemy ship to ease its obliteration. My this last task done, I'm peacefully heading to the hangar to end it. A few seconds away from the door, from the corner of my eye I see a Empire support ship (ally) coming fast from the right, reaming into me : boom, dead.

    To the list of annoyances, you can add the intrusive tutorials who DEMANDS you to do some action while you already did it, hiding your current target with a stupid window and of course making you fail what you were doing (most of the time, putting shield front and firing to a squad doing the same to you). You can imagine how this kind of ♥♥♥♥ ends and how frustrating it is.

    Imagine that all this ♥♥♥♥ is just from the top of my head.

    The game isn't very expensive but it's worth way less.

    *) If you do, you can also skip the game. You'll get allergies.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2020
    2
    Good graphics... Just feels empty, like most EA games. I refunded the game. Buy other games.