Syberia Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 287 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Syberia is a pure adventure game, where the player will discover a magical world of automatons and meet amazing and intriguing characters in 4 mysterious and incredibly beautiful, realistic and detailed European environments. Syberia is a 3rd person perspective single-player, adventure gameSyberia is a pure adventure game, where the player will discover a magical world of automatons and meet amazing and intriguing characters in 4 mysterious and incredibly beautiful, realistic and detailed European environments. Syberia is a 3rd person perspective single-player, adventure game using unequalled graphics with 3D characters, with a rich and evolving storyline and a cast of very intriguing and interesting characters. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Syberia Intro Movie
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. It is really hard for a run-of-the-mill writer like me to do justice to Syberia in describing it. Ultimately all I can tell you is this: Play it yourself! It is not likely you will be disappointed.
  2. Aside from a few little rough spots, Syberia is an adventure-game tour de force, with an engrossing story, a truly imaginative gameworld, and stunning visuals.
  3. 90
    The setting is rich, the characters are captivating, the interface is clean and easy to use, and the puzzles are just obtuse enough to be challenging, not frustrating.
  4. A slower-paced, puzzle-based game without any combat. But for those who'd rather use their brains instead of brawn, it's a solid pick.
  5. Game play wise, it seems to be missing a basic function of the Adventure genre: The description of objects.
  6. Features an interesting story and great atmosphere, but its gaming aspects fall a little short.
  7. Overall, the game puzzles are too easy, which makes the game boring at times.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Feb 12, 2018
    10
    It is a very good atmosphere and graphic. The game is beautful For a quest is 1010
  2. PaulW.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    Very good game.
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    Syberia is a pure adventure game. Story of syberia takes place as you might guess by the name of the game, in a frozen town where people lifeSyberia is a pure adventure game. Story of syberia takes place as you might guess by the name of the game, in a frozen town where people life was handled by robotic people and you have come to buy the company and regain its reputation agian after the death of its owner. But sounds like the owner's brother is still alive where you do not know and it brings you to a breath taking and beautiful adventure where you will discover the life of this people, their culture through out a nice written story and awesome art direction. Syberia has quiet challenging puzzle through out the game and it might take you a while to figure out the solutions but they are that much interesting and nicely put together that makes you never bored of it. Story is just awesome and really unforgeable. Graphics are pre-rendered environments but the art directions is somehow awesome job. Overall Syberia is an unforgettable game. Expand
  4. May 9, 2017
    9
    Three capital letters in one word! WOW! What a beautifull game this is. One of the best adventure game i have ever played in 20 years ofThree capital letters in one word! WOW! What a beautifull game this is. One of the best adventure game i have ever played in 20 years of gaming. I am plaiyng this game now on May 2017 for the first time. The puzzles and the story are amazing. i will give it a 9 though, because of the huge amount of time you have to waste , walking or running around from one side to another. Expand
  5. MarcA.
    Apr 1, 2005
    8
    Really good adventure. I don't ever rate a game 10, as that is for truly perfect games. It doesn't get a 9 simply because the Really good adventure. I don't ever rate a game 10, as that is for truly perfect games. It doesn't get a 9 simply because the puzzles shift between very easy and absolutely unsolvable without a solution. Still: excellent grafix and great atmosphere and sounddesign. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    I can't believe I didn't hear more about this game before I decided to play it. It really deserves to be a well known classic, alongside TheI can't believe I didn't hear more about this game before I decided to play it. It really deserves to be a well known classic, alongside The Longest Journey.

    The world of Syberia is similar to ours, but slightly different, in its possessing intricate automaton inventions. While Kate Walker's journey takes her to different and fascinating locations, the plot is not exactly epic. There are many things to admire in this game, such as the details in the character and background animations, the absolutely gorgeous environments, and the creativity. You can definitely feel the love and effort the creators put into the game. It's hard for me to describe one of the best things that Syberia does well... but I'm going to try: the world it creates is not exactly exciting, but rather relaxing in its wonderment. The atmosphere is calming and whimsical. There are no death screens, no way for you to mess up or have to start over. Just you exploring. Although it might not be big on action, Syberia definitely has a lot to say. Throughout the narrative as Kate changes, the game tells both her and you that you are capable of much more than you think. The game will move you at parts, if you let it.

    Keep in mind there is a sequel to this game, so some issues are left unresolved, but I feel that even without a sequel, the themes and character arcs of this story work well, even standing alone.

    A few things that detract from the game are the inability to make Kate move faster during some animations like walking up stairs which make backtracking irritating, some difficult puzzles that you might need a walkthrough for, and interactive items that are sometimes easy to miss.

    However, these things ultimately do not take away from how much the world will enthrall you, and how much you won't want to leave when the story ends. Pick up this game if you're looking for a calming adventure to help you unwind.
    Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2017
    1
    Jeu d'aventure classique "je pointe et je clique" graphiquement correct et doté d'une bonne VF. L'histoire est bizarre dans un universJeu d'aventure classique "je pointe et je clique" graphiquement correct et doté d'une bonne VF. L'histoire est bizarre dans un univers bizarroïde avec des automates, des clefs étranges et des engrenages. Reste à savoir où mettre les clefs et les engrenages puisque rien ne va avec rien : les piles auvergnates ne rentrent pas dans les robots bretons et l'interface minimaliste est peu loquace. Avant de me faire un noeud au cerveau avec ce fatras illogique kafkaïen, j'appuie sur eject (ça c'est simple) et j'envois cet étron au recyclage avec les autres pseudo-jeux de son espèce. Et je tire la chasse bien sûr. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers