Tekken 7 Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 339 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Love, Revenge, Pride. Each one of us has a reason to fight. Values are what define us and make us human, regardless of our strengths or weaknesses. There are no wrong motives, just the paths we choose to take. Experience the conclusion of the Mishima clan and unravel the reasons behind eachLove, Revenge, Pride. Each one of us has a reason to fight. Values are what define us and make us human, regardless of our strengths or weaknesses. There are no wrong motives, just the paths we choose to take. Experience the conclusion of the Mishima clan and unravel the reasons behind each step of their ceaseless fight. Powered by Unreal Engine 4, Tekken 7 features story-driven cinematic battles and intense duels that can be enjoyed with friends and rivals alike through innovative fight mechanics. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tekken 7 - No Glory For Heroes English Story Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 16, 2017
    94
    The King of 3D fighting is back: Tekken 7 is such a great entry to the series. Gameplay-wise is brilliant, its graphics are stunning and the available roster is satisfying. One of the best fighting titles out there.
  2. Jun 5, 2017
    90
    It's hard to criticize Tekken 7 for skimping on the offline content when the fighting and the feel for the game are this good. I applaud Harada-san and his team for sticking to the basics and believing in what they're doing, only letting their guard down to let the ridiculously embarrassing story mode slip in. It comes down to a question of Western abundance versus Japanese purism whether Tekken 7 hits the sweet spot. I know I will vouch for the latter any day over superfluous frills. Tekken 7 is the most fun and exhilarating I've had with the fighting games in years and I have pretty much played them all. Virtua Fighter 3 might be forever etched in my heart as my favorite beat 'em up but Tekken 7 is the best these days offer. There are fighting games. Then there's Tekken. The king is back.
  3. 90
    TEKKEN 7 is well thought-out and produced — to the level of awe. It punches the stereotype of simplistic arcade fighters right in the face, and establishes itself as the gold standard that will be difficult to unseat for quite a while.
  4. Jun 12, 2017
    85
    Even with the game's increased emphasis on multiplayer over single-player content, Tekken 7 remains a fun fighting game experience. The core mechanics are as tight as they've always been, and the new material adds some flair to rope in new players. The character roster is balanced between old and new fighters, with just about everyone getting some improvement to their skills. A good number of people are only interested in getting the fighters into ridiculous outfits. The PC iteration boasts a very healthy community and some nice graphical improvements over the console versions, so any gamer on the PC will be happy to have this fighting game in their grasp.
  5. Jun 24, 2017
    80
    Tekken 7 is every bit as great as its over-the-top presentation suggests. The fighting is immediately gratifying, the roster impressively expansive, and there’s a fair amount to do regardless of the type of player you are. Here’s a game that takes pride in its own legacy and instead of that pride feeling unearned or overstated, Tekken 7 makes a thorough case for itself. At a time when plenty of fighters are competing for attention, it seems there’s more than enough room for the King of Iron Fist.
  6. Jun 5, 2017
    80
    Its diverse roster is packed with a wide range of personalities and fighting styles, bolstered by a raucous attitude that begs to be taken seriously while simultaneously mocking its more peculiar whims in the process. Tekken fans will find their next favorite game--one that's the product of decade's worth of refinement. And while some of this depth will be lost or out of reach for newcomers, there's enough fun to be had outside of hardcore competition to keep players from all walks of gaming thoroughly entertained.
  7. Jul 23, 2017
    70
    Tekken 7 is a great time-killer that can hold its own against the latest installments of Guilty Gear and BlazBlue.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 73
  2. Negative: 24 out of 73
  1. Jun 4, 2017
    10
    I am convinced the people who are giving poor reviews have not even played this game.
    The game is incredible on PC, much more features than
    I am convinced the people who are giving poor reviews have not even played this game.
    The game is incredible on PC, much more features than the arcade version. Im using a Qanba Obsidian stick and its perfect for this game. The game recognises all controllers without any issues. Tested 3 sticks so far, no problems. The game is deep and very rewarding to play. Have yet to find any issues with the PC version. Online is smoother than some games that have been out for a while (SFV).
    Its easily the best fighting game to come out in years. Ignore the poor reviews, they clearly have not played the game or are not fighting game veterans. highly recommended to those who love fighting games!
    Expand
  2. May 2, 2018
    10
    Very good Pc port!
    Huge fan of Tekken and i would reccomend it to every fighting game Fan!
  3. Dec 19, 2019
    9
    This is my first game from the Tekken series and I am head over heels for it. I've played a bunch of fighting games over the years and thisThis is my first game from the Tekken series and I am head over heels for it. I've played a bunch of fighting games over the years and this game hits the sweet spot for me. The current User Score barely reflects the quality of the game. It is content-rich. Beautiful. And most importantly, fun as hell. Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2020
    7
    While Tekken 7 is a very solid fighting game experience, it's very much lacking in terms of content, especially if you're only considering theWhile Tekken 7 is a very solid fighting game experience, it's very much lacking in terms of content, especially if you're only considering the base game with no additional content.

    Unlike previous entries in the franchise, Tekken 7's missing many game modes that have become staples of the series. Team battle, survival mode, time attack, and Tekken tunes, are all strangely absent. However, Tekken Bowl has returned as DLC, albeit only with local versus; as well as the replay theater, which came earlier this year as apart of the 3.20 update.

    Visually, the game looks very nice, with colors and set-pieces in each stage that pop. The Fated Retribution update of the arcades, otherwise known as the Console/PC release, finally gave all characters updated costumes, as they've previously had the same default costumes since 2004's Tekken 5.

    The game's character models themselves have honestly taken a hit, comparing them to Tekken Tag Tournament 2. This is most likely due to the fact that the game is now running on Unreal Engine 4, and proper care wasn't taken with the models.

    Similar to the visuals, the character selection is also a mixed bag. Past fighters, such as Christie Monteiro, Baek Doo San, and Bruce Irvin are missing, while others may be unlocked via paid DLC, such as Anna Williams, or, Lei Wulong. The latter of which has been in every Tekken game since Tekken 2, ignoring the defunct, free-to-play Tekken Revolution.

    That isn't to say the base roster is bad by any means, though. Fan favorites, such as Eddy Gordo, Lili Rochefort, and Jin Kazama are apart of the default 36-character roster.

    One final criticism is the game's overall sound design and music. Many characters in Tekken games have two voice actors, however, Julia Chang's is definitely the most noticeable, as her new voice actress is much higher pitch and doesn't mesh well with her older in-game grunts.

    Mileage will vary with something as subjective as music, however no other Tekken game to date has had quite as much dub-step, and if you're expecting music more in-line with older games, you'll be forced to use the Tekken Jukebox, which is only available on PS4, or with mods on PC.

    With all the bad out of the way, the game-play is as solid as ever. Every character in the game is useful. There's not a single throwaway character in the game. Yes, tier lists exist for Tekken 7, however, even the low tiers have come out on top in tournaments around the globe.

    Throw breaks have been made easier to deal with, as opposed to previous games. Back rolling is now invincible, and there's now armored attacks, which can only be broken by low attacks, as well as a host of other changes, that makes the game feel great to play, and unique from its prequels.

    Slow-motion zooming happens during intense final moments of the match, which oddly enough, doesn't interrupt game-play. Each character has a flashy, time-stopping cinematic super move as a come-back mechanic.

    In closing, as with any fighting game, your enjoyment comes from practice and repetition. Testing your skills against different opponents, learning to outsmart, and conquer. It is a solid competitive game, with some obvious flaws holding it back, like a great steak coupled with a half-baked potato. No wonderfully steamed vegetables to go along with your fantastic cut of meat, and an undesired potato. That's Tekken 7.
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2018
    5
    It has been a long time since I have played a Tekken game. Unfortunately I don't think Tekken is for me anymore. Too much like Street FighterIt has been a long time since I have played a Tekken game. Unfortunately I don't think Tekken is for me anymore. Too much like Street Fighter and the "rage art" limit defensive options. There is so many fighting games being played now there is no reason to give this one a try. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2018
    3
    tekken 7 is a predictable follow-up to a series that's never aimed particularly high it may please casual gamers for a day or two but thetekken 7 is a predictable follow-up to a series that's never aimed particularly high it may please casual gamers for a day or two but the stagnant ongoing series is definitely in the second tier of fighters, way below Capcom or Nether Realm Studios games, and it's seriously getting old and tired. The lack of depth and subtlety and the emphasis on the offensive, rather than the defensive, puts this squarely two notches below the best in the genre. Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    Season 3 is a disappointment. Netcode is trash. Borderline pay to win DLC characters. Paid frame data. Lack of bonus features such as teamSeason 3 is a disappointment. Netcode is trash. Borderline pay to win DLC characters. Paid frame data. Lack of bonus features such as team battle. Terrible patching and communication from devs. Tekken is awesome, but this game isn't. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers