Tekken 7 Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Love, Revenge, Pride. Each one of us has a reason to fight. Values are what define us and make us human, regardless of our strengths or weaknesses. There are no wrong motives, just the paths we choose to take. Experience the conclusion of the Mishima clan and unravel the reasons behind eachLove, Revenge, Pride. Each one of us has a reason to fight. Values are what define us and make us human, regardless of our strengths or weaknesses. There are no wrong motives, just the paths we choose to take. Experience the conclusion of the Mishima clan and unravel the reasons behind each step of their ceaseless fight. Powered by Unreal Engine 4, Tekken 7 features story-driven cinematic battles and intense duels that can be enjoyed with friends and rivals alike through innovative fight mechanics. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tekken 7 - No Glory For Heroes English Story Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 16, 2017
    94
    The King of 3D fighting is back: Tekken 7 is such a great entry to the series. Gameplay-wise is brilliant, its graphics are stunning and the available roster is satisfying. One of the best fighting titles out there.
  2. Jun 5, 2017
    90
    It's hard to criticize Tekken 7 for skimping on the offline content when the fighting and the feel for the game are this good. I applaud Harada-san and his team for sticking to the basics and believing in what they're doing, only letting their guard down to let the ridiculously embarrassing story mode slip in. It comes down to a question of Western abundance versus Japanese purism whether Tekken 7 hits the sweet spot. I know I will vouch for the latter any day over superfluous frills. Tekken 7 is the most fun and exhilarating I've had with the fighting games in years and I have pretty much played them all. Virtua Fighter 3 might be forever etched in my heart as my favorite beat 'em up but Tekken 7 is the best these days offer. There are fighting games. Then there's Tekken. The king is back.
  3. 90
    TEKKEN 7 is well thought-out and produced — to the level of awe. It punches the stereotype of simplistic arcade fighters right in the face, and establishes itself as the gold standard that will be difficult to unseat for quite a while.
  4. Jun 12, 2017
    85
    Even with the game's increased emphasis on multiplayer over single-player content, Tekken 7 remains a fun fighting game experience. The core mechanics are as tight as they've always been, and the new material adds some flair to rope in new players. The character roster is balanced between old and new fighters, with just about everyone getting some improvement to their skills. A good number of people are only interested in getting the fighters into ridiculous outfits. The PC iteration boasts a very healthy community and some nice graphical improvements over the console versions, so any gamer on the PC will be happy to have this fighting game in their grasp.
  5. Jun 24, 2017
    80
    Tekken 7 is every bit as great as its over-the-top presentation suggests. The fighting is immediately gratifying, the roster impressively expansive, and there’s a fair amount to do regardless of the type of player you are. Here’s a game that takes pride in its own legacy and instead of that pride feeling unearned or overstated, Tekken 7 makes a thorough case for itself. At a time when plenty of fighters are competing for attention, it seems there’s more than enough room for the King of Iron Fist.
  6. Jun 5, 2017
    80
    Its diverse roster is packed with a wide range of personalities and fighting styles, bolstered by a raucous attitude that begs to be taken seriously while simultaneously mocking its more peculiar whims in the process. Tekken fans will find their next favorite game--one that's the product of decade's worth of refinement. And while some of this depth will be lost or out of reach for newcomers, there's enough fun to be had outside of hardcore competition to keep players from all walks of gaming thoroughly entertained.
  7. Jul 23, 2017
    70
    Tekken 7 is a great time-killer that can hold its own against the latest installments of Guilty Gear and BlazBlue.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 83
  2. Negative: 28 out of 83
  1. Jun 4, 2017
    10
    I am convinced the people who are giving poor reviews have not even played this game.
    The game is incredible on PC, much more features than
    I am convinced the people who are giving poor reviews have not even played this game.
    The game is incredible on PC, much more features than the arcade version. Im using a Qanba Obsidian stick and its perfect for this game. The game recognises all controllers without any issues. Tested 3 sticks so far, no problems. The game is deep and very rewarding to play. Have yet to find any issues with the PC version. Online is smoother than some games that have been out for a while (SFV).
    Its easily the best fighting game to come out in years. Ignore the poor reviews, they clearly have not played the game or are not fighting game veterans. highly recommended to those who love fighting games!
    Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2022
    10
    Game rất hay , đây là lần đầu tiên tui chơi tựa game này và đã thích nó ngay khi chơi , game play , đồ họa quá tuyệt vời, đánh đấm rất đã.Game rất hay , đây là lần đầu tiên tui chơi tựa game này và đã thích nó ngay khi chơi , game play , đồ họa quá tuyệt vời, đánh đấm rất đã.
  3. Mar 30, 2018
    9
    Great game, best tekken since tekken 2 imo.
    Packed with content, good net code, great graphics and not a pig to run on PC.

    9/10
  4. Aug 14, 2021
    7
    Make sure you have a strong enough GPU, CPU, and internet connection; in order to play at 1080 60 fps.

    I like the characters because they
    Make sure you have a strong enough GPU, CPU, and internet connection; in order to play at 1080 60 fps.

    I like the characters because they come in a great diversity and play styles. Even the story is also very interesting.

    But it is very combo and defensive heavy. You have to mix up lows with mids, because highs and throws are useless in this game. Nothing like Virtua Fighter.

    Its tournament mode is dead, and you can find people with a good connection. But if you don't, then you are stuck waiting forever or get clapped in a laggy game. I had less lagg, on Virtua Fighter 5 PS3.

    If you don't have friends to play with and not a hardcore 3d fighter fanatic. Just skip this.
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2018
    5
    It has been a long time since I have played a Tekken game. Unfortunately I don't think Tekken is for me anymore. Too much like Street FighterIt has been a long time since I have played a Tekken game. Unfortunately I don't think Tekken is for me anymore. Too much like Street Fighter and the "rage art" limit defensive options. There is so many fighting games being played now there is no reason to give this one a try. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2017
    3
    Lack of game modes, there is Sory Mode but who cares about Sotry in fighting game, old Arcade was all we need! Treasure mode which is simpleLack of game modes, there is Sory Mode but who cares about Sotry in fighting game, old Arcade was all we need! Treasure mode which is simple more advanced Ghost battle... except Online is thats all? Two years of develpment and only this?! This is a joke, big joke Namco! Where is Tekken Force Mode (T3, T4, T5, T6) where is my most favorite Team Battle Mode?!? Not even Survival?? No?! OMG I was expecting many game modes like in all previous Tekkens, incuding Tekken Ball Online + Tekken Bawl Online + New modes. Im very disappointed :(

    Next lack of characters incuding classic iconic characters; TTT2 got almost ~60 characters, here we have ~35 nice progression Namco Tekken 6 got 40+ We get Panda + Kuma as different slots but no Jaycee(Julia), Lei, Armor King, Baek, Anna, Ganryu, Kunimitsu, Jinpatchi, Wang... Bruce, Marduk ;/ Big Joke! We got again sux Bob, Lili, Leo... OMG!

    Most new characters are too anime oriented and generally bad: Namco try to change brutal fighters into dancers and idiotic girls? There is no Marduk, Bruce, Armor King like I said but instead we got Lucky Chloe, Gigas, Katarina, Josie: all trash!

    Connection Problems

    Akuma; this is not SF where are tons of Fireballs!

    Graphic; worse than in TTT2.

    DLC oriented: Namco will try to sell Us packs with new modes/characters which ond Tekkens got on release! Shame!!! Tekken Bowl Mode in paid DLC? No from me that ez cash grab!

    Two years of development and nothing! TTT2 is still a lot better Im totally dissapointed!
    Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    Season 3 is a disappointment. Netcode is trash. Borderline pay to win DLC characters. Paid frame data. Lack of bonus features such as teamSeason 3 is a disappointment. Netcode is trash. Borderline pay to win DLC characters. Paid frame data. Lack of bonus features such as team battle. Terrible patching and communication from devs. Tekken is awesome, but this game isn't. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers