Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 16, 2020
    80
    The Falconeer is a resounding success in every major area. It’s a gorgeous game that plays like a dream and has more ambition than most games of its type. It has a nice, fair challenge to it and helps ease players into the action by wisely teaching you without going out of its way hold your hand beyond the early going. It’s got an intuitive design and is a must for anyone who loves games like Panzer Dragoon Orta or Crimson Skies. Anyone in the mood for a new dogfighting-style game will instantly fall in love with The Falconeer.
  2. Nov 6, 2020
    78
    Despite a little turbulence, The Falconeer takes you on a memorable ride.
  3. Dec 22, 2020
    75
    The Falconeer absolutely has its high points, and all of the elements of a great game are there. It’s just disappointing that they don’t gel enough to be wholly satisfying. Visually, the game is stunning, without caveat. The combat can be exhilarating … at its best. The story can be interesting, even fascinating … sometimes. The game’s heights are extreme, but so are its lulls.
  4. Nov 6, 2020
    75
    There is a lot to enjoy in The Falconeer, a lot to keep you picking up a controller and having another flight. It’s also warmly satisfying knowing this well put together game is a project of passion and it feels like it has the backing of some solid developers and publishers. It was completely bug free during my time in the saddle and that can’t be said for most triple A titles nowadays. And while it’s easy to recommend you pick up and enjoy The Falconeer, its real magic lies in waiting. As hopefully it's the start of a new series, where we eventually see The Falconeer Black Flag, or whatever Tomas decides to call it. And that is really where it starts to fill my flight chaps with excitement juice.
  5. Nov 6, 2020
    75
    The Falconeer is one of those games that forgets that it can be more than just a game, giving more importance to its mechanical elements than to the experience itself. However, even with its design flaws, Tomas Sala still manages to create a great title that can be fun, beautiful and really human, thus becoming one of the most singular products of this year.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. The Falconeer’s limitations kept it from fully winning me over. But it’s bloody impressive when its stars align.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Nov 16, 2020
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Con un muy bello mundo abierto se queda estancado con las misiones repetitivas pero es algo que cualquier juego de ahora posee Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2020
    10
    Excellent aerial shooter!
    The grip is a little rough in the first hour, you have to take the time to study the different gameplay
    Excellent aerial shooter!
    The grip is a little rough in the first hour, you have to take the time to study the different gameplay possibilities. In keyboard-mouse the game offers by default an eagle control with the mouse and the camera with the keyboard. We have the possibility to reverse the control of the eagle on the keyboard and the camera / aim with the mouse, which seems more instinctive and more comfortable to me. It's a shame that players don't take the time to read and navigate the options before criticizing the game for handling.
    Like any self-respecting aviation game, the configurations are numerous so that everyone can find the controls that suit them best.
    The difficulty of the game is based on the player's choices to equip themselves with upgrades (which are numerous) that correspond to their gameplay and for that, you have to explore, discover and meet the different factions who exchange different goods and upgrades. Indeed, the open world leaves the player free to go where he wants and to progress as he wishes. The game does not take the player by the hand, consequence: the first dogfights are very confused and the learning is brutal. Regardless of the level of your equipment, it is your movements and your position that will depend on your success or your death. Once the controls and gameplay are in hand, it's a treat to engage in combat, pilot and maneuver epic dodges or air chases, bombard or protect a fleet, or even attack an island/fortress.
    The universe is splendid and its lore is rich. The campaign is presented in the form of a chapter where we embody each faction to experience the story from different angles, as Starcraft.
    The game does not have great pretension but it has the merit of existing and unearthing a genre that we no longer see.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2020
    9
    Well, I was lucky to start with a controller on my computer so I may have had a better start than other straight-PC players.

    After
    Well, I was lucky to start with a controller on my computer so I may have had a better start than other straight-PC players.

    After acclimating to the gameplay, story and economy I quickly found myself in an interesting environment. The setting of The Falconeer is an old world wherein history and myth coalesce into a dramatically revealed story. The main part of the game is the mechanic of flying on your giant falcon, and after I got used to it (and traded the starter bird and guns out) I had a fantastic time. I beat the main game in just 20 hours while taking my time and gathering resources, and I want to say the game was definitely worth the price tag. I loved the snappy aerial dogfights, I loved the interplay between the characters as missions were setup and I loved the over-all tone of the story. There have been comparisons to past flight-sims, but to me the game is very reminiscent of Zelda: The Wind Waker in that the scenery evokes the same sense of aww and wonder as you traverse the oceanic map and fly among the clouds.

    There's a lot to love about the game, among them that there are no game-breaking bugs after the release date, it's very affordable and I think it's a great game to hold you over until you can get your hands on something bigger. Considering this game was largely made by one guy it's mind boggling how much better it is in certain regards than so-called AAA Games on the market.

    The only reason I don't give this game a perfect score right now is that it can be a bit grindy (and you need to know when to grind) and you have to discover some things on your own. It doesn't hold your hands, but it certainly rewards being explorative.

    So get out there Falconeer and Fly!
    Full Review »