The Sims 4 Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New to the series, the Sims display a range of emotions which influence your variety of decisions in the game. Emotions give you new choices that impact your Sims and shape their stories. You can now control how your Sims engage other Sims, objects and individual moments in the game. YouNew to the series, the Sims display a range of emotions which influence your variety of decisions in the game. Emotions give you new choices that impact your Sims and shape their stories. You can now control how your Sims engage other Sims, objects and individual moments in the game. You control the brain, corpus, and now the heart of your Sims. The Sims you generate are full of life and are defined by, among other things, their unique personalities and their varying emotions. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Sims 4 Seasons Official Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 74
  2. Negative: 2 out of 74
  1. Sep 3, 2014
    90
    Everything feels like a step forward, even though there are some aspects (like random tutorials or some situations in which we felt completely out of control) that we would like to see more polished. Still, a great choice for The Sims fans.
  2. Sep 12, 2014
    80
    The way they interact with each other, the way they can eat, watch TV and chat about underpants or spaceships at the same time is a marvellous technical achievement that puts the rest of the game, with its missing pools and open worlds, into context. I wish we could have it all in the same package – perhaps The Sims 5 will – but for now, I’m happily and frankly unexpectedly willing to trade those bells and whistles for characters that feel, well, real.
  3. Sep 12, 2014
    79
    Series veterans are also going to realise that despite the various improvements, The Sims 4 is not in any way as robust as The Sims 3. The core game is magnificent and well designed for the most part, but there are a ton of missing extras, which will presumably be filled out with various DLC packs.
  4. Sep 9, 2014
    70
    Although The Sims 4 brings a few new features, namely the emotion system, it can only make the early fans unhappy and disappointed. Electronic Arts erased many elements and features that were essential and representative of the saga. And we already know that EA will sell them in a few months, included inside expansive expansion packs.
  5. Sep 29, 2014
    70
    The Sims 4 manages to be both the worst and the best installment in the series so far. It’s lacking content and has a fair amount of glitches and bugs. But the new feeling mechanics works really well, and opens up a new dimension that The Sims never have been close to before. In the end, the positive parts are the ones that are most noticeable.
  6. Sep 10, 2014
    65
    Even in virtual worlds, variety is the spice of life. The Sims 4, for all its polish and cleverness, simply isn't very spicy.
  7. Sep 12, 2014
    40
    The Sims 4 is still a charming life simulation, with a better interface and some new possibilities, but so many elements are missing compared from The Sims 3 (hello DLCs!) that all the fans will be disappointed.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Fantastic! Every body, EA did that again! After the great success of reboot in Sim City, fans of simulation games are wondering what the nextFantastic! Every body, EA did that again! After the great success of reboot in Sim City, fans of simulation games are wondering what the next simulation title will be launched by EA. I can't imagine how bad the gaming industry will become if EA doesn't exist in this world. For starters, EA is currently one of the best simulation developers in the world, and in general it is the leader in trends of development of various games around the world.

    Sim City has already drawn so much attention and become a legend of simulation games in modern era. Today, another legend has born, which is this wonderful game.

    Sims 4 has significant improvement over its predecessor. It has an improved UI, which is more user friendly. Its graphic is superb and oustanding. On a technical side, the optimization is perfect, the game is running extremely smoothly. The game play elements also bring the simulation of life to a new level. It has a lot of elements added, and offers a great variety of game play choices for players. Also, it is very realistic, which is an outstanding life simulator.

    All in all, the game has a lot of innovative and creative improvement, which is a must-have for all fans of simulation.

    I am already looking forwards for more DLCs to come. Please do not release expansions again like the old-days, as this takes too much time for development. Fans want new contents as soon as possible. Developers, please try to release more and more DLCs on a weekly, or if possible, on a daily basis. Fans are eager to pay for more FUN! ;)

    Every one, please join me to celebrate the great launch day of such fantastic title!
    Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    After a few good, solid das of playing, I can hnoestly say Sims 4 is the best in the series so far. Its a nice balance between the gameplayAfter a few good, solid das of playing, I can hnoestly say Sims 4 is the best in the series so far. Its a nice balance between the gameplay of Sims 2 and the open world-ness of Sims 3 (minus the agonizing load times and PC-choking requirements).

    I was actually shocked to find 4 plays *better* on my PC than 3 did - and I bought this machine not long after 3 came out.

    Overall the game is stable, and I keep discovering new thins hiding deep within the gameplay. I think a lot of the negative reviews are from people who played 15 minutes and then went PFFFt or - worse - haven't played the game at all.

    Pros: Well... almost everything, gameplay wise. The menus and camera can be a bit confusing, but they have a couple settings to revert those to previous incarnations.

    Cons: I only have two. The first is the lack of a more robust autosave feature. While the game crashes very, very rarely (had it happen twice in a week), if you haven't saved, then you're going to be in trouble.

    The second is a bit more important - the first patch resulted in my game crashing on launch. It took me a good couple hours to realize that the game had to be run in administrator mode so the patch could be applied. I wound up uninstalling and sitting through a massive redownload via Origin before realizing what was going on.

    So is it perfect? No. But in the realm of Sims games, I think its a very solid foundation for the inevitable mountains of DLC to come. It's probably the best in the Sims franchise so far.
    Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2018
    7
    This game is not bad, it's just gutted. It is exactly what you'd expect from the company behind Battlefront 2 - EA is looking to sell youThis game is not bad, it's just gutted. It is exactly what you'd expect from the company behind Battlefront 2 - EA is looking to sell you every past feature of the Sims games bit by bit, via expansion and stuff packs. If you only played the base game, of course you'll hate it. There is nothing to do in it. Build up the whole collection, and you'll see how charming and entertaining this game could have been, had they not broken it up across a hundred expansions that make the game experience you wanted cost a fortune. There are a few unforgivable features as well, no doubt, such as the loading screens replacing open worlds, as well as the complete inability to edit or create your own maps, which limits those of us who buy this game to build worlds. It also forgets that its target audience was pretty diverse - those who build, for example, were cut right out of the game. City Living brought apartments, but you can't build your own. There isn't even an option to place your own lot size on a map, as you have to work within the confined plots they give you, which are at a minimum as is. And even if you do buy expansion packs, many don't exceed what we already had in past iterations of the series. I really like Sims 4, but it is held down by its limited vision and won't have the longevity Sims 3 had. Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2014
    3
    Well, it's a shame that we have been waiting for so long for this. The Sims 4 is nothing but a 2.0 version of The Sims 2, or an PC version ofWell, it's a shame that we have been waiting for so long for this. The Sims 4 is nothing but a 2.0 version of The Sims 2, or an PC version of The Sims FreePlay. When I first saw the trailer, I was impressed with how they improved the graphics, gameplay and I was getting anxious about this game that was looking very, but very promising. Create a Sim is good, the better CAS in the franchise, except for the huge lack of "personality options". We don't have more than 10 aspirations to choose, the options to costumize your sim personality are pretty few. So, I created my sims and I was ready to start living. When you finish the creation, the game directs you to the map so you can choose your land, that's when I realized that the both cities are RIDICULOUS. It has some houses, which only 1/3 of them are occupied. Which city doesn't have more than a gym, a karaoke, a bar, a museum and a park.

    The sims on your town just keep running around the city, they don't have a life. They grow old, but they don't work, don't have child, don't do NOTHING but walk around the city like zombies and visit the same public places that you are visiting. I don't know why they took off EVERYTHING cool that they created on Sims 3 just to have a game with crowded public places and silly, useless and anoying emotions. As a TS fan, I was very disappointed. More than 80 stuff was taken off from the game. It is two steps forward on build mode and create a sim, and five back on gameplay. Maybe. MAYBE the game can get better with some expansions pack, but then I'll need to take off some more $200 bucks from my wallet just to have a "complete" game, and still I won't gonna have more fun that I could have with Sims 3, which one is far more cheap AND better. It's just not worth the money, even if you are an The Sims fan. Thank God I can refund this crap.
    Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2014
    1
    Awful, don't bother. It's a huge downgrade.
    No pools, no basement. You can't lock sims in a room anymore. So you can't kill them by
    Awful, don't bother. It's a huge downgrade.
    No pools, no basement. You can't lock sims in a room anymore. So you can't kill them by starvation unless you take the fridge off. You can't drown them either obviously. It's nearly impossible to kill a sim. No more happiness points based on moodlets, instead you have an useless buff called "emotion", that unlock useless interactions for "wishes" that barely grant any points. And that whole new design is just awfully confusing. I liked the old system a lot better the more moodlets the happier my sims, the better rewards, that's **** emotions for you... simple, powerful. No social worker. No cars. No urinals. Sims "pee like a champion" sitting down... No jobs location, no school location. Can't access sims to see their needs etc, when at work or at school (imaginary place). So weird tilting in the rewards section. An awfully obnoxious tutorial system that will pop a thousand times in your face.
    No jobs. It's all text based and skill based.
    Hair that look like kiddy paste. I don't see the point of doing Sims all over again they looked fine before. It's just so they can stick "Sims 4" on the box.
    People claimed that demo of Create a Sim didn't have everything, it very much did... There is not any more clothing options in the real game. And no create a style, no create a world either...
    Teens/YA/Adult/Elders look exactly the same that's why they only shown YA in the demo. They knew themselves. Stupid walks, who cares...
    Small cities... and all these sims walking around your home, feels like the Truman show car scene with his wife "they are running in circle all day".
    If you own Sims 3 and several expansions you are lucky because you don't need this crap! There is no reason whatsoever... Even build mode, so you have new commodities, cool, but with the old one you could achieve nearly the same, they just needed to patch it in not do an entire new game and call it "Sims 4".
    I played this game 2 hours, and I don't feel the need whatsoever to come back to it. I might actually buy an expansion of Sims 3 but this, no way... And they spent years to make this? No way... 6 months top...
    Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2018
    0
    this game gave me massive **** spree for few minutes (not rlly)

    THE GAMEPLAY IS WORSE THAN SIMS 3 TODDLERS WERE ADDED VIA GOD DAMN PATCH
    this game gave me massive **** spree for few minutes (not rlly)

    THE GAMEPLAY IS WORSE THAN SIMS 3

    TODDLERS WERE ADDED VIA GOD DAMN PATCH (same with pools)

    AND MADE ME WANNA KILL MYSELF!

    but good create a sim tho (needs create a style to make it better)
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2014
    0
    I was first sceptical of the Sims4 when they wouldn't hand out any games early for reviewers to get their hands on. Well, it makes senseI was first sceptical of the Sims4 when they wouldn't hand out any games early for reviewers to get their hands on. Well, it makes sense now...they've clearly made this game at a lower spec than expected because their plan is to port it to iOS and Android without detrimental affects...basically, this game has been simplified.
    It shows, the graphics are blocky, the gameplay is plain and the overall feel is hollow.

    Don't waste your money on this game or the thousands of DLCs EA will no doubt release for it.
    Expand

See all 811 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Video Games

    Fall Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Video Games Image
    Published: August 28, 2014
    Our fall video game preview has release dates, trailers, and details for over 30 notable upcoming games, including Destiny, a pair of Assassin's Creed releases, Sunset Overdrive, Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare, and much more.