Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Wildlands Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 535 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking place a few years into the future, Ghost Recon Wildlands empowers players to lead a team of Ghosts, a four-player U.S. Elite Special Operations unit, on a covert mission to destroy the Santa Blanca drug cartel, an underworld force and growing global threat within Ubisoft’s imaginingTaking place a few years into the future, Ghost Recon Wildlands empowers players to lead a team of Ghosts, a four-player U.S. Elite Special Operations unit, on a covert mission to destroy the Santa Blanca drug cartel, an underworld force and growing global threat within Ubisoft’s imagining of a beautiful, yet dangerous Bolivia. With hundreds of villages and well-known landmarks, local legends and various factions and regions, players venture into a vast world with which to interact and explore. The Ghosts’ upgradable skills, along with a vast arsenal of weapons, vehicles and drones, help them defeat their almighty enemy. Gamers can play the entire game solo or they join up with as many as three friends in co-op to roam freely in this vast playground. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Wildlands - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Mar 16, 2017
    92
    Ghost Recon Wildlands does not really innovate. However, it offers enjoyable tactical stealth gameplay set in an impressive, vast world, and provides a fun, memorable and rewarding experience in both co-op and solo playthroughs. Main missions are well-designed and offer great variety and challenge, and although the story is rather predictable, it has great presentation and ample amounts of information to support it. It is, in its core, a true Tom Clancy title and worthy successor to the Ghost Recon series.
  2. Mar 6, 2017
    83
    Wildlands is a great mix-up of some of the best elements of Ubisoft's most prominent IPs, but struggles to find its own identity. Military-minded co-op fans will definitely want to check this out, while solo players can also expect up to 50 hours of open-world fun.
  3. Mar 7, 2017
    80
    Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Wildlands is equal parts new approach to a storied franchise and familiar and well-trod open world systems. While it doesn’t break a great deal of new ground for the genre, when played with friends this cooperative open-world game can be an amazing amount of fun. Those moments are tempered by technical mishaps and inconsistencies that can be patched, but as a result, this launch ride is going to have some technical potholes that put a damper on an otherwise excellent experience.
  4. 70
    Many issues, like linear progression and limited AI, that I have with Wildlands are issues rooted to the ‘open-world’ genre, and therefore not worth holding against Ubisoft. Wildlands offers a tight finesse for a shooter, and is sure to be enjoyed by gamers; however, it does little to go beyond this.
  5. Apr 26, 2017
    65
    Fun shooting and open world are great, but there aren’t many Ghost Recon elements and game simply feels dull at times.
  6. May 11, 2017
    60
    Utilises the amazing PC technology of today to be, eh, okay. [Issue#261, p.68]
  7. Mar 14, 2017
    40
    Proof that bad writing can ruin anything, Ghost Recon Wildlands feels like the death knell for a particular style of open-world game. Occasionally great moments, like the co-op play and the Sync Shot, are sadly drowned out.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 130
  2. Negative: 41 out of 130
  1. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    There’s so much fun to be had here, and the co-op is probably the best I’ve seen in a long time. The country of Bolivia is massive and fun toThere’s so much fun to be had here, and the co-op is probably the best I’ve seen in a long time. The country of Bolivia is massive and fun to explore, with plenty to do and visuals that never fail to impress. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    This is a brain-bearing giant game, you will return to it again and again. You can crawl through the snowy mountains, and through the marshyThis is a brain-bearing giant game, you will return to it again and again. You can crawl through the snowy mountains, and through the marshy jungle and all this on one huge map. No one limits you, you are free to choose what you want to do. The game is supported for the past 4 years. I take off my hat to the developers, they made a decent game, at the time of writing the review, the developers promise at least a major update is still possible, I think this is an example of cool support for the game. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2019
    9
    + Plus
    Missions and options with strategies to done one missian are hundreds.
    Team play - Its really fun to play with friends. You feel
    + Plus
    Missions and options with strategies to done one missian are hundreds.

    Team play - Its really fun to play with friends. You feel like you're in anti-terrorist simulator.

    Graphics 10/10 Effects / Sky /grass/ trees etc........ oh my god !!!!!!
    Realistic weapons, vehlices and sounds from it etc......
    Give commands to your crew and use special abilites - mega !
    Adding points to sklills - mega !
    You can change look from 3rd to 1st person ! MEGA ! !!!
    That sounds when you stay you hear wind and everything its cool !

    Vehlices work pretty good
    And open, open open
    World!!!!!!!!
    All time when i'm buing game i'm looking for calm for something new , for freedom ! I love games with open worlds
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2017
    7
    Nice game, beautiful enviroment, but it lacks on music, and secondary quests are so repetitive. I love the options on doing the quests, so youNice game, beautiful enviroment, but it lacks on music, and secondary quests are so repetitive. I love the options on doing the quests, so you can infiltrate and such things that other games marked as "stealth" lack of, but obviously, the AI of the teammates is messy, so if you want a fully infiltration without being discovered, you better leave your team behind and use them just for the sincro shoot. So: good enviroment, good on alternatives, good on customization, but it lacks on music and AI. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2017
    5
    The Game is not bad but its also not really Good

    +Nice Gear +Good Map/World -Horrible vehicle controls -Horrible mission design
    The Game is not bad but its also not really Good

    +Nice Gear
    +Good Map/World

    -Horrible vehicle controls
    -Horrible mission design
    -Boring after a few hours
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2017
    4
    I can't say much for or against Wildlands. It's another generic military cover shooter with shiny graphics and boring characters. It has someI can't say much for or against Wildlands. It's another generic military cover shooter with shiny graphics and boring characters. It has some nice customization of your appearance and weapons, and in particular a lot of gun camos. I hear a lot about performance problems, though I haven't encountered such, it DID crash on exit, for what thats worth. I also hear alot about ♥♥♥♥♥♥ driving controls and I will say the ground vehicles were a bit squirrley, and It seemed like I couldn't fly a helicopter up and forward at the same time- but at least they don't want to fall out of the sky like Battlefield choppers. The spy drone mechanic was nice, but im wondering why the "sync shot" ability only works on one guy. You have a team of up to three AI guys backing you up, can't they shoot three enemies? There might be a way of doing this though, I didn't read up on the upgrade trees.

    It seems like the kind of game you could have left as a 6-10 hour pipe shooter without adding the illusion of additional game time via a freeroam mode. Based on what I've seen so far, it's at least passably playable, but I've played many other games that do what it does better. It's at least co-op focused, which already puts it a step above Rainbow Six: Siege.
    Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2018
    0
    Repetitivo hasta la saciedad, siempre lo mismo, una y otra y otra y otra vez.

See all 130 User Reviews