Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 4, 2019
    100
    The Division 2 is exactly what the fans wanted from the first game. It's bigger, has much more content, and with laser accuracy focuses on hardcore players who spend hours in the end-game. [Issue#294]
  2. Mar 19, 2019
    95
    A great game with fantastic world building and gameplay, The Division 2’s most egregious issues can easily be fixed during its lifetime.
  3. Mar 16, 2019
    93
    Managing to remedy virtually every single flaw one could find in the series' first game, The Division 2 is the greatest possible sequel we could have hoped for, and quite possibly the best "Looter Shooter" game out there at the moment.
  4. Apr 24, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 is a vast improvement over its predecessor straight from launch. With improvements in every area of design, whether you’re playing solo, with friends there is a wealth of content to keep you occupied. Right now, it's definitely worth the asking price and will certainly keep you coming back, but even if you wait there will be even more content to play in the coming years.
  5. Apr 12, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 is one of the best looter shooter games available, and puts other to shame. This sequel is perfectly built on original by implementing and perfecting ideas that work fantastically in post-apocalyptic Washington D.C.
  6. Apr 5, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 has given me something in a game that I haven't experienced in quite some time: an enjoyable and compelling leveling process and an endgame that has a dynamic nature to it.
  7. Mar 28, 2019
    90
    With an incredibly robust feature set and massive swaths of content ready for the launch window, as well as an extensive roadmap on the horizon, The Division 2 raises the bar for how a sequel should launch. Only a handful of minor bugs and hiccups remain, but none of them hold this back from being the best team-based shooter we’ve played in a very long time. Massive Entertainment has a massive hit on their hands, and we can’t wait to see where it goes next.
  8. Mar 25, 2019
    90
    If you’re new to the game, Tom Clancy's The Division 2 will fill a void. The fact that it’s a PvE game shouldn’t be a reason not to play, even if only for the single player part. You’ll find it entertaining, and who knows, maybe you’ll also make some new friends. If you’re a Division veteran, that you’ll love Tom Clancy's The Division 2 for all the new stuff it brings, and for the way it fixed the gameplay from the first game. It never feels like a chore to go look for some better gear, and that’s pretty much the highlight of any loot shooter. Tom Clancy's The Division 2 is a winner for Ubisoft and proof that smart things can be done with loot shooters if they are handled the right way.
  9. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 is a substantial evolution on the mechanics of the first game, with a more immersive world to boot. This is an impressively complete game, with heaps to offer players across all of its content prongs and a level of polish that belies the size of the game’s open world. Sure, it’s story is utterly forgetful to the point where you may not even realise it has one, but all the other components have been tuned to near-perfection.
  10. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    The setting of The Division 2 is ripe for potential, and it's a shame the game doesn't use it to say anything. I have absolutely no clue why I'm here, what anyone's motivations are, and I wish I had a strong narrative driver to fuel a purpose behind my endless hunger for progression. This letdown is hard to ignore for the game's initial hours, but the strength of the systems and design that fuel The Division 2 as a game are compelling enough to keep you captivated for dozens more.
  11. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 seems to try to atone for the mistakes that where made with the predecessor and it succeeds in an impressive way. Massive clearly learned from the past and crafted an outstanding loot shooter experience. It’s only big flaw is the bland and trivial story and pale characters.
  12. Mar 20, 2019
    90
    The Division 2 is an amazing multiplayer game. Massive Entertainment has managed to achieve a great sequel, and probably the best loot shooter these days.
  13. Mar 21, 2019
    88
    Defining Tom Clancy's The Division 2 as a "more of the same" is certainly unfair, but we have to say that the innovations introduced by Massive Entertainment are grafted onto the already proven mechanics of the previous incarnation of the series. Compared to its direct predecessor, the latest game developed by the Swedish studio already offers an impressive amount of content. The lack of a consistent plot and a poor optimization on PC are the only issues worth noting. This is however an excellent exponent of the "looter shooter" genre, surely the only one presenting itself in the most complete form at launch.
  14. Mar 19, 2019
    88
    Ubisoft and Massive have created a new reference on how a loot shooter can look at release. I had more fun with The Division 2 at launch than with any other loot-ballerei. And I'm curious what the future holds.
  15. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 15, 2019
    85
    Perfect reward system, very tactile gunplay and great visuals make Division 2 the best loot shooter on the market, and one of the best co-op games in the recent years. [Issue#237, p.36]
  16. Apr 27, 2019
    85
    With the experience accumulated on The Division 1, Massive manages with TD2 to excite our curiosity. Stronger, more generous, better built, the title succeeds where other games as service before it has struggled to. Thanks to its end-game, which renew the experience by adding content and skillfully recycles the existing one, but also thanks to this map of Washington, absolutely fantastic, which allows more than ever to immerse yourself in the universe of the agents of the Division.
  17. Mar 19, 2019
    85
    The Division 2's campaign is full of great gunplay, loot, and missions. Only toward the end of my 60 hours of play did it start to suffer from a lack of interesting incentives, but the journey was enough fun that it made up for the destination.
  18. Mar 19, 2019
    85
    For those who finished the first Division game, this second episode will probably lack some new and exclusive features. That being said, The Division 2 is definately a great game that mixes polished gameplay and a huge amount of content, especially for the end game.
  19. The Division 2 is looking and feeling great at first glimpse. It seems Massive Entertainment has improved almost every aspect of the game from the first Division. Also, the free expansions are really great because the community will not be split across the season.
  20. Apr 1, 2019
    82
    Though Washington D.C. lacks the memorable atmosphere of snow-bound New York, and you probably won’t care about the plot or characters, The Division 2 is a significantly more robust game at launch. It offers another incredibly detailed open world and a myriad of small tweaks and additions, with a promising future ahead.
  21. Mar 18, 2019
    82
    A packed, rewarding, and frequently thrilling looter shooter that should have a bright future.
  22. Edge Magazine
    Apr 25, 2019
    80
    This is a case study in how to get it right the first time - and, finally, students of this genre will discover what happens when devs don't have to spend the first 12 months of a loot game's life knocking it into shape. For one, the future looks bright. [Issue#332, p.108]
  23. Apr 5, 2019
    80
    The story is worse compared to the original game, but The Division 2 is significantly better in the areas that truly matter - namely gameplay and endgame content. Both games look similar, but only at first glance. Fans have plenty of reasons for coming back.
  24. Mar 25, 2019
    80
    I only wish that endgame content came in the form of unique missions, not reskinned ones.
  25. Mar 22, 2019
    80
    Despite squandering a great setting and premise, The Division 2 is an incredibly fun game to play which improves on almost everything the first one brought to the table.
  26. Mar 21, 2019
    80
    Recent games have reminded me that sometimes great execution is better than a noble failure, and The Division 2 executes on its concept with finesse. The story is lackluster, and the real-world aesthetic will turn of some players, but it doesn't matter because the core and flow of this looter shooter is great. There are something things that could be tweaked, like enemy density and their ability to one-shot you, but overall The Division 2 is a sequel done right.
  27. Mar 21, 2019
    80
    Ultimately, The Division 2 is a safe sequel for Massive Entertainment to have made and is a safe purchase for anyone looking to grind for loot in a well-paced, co-op experience set within a gorgeous open world. It might not push the envelope in a significant way, but it still provides a rock solid foundation at launch, and I’m excited to see what the developers add in the months and years to come.
  28. Mar 20, 2019
    80
    Despite a few setbacks, The Division 2 is a good sequel from day one and should become even better in time. It seems that there wasn't any content cut from the final version, which is by no means self-evident these days. If you didn't like the first game, you probably won't find anything of interest here. But we recommend you gave it a try anyway. The design of the city is superb and combat is genuine fun.
  29. Mar 18, 2019
    80
    With six studios collaborating, The Division 2 is a blockbuster that builds itself upon the strengths of its predecessor. The game offers good gameplay, decent AI, and loads of content which is a good thing for power players. The game still lacks some soul and feels repetitive after a while.
  30. Mar 17, 2019
    80
    The Division 2 is not a new game that upturns the tea table on Washington. It obviously uses all things that made the first one successful and it is difficult to blame them for that. However, it refines a great many aspects with small adjustments. This makes it more enjoyable and even more effective if you can play regularly as a team to go even further and live intense moments in the Dark Zone. Did you like The Division? You will love the Division 2. But do not ask this sequel to turn black into white.
  31. 80
    The ideal sequel for those who enjoyed its predecessor. It builds on what worked, changes what didn’t, and delivers a great new map to explore. It is somewhat unique within the looter shooter genre in that it is launching with plenty of content and a stable foundation off which Massive can build something truly great. Could more have been done to grow from the original? Sure, but why fix what wasn’t broken?
  32. Mar 16, 2019
    80
    Massive Entertainment have outdone themselves in crafting a sequel for the ages. They understood the shortcomings of the first game and doubled-down on what made fans stay for the long haul. Although there are some issues, Tom Clancy’s The Division 2 exemplifies what happens when you do an online, shared-world looter-shooter the right way from the get-go. This is something that Destiny 2 struggled with in the past, and what Anthem can’t seem to solve.
  33. May 2, 2019
    60
    For all the deafening noise and fury of its street battles and set-pieces, The Division 2 is, at heart, a game of co-operative tidying up with incrementally better guns.
  34. 60
    An improvement over its predecessor, with visuals that wow. Occasionally repetitive combat and an unengaging story are the main flaws that might deter budget-conscious gamers from buying at full price.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 18, 2019
    The Division 2 manages to improve upon the original formula in almost every way, but its tale and tone are frequently awful.
  2. Mar 15, 2019
    All of that said, even though I’m having a great time, my early first impression is that this is more Division.
  3. Suffice to say, I’m enjoying it more than its predecessor. It is chunky, it is moreish, and every time I come back to it in the evening it is like taking a big bite out of one of those mega Snickers you can only find in the cinema. All this praise might seem out of place moments after critiquing the game’s toothless practice of political commentary by obfuscation. But honestly, don’t worry about that. We humans are idiot creatures of contradiction, and we can thoroughly enjoy a rock solid shooter even as we recognise it as being vapid hogwash.
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1487 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 21, 2020
    6
    Year 1 Review. Had to go back and change my previous review.

    Pros: - Core gameplay and gunplay loop is very satisfiying - Great
    Year 1 Review. Had to go back and change my previous review.

    Pros:
    - Core gameplay and gunplay loop is very satisfiying
    - Great weapon/gear/skill builds variety (even off-meta builds are viable)
    - Huge map with tons of content
    - Beautiful, handcrafted environments that reward exploration
    - Some quality of life improvements (bigger stash/more crafting materials)

    Cons:
    - Atmosphere was way better in Division 1 (winter ftw)
    - Many annoying bugs remain
    - Timegated skins with high prices
    - Balance still a bit of a mess
    - Grind is real
    - PVP and Darkzones is a big fat meh
    - Not enough End-game content
    - "THE" most forgettable story and characters on my memory

    So I can't complain too much, I got my value out of this game. It's still a solid 3rd-person looter-shooter and you can have a good time with PVE content. Community is still healthy and finding a group is not a problem. But recent decisions by developers are questionable at best.
    Upcoming expansion "Warlords of New-York" looks promising and will bring a lot of improvements that should've been in the game from day 1. We'll see if it will be any good.

    And, as always. Do NOT preorder. Do NOT buy loot boxes. Or you will get more and more unfinished games with egregious monetization.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 17, 2019
    0
    Do you like running back to your corpse repeatedly?
    Do you like bullet sponge mobs that waste an entire clip of ammo?
    Do you like difficulty
    Do you like running back to your corpse repeatedly?
    Do you like bullet sponge mobs that waste an entire clip of ammo?
    Do you like difficulty scaled for group encounters everywhere and you're playing solo because your friends didn't pick up the game?
    Do you like mobs spawning all around in you a cover based shooter?

    If your answer to any of these is no, then you should skip this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2019
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The game industry today is so bad we have come to expect products to release half broken, in fact, a half broken product is within the margin of error from most consumers point of view. I strongly believe this now especially after I've seen enough of what The Division 2 has to offer.

    It is highly praised for its endgame content, which starts after you hit level 30, which is in fact, just a replay for some of the main missions you have already completed but now with the added twist, gear restrictions and reskinned enemies that you have to progress through to be able to obtain items with higher "gear score" and increase your chances of survival in PVP. I know PVP is not for everybody but Ubisoft uses Dark Zone as a selling point yet it is severely unbalanced and unfair in normal AND normalized modes.

    The main story lacks substance and is easily forgettable, the levels are well designed and vary from one another but the enemy mechanics are all the same. Stay in cover or flank the player. The AI is constantly aware and tries to counter react against the player. The instant the player presses the button to equip the grenade, several enemies will get out of cover ready to shoot, the same happens when player leaves the cover, if the player is not moving for long enough, enemies will use grenades or attempt to flank to lure the player out. This is about as we get out of AI and that is okay. However in the open world, capturing control points or doing random activities will soon become a chore. You will find yourself completely vulnerable in the face of an ambush from a random enemy "patrol" while you're attempting to complete any of those. You are very squishy, the game encourages you to think your actions but quite often, around 2/4 times in my experience you will find out enemies can spawn right behind you and instantly killing you. This aspect of the game is not challenging nor fun, it's just a fake added difficulty that does more bad than good.

    The game fakes projectiles, it plays an effect of a projectile but the actual bullets are hitscan, I found myself trying to aim ahead of running enemies without any success of landing any shots, the only way to actually hit an enemy whether it is a player or an npc is to make sure you actually shot only after the crosshair has turned red, which usually happens only if you're aiming straight at the body, regardless of distance.

    DX12 performance is better than DX11, too bad it crashes the game every hour or so. It is however on DX11 by default so most players probably wouldn't notice.

    It is somewhat reminiscent of Defiance, it does many things right, but for every good aspect of the game there is also a bad one. It may get polished out in time but right now there are too many things that put me off. I've sinked 50 hours into the game and I'll stop here for now.
    Full Review »