Wasteland 3 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 486 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Wasteland 3 you take command of a squad of Desert Rangers, lawmen and women in a post-nuclear world, trying to rebuild society from the ashes. More than a century after the bombs fell, you’re fighting a losing battle to keep your beloved Arizona alive. Then the self-proclaimed PatriarchIn Wasteland 3 you take command of a squad of Desert Rangers, lawmen and women in a post-nuclear world, trying to rebuild society from the ashes. More than a century after the bombs fell, you’re fighting a losing battle to keep your beloved Arizona alive. Then the self-proclaimed Patriarch of Colorado radios, promising aid if you'll do a job he can only entrust to an outsider—rescue his land from the ambitions of his three bloodthirsty children. You’re dispatched on a desperate quest from the scorching deserts to the snowy mountains to start from scratch, building a new base, finding a snow-worthy vehicle, training new recruits, and fighting your way through hostile frozen wastes. All the while, you'll have to decide who to trust in this land torn apart by corruption, intrigue, warring factions, crazed cultists, cutthroat gangs, and bitter sibling rivalries. Build a reputation for yourself by making decisions that will profoundly impact Colorado, its inhabitants and the story you experience. Will you be Colorado’s savior or its worst nightmare? Wasteland 3 is a squad-based RPG from inXile entertainment, featuring challenging tactical turn-based combat and a deep, reactive story full of twists, turns, and brutal ethical decisions that will keep you hooked whether you’re a Wasteland veteran or new to the series. Create a squad of up to six Rangers and customize them with perks and abilities geared to your playstyle. You even get your own battle truck, which you can upgrade into a hardened war beast, bristling with weapons, to help mow down your enemies. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Wasteland 3 - Patriarch Of Colorado Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Aug 31, 2020
    100
    Overall I felt Wasteland 3 to be an amazing successor to a great franchise and had me addicted within the first 10 minutes of play. It offers a great and compelling story with twists and choices that matter. The characters are robust and with the gorgeous artwork that is Colorado helps to bring everything to life. The combat is great and works well and I didn’t find it tedious. The skill system offers depth of choice for making characters and brings some interesting things to the game. My only complaint really comes in the form of a few bugs, but otherwise Wasteland 3 is everything I could want in a post apoc turn based combat game with a Frozen Ferret Launcher.
  2. Aug 31, 2020
    90
    It feels that inXile have hit their stride with this latest installment and have continued to flesh out the Wasteland world that is committed to individuality. Wasteland 3 is a world of open adventure, thrills and a deluge of blood. So what are you waiting for, Ranger? Get out there.
  3. Oct 2, 2020
    90
    Wasteland 3 is an absolute blast. The well balanced, if unforgiving, difficulty feels pitch perfect for the story and world. It is funny, harrowing and at times even verging on dark, telling a compelling tail of surviving in this terrifying world. Not only is the narrative great but the strategic combat centric gameplay is absolutely stunning. It is impossible not to recommend this title; it is one of a kind.
  4. Aug 26, 2020
    85
    A fantastic RPG that superbly mixes player choice and great combat to something bigger than the sum of its parts.
  5. Sep 8, 2020
    85
    Wasteland 3 does everything you expect from the series but in a sleeker package. From the freedom in building character abilities to your approach to the missions or which ending to strive for, there's plenty that's within your control, and those variations help if you want to play through the game multiple times. The story is interesting thanks to all of the decisions you get to make, and while your created characters don't add much personality, your companions are chatty enough to make encounters worthwhile. If you can forgive the occasional bugs, you'll find Wasteland 3 to be a top-notch RPG.
  6. Sep 15, 2020
    80
    Wasteland 3 succeeds on its narrative, choice system, strong characters, and compelling factions. It stumbles in its lifeless world, inconsistent presentation, familiar gameplay, and technical side – it often feels like a snow-themed reskin of Wasteland 2, with many of that title’s limitations and janky systems. Nonetheless, designer Brian Fargo has here made the best post-apocalyptic RPG since Fallout: New Vegas. It’s just not as good as the one he made 23 years ago with Fallout.
  7. Aug 26, 2020
    70
    Wasteland 3 is a good RPG that executes the same old formula sprucing it up with entertaining and interesting combat, good progression, inventory choices and a story that, while only average, is well delivered.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 183
  1. Sep 1, 2020
    10
    An improvement over the already amazing Wasteland 2 in every way. Better UI, Graphics, gameplay and content. Dont get the bugs issue everyoneAn improvement over the already amazing Wasteland 2 in every way. Better UI, Graphics, gameplay and content. Dont get the bugs issue everyone is going on about. I'm about 20 hours in and literally not come across any bugs yet at all. Amazing sequel. Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2020
    10
    One of the best Classic RPG I have ever played. Story, character progression, number of potential build for party, characters, open world map,One of the best Classic RPG I have ever played. Story, character progression, number of potential build for party, characters, open world map, humor, ways of dealing with encounters, MUSIC, moral choices - everything is here and it’s beautiful. This one will be added to Best RPGs of all time. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2020
    9
    Very good role-playing video game.

    PROS + The story won't blow your mind, but your decisions really matter a lot in how it unfolds and
    Very good role-playing video game.

    PROS

    + The story won't blow your mind, but your decisions really matter a lot in how it unfolds and is interesting.

    + Turn-based combat is fun and can get quite challenging if you're not careful.

    + The soundtrack has surprised me, especially there are 2 songs that will get into your head for days.

    CONS

    - The AI ​​of allies can be improved. They cross over of fire or gas clouds in a suicidal way

    - Loading screens take too long
    Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2021
    8
    Sin duda, Wasteland 3 es un juego que está muy bien, aunque con algunas sombras. La principal de estas sombras, en mi opinión, está en laSin duda, Wasteland 3 es un juego que está muy bien, aunque con algunas sombras. La principal de estas sombras, en mi opinión, está en la historia, que está bien pero no es tampoco nada del otro mundo. En especial los PNJs que nos acompañan tienen pocas interacciones y poca profundidad en gran medida. La jugabilidad, en cambio, está muy bien, con una buena mezcla de sigilo, combate, habilidades de diverso tipo, progresión de personajes, etc. Quizás está algo desbalanceada en algunas cosas, con algunas ramas de perks siendo bastante inútiles, pero en general es muy entretenido de jugar. Quizás la IA, especialmente la de pets y companions, debería haber sido mejorada algo.

    Gráficamente el juego está bastante bien, pero no llega a ser uno de los mejores exponentes de los juegos que tenemos hoy en día. El sonido está bastante bien, aunque la música está poco presente, cuando aparece lo hace en momentos relevantes y les da un plus muy agradable. Y, en cuanto a optimización, me he encontrado algunos bugs puntuales, especialmente con combates muy multitudinarios, pero nada demasiado terrible.

    Por todo ello, Wasteland 3 es un juego muy recomendable. Especialmente teniendo en cuenta que, antes de la salida de Steeltown han añadido contenido gratuito al juego que bien le viene (aunque la parte de crafting se nota que es de estos añadidos, porque realmente no se le saca el partido que podría). En resumen, un 8.
    Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2020
    7
    Wasteland 3 is a good game. It copies Wasteland 2 gameplay mechanics almost 90% and increased the production value significantly.Wasteland 3 is a good game. It copies Wasteland 2 gameplay mechanics almost 90% and increased the production value significantly. Unfortunately it's not a great game for several reasons.

    It has some bugs, extraordinary long loading times and a few performance issues (e.g. the Scorpitron fight in the Tellur mine was more of a slideshow, on a 1080TI with Quad Core processor...). These are issues that can be fixed in upcoming updates and I won't subtract score points for them. However, there are a few other things broken (at least in my opinion) which are not easily fixed or changed.

    First of all the game feels too linear. Free exploration is possible but since the game is heavily focused on combat you cannot simply explore any region you like because most (if not all) sidequests involve combat and thus have a minimum level requirement.

    Exploration is not rewarded. Loot seems to be partly predefined but generally randomized and the armor/weapons you find are mostly crap and never interesting. Vendors always sell the same stuff, I've never seen them restock with higher-level items, except for the HQ vendor. I find the item system lacking in every sense.

    The skill system was overhauled to create a steady feel of progression by spamming the player with attribute and skill point allocation on every level-up. I don't like the new system at all. You're constantly assigning points every few minutes which is very annoying, but you don't really notice the changes in combat because of its low granularity so what's the point? On the other hand, having the opportunity to assign skill points every few minutes makes it too easy to progress your character's skills. I never had the problem that e.g. my safe cracking skill was too low because I would just wait for the next combat to give me enough XP for the next level and then I'd assign the required points. That lowers the replayability significantly because you will have seen all of the content in the first run already.

    Interface is ok, but unfortunately it's not optimized for PC. It still works but it could be better. What I really dislike is the missing filter for the individual weapon types and subtypes. I'm constantly browsing the list trying to find the submachine guns or assault rifles. This should be fixed in a patch!

    Quest design is good but as I said everything is centered around combat. I wouldn't have thought I'd ever say this but why is there not a single fetch quest? Or an exploration quest without combat? It tries to stay true to its predecessor but a little bit more role-playing would have been appreciated.

    I don't know if I'm too stupid to understand it but I think there is nothing like a stealth system implemented in this game. There is a stealth perk somewhere in the tree but I'm not sure what it does exactly. Standing within the perception radius of any hostile creature will make them spot you after some given time, no matter what you do. This makes it impossible to get through a crowded area without triggering combat. On the other hand I think the game's simply not designed to work that way which is a real shame because it would have opened up other ways of playing it which was one of the strengths of Fallout 1/2 which some people seem to compare W3 to. In my opinion W3 does not share anything with Fallout except for the general setting.

    The world map is just a gimmick. It looks good but navigating sucks. You can't scroll or zoom, which is extremely counterintuitive. I like the idea with the truck that can be used in combat but then again its usage is limited to exterior areas.

    All in all it was fun to play but it wasn't really what I expected. I expected either an improvement over Wasteland 2 in terms of gameplay mechanics or a deviation from the original towards a more role-playing centered experience. What we have here is just a Wasteland 2 in a higher production value package with a lot of X-Com mixed in, heavily optimized for todays generation of impatient casual and console gamers.
    Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2021
    5
    Graphics looked like it released in 2012. Gameplay's OK; story isn't as engaging as Wasteland 2. But the biggest issue is the uninspiringGraphics looked like it released in 2012. Gameplay's OK; story isn't as engaging as Wasteland 2. But the biggest issue is the uninspiring visual style & dated textures. Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2020
    0
    Another unfinished and buggy game from a newly Microsoft owned studio. Wait another half year if they fix the numerous bugs and glitches.

See all 183 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.