Watch Dogs 2 Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 565 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Check out the birthplace of the tech revolution as Marcus Holloway, a brilliant young hacker who has fallen victim to ctOS 2.0's predictive algorithms and accused of a crime he did not commit. In Marcus' mission to shut down ctOS 2.0 for good, hacking is his ultimate weapon. Players notCheck out the birthplace of the tech revolution as Marcus Holloway, a brilliant young hacker who has fallen victim to ctOS 2.0's predictive algorithms and accused of a crime he did not commit. In Marcus' mission to shut down ctOS 2.0 for good, hacking is his ultimate weapon. Players not only can hack into the San Francisco Bay Area's infrastructure, but also into every person and any connected device they possess to trigger unpredictable chains of events in this vast open world. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Watch Dogs 2 - Online Multiplayer (Co-Op & PVP) Gamescom 2016 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 28, 2016
    85
    Watch Dogs 2 looks absolutely gorgeous on PC. The game offers a rich sandbox, with plenty of fun missions, things to do and places to see.
  2. Jan 1, 2017
    80
    Over the top hacking action combined with open world exploration, but with a social conscience and a very welcome sense of humor. [Issue#258, p.60]
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    80
    Unlike the first game where multiplayer was kind of a mess, the sequel offers a pretty solid multiplayer experience. Playing Watch Dogs 2 co-op is definitely a blast, especially if you're experiencing the game with a friend.
  4. Nov 30, 2016
    78
    Ubisoft once again fails to tell an engaging story, instead mixing a somewhat confused, even boring plot with bland characters. While Watch Dogs 2 is near-perfect PC port with lots of PC-specific options both for graphics as well as controls, the underlying game wastes a lot of potential. The beautiful rendition of San Francisco is a great background for some neat hacking tricks and fun missions, yet, aside from the shift in tone, Watch Dogs 2 isn’t the anticipated step forward for the series.
  5. Dec 12, 2016
    75
    Watch_Dogs 2 is definitely a good game, especially compared to the first one which was a dull game. It’s got a lot of personality, especially in terms of the cast of characters, and humour is always welcome in open world titles. The missions may generally boil down to “go somewhere, sneak past/shoot guards, hack something, get out” but they cover fun subjects and are never less than entertaining. Nevertheless the online side is aggravating as all hell, the controls aren’t quite receptive enough particularly when driving or shooting, and being able to kill loads of people doesn’t really jive with the DedSec ethos.
  6. Dec 24, 2016
    70
    Ubisoft Montreal almost made a GTA of their own. On the second try. For those who think that "funny" public group in social networks are actually funny. If you do not subscribe to the idea that you have to entertain yourself rather than be entertained in a video game, better stay in Los Santos.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 12, 2016
    60
    For the second time the unfulfilled potential of an unconventional material. The very idea is grasped greatly, but that's all and the game itself is very sad story – again. [Issue #269]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 103
  2. Negative: 20 out of 103
  1. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    Excellent game, superb PC port. It's so great to play a game that KNOWS WHAT IT WANTS TO BE! If you liked the Kingsman movie, you'll loveExcellent game, superb PC port. It's so great to play a game that KNOWS WHAT IT WANTS TO BE! If you liked the Kingsman movie, you'll love this. It's a bit over-the-top, but not Saint's Row levels. It truly is an ode to geekdom and internet culture. Absolutely sublime game. Story DLC expensive, but adds a lot and is IMO well worth it. Ridiculous, but amazing. Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers. This is the game GTA V should have been, superior in every way, with more to do, an exciting and meaningful plot, dialogue that's both relevant and humorous and multiplayer is handled brilliantly. The online experience has been blended seamlessly with the single player, which is a real blast when you're exploring and another player pops up. It makes the world seem even more teeming with life.
    It has a really non-linear approach to carrying out missions, letting you choose how stealthy you want to be and not punishing you either way. The sneaking mechanics are a joy but it's still nice to run in guns blazing every now and again
    Collapse
  3. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    Awesome game, PC version runs well to!! This is a vast improvement over the first game, the writing is much better, the online aspects areAwesome game, PC version runs well to!! This is a vast improvement over the first game, the writing is much better, the online aspects are improved and the new gadgets and such are great to. Pick this up asap, this is the game Watch Dogs 1 should have been. Oh yeah and the game world is wonderful, makes me want to visit San Fran. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2016
    8
    I was really sceptic before release about this game. After really average first Watch Dogs, I thought that going so "casual" into wholeI was really sceptic before release about this game. After really average first Watch Dogs, I thought that going so "casual" into whole "hacking" thing will only make it worse, but I was wrong, really wrong.

    If you approach this game with distance and open arms for it's parody of "group of hackers" theme and won't take it seriously, you will have lots of fun.

    The best things in my opinion are references to pop culture, games and movies, and every crew member that seem like cool geek and not some grey guy with depression like in first Watch Dogs.

    The technical side of the game is also pretty good, as far as I am concerned I have not encountered any bugs (except not working multiplayer that was a major problem shortly after release of the game).

    It may not be a competition for GTA series, but it's definitely worth checking out.
    Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2016
    7
    I was skeptical due to my slightly less than favourable experience with the first one, but I had some leftover cash in my Steam wallet andI was skeptical due to my slightly less than favourable experience with the first one, but I had some leftover cash in my Steam wallet and decided to give it a shot.

    Hell, I was surprisingly enchanted by the game. In a myriad of game titles that was released as a garbage port in PC, Watch_Dogs 2 improvement was pretty apparent. PC only features, multiple graphical settings, and a constant 60+ FPS even on the highest setting. Ubisoft has clearly learned from their mistake on the first title and has given the treatment and care their PC crowd wanted.

    The game itself was alright. Marcus Holloway is a completely different opposite than Aiden Pierce in character, story, and the way they approach their problems. In a way, these fits nicely as WD2 was a cheerier version of WD. When Aiden was dealing with grief and loss, Marcus and his colorful crew was just trying to fight the big brothers. Cliche sure? doesn't make it any less interesting.

    Not to mention Ubisoft finally managed to gather together a crew you get attached with. I mean sure, all of them are to the extreme spectrum of comical, but you couldn't help to think if that was indeed how the younger generation in San Francisco reacts. In fact, they managed to make the dialogues interesting that I couldn't help and laugh with their interactions.

    One last thing to touch is the gameplay. There are improvements and there are a step backwards. For once, Marcus's hack power is less powerful and sophisticated than Aiden. Most of the time, you have to accomplish your mission via stealth as Marcus could not as much punishment as Aiden could. This fits the them as while Aiden was a highly trained Fixer, Marcus was simply a 22 years old kid with an above average athletic ability. Furthermore, while Aiden's hack power bend the Chicago CTOS to his will, Marcus' power lies more in his ability to create distraction and move between walls with his new NetHack power. They both have their own strength and weaknesses, but I do think Aiden is a better hacker in gameplay especially during car chase and escape.

    Speaking of car chase, I feel like driving is worst in the second one as I found it harder to escape from chase like I did with Aiden. Maybe that also due to the fact that Aiden was highly trained.

    I enjoyed the game, but you might wanna wait till a sale unless you really really loved the first Watch_Dogs. It's a great game. Was it a perfect game? far from it. Did I had fun with it? Absolutely.

    That'll do Ubisoft, that'll do.
    Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2017
    5
    WD2's graphics are more ugly than GTA5 and consume more system resource than GTA5. I think this game even worse than Far Cry Primal becauseWD2's graphics are more ugly than GTA5 and consume more system resource than GTA5. I think this game even worse than Far Cry Primal because WD2 has the graphics that are similar to GTA4.
    WD2's story is boring. Both Watch Dogs 1 and 2 have a boring map, stupid A.I. and bad background Musics.
    In conclusion, Watch Dogs series is not a must-play open world game title.
    Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2018
    0
    This game sucks. Like really.

    Pros: 1. Good optimization. Cons: 1. The controls are a piece of garbage. 2. The driving is terrible
    This game sucks. Like really.

    Pros:
    1. Good optimization.

    Cons:
    1. The controls are a piece of garbage.
    2. The driving is terrible and unrealistic as hell (never thought that driving could be more unrealistic than in GTA V).
    3. Shooting is terrible.
    4. The environment feels like a piece of cardboard toy (pedestrians, cars, buildings, the city itself etc).
    5. The story is just boring and childish, characters are not charismatic and uninteresting.

    I've never seen a game this bad before.
    Expand

See all 103 User Reviews