XCOM 2 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 104 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1594 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 20 years have passed since world leaders unconditionally surrendered to alien forces and XCOM, the world's last line of defense, was left destroyed and scattered. Now the aliens hold dominion over the Earth, building shining cities that promise a brilliant future for humanity on the surface,20 years have passed since world leaders unconditionally surrendered to alien forces and XCOM, the world's last line of defense, was left destroyed and scattered. Now the aliens hold dominion over the Earth, building shining cities that promise a brilliant future for humanity on the surface, while hiding a sinister intent below and eliminating all who don't fall in like with their new order. Online those who live a the edges of the world have a modicum of freedom. Here, a force gathers once again to stand up for humanity. Consistently on the run, the remnant XCOM forces need to find a way to regroup, expose the nefarious truth behind the occupation, and eliminate the alien threat for good. Expand
Watch Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
XCOM 2: War Of The Chosen - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 104
  2. Negative: 1 out of 104
  1. Apr 2, 2016
    100
    It's a testament to the quality of XCOM 2 that despite performance hiccups on a mid-range PC I have been unable to put it down. It's at once radically different and reassuringly familiar, improving what needed to be improved and refining what needed to be refined without losing the core appeal of the series. XCOM has once again proven itself to be the strategy king.
  2. Games Master UK
    Mar 19, 2016
    95
    An instant classic that refines, evolves, and redefines the ideas that came before. Strategy perfection. [March 2016, p.64]
  3. Feb 2, 2016
    92
    Everything is bigger and better, XCOM 2 exceeds expectations and spawns new hope in future sequels.
  4. Feb 1, 2016
    90
    XCOM 2 improves on its predecessor in almost every way, and proudly stands as one of the most deeply satisfying action-strategy games currently available.
  5. Feb 1, 2016
    90
    With an unnerving sense of persistent tension and procedurally-generated maps that extend the value of every map, XCOM 2 survives the hype train with just a graze.
  6. Feb 3, 2016
    85
    XCOM 2 is a worthy heir to the franchise with a few improvements to renew the gameplay, and a refreshing script which makes us join the resistance against alien invaders. A worthy investment indeed.
  7. Feb 18, 2016
    45
    To be perfectly blunt, XCOM 2 is a pretty bad experience right now, and the best advice I can give is simple: wait for upcoming patches to fix things before buying. There's a much better game hidden somewhere beneath the performance issues and gameplay flaws, and it's a shame.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 5, 2016
    10
    Quite simply the game is brilliant. It looks gorgeous, it plays very well, and it is one hell of a challenge. If you liked X COM theQuite simply the game is brilliant. It looks gorgeous, it plays very well, and it is one hell of a challenge. If you liked X COM the original, then you simply have to buy this. They have improved practically everything about the original. This feels more much more dynamic. Gone are the days of satellite spamming your way to victory. This game provides meaningful choices throughout so that you really dont know which way you want to go. And i think that many different paths to victory will be possible. I think this is probably the best looking turn based game we have ever seen. Kudos to Firaxis on a job well done. A sure contender for game of the year. The only thing that slightly spoils it are a few buggy camera angles and some dodgy hang times, but you can forgive it that as they dont spoil the fun. And it is in infinitely better shape than most games when released. But the real gem of this is the mods. Oh my goodness what a year we have in store. Expand
  2. May 17, 2016
    10
    Best tactical game I ever played. It have nice graphic and addictive gameplay. You totally should buy it. Best game of the year or maybe of century...
  3. Feb 6, 2016
    9
    A solid third person strategy game. Gameplay wise a much more polished version of Xcom Enemy Unknown & Enemy Within. It forces me to thinkA solid third person strategy game. Gameplay wise a much more polished version of Xcom Enemy Unknown & Enemy Within. It forces me to think about every action and decision I make on every layer. it gives me the run for my money I expect from every game. The challenge is high and sometimes gameplay is punishing, but it's clear that you are expected to overcome these throwbacks and grow because of them.
    The new changes give a new feeling of fairness in the difficulty. Graphics wise it runs smoothly, at least on my pc. Every now and then I have to wait 30 seconds on a loading screen or the camera doesn't properly focus during an action "cut scene" But that's far from game breaking.. Be warned though: This game is for people who enjoy a tactical and strategical challenge. The difficulty curb scales fairly hard and you have to be on the top of your game on every layer in this game to keep your forces on-par with the aliens. If you want a nice game to come home to and just play without thinking, I'd recommend you move along.
    Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2016
    8
    بازی ایکس کام 2 یک بازی بسیار خوب است.اما متاسفانه برای افرادی که با ژانر استراتژیک یا حتی استراتژیک نوبتی اشنا نیستند بازی بسیار بدی استبازی ایکس کام 2 یک بازی بسیار خوب است.اما متاسفانه برای افرادی که با ژانر استراتژیک یا حتی استراتژیک نوبتی اشنا نیستند بازی بسیار بدی است همچنین دارای مشکلات زیدازی هست و بهینه سازی بسیار بدی روی سیستم های ضعیف دارد Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2016
    6
    I enjoyed playing X-Com 2, though not as much as X-Com 1;
    I would have given it an 8/10, but not as it is now:
    Pro: - The new difficulty
    I enjoyed playing X-Com 2, though not as much as X-Com 1;
    I would have given it an 8/10, but not as it is now:

    Pro:
    - The new difficulty in combat is fun AND manageable - even the teleporting around codex guys. Just need some clever layered positioning, not just simple cover and overwatch lines. The early battles are actually the hardest, cause the enemy compositions are quite serious at the beginning - get 5 squadsize and some officer soldiers soon, and it gets better. And if you see a lonley human sitting in the middle of a burning refugee camp, not running into hiding from evil aliens...

    - New graphics look good, a lot of (mostly useless) customization options for your squad looks.

    - High level skills cleverly positioned and used can really turn around everything - had a sniper killing 5 zombies and an advent with a handgun and faceoff in one sequence xD

    Con

    - The metagame lost a lot of its predecessor's appeal - the worldmap is no longer an additional strategic layer, where you actually defend earth by "hunting" UFOs with your interceptors. It is just flying from mission to mission.

    - The graphic requirements, as some already mentioned, are insane and not really optimized. I had to scale down graphics (AA, TAF, shadows etc) a lot to get it playable and I don't have a low spec PC. That said, the game no longer looked as nice, but in some maps worse than xcom 1, which is sad. This will hopefully be adressed soon.

    - Too many "forced" missions. In X-Com 1, I often ignored smaller UFOs after some time, but X-Com 2 forces on you many missions you probably would'nt want to do anymore at this point of the game.

    - Some annoying bugs where your characters die suddenly.

    - I still don't like the strange shooting percentages xcom has - My soldier is 5m in front on an enemy, even flanking it - in short, presented with a perfect kill shot - and gets a hit chance of 65%. This can get a supposed safe situation into a **** up situation, which gets worse with a new stat they introduced (dodge for grazing shots). Compared to that, i like the armor mechanic, as its effects are predictable.

    - Some timer missions were really cool and gave me a feeling of accomplishment... but others didn't and those became too many. Better balance would have been good here.

    Fazit:
    In short, it is still a good game, but the launch version is very much flawed mainly because of the poor optimization; I would strongly recommend buying it some time (patches) later, especially if you don't own a high end machine.
    Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2016
    4
    Forget the varied tactics of the first XCOM game. In XCOM 2 all of that has been thrown out the window by making the missions timed andForget the varied tactics of the first XCOM game. In XCOM 2 all of that has been thrown out the window by making the missions timed and having you start stupidly far from the objective. To cover the distance you will need to have your soldiers use both their turn units to make it in time. This results in not being able to shoot back when you stumble upon the enemies, of which they usually throw quite a lot between you and the objective.

    Basically missions are summed up as run as far as you can as fast as you can, stumble upon a group of enemies who now get 2 turns (their reveal turn and then their normal turn) to outflank you. If you do make it to the objective after fighting through the enemy you will now have to choose a soldier you don't mind getting killed as they run up to the item that needs to be hacked to stop the countdown timer and are now exposed to being flanked.

    It's like they took the first XCOM game, decided to add 100 new features and then forgot about including any tactical decisions in the tactical missions beyond just run as fast as you can to the objective.

    Can not recommend in its current state.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2021
    0
    XCOM 2 is unbalanced piece of s.... DLC Bosses with three life strips for first-level soldiers is "nice". The game is going too fast, very fewXCOM 2 is unbalanced piece of s.... DLC Bosses with three life strips for first-level soldiers is "nice". The game is going too fast, very few resources. Improvements are very expensive. The Avatar project... who invented it?
    Max honest rate no more 75. Bad job Firaxis
    Expand

See all 419 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best PC Games of 2016

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2016 Image
    Published: December 20, 2016
    We rank the highest-scoring computer games released during 2016.
  2. Best of February 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of February 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: February 29, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during February.
  3. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 1: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 1: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations Image
    Published: January 19, 2016
    Preview 25 notable videogame franchises returning with new titles in 2016, including Uncharted, Mass Effect, Dark Souls, Legend of Zelda, and more.