XCOM: Enemy Within Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 749 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: XCOM: Enemy Within is the expansion to the 2012 strategy game XCOM: Enemy Unknown. Enemy Within adds an array of new abilities, upgrades and weapons to combat new enemy and alien threats. This expansion pack also introduces new maps, new tactical and strategic gameplay, and new multiplayerXCOM: Enemy Within is the expansion to the 2012 strategy game XCOM: Enemy Unknown. Enemy Within adds an array of new abilities, upgrades and weapons to combat new enemy and alien threats. This expansion pack also introduces new maps, new tactical and strategic gameplay, and new multiplayer content providing a renewed gameplay experience. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
XCOM: Enemy Within - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    94
    This content takes the game to whole new level of interest and challenge. I thought the game was great as it was, but these additions add so much more and further extend my enjoyment of what is a classic game.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    90
    With new content such as new soldier types, upgrades and enemies, this expansion will have you grinding your teeth over the new choices you’ll be making. For the loyal fans it’s a reason to replay their beloved game, all the while newcomers get the best version of the game, although they might get overwhelmed with a tidal wave of tactical details.
  3. Dec 16, 2013
    90
    If you’re a lapsed player this is a perfect reason to return; Enemy Within significantly improves a game that was pretty damn excellent to begin with.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    85
    After the continued and renowned support for the mainstay Civilization series, Firaxis couldn’t do less with its reboot of the historic XCOM series. Enemy Within is the first true expansion to XCOM: Enemy Unknown, which radically changes the gameplay experience and also makes up for some “youthful indiscretions” like the small number of playable maps.
  5. CD-Action
    Dec 13, 2013
    85
    The developer failed to eradicate all the bugs from the previous game but it doesn’t change the fact that Enemy Within can be honestly recommended both to veterans and those who want to check out a tactical turn-based game for the first time. [13/2013, p.62]
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    At the end of the day, it was the gameplay that made last year’s XCOM: Enemy Unknown a standout title and that remains intact, but XCOM: Enemy Within is the dessert package to go with the main course you just ate, adding that sweet delight on top of an already pleasing and tasty meal.
  7. Jan 16, 2014
    65
    Xcom: Enemy Within is a decent expansion to a slightly flawed original.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 110
  2. Negative: 12 out of 110
  1. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Great game. Great expansion. It let me replay the game I had already enjoyed again with new surprises, new maps, new units etc.

    Started at
    Great game. Great expansion. It let me replay the game I had already enjoyed again with new surprises, new maps, new units etc.

    Started at only $30 dollars, too! Not bad, considering I've already put 30 more hours into it. Sounds cheap to me!
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    I am putting a 10 just to offset some of the more ignorant comments below. The game is still great, with the addition of several uniqueI am putting a 10 just to offset some of the more ignorant comments below. The game is still great, with the addition of several unique features. You can still play Enemy Unknown if you choose to do so before starting the game.

    For those people asking why 2K is charging a lot more in Australia, please stop making yourselves look bad and do some research why your government has put taxes on games. Don't blame the dev/publishers for what your leaders are doing.
    Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    it was so great game i think xcom:ew is best Extension pack its make that game perfect and that is a reason to play this game again and again.it was so great game i think xcom:ew is best Extension pack its make that game perfect and that is a reason to play this game again and again. but some thing was wrong .Exalt missions. its was good to play more missions but that was better be another aline race inversion. exalt missions was funny look like that : (hey aliens attack us let kill humans ) . ew was great Extension pack not a game and i give that score for best Extension pack of year not for game Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    God bless Firaxis Games! They did a fantastic job with XCOM Enemy Unknown and then again with XCOM Enemy Within. These guys should be in theGod bless Firaxis Games! They did a fantastic job with XCOM Enemy Unknown and then again with XCOM Enemy Within. These guys should be in the hall of fame for game designers. No kidding. The game is not perfect (bugs) but it's good enough to stand with the likes of Starcraft and other iconic games. It's really good. Enough said. Expand
  5. May 21, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really wanted to give this game a 7.5 but it wouldn't let me. The real reasons for this are quite obvious, if you have played the game. First and foremost, the AI (alien invaders) always get in range long before the X-COM defenders can even take a clear shot. Which means, basically, you're a sitting duck for at least a turn before you can engage in combat. This feature is also exacerbated by the fact that the aliens can shoot through, around, over or beyond anything I've ever seen. They also get to move as soon as the X-COM team comes into contact with them, no sneaking up on the enemy and eliminating them like the Navy Seals do. That's something that the X-COM soldiers also cannot do, even wearing GHOST armor, The aliens almost never miss, at long range, which is frustrating, because if you go after them aggressively, they will get shots on your guys without them being able to respond or at a huge shot penalty disadvantage. This continues until, and even when the X-COM forces have advanced through the ranks to Major or Colonel. Even at that stage the aliens have longer range and better targeting than the X-COM forces. There is an awful lot of X-COM forces missing 94% shots at close range, leaving men exposed to one last hit by the alien enemies. One example was where I had played to the end of an alien ship landing and barely escaped disaster from an attacking Monstrous Sectopod and 3 heavy floaters, only to be suddenly ambushed by a muton, 2 muton elite, a muton berserker and a psi-commander before I had the opportunity to reload or use medkits for a couple of hits I took. Needless to say, I thought I had everything under control but 3 of my best guys missed 85% to 94% shots consecutively and one of my best guys got killed. How does that happen and why? These are supposed to be Elite X-COM super soldiers that have been genetically modified. What's up with that?
    Anyway, I happen to like turn based games but this one seems to be a little chaotic when it comes to being player friendly, so to speak. I don't think anyone likes getting killed just before they get across the finish line. One last desperate shot killed my X-COM Colonel. Dammit!!!!!!
    The game is good and entertaining but paying for genetic modifications (great idea) and MEC's (which I don't like) along with a couple of new aliens and a few extra missions , doesn't really seem like it's that much better for the money. Don't misunderstand me, I like what they did, aside from the MEC thing, which I think could have been turned into a different game altogether, but it could have been much better at the same price. I also think that basically having just one team of X-COM soldiers is a little short sighted and perhaps future DLC can adjust the narrow focus of this game.
    I also think that having a few more levels with a few more perks for the soldiers would have been good for the game, (like not missing shots above 80% perhaps) and adding a few more psi powers and maybe being able to choose rank upgrades from the start and more than just 2 per rank, would be a somewhat major improvement.. More customized abilities for each character/soldier and maybe a little higher attribute scores every once in a while. It's a huge waste of time and resources to buy and train soldiers to get attribute scores like 34 will and 55 aim. That is just not going to cut it in X-COM. And perhaps, a way of obtaining a bit more funding in the early game so it doesn't stagger the progression so much until there isn't anything left to research or build.
    Nevertheless, the alien attack on X-COM headquarters was a purely brilliant idea and a handful of creative ideas like that would have made this addition a blockbuster. I also think that the Exalt faction is a huge step in the right direction but could have been better and perhaps a little better explanation of what the icons were there for and why. But, alas it wasn't to be.
    Hope there is another DLC to this game from 2K soon.
    Expand
  7. ABR
    Sep 7, 2018
    0
    DLC that forces you to play it without any reason from the point of view of story and game progression.

    XCOM EU: "We are affraid to be
    DLC that forces you to play it without any reason from the point of view of story and game progression.

    XCOM EU: "We are affraid to be like aliens". EW: "Oh, we have unknown technology, let's turn our soldiers into robots and mutants".

    Full trash, IMHO.
    Expand

See all 110 User Reviews