Ratchet & Clank Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 396 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a futuristic world filled with spaceships, robots and high-tech gadgets, Ratchet and Clank moves from planet to planet across a vast solar system. Ratchet lives on an abandoned backwater planet and dreams of someday striking out on a magnificent space adventure. Closer to the centerSet in a futuristic world filled with spaceships, robots and high-tech gadgets, Ratchet and Clank moves from planet to planet across a vast solar system. Ratchet lives on an abandoned backwater planet and dreams of someday striking out on a magnificent space adventure. Closer to the center of the galaxy, Chairman Drek rules a polluted planet, Orxon, inhabited by an ugly race called the Blarg. He too has dreams, but his concern is conquest and domination. Tired of his polluted world, Chairman Drek comes up with the ultimate solution - to build a new planet using the best parts from many of the other worlds in the galaxy. If he can't convince the inhabitants to part with a few thousand hectares of their worlds, the army of robots and Blarg warriors can eliminate any resistance. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ratchet & Clank Movie 6
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    Plenty of other platformers can boast similar features - but few have pulled them all together the way that Ratchet & Clank has. [Dec 2002, p.166]
  2. It definitely beats "Sly Cooper," its semi-brother "Jak and Daxter," and even other-platform platformers (pun intended) in most categories.
  3. Control in the game is excellent, and you'll never walk off a ledge because the controller is slow to respond.
  4. A fantastic platformer in every way and qualifies as one of the best games the genre has seen since consoles went polygonal.
  5. With beautifully realised fantasy words to explore and depth that belies its surface-sweetened nastiness, this is one that will satisfy all who feel the need for unbridled platform action. And attitude.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    Delivers a long, satisfying experience with a good mix of platforming and exploration-style gameplay. [Dec 2002, p.214]
  7. It’s not in the same league as "Jak and Daxter," but is it still head and shoulders above everything else currently available on the Playstation 2.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 91
  2. Negative: 2 out of 91
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the best platforming games I have played in all my years of gaming. From the creators of Spyro the DragonThis is without a doubt one of the best platforming games I have played in all my years of gaming. From the creators of Spyro the Dragon (which is another great platform/adventure game) brings you two new characters, Ratchet who is a lombax and Clank who is a robot. The chemistry between these two are great and their voices are brilliant including clank my personal faviroute. There are other great characters too like Quark, Helga and Drek and their voices are good as well. Gameplay is similar to Spyro, you play as Ratchet mostly and sometimes Clank and your mission is too roam around and defeating all of Drek's minions who have taken over different planets as well as helping out friends who set out tasks for you. Once that is done you will be given coordinates to the next planet where you will fight your way through more enemies and bosses. There are also skill points which can only be earned by completing a secret challenge as well as gold bolts that are located in secret areas. Your first weapon is the wrench but you can buy new weapons from the gadgetron shops. You can get these by collecting lots of bolts which are found by destroying creates and enemies There are some really cool weapons like morph ray, devastator and RYNO which is a faviroute of mine. Ratchet has lots of cool moves and can collect items to perform new ones. Clank has some cool tricks up his sleeve too like a thruster pack, communicating with other robots and when he becomes a giant, then you just smash your way through everyone while blasting them with rockets. Graphically this game is perfect, each level has some amazing layouts and backgrounds from a great distance. Frame rate is fine and there is plenty of gameplay in this too, so you won't be disappointed. I can honestly say this is without a doubt one of the best platform/adventure games I have ever seen on the PS2. Expand
  2. JonnyB.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    One of the better exclusives on the PS2. I love this game.
  3. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    This is the first game that I ever played and finished. It's stuck with me all these years. The story is very well written, characters areThis is the first game that I ever played and finished. It's stuck with me all these years. The story is very well written, characters are interesting, levels are fantastic with things going on in the background, just simply amazing. I highly recommend that you try this out, it IS my favourite game of all time!!! Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    This game is great!!! One of the first games I bought for my PS2, and one of the most fun! The gameplay was mainly smooth, the levels wereThis game is great!!! One of the first games I bought for my PS2, and one of the most fun! The gameplay was mainly smooth, the levels were various, unique, and highly creative!! I LOVE the characters, the story, the world, the humor, everything! So many extras you can play to achieve, and many unique gadgets and weapons that make this game stand out. This game deserves a standing ovation! Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2020
    9
    The one that started it all. Simpler in comparison to its sequels, with a greater emphasis on platforming n puzzle solving. Weapons were greatThe one that started it all. Simpler in comparison to its sequels, with a greater emphasis on platforming n puzzle solving. Weapons were great for their time, along with the array of side characters. Expand
  6. May 1, 2020
    8
    One of the best adventure games on PS2 although in my opinion inferior to the competition of jak 2. However, highly recommended.
  7. JohnH.
    Dec 5, 2002
    0
    It is short. It is boring. Worst.

See all 91 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

13
3
#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
8
#8 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002