User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaMan
    Feb 7, 2002
    10
    This game kicks ass.
  2. SeanG.
    Feb 20, 2002
    6
    Bought it without waiting for reviews. BAD CALL. Played for 15 minutes...Why is this a Playstation 2 game and not PS1? Missions are basically the same...But I only played 20 minutes worth.
  3. MattR.
    Feb 19, 2002
    7
    Not GTA3. This game gets old fast because there ins't the open ended play of GTA.
  4. MatthewB.
    Feb 20, 2002
    6
    It's a shame that both GTA3 and Max Payne had to come out before this game. This game has a pretty solid engine (although the lack of a jump button frustrates me to no end), and the scenerios and sense of running around frantically is great! They pushed this game about as far as they could, however there lies the problem. This game was doomed from the get-go from the lack of possible It's a shame that both GTA3 and Max Payne had to come out before this game. This game has a pretty solid engine (although the lack of a jump button frustrates me to no end), and the scenerios and sense of running around frantically is great! They pushed this game about as far as they could, however there lies the problem. This game was doomed from the get-go from the lack of possible depth. There is no way they could have made this game a "great one" (such as GTA3) because the whole concept did not allow for depth. Anyways, that aside, it is does have solid gameplay, decent graphics (they are what they are), and pretty unique AI. Had this game come out before the other two I mentioned earlier, it may have even received a higher score from me. Still this game lacks depth, and for me that is what takes a mediocre game into a good one, and a good one into a great one! This is mediocre in my books. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Mar 15, 2002
    10
    This is the best game EVER!!!
  6. Raiden
    Apr 5, 2002
    4
    Crap. Too short. You'll like it for the first 5 minutes until you realise that you're doing the same thing over and over and over again, and it's not that much fun. This game doesn't have as much freedom as people make out. I think you should have been able to walk into shops and drive vehicles, there also is no multiplayer mode shortening the lifespan even more. Crap. Too short. You'll like it for the first 5 minutes until you realise that you're doing the same thing over and over and over again, and it's not that much fun. This game doesn't have as much freedom as people make out. I think you should have been able to walk into shops and drive vehicles, there also is no multiplayer mode shortening the lifespan even more. Overall it is not worth your hard earned cash, but ideal for an overnight rental with some mates. Expand
  7. CrocoKoala
    May 2, 2002
    4
    Fun for about five minutes, then you'll never play it again. Controversial narrative but fundamentally dull, with crude graphics and irritating missions. Avoid.
  8. JustinAsher
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    This is a very fun game with humor and madness and for Kyle K. to say it is too short is outrageous, the game has at least 200 missions. This game was not mean't to be deep and serious. It is just a fun and humorous game. A game like none other. This is just another example of why Rockstar Games is the best gaming company out their. I am dissapointed they didn't make the sequel.
  9. SilentJoe
    Feb 16, 2002
    10
    Awesome game, a must have.
  10. TristanH.
    Feb 21, 2002
    10
    I love this game! I don't own it but my friend does. For anyone on here who doesn't like it, e-mail me and I'll buy it from you. t_man9mm@hotmail.com
  11. NickT.
    Feb 27, 2002
    9
    This game kicks ass!!! u can do anything from chucking grenades thru windows to beatin' the hell out of well....anyone.
  12. KyleK.
    Nov 17, 2003
    6
    Loads of fun, loads of body parts in all different directions but it's a really short game. Senseless violent wannabies here's your type of game.
  13. Hades
    Mar 10, 2003
    0
    I usually don't totally bash a game and give it a blatantly horrible score but State of Emergency easily grants me leniency in doing so. This is, by far, one of the most horrible things i've ever had to deal with. An accurate description would be Grand Theft Auto's "fighting engine" minus all of the fun. True there are many missions to accomplish, but when they all take I usually don't totally bash a game and give it a blatantly horrible score but State of Emergency easily grants me leniency in doing so. This is, by far, one of the most horrible things i've ever had to deal with. An accurate description would be Grand Theft Auto's "fighting engine" minus all of the fun. True there are many missions to accomplish, but when they all take place in the same little area, repetition is guranteed to appear. The game was fun for about an hour max, then you find yourself just running around in the same swarm of people that are doing nothing to help the riots ...just thinking about the gameplay is making me upset. Overall NEVER buy this game even if its only like 5$ (save your money trust me i got my copy for only 10$) and never rent this game either its that horrible usually i recommend at least renting a game but this is simply a nauseating game. Pass on this garbage. Expand
  14. NicholasB.
    Mar 19, 2002
    0
    This game was made in 5 minutes. The missions are the same through the whole thing... boring.
  15. SolidSnake
    Jul 14, 2002
    4
    When I first rented this game, I gave it a score of 9/10. But after two days of playing it, I came to the conclusion that it's no where near that score. It's too repetitive. I reccomend you play it with friends as an overnight rental.
  16. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    my review for the PS2 game state of emergency

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 4/10. the story is strung together very poorly. in fact, there isn't much of a story at all. it is just about blowing things up. GRAPHICS- 9/10. great for the time, especially with the loads of NPC's and explosions. SOUND- 8/10. nothing special here. explosions and shooting. GAMEPLAY- 8/10. a mindless shooting fest
    my review for the PS2 game state of emergency

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 4/10. the story is strung together very poorly. in fact, there isn't much of a story at all. it is just about blowing things up.
    GRAPHICS- 9/10. great for the time, especially with the loads of NPC's and explosions.
    SOUND- 8/10. nothing special here. explosions and shooting.
    GAMEPLAY- 8/10. a mindless shooting fest that is a great stress reliever or a time killer. no control problems.
    FUN FACTOR- 8/10. very enjoyable yet simple game.
    OVERALL- 8/10.
    Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2017
    6
    A decent game that doesn't have much replay value, it also get's really repetitive. Might be worth a one time play through if you can find it on the cheap or for free.
  18. May 23, 2020
    7
    This is a guilty pleasure; a mindless party game. You could call it Rockstar's Smash TV. The levels play out like bigger versions of GTA's Rampage missions. It's a highly chaotic beat 'em up/shoot 'em up that can quickly wear out its welcome. The best way to play "State" is in small intervals due to its repetitive ature. It's great when you're in the need to just blow crap up. I would rateThis is a guilty pleasure; a mindless party game. You could call it Rockstar's Smash TV. The levels play out like bigger versions of GTA's Rampage missions. It's a highly chaotic beat 'em up/shoot 'em up that can quickly wear out its welcome. The best way to play "State" is in small intervals due to its repetitive ature. It's great when you're in the need to just blow crap up. I would rate it with a 7.6 out of 10. Expand

Awards & Rankings

41
#41 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
93
#93 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. 80
    Manic, frenzied and violent gaming at it’s gripping best.
  2. PSM Magazine
    60
    When you strip away the high-tech hijinx, what's left will leave most players saying, "That's it?" all too quickly. [May 2002, p.30]
  3. TotalGames.net
    80
    The sheer amount of people and the speed of the action really pumps home a great sensation of hysteria.