Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
Watch Now
Buy on
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    72
    These are still the same games that scared us shitless in the past, but we aren't all too happy with the changes Capcom made to the formula. Why is the screen so bright? Why does James sound like his longues are made of metal? Why is the framerate broken when this wasn't the case in the original games? The new voices are a lot better than the old ones, but this is actually the only improvement that actually improves things and that's a real shame.
  2. Jun 1, 2012
    70
    Silent Hill HD Collection proves a good way to experience two great horror classics that embody psychic fear and buried emotional pain like no others, with gruesome settings, monstrously imaginative enemies and a thousand creepy, dark hallways.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 7, 2012
    70
    True evil never dies. It gets a decent facelift. [May 2012, p76]
  4. 70
    If you've never played Silent Hill 2, this is an excellent opportunity to do so, the collection is worth it essentially for this true masterpiece.
  5. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    The collection is also rounded out by the option provided in the collectors edition of Silent Hill 2 that allows you to play the storyline from the viewpoint of Maria, also from the game. It's a good edition and one that adds a lot more value to your purchase.
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    Silent Hill HD Collection features two very fine, albeit extremely unpleasant and not super accessible, games. It's nowhere near as polished as Konami's other recent compilation, the brilliant MGS HD collection.
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    70
    Some technical problems can be quite disturbing and the new voice-overs might sound strange to older gamers, but at the end of the day, this collection offers two of Japan's most important gaming masterpieces.
  8. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Apr 3, 2012
    70
    Those who can overlook the aging process, though, will discover the best versions of two of the genre's greatest games. [May 2012, p.80]
  9. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    The spooky sights of Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3 look better than ever in Silent Hill HD Collection.
  10. Games Master UK
    Apr 27, 2012
    63
    Too little fog, too much lag and some dodgy new voices take the sine off of two of the genre's better entries. [June 2012, p.88]
  11. Apr 20, 2012
    60
    Silent Hill: HD Collection is a very lazy product. The only thing that really has been upgraded is the resolution of backgrounds and characters, which means that the effects and other things remain the same. The two games that are included are fantastic, but the lack of the original is a disappointment.
  12. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    A remake that's actually worse then the originals in many ways. Only two of the eight original games are present and sound effects, original voice acting and the infamous fog has somehow gone missing.
  13. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    Silent Hill HD Collection is a good deal only for the new gaming generation that had no chance to play both games in the past. Few extras and frame rates issues make it a bad deal for veteran players.
  14. Apr 12, 2012
    60
    This collection is better suited for newcomers who have no previous experience with (or attachment to) Konami's survival horror classic.
  15. Apr 2, 2012
    60
    A disappointment. Not for the specific titles included, mind you, but rather for the sloppy handling and questionable changes associated with the conversions. The inconsistent presentation, compromises to the original developer's vision, and lack of any interesting bonus features make this compilation's $40 price even more unnerving than its games.
  16. Mar 29, 2012
    58
    A disappointing release, partially in terms of content, but primarily in how the ports were handled. Altered and missing content plus major technical woes are highly critical mistakes to make. I hope Konami revisits the idea of a true Silent Hill HD Collection in the coming years.
  17. Apr 20, 2012
    50
    The Silent Hill HD Collection is a disgrace to the series. Fans won't recognize anything from the good old games and should only get this because of the low price.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 181
  2. Negative: 87 out of 181
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    for those of you who don't get the negative scores like bigdaddyd0m, there probably isn't much we can do to help you understand, but i'll try.for those of you who don't get the negative scores like bigdaddyd0m, there probably isn't much we can do to help you understand, but i'll try. how would you like it if star wars was re-released and it had new voices dubbed in that no one bothered to sync up, pivotal scenes were edited out because they were too violent or disturbing, the dvd lagged or stopped playing spontaneously, and the appearance of the film was digitally altered and it somehow managed to make everything look WORSE? that is pretty much what has happened here. remember, these reviews are for the HD collection (which apparently can consist of as few as two games out of eight) not the original titles. if we were simply reviewing silent hill 2 and 3 you would see a lot of nines and tens. this, however, is an HD collection that removes content, diminishes impact, and makes the design decision to scale back fog without bothering to fill out parts of the environment that were never even rendered because they were hidden by the fog. it is lazy (silent hill wasn't even included in this "collection" because they would have had to recreate it entirely since it was a psone game) and the funny thing is, that since money without much effort appears to be the primary motivating force, it would have actually been easier to port the original games and make no changes. then, you wouldn't have the problems like bad lip syncing, wrong subtitles, glitches, bugs, game crashes, and environments that just stop and become grey blocks. giving this game a decent score would encourage people to buy it. the only way that developers will learn not to churn out crappy remakes is to hit them in their wallet, and encourage people not to buy their product. Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    I'm not going to engage in hyperbolic trash-talking. But I was a day-one purchaser of this collection, and I'm very disheartened by these HDI'm not going to engage in hyperbolic trash-talking. But I was a day-one purchaser of this collection, and I'm very disheartened by these HD ports. They are still great games, and these are better than nothing if you have no other way to play them, but the PS2 versions are very much preferable - and I'm not referring to the new voice cast. Nostalgia aside, the new voice casts are in all unbiased ways better actors, but I understand why players of the original release would want the old voice cast.

    *Constant audio and visual bugs that the 297mb patch has not fixed

    *Worst of all - for me: I don't know who's idea it was to put the draw distance of the fog farther away, but I'm definitely not a fan of that.

    I would not complain much if this was just a matter of stylistic and aesthetic choices I didn't like, but the fact that a couple of PS2 games simple do not work properly on a succeeding platform is pretty bad, and I have a hard time believing it could be explained away except for lack of effort.

    Konami was under no obligation to give its consumer base a re-release of these two great games, this must be acknowledged. However, if they didn't want to do it right, they should not have committed to it.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    I've been thrilled to get my hands of Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3. These atmospheric, creepy, disturbing, and well told games are onesI've been thrilled to get my hands of Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3. These atmospheric, creepy, disturbing, and well told games are ones that show what survival horror can be at its best. Unfortunately, these versions of SH2 and SH3 are very broken. Both games are full of bugs. Audio cuts in and cut randomly, cutscenes have delayed lip syncing and sound effects, and the frame rate is disgustingly unstable. SH3 is far worse than 2. You'll find it hard to find an area that doesn't look like everything is in slow motion due to things like running water, dense fog, monsters, or any slightly large environment causes massive slow down. I was hopeful when the 1.1 patch was released, but it didn't fix anything. These are PS2 games for crying out loud! And censoring a scene is SH2 is ridiculous. These games are about all the horrible, dark things inside of people. Censoring it is an insult. Two of the greatest survival horror games ever deserved much better than this. The developers should be ashamed of themselves. Full Review »