Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Feb 11, 2021
    90
    Amnesia Rebirth is a cruel yet mesmerising experience that goes above and beyond in not only its existential horror but its intuitive puzzles and gripping story that goads you ever onwards.
  2. Oct 31, 2020
    90
    Frictional Games’ long-standing goal to weaponize players’ own fears against them bears fruit in Amnesia: Rebirth, in their most ambitious and tautly designed work to date.
  3. Oct 23, 2020
    90
    Amnesia: Rebirth is a game that asks you to open up your mind a little, just enough so it can creep through the spaces and tamper with the fabric of your sanity. If you let it in, you are guaranteed to have a great, scary time. The only thing you have to worry about is once it’s in there, will it want to leave?
  4. Oct 19, 2020
    90
    A dark and twisted piece of playable horror fiction that delivers a memorable story.
  5. Oct 19, 2020
    90
    Anyone that considers themselves a fan of the older Amnesia titles should definitely pick up Amnesia: Rebirth when they have the chance. Amnesia: Rebirth is terrifying, but more importantly, it is also fun to play thanks to its engrossing physics-based puzzles. Amnesia: Rebirth may not accomplish the impossible task of being as revolutionary as its predecessor, but it's still miles ahead of most horror games and is a no-brainer for anyone looking for something spooky to play this Halloween.
  6. Oct 22, 2020
    89
    Despite a few small clichés and a merely functional technical department, Amnesia: Rebirth manages to be consistent to the end, offering a profound and terrifying experience. If the woodworm insinuated by a videogame manages to escape from its content by undermining the user-container, then it will have performed the most difficult task: to push to reflection through a silent path of transference and identification, to really live outside the fictitious nightmare that created it.
  7. Oct 26, 2020
    85
    This is an atmospheric horror adventure that has just the right pace. The fear in the dark is presented convincingly, classic puzzles deliver solid entertainment and the well placed shock moments are followed by important moments of peace and quiet.
  8. Oct 21, 2020
    85
    Rebirth subverts player expectations by offering intriguing new features and wonderful world design. Even if the puzzles are sometimes obtuse, Rebirth is well worth your while.
  9. Oct 19, 2020
    85
    It is a journey filled with mystery and shattering revelations that the Swedish studio offers us, determined to jostle us once again.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2020
    80
    Tasi’s story is a well-balanced nightmare littered with delicious scares. While, like her ill-fated aeroplane, it doesn’t quite stick the landing, it should still sate your desire for atmospheric terror. [Issue#182, p.150]
  11. Nov 5, 2020
    80
    The game suffers from a few minor problems, but this is not going to keep a fan of Frictional Games from enjoying it. Sadly, Rebirth has no replay value other than enjoying the story again. It does have three endings, which you can see all the endings from the final save point. Fans of The Dark Descent will most likely enjoy this release just as much since it continues the story from that game and it still feels very much like an Amnesia game.
  12. Nov 2, 2020
    80
    Amnesia: Rebirth is terrifying, with the capability to break even the most seasoned of horror fanatics down. A treasure in the rare cosmic horror genre, Rebirth’s biggest weapon against the player is their own mind and it uses that weapon with the precision and finesse of a master artist. If it were not for the cliche story and lack of self-contained experience, this game could have easily made it’s way to the top of the series.
  13. 80
    Amnesia: Rebirth may not have the wow factor of modern AAA visuals, but it offers so much in its direction, effects and sound that it has an unbelievably immersive draw. What it lacks in raw gameplay mechanics it makes up for with a consistently engaging series of scenes, puzzles and set pieces. Amnesia: Rebirth is a terrifying cosmic thriller that is accessible enough for all types of players, but certainly should be a welcome addition in the library of any Horror fan.
  14. Oct 21, 2020
    80
    Amnesia: Rebirth is, despite its name, a new episode into the saga. We follow Tasie, lost in the desert after a crash plane, looking for the other survivors and it's a true pleasure to live its story, very well written, even if some gameplay mechanics feel quite outdated.
  15. Oct 19, 2020
    80
    Amnesia: Rebirth is an excellent narrative experience with some genuinely taxing environmental puzzles and effective sense of atmosphere. What really got under my skin, was the story being told of grief, loss, panic, and desperation. Playing as the pregnant Tasi and vicariously experiencing her own growing horror is something that will stick with me for a long while, not least because this game manages to be so focused on a woman’s body without any hint of sexualisation or objectification. For this, if for nothing else, Amnesia: Rebirth is a groundbreaking title in gaming horror.
  16. Oct 19, 2020
    80
    Frictional Games has crafted one of the finest survival horror experiences in recent memory with Amnesia: Rebirth. It never forgets what made the original so compelling, placing as much importance on the haunting things you can't see as it does on the ghastly monsters placed front and centre. However, tired horror conventions occasionally shatter the terrifyingly atmospheric immersion, holding this new Amnesia entry back from excellence.
  17. Nov 2, 2020
    75
    Amnesia: Rebirth is an innovative horror-title that dares to scare players, but also intrigues them with an interesting story. While the story can hold back on the horror aspect of the game and it's not as good as The Dark Descent. The combination of the horror, story, and the new gameplay features makes this a worthy follow-up to The Dark Descent.
  18. Oct 27, 2020
    75
    The best part of the game remains the atmosphere, every element of the game being purposefully conceived to contribute to the gloomy feel, that will grow heavier as you advance through the narrative. We cannot say that Rebirth is revolutionary, despite bringing several new gameplay elements, but it is still a solid horror game, recommended for both old-time fans and newcomers alike.
  19. Oct 19, 2020
    75
    Even after I felt like I’d seen behind the curtain and knew how the machinery worked, I still moved timidly through Amnesia: Rebirth's world, which is a testament to Frictional Games’ superb environmental design and sound work. Tasi Trianon’s journey is a surprisingly emotional rollercoaster, and I’m glad I saw that story to the end. The cave full of horrifying monsters I could deal with, but I never want to see those infuriating puzzles again.
  20. Nov 1, 2020
    70
    Amnesia: Rebirth carries you until the end with its beautiful story, and even though its level design is not the best and the game gets repetitive in its second half, it is still an enjoyable experience worth your time and money.
  21. Oct 31, 2020
    70
    Amnesia: Rebirth is a decent horror game yet it suffers from underwhelming and predictable payoffs. It simply isn't as good as its predecessor so if you're going into it expecting something as good as Amnesia was 10 years ago; you're going to be disappointed. Otherwise, it's a good horror game that will scratch whatever itch you have for virtual frights.
  22. Oct 24, 2020
    70
    While Amnesia: Rebirth is mechanically the same as Dark Descent and Machine for Pigs, it is ultimately the narrative that sets it apart.
  23. Oct 20, 2020
    70
    In the earlier, sandy hours, that restlessness is a boon—the work of a developer surveying the drier sweeps of a genre and divining a bright pool of ideas.
  24. Oct 19, 2020
    70
    Amnesia: Rebirth is a strong horror title that will definitely entertain fans of the previous games. Gameplay is more complex and challenging, and the player is made to work a bit harder for their achievements. The maze-like nature of rooms may become annoying to players who enjoy a more focused and streamlined experience. While Darkness and Sanity mechanics are a welcome return to form, the maze environment may to lead players wishing they could just look up the solution and get to the real scares. The real draw, however, is the marvelous story and brand new set of locations that take the game into exciting new territory. Amnesia: Rebirth is worth a shot for any fans of the series or of horror in general - just maybe with the brightness settings turned up a bit.
  25. 70
    Amnesia: Rebirth is a solid enough adventure for fans of the genre. That being said, although it's better than its predecessors in different ways, the fact that it can't quite match the narrative highs of SOMA or the scares of The Dark Descent makes it a bit of a forgettable journey.
  26. 70
    It’s frustrating to not be able to talk about the bits of Rebirth that I liked the most due to a fear of spoiling things, but just know that there’s a lot to uncover that makes the bits that I liked less worth going through. Although the pacing and second half of the game let things down a bit, an awesome story and a campaign full of tension make Amnesia: Rebirth worth playing through for both the horror fans and the horror fearful.
  27. Oct 19, 2020
    65
    Rebirth is a new face to the saga and, thanks in no small part to its magnificent script, it is actually the best game of the franchise. However, it takes a considerable step back as a survival horror. The enemies lack any sense of real terror and the overall difficulty of the game is quite low. Basically, Rebirth is a great adventure game, but it also is extremely disappointing as a horror game.
  28. Oct 29, 2020
    60
    Rebirth will feel familiar to anyone who played The Dark Descent 10 years ago, but Frictional still know how to set up a damn good scare. A level set inside crumbling Roman catacombs had me feeling wrung-out with anxiety by its heartstopping end. Just because it’s curled up in the darkness, don’t make the mistake of assuming that the monster is dead.
  29. Oct 19, 2020
    60
    A disappointing sequel to The Dark Descent, but while the horror elements can seem mundane at times the storytelling and characterisation remain impressive.
  30. Oct 23, 2020
    50
    With a muddled story that leaves much unanswered, and a series of half-baked mechanics that feel a decade out of date, it’s hard to recommend Amnesia Rebirth as a way to satisfy your scares this Halloween. You’ll more than likely want to forget all about it.
  31. Oct 19, 2020
    40
    For the few things Amnesia: Rebirth gets right, there is a mountain of reasons why it feels like Frictional Games is still stuck in 2010. This hide and seek style of gameplay has long outstayed its welcome and the game doesn't do enough to lessen the disappointing impact that brings. It's heartbreaking to say, but after the fantastic SOMA, maybe the Swedish developer shouldn't have bothered returning to what it thinks it knows best.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 19, 2020
    Frictional returns with a subversion of horror tropes, though it's not quite the measure of other games in the series.
  2. Oct 19, 2020
    Amnesia: Rebirth shows an inventiveness that The Dark Descent only hinted at. And it’s certainly creepy enough to satisfy the hunger for something spooky this season.
  3. Oct 19, 2020
    So while the scares are ample, the gameplay rich and imaginative (a few frustrating needle-in-haystack searches aside), and the world a detailed and involving one (Frictional estimates roughly 9 hours for the average game; the playthrough time for this review was about double that), Amnesia: Rebirth has set itself an oddly contradictory task: Get people involved in a profound and complicated narrative mythology, while embodying a character who has no desire to be associated with any of it. Even with some late-in-the-game reveals of painful memories and Tasi’s mind-wiped history with this mine, the damage has been done. Reasonable people, Rebirth argues, should set aside foolish attractions to things bigger than themselves and those they care about. Focus on what matters. Everything else is just the jump scares of life, things to be surmounted en route to a safe place for family. I don’t know what Frictional calls that, but anyone who invests even minimally in their character’s arc will want it to be a win.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 47
  2. Negative: 8 out of 47
  1. Oct 24, 2020
    6
    Difficult. Not the game, rather my relationship with it. I'm a huge Dark Descent-fan and an even bigger, massive SOMA fan. I knew this wasDifficult. Not the game, rather my relationship with it. I'm a huge Dark Descent-fan and an even bigger, massive SOMA fan. I knew this was gonna be a tad different but I was hyped nevertheless. Frictional is one of the most promising developers out there and I really dig Thomas Grip and the endless thought and effort he and his team puts into their games. I just love the way they work and think. I was really looking forward to Amnesia: Rebirth. I do think the graphics are improved over the original Amnesia (and Machine for Pigs), but only slightly. It seems to be the same (selfmade) engine, which really isn't a problem as it works totally fine. I didn't have any problems technically, not even any noticeable framerate drops or such. The sound is, like in SOMA and D.D. before, a perfect example of how to amalgamate audio and atmosphere. The guy that does the music (unfortunately I forgot his name) has a deep understanding of how to provoke a feeling that fits a theme and space of a work like this perfectly. Sound design is splendid just as well, voice work ranges from question of taste to very well, no shortcomings overall. The story is engaging. It's not as deeply thought provoking as SOMA's story, but then again, this is not a SOMA-type game. This game is about about deeply human reactions to extraordinary things, to panic, to wonder, to fear for ones own life and that of someone else. This is about emotions. I personally always prefer SOMA-style philosophical thought experiments over emotional content, but that doesn't mean this isn't well done. It is.
    Now to the reason I can't bring myself to rate this higher than 6/10:
    Whereas SOMA and Amnesia before weren't 'realistic' games per se, they sure didn't have illogical, silly moments that killed the immersion. Rebirth, unfortunately, is FULL of silliness. The type that breaks the magic. Our protagonist, Tasie, can only carry ten matches. Weird? Yes. But only slightly more silly than the resident evil soldiers and policemen who can't carry that ONE additional key anymore. There's absolutely NO way to just put it anywhere else, in their shoe, in their briefs, bra or between their arm and watch. It's the key that's needed for escape, for survival, for freeing someone they care about. It just absolutely cannot be carried though, because the inventory is full. Well. Silly, but it's a game and it needs to follow rules to work. It's fine. In Rebirth, you absolutely CANNOT carry an eleventh match. Even though Tasie will totally loose it in the dark, when she's out of light sources (and she's out of light sources pretty quick, thus going insane in dark areas). I get it, it's a question of game balancing. But: Why on earth can't she pick up a free standing, transportable candle, a torch hangin on the wall or sticking out of the ground, or any other small, carryable light source? She could pick up an oil lamp, before. Again: Balancing. Game design. I understand, it just feels SO silly in this game. There's no logical explanation for it, especially, when we, as the player, feel so strongly with Tasie and know that she can absolutely not stay in the dark for more than mere seconds because of her condition. For a game that puts all its horses on being immersive, this is a pretty big problem. I just don't believe it. It feels like a GAME here, it's the mechanics shining through, brightly and destructively. Whenever I pass a totally carryable candle on some table next to me, hearing how Tasie is close to loosing it in the dark, I just can not believe the setting and story and overall structure anymore. It's just too silly.
    Another thing I neither liked nor expected from a Frictional game, is the use of jump scares. I think they're cheap and kind of take the atmosphere someplace else. I loved being scared in D.
    D. and SOMA. It was existential. It was built, handmade. It was real and utterly relatable. I enjoyed being scared. Here, I'm constantly fearing another random jump scare (not gonna spoil what it consists of (even though it'd only be a mild spoiler)), which takes me out of that basic, that core emotion I wanted to feel: I want to listen to monster somewhere, I want to let the music soak in, to explore what I'm feeling after I've read another little note seconds ago, slowly piecing the story together.
    Frictional Games said they combined the best of SOMA and D.D. here, but me - personally, I think that didn't work. This game, as a whole, works neither as good as SOMA nor D.D.
    Another problem was that sometimes, especially in the beginning, I couldn't 'read' what spooked Tasie. Some little bit somewhere in the dark background that I missed? Some dead fella somewhere (looking at them raises Tasies fear) that was buried in the shadows? Was it just a random jump scare because her fear already was a little too high? It's not that big of a problem as the other things, but it makes the game guess work.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2020
    7
    Disappointing when compared to the likes of its predecessor. There are a few scary moments, but the monsters themselves feel very tame andDisappointing when compared to the likes of its predecessor. There are a few scary moments, but the monsters themselves feel very tame and incredibly slow. The story is okay, but it is very cryptic and quite hard to follow in some areas. In the end, Amnesia Rebirth is a pretty weak sequel to the Dark Descent which is thouroughly dispiriting as I was really hoping that Frictional Games would succeed in their bid to create a terrifying experience. In the end, it's less petrifying and more forgettable. Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2020
    6
    Slow start but gets better as you get a bit further into the game.

    The first 25-30% feelt very draged out and boring. But it did pick up
    Slow start but gets better as you get a bit further into the game.

    The first 25-30% feelt very draged out and boring. But it did pick up later on as more interesting environments and story comes to light.

    I did not enjoy the mechanics of opening doors and such, the whole "click and drag" thing is over used and it just feels cumbersome.
    The "darkness causes fear" mechanic is fine, but they rely way to much on this. Its used as an excuse to not have interesting actions taking part in the game. A big part of the game feels very static and dead.
    Hardly any characters in the game that you get to see walking around or doing anything either, feelt like they didn't budget for that and it hurts the experience.

    Lots and lots of puzzles. None of them were fun to do honestly, its just go here and find X then place it at location Y. Or pull these levers in some order. No big mechanical parts in the game moving around like in tomb raider for example - that is how you do interesting puzzles.

    An ok experience for the price, but could have been much better....
    Full Review »