Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Aug 4, 2017
    70
    Solid debut for Skydance Interactive in the world of gaming and Virtual Reality.
  2. Jul 31, 2017
    70
    Skydance Interactive brings the experience of controlling a mech warrior to players with Archangel,an enjoyable yet uninspired virtual reality title.
  3. Jul 24, 2017
    65
    While it does have some surprisingly great acting and emulates giant robot combat quite well, I would wait just a bit. Neither of those features is impressive enough to make up for Archangel VR’s boring gunfights and somewhat tedious characters.
  4. Aug 25, 2017
    60
    In the end, Archangel makes a good first impression, but the fact of the matter is this is a game you’d play at a Dave & Buster’s. The on-rail nature of gameplay makes it better suited to an experience rather than a video game. There’s no reason to play through it a second time, either. Nothing about the two to three-hour story, the characters, or the gameplay made me say, “Gosh, I really want to play this again!” As much as I wanted Archangel to be a first-person Zone of the Enders, I do have to be realistic. That sort of experience isn’t possible on the platform yet. Maybe if it came with a Steel Battalion-like control system, it’d be a lot more fun and interactive. But considering the limits of the Move controllers, what I want the game to be isn’t possible right now. And that’s a shame because Archangel has some promise, and I wish I could engage with it more than I am allowed to. A decent way to kill an afternoon, though you might want to wait for the price to drop below $40.
  5. Aug 7, 2017
    60
    Archangel has a few rough dents in its mechanical chassis, but still performs a whole lot better than most of the VR dreck that has plagued Sony’s budding VR hardware. At this point, beggars can’t be choosers, and a decent experience is far more preferable than another stomach-turning train wreck. Though not every idea may be properly thought through, there is still a lot of love and care put into the game, which may not make it entirely deserving of a full-price purchase, but still worth a weekend with after a price drop or two.
  6. 60
    The story is cliche, the gameplay is simplistic, and the entire package just doesn't come together in any significant way. Still, the game does look good and when the action is hitting it hits well. If you just want a new action shooter for PSVR this won't disappoint too much.
  7. Jul 21, 2017
    60
    Archangel is an ambitious game, just in the wrong ways. The on-rails gameplay provides a few hours of forgettable fun, but the emphasis on a generic story and cast is to its detriment. VR can blend narrative and interaction together in meaningful ways, but Archangel fails to capitalize on them. Still, this is one of the more polished VR shooters out there at the moment, especially on PSVR, and those of you with itchy trigger fingers will probably find a satisfying distraction here.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Aug 9, 2017
    6
    We strike again with the "grading it as a VR game" issue. Let me start off by saying, Archangel in itself is a really good game and is aWe strike again with the "grading it as a VR game" issue. Let me start off by saying, Archangel in itself is a really good game and is a blast. A cockpit-piloting mech game is about as much as you could ask for from the VR and personally the kind of game I was dying for.

    A somewhat rail shooter type of game, the action and activity make for a raging time and immediate adrenaline rush. The level of customization is actually respectable in terms of your mech (upgrade your shields early folks). Best played with the PS Move Controllers, you can use the regular controller but the best feel comes from the Move Controllers as you can aim, shooter and even punch with the items. It really does a great job of making you feel like you are the most dangerous thing on the battle field. The visuals are actually some of the best you will get with the VR thus far which is shocking since this is Skydance's first for into the VR world.

    The game unfortunately comes the same issues that usually plague VR games. The biggest gripe is the game is short, like really short. If you play straight through, you can beat the game in a few hours. For a $40 game, that is not OK. Also, the rail shooting like feel does give it a bit too much linearity as well (though I do understand since it utilizes the PS Move Controllers which are already flawed).

    The second issue is the lack of really any other content. The hope is that this game is just suffering with new content to come, but just grading the game, its bare-bones. This game begs for some type of multiplayer either co-op or mech vs. mech. Yet nothing. It doesn't really help that the game is padded with the different modes to lengthen how long you play the game for more of a challenge. While not a bad idea, its about the most lazy thing you can do.

    Again let me mention again that this is not a bad game and is actually really, really fun. What hurts it most is just a short campaign and a lack of other modes. Given you have to shell out $40 for the game and another $85+ for the PSVR Move Controllers, it just may not be worth it with how little the game has to offer at this point. You can play using a regular controller, but then you won't get the full experience of it all. The game has a lot of potential, it just needs a lot more content and hopefully Skydance is working behind the scenes to add more to it.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 8, 2017
    6
    Even from graded it as VR game's perspective, I will still rate SO-SO.
    No doubt this is the highest standard robot-pilot game in PSVR so far.
    Even from graded it as VR game's perspective, I will still rate SO-SO.
    No doubt this is the highest standard robot-pilot game in PSVR so far. Great weapon system with two shields. Vivid robot hand control. Exciting ultimate abilities. The first time you sit into the machine, you will feel powerful!
    However, there are also too many things Archangel doesn't perform well. For example:
    1) The sound effect is disaster, it almost ruins the whole game. You feel like battling with sponge and cotton.
    2) The story and mission design is definitely below average, boring and stupid. After the ending, you are guaranteed to feel released that you don't have to suffer this anymore.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2018
    6
    this one I find to be very sad as the game itself is really good but the horrible controls just ruin it, your constantly finding yourselfthis one I find to be very sad as the game itself is really good but the horrible controls just ruin it, your constantly finding yourself running out of ammo or shield because there is just too much to keep track of. its not like a typical game where you can use what ever weapons you want its like your brain has to keep track perfectly of your left and right hand controls and each one has to do something completely different. if they had just removed the shield mechanic I think this game would have been a 9/10 for me but it just over complicates the experience and leads to frustration instead of enjoyment. thankfully no motion sickness and the graphics are good but for myself personally the flaw make this one you should skip unless your an expert multitasker .

    Pros - Great story and presentation, with a good amount of content. also no motion sickness

    Cons - overly complicated control scheme and game mechanics leading to frustration and ruining the fun that could be had.

    6/10
    Full Review »