Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. 90
    Fans of Call of Duty shouldn't have had to wait this long for the definitive edition of a classic.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 27, 2016
    90
    An essential purchase. [Christmas 2016, p.79]
  3. Nov 14, 2016
    90
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare has a lofty reputation, and aside from some telltale signs of age, it remains thoroughly impressive even today. This game remains a legend to be revered for its grounded, focused gameplay that will scratch an itch for anyone longing for simpler, purer shooters. Modern Warfare Remastered celebrates this legacy with updated visuals and sound that really go above and beyond the call of duty, sprucing up an old care package for a more modern age to near-perfection.
  4. Nov 8, 2016
    90
    Even now, Modern Warfare is pushing boundaries, just in newer ways. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered sets a standard that shames other so-called ‘remastered’ titles.
  5. Nov 5, 2016
    90
    One of the most important FPS of all time is back. Call of Duty Modern Warfare: Remastered is just the work that every fan could expect of a remastered version.
  6. 90
    Raven Software has set a high bar here. Not only is Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered faithful to the original, but it gives it a fresh coat of paint that makes it look just as good as any modern PS4 game.
  7. Nov 5, 2016
    89
    It´s been almost 10 years from its release, and Modern Warfare campaign still feels great, multiplayer design works well and visual improvement is enough to compete against modern shooters.
  8. Nov 4, 2016
    88
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare comes back with a remastered game that looks like a miracle!
  9. Dec 25, 2016
    85
    Even after nine years and the countless sequels that have come after it, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered shows how good the original game was. The campaign is short but so packed with memorable moments that few would mind some of the residual issues. If you can deal with the addition of cosmetics to appease players who have only come to the series recently, you'll be happy with how the original tenets of the multiplayer portion, from movement to gun balance and map layout, have remained unchanged. It really is too bad that this game won't be divorced from more expensive versions of Infinite Warfare for the foreseeable future, but if you're already committed to spend the extra money, you won't be disappointed.
  10. Nov 21, 2016
    85
    Great remaster and a game still impressively entertaining after all these years.
  11. Nov 16, 2016
    85
    Still a solid experience even this many years later. Apart from the obvious visual enhancements, Modern Warfare takes us back to the bright days of the modern shooter.
  12. Nov 9, 2016
    85
    Even though we don't agree with the decision of not selling it separately, this remaster is a dream come true, and a great opportunity to discover or rediscover a game that reinvented a genre.
  13. Nov 8, 2016
    85
    Multiplayer also benefits from the graphics upgrade, and its refreshingly old-school pace is fun and explosive in its own right. It might not have the same effect it did the first time around, but it works as both a great embodiment of what shooters used to be and one that still plays well.
  14. Nov 8, 2016
    85
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare Remastered’s campaign might feel outdated by today’s standards, but its multiplayer remains as addictive and fun as ever.
  15. Nov 4, 2016
    85
    CoD 4 changed everything and this remaster comes to us to make us remember how that beginning was. More remake than remaster, Raven Software done a good job introducing some gameplay changes and makes it a more balanced and rich experience, although it lacks some more content if they were up to the challenge of adding things.
  16. Nov 4, 2016
    85
    They don't make them like this anymore. Modern Warfare Remastered has received the treatment it deserves and is an incredible boxed extra for Infinite Warfare.
  17. Nov 15, 2016
    80
    Modern Warfare Remastered on the PS4 is one of the best remasters in recent memory. It's a game worth having - especially if we played the original only when it came out or (what's even worse) we haven't at all. And when the multiplayer issues are resolved and the game becomes a stand-alone product, it'll be great.
  18. Nov 14, 2016
    80
    The opportunity to revisit Call of Duty 4‘s multiplayer without the annoyance of hackers ruining the fun is one that will be hard to pass up for those that loved the original. Even so, the multiplayer also feels somewhat dated compared to most modern shooters on the market. While there’s something to be said for the impeccable map design and polish of Modern Warfare Remastered‘s multiplayer, it’s still the same experience as before, and may come across as rather simplistic and plain to those that have been playing this year’s new shooters.
  19. 80
    One of the most influential video games of all time gets the remaster it deserves, and is still impressively entertaining after all these years.
  20. Nov 7, 2016
    80
    A lot of love and care went into Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered, and I hope other developers (including some of Activision's own studios, I'm looking at you Marvel Ultimate Alliance and Prototype) take note.
  21. Nov 7, 2016
    80
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare is a cult classic that still offers with this remaster a perfectly rhythmed solo campaign and an incredibly efficient multiplayer mode.
  22. Nov 4, 2016
    80
    If the old-style gameplay and a little rust on the narrative devices does not scare you, Modern Warfare Remastered could be a good alternative to the most reknowned shooter of this year, hiding behind a decade of history a fun and quick gameplay.
  23. Nov 4, 2016
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  24. Nov 4, 2016
    80
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare Remastered is the first modern chapter of the series, great graphics and all the contents we remember from the past is the right receipt to bring back to life this game.
  25. Nov 8, 2016
    70
    The game, at its most well-executed, is a grueling slice of a very real nightmare.
  26. Nov 4, 2016
    70
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered is a solid remaster that enhances the original game with beautiful new visuals and a little bit of extra multiplayer content, but Raven Software may have stuck to the original a little too much. A few tweaks would have gone a long way to fixing some balancing issues, but for those looking for a blast from the past, this works just fine.
  27. Oct 12, 2016
    70
    The game itself remains unchanged and while an excellent game in it’s day, COD: MWR often shows its true age with animations looking just a little clunky by today’s standards and a few small missteps that were present in the original which could have, and should have been amended in this new and improved version.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 529
  1. DXD
    Oct 6, 2016
    10
    Finally the cod developers listen to the fans and remastered one of the best call of duty's of all time, its mostly just a graphics upgradeFinally the cod developers listen to the fans and remastered one of the best call of duty's of all time, its mostly just a graphics upgrade but it runs smoothly and i cannot wait to multiplayer comes out to get the nostalgic feeling of boots on the ground cod but the campaign is an absolute masterpiece i recommend it to anyone and old cod fans will love it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2016
    10
    Omg this is my all time fav remaster. I can not wait for the full release with multiplayer!!! I love that they even added things that were inOmg this is my all time fav remaster. I can not wait for the full release with multiplayer!!! I love that they even added things that were in mw3 flashbacks. Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2016
    10
    This brings back so many memory's. To me this is not only a remaster. They added so much and also kept cool things that everyone loved. IThis brings back so many memory's. To me this is not only a remaster. They added so much and also kept cool things that everyone loved. I can't wait for my legacy pro edition ;) Full Review »