Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 26, 2018
    94
    Overall, EA Sports UFC 3 is the best entry in the franchise yet – but falls a bit short of being the best MMA game ever. The roster is lean on legends, which hurts the ability to do dream matches compared to games like UFC Undisputed 3. The career mode is a huge improvement over past games and the revamped bobbing and weaving system makes combat more enjoyable and intuitive. Anyone who has enjoyed past entries can safely pick up this incarnation and jump right in, while newcomers would be best served trying out prior versions to avoid being in over their head.
  2. Feb 1, 2018
    90
    It’s about as complete an experience as it can be, and MMA fans will love what EA has done with UFC 3.
  3. Jan 30, 2018
    88
    By building on its already strong foundation and adding meaningful new gameplay and modes, UFC 3 delivers a terrific MMA experience from top to bottom. Whether you want to play against a friend in a single bout or develop a fighter from local favorite to greatest all time, UFC 3 allows you to live out the fantasy of stepping into the Octagon like never before.
  4. Feb 1, 2018
    87
    The best thing I can say about UFC 3, having not played much of the previous games and not being a fan of the sport, is that it has me constantly thinking about it – whether that’s how I need to improve my bob and weave game by using the right stick more often or planning out a Mayweather-like undefeated run on a new Career Mode save. UFC 3 is an EA Sports title that is made to attract more than just a niche, hardcore fan base of MMA enthusiasts and it’s all the better for it.
  5. Feb 23, 2018
    85
    EA UFC 3 is EA's best UFC game yet, and while there a lot of improvements, there are still some things like the ground game and the career mode that still could use some fine tuning.
  6. Feb 6, 2018
    85
    EA Sports UFC 3 has greatly improved the UFC striking system and the gameplay is more fluid making matches even more enjoyable.
  7. Feb 5, 2018
    85
    The best MMA fighting game on the market.
  8. Jan 31, 2018
    85
    More technical than both previous games, EA Sports UFC 3 also has a less linear "Career Mode". Still gorgeous, still violent, it's currently the best MMA game of this generation.
  9. Jan 31, 2018
    85
    EA Sports UFC 3 provides a staggering amount of improvements in nearly every area. EA Canada could have played it safe and iterated, but instead they overhauled major systems, addressing almost every complaint I had about its predecessors. Better striking mechanics, movement, and animations are joined by a fantastic career mode, and a whole host of additional attractions. I’ve still got a few axes to grind on submissions and AI balance, but the rest of the game is an embarrassment of riches.
  10. 85
    EA Sports UFC 3 is the best the series has ever looked, sounded or played and, despite a small handful of minor shortcomings, is quite simply the best UFC title to date and a very real contender for the fighting game throne in 2018.
  11. Feb 7, 2018
    83
    EA Sports UFC 3 is the best MMA simulator we have seen. It is not perfect, but its elaborate combat system transmits all the tension of UFC and its technical section makes it look like we were watching fights on TV.
  12. UFC 3 one of the greatest fighting games we ever played. But if we look at it as a series and it is. It's not a huge update on UFC 2.
  13. Feb 27, 2018
    81
    The MMA scene has gotten a lot more refined over the years, with strikes combined with footwork and bodywork becoming more important than ever. EA UFC SPORTS 3 seems to go along with that shift, as the strike-based gameplay has gained a lot of depth while the ground game takes a backseat compared with previous MMA games.
  14. CD-Action
    May 16, 2018
    80
    Revamped career mode is extremely enjoyable this time and the game as a whole is a step forward for the franchise. UFC 3 looks amazing, as you can clearly see the effects of trading blows – injuries, blood staining the shorts, sweat trickling down the skin. What needs to be dealt with in the next installment is the ground game, which trails way behind entertaining, dynamic stand-up fighting. [04/2018, p.70]
  15. games(TM)
    Mar 22, 2018
    80
    Brilliantly realised for hardened MMA fans. [Issue#198, p.75]
  16. Feb 12, 2018
    80
    Once again, being a fighting game fan really helped me get into this game a lot more than what I originally thought. It is a competent fighting game where I feel the standing game is still a better experience then the ground and submission game. The kickboxing is still really great and the combo system is intricate and entertaining. On top of all that Joe Rogan yelling at the top of his lungs when I made a bone crushing hit land is always fun, and with the career mode being simplified and still robust, players of both fighting games and sports games will have a pretty decent time here.
  17. Feb 9, 2018
    80
    UFC 3 is a good game with fixed features. The new grappling system is really fun and the game now is focused at the simulation. See you Arcade System.
  18. Feb 8, 2018
    80
    UFC3 offers tons of game modes and options, a robust roster list and a control scheme hard to master but plenty of possibilities. A tough contender for any other fighting sim.
  19. Feb 8, 2018
    80
    EA UFC 3 offers a surprisingly deep experience with complex mechanics and many features for both single and multiplayer.
  20. 80
    UFC 3 is a rare sports sequel that probably does enough to justify its existence.
  21. Feb 7, 2018
    80
    EA Sports UFC 3 is the greatest MMA fighting game of this generation, an awesome simulator that brings action in a way we've never seen before.
  22. Feb 6, 2018
    80
    EA UFC 3 is a good representation of the sport franchise, offering a well put together fighting game that represents the different styles and weight classes found in MMA. The action in the octagon mimics reality very well, with a decent career mode helping people to learn the ropes. On the online front, there’s a divide between Ultimate Team and standard online divisions with the latter winning out in both accessibility and fairness. If you’re a UFC fan in general, then this is a good game to pick up.
  23. Feb 5, 2018
    80
    As it stands, EA Sports UFC 3 is a tense, exciting, and dynamic recreation of the stand and bang aspect of mixed martial arts. There's a fluidity to the way it moves, and a satisfying feel and unpredictability to the way fights can unfold that demands your engagement. The grappling still needs plenty of work, and one would hope this is something EA Canada addresses in the next iteration; yet these shortcomings become easier to overlook because of the accomplishment of its redefined striking. When it comes to the art of combat, few sports titles do it better.
  24. Feb 2, 2018
    80
    EA Sports has delivered the most complete UFC game ever. This fighting simulator features an amazingly realistic combat gameplay and one of its few flaws is that the Career Mode is a little bit repetitive. Essential for those who love fighting games or enjoy the sport.
  25. Jan 29, 2018
    80
    UFC 3 is a great game for MMA fans. This entry polishes the formula and includes a campaign mode, but newcomers are likely to face a steep learning curve.
  26. Jan 29, 2018
    80
    EA Sports UFC 3 is a solid title that comes highly recommended for both die-hard UFC fans and those wanting to get into the series. Even with some fighters occupying several different weight classes, the roster count is huge, and it complements the improved striking system. The modes contain some depth and some twists that work well, while the presentation remains as good as it was before. The knocks against the submission system make it a little tougher for grapplers to deal some damage, and while the loot box system doesn't hurt the game as badly as the publisher's other titles, the additions to the economy seem extraneous. Overall, the combination of good and bad changes makes UFC3 a sideways upgrade rather than an essential one, especially if you're still deeply entrenched in the second title.
  27. Jan 29, 2018
    80
    EA Canada knows where their bread is buttered when it comes to this series, and it’s with the stand up portion of play. As long as that segment is done really well, more than half the battle is won. UFC 3 tightens up the strides made between the first two, holding the biggest positive in tact. The ground work might not have been given the overhaul I would have preferred, but the stark difference in tempo of the past is largely absent. Stamina and stats proctor over how the horizontal dance goes, exactly how it should be. Pristine sights and sounds with a deluge of deep modes contribute to a worthwhile AAA release. And I think EA would do well to use this Ignite Engine powered template in creation of other combat sport games.
  28. Jan 28, 2018
    80
    Subtle but important adjustments to combat and a deeper career mode are without doubt the steps in the right direction for UFC 3. The result positive; this might be the best entry in the series.
  29. Jan 24, 2018
    80
    UFC 3 feels the most like a video game in the pool of big sports simulations. Being a one-on-one combat sim, it still feels like you’re at the mercy of your own ability even though there are stats. A punch is a punch, and while some chins are more durable than others, patience and care can help you overcome the odds. It feels like a different kind of fighting game for folks interested in real-life martial arts, with a cumbersome grappling system and some branded bumbling with numbers and menus to appeal to the core audience. UFC 3 is fun and exciting, and I can see it acting as a potential entry point for its real-life counterpart.
  30. Feb 26, 2018
    78
    Ea Sports UFC 3 is a pretty good mixed martial arts sim, deep and spectacular enough. The gameplay feels a little bit unbalanced, the Career has some unconvincing moments, and the multiplayer forces the Ultimate Team mode on the player. The game is intense and satisfying, but there's still room for improvement.
  31. Feb 15, 2018
    78
    Learning the game's controls can be a real challenge, but EA Sports UFC 3 is practically the best MMA simulator you can buy today.
  32. Feb 7, 2018
    78
    EA Sports UFC 3 is without a doubt the best chapter in the series.
  33. Jan 25, 2018
    77
    Tactical martial arts simulation with an authentic atmosphere and great presentation, which has some minor problems regarding balancing and fighting on the ground.
  34. Mar 22, 2018
    75
    After turbulent end of the last year, EA managed to release a good game in UFC 3 without many scandals. The game itself is better than its predecessor, but it still lacks a way to connect with players new to this sport. New GOAT mode is a great innovation and adds a new twist to the known career mode. Fighting, even though it’s very good, still has problems, which are already annoying the players.
  35. Feb 16, 2018
    75
    EA Sports UFC 3 is definitely fun to play and does an amazing job at recreating several aspects of competing in MMA's biggest organization. But despite the knockouts it delivers in some places, it's unforgiving submission system, uneven AI, and a few silly UI and gameplay choices means it's still susceptible to a few knocks itself.
  36. Feb 2, 2018
    75
    Even with simplified grappling and submission controls carried over from the last edition, EA Sports UFC 3 is probably the least pick-up-and-play game in the sports genre. It takes real dedication, and understanding of one’s fighter, to draw out the game’s virtues. But they can be found in the anticlimax of a career bout that ends in a fraction of the time spent training for it. For those who can take a staggering punch and remain focused on their game plan, EA Sports UFC 3 is as close as it comes to professional fighting, without the bruises and welts.
  37. Feb 1, 2018
    75
    UFC is an almost schizophrenic game: I've never had so much fun with a fighter, thanks to the stand up-game. However, at the same time, the ground-game is so poorly done, that this game isn't the fantastic celebration of the sport it could have been.
  38. 75
    Besides dealing with computer-controlled submission attempts, I largely feel that EA Sports UFC 3 is the best playing mixed martial arts game to date. That’s why it was so disappointing to find out that so few of the modes managed to capture my interest.
  39. Mar 5, 2018
    70
    UFC 3’s career mode is where you will spend the majority of your time first, however after beating this you have a choice you can either spend all of your money on ultimate team or you can play online or single-player. The ultimate team mode is so microtransactions heavy that it left a bad taste in my mouth.
  40. Mar 5, 2018
    70
    UFC 3’s career mode is where you will spend the majority of your time first, however after beating this you have a choice you can either spend all of your money on ultimate team or you can play online or single-player. The ultimate team mode is so microtransactions heavy that it left a bad taste in my mouth.
  41. Feb 16, 2018
    70
    When two outrageously detailed character models are slugging it out, EA Sports UFC 3 feels sublime. Incredible animations paired with a weighty physics system mean that you feel the thrills and spills of every bout. Unfortunately, the clunky ground game combat fails to hit the same highs, and the campaign – which is a novelty to begin with – loses its lustre after a few rounds. There’s still a lot to like here and more than enough content to sink your fists into, but it still feels like there’s a bit more refinement required before this series achieves G.O.A.T. status.
  42. Feb 14, 2018
    70
    The groundwork in EA Sports UFC 3 is limited to only the minigames and that is a problem. The game does offer realistic and strategic kickboxing, thanks to the fighting system and the strat
  43. Feb 12, 2018
    70
    UFC 3 is very nice fighting game, but that doesn't mean it is a good wrestling game. The ground game leaves to be desired and really takes down the quality of the game. Overall the look and feel of UFC 3 entirely is still pretty decent.
  44. Feb 7, 2018
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  45. 70
    EA Sports UFC 3's ability to stand and bang is unparalleled but its weak ground game is definitely a concern this time around.
  46. Jan 30, 2018
    70
    Fortunately, this is one of the more stable games in the franchise with only a couple of technical bugs and awkward, robotic animations to be found. In the end, while EA Sports UFC 3 is an incremental upgrade to what came before it, it’s still a more polished and balanced experience.
  47. Jan 25, 2018
    70
    A game of two halves: one gripping, strategic and beautifully balanced, the other dull and grinding. Unfortunately, you have to be able to to deal with both.
  48. 70
    UFC 3 very well may be EA's best release in the series, but it's only by a small margin that they've improved on their previous effort.
  49. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 20, 2018
    64
    McGregor’s presence on the cover is symbolic: just as real UFC becomes less about the sport and more about the money and the show, the virtual UFC eschews gameplay in favor of lootbox profits. [Issue#227, p.42]
  50. Games Master UK
    Feb 22, 2018
    62
    Captures all the pomp and ceremony of a prize-fight, but leaves you a little distant from the action. [March 2018, p.78]
  51. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 26, 2018
    60
    The ground-play remains kinda naff. [March 2018, p.84]
  52. Feb 19, 2018
    60
    EA Sports UFC 3 is a solid follow-up in terms of content, but it still suffers gameplay and AI issues.
  53. Feb 15, 2018
    60
    If you were expecting a phenomenal third game in this series, you'll be disappointed by the amount of wasted potential displayed on screen. The worst offenders? A weird control scheme, boring career mode and lots of small technical issues. The game's still fun to play, but it could've been so much more.
  54. 60
    It definitely looks the part, and the striking is excellent, but stodgy controls and a weak ground game makes this far from the ultimate MMA game.
  55. 60
    By and large EA Sports UFC 3 is the best offering from the series yet. The standing combat is well nuanced, and most of the choices made for career mode felt like steps in the right direction. Ultimate Team feels a bit out of place and unnecessary, and the overall lack of roster inclusions and modes makes this a slightly more shallow offering, but the key is the combat... which words far better when a fighter is on their feet and not down on the mat. I was engaged for several days, spending plenty of time playing the game, but the reasons that most people continue to play an EA Sports title until the next iteration comes along just isn't as strong in EA Sports UFC 3.
  56. Jan 31, 2018
    50
    EA Sports UFC 3 feels like one step forward and two steps back. Striking is more realistic than ever, but submissions and the ground game remain convoluted. The new G.O.A.T. Career mode has flashes of brilliance, but bogs you down in menus while losing the human side of fights. As well, Ultimate Team just feels like yet another cash grab. There is a decent core in UFC 3, but it needs a lot more time in the gym to become champion material.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 3, 2018
    EA UFC 3 is closer to nailing this whole UFC video game thing than the comparatively thin EA UFC 2, but while this one has plenty of meat on its bones, it lacks connective tissue. In fight parlance, it’s a solid mid-tier fighter, a gatekeeper to the top rather than a championship-caliber contender.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 288
  1. Feb 26, 2018
    1
    *Those who haven't noticed, I have changed my review to a 1. You'll see why with a detailed review.*

    Ok. Let me get it started. I want to
    *Those who haven't noticed, I have changed my review to a 1. You'll see why with a detailed review.*

    Ok. Let me get it started. I want to clarify that I'm not a bias consumer. I, for one enjoyed UFC 2, even though many people hated it. I hated cheesing. I hated in-game exploits to cheat the system. But I was still very successful playing online. Also, I'm going to refer as the number 3 installment as "this game" because it isn't worthy of it's name.

    But this game is by far their worst installment. My issue on the game is not only repetitive modes that this company relies on every year, but the gameplay. I am not a fan of the gameplay whatsoever. The mechanics of course will change because of the introduction of a brand new game, but making it overwhelmingly complicated for no exact reason is ridiculous. Just to uppercut you have to press 2 buttons? Just to block low you have to press the left and right trigger? JUST TO SPIN KICK YOU HAVE TO PUSH 4 BUTTONS!?!

    But whatever. Lets get to the gameplay in it's full aspects. Most people who have a problem with the stand up aspect of the game will tell you how slow the characters move. Compared to UFC 2, certain character move like a damn overloaded Tank. Other characters can feel a little smoother, but not natural. UFC 2 was able to capture the ability to use realistic swift footwork and the ability to control spacing, unlike this game.

    The countering system is another problem I have. You would think rewarding patient counter fighters would be a good thing. Of course it's just another problem. First of all, the countering system is delayed. It doesn't react on contact. On UFC 2, you were able to sway from punches and kicks with a simple system easier by holding LT with the help of the left analog stick. Not this game. EA has divided the natural swaying system into 4 variations of countering a strike. Yes, it is true you can plant your feet and sway, but it is not nearly as natural and effective as it was on the last installment. Not to mention you have to use the right analog stick. Terrible choice of mechanics. Second of all, with the new system, everyone has became this Mayweather like counter fighter who constantly ducks and sways just to counter with a hook or uppercut. Forcing everyone to do the same.

    The stamina system is a complete joke. If a player decides to constantly overwhelm you with strikes, giving you no room to fight your fight, naturally you would want to wait them out. NOOOO. Not this game. By the 1st round, the player pressing should get a slight, but not drastic change in stamina. By round 2, the player should feel the difference in the character. By round 3, there should be a noticeable stamina difference by comparison. You should easily pick them apart. By round 4, the stamina of the player should be pretty much depleted. By round 5, they shouldn't have stamina left. On this game, you are able to fight round 1 all fight long. No stamina consequences. It's a joke.

    The ground game is the same as UFC 2, but with new and slower transitions. A player who has the ability to defend transitions can keep someone on their back for as long as he/she wants to with a great grappler. Meaning, even if the player on it's back is able to defend transitions, there's no real way in escaping other then slowly transitioning. You just have to take the slow and painful punishment until the round is over, you get a reversal, or you get finished. Even if you fake transitions. Simple.

    This isn't even the root of my problem with this game, but this is already too much to swallow. If what you read still doesn't concern you by the slightest, be my guess. There's a reason why most of the user ratings from all sites and consoles have terrible scores on them. Take my word for it. This game is trash. Trash. Trash. And more trash. If you buy this game, I'll be disappointed in you.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2018
    10
    Career mode is hell fun to play.. gameplay is great including strike.. grappling is kinda annoying and kinda frustrating.. graphic look greatCareer mode is hell fun to play.. gameplay is great including strike.. grappling is kinda annoying and kinda frustrating.. graphic look great especially fighter model Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2018
    0
    I've played maybe 2 hours last night, from midnight to 2AM on the day it came out. I stopped. I knew I wanted to try to get a refund andI've played maybe 2 hours last night, from midnight to 2AM on the day it came out. I stopped. I knew I wanted to try to get a refund and figured "they" could see how much time was spent playing it.

    Apparently PlayStation has a policy not to refund ANY pre-order purchase no matter how much you hate your brand new game and no matter how little you've played it. They could learn a thing or two from Steam and Origin!

    This game is not for the casual players. Maybe people who spent hours and hours mastering the inextricably complex controls will enjoy it. If you're just looking to push play and have fun, this is not you. I can't even imagine inviting friends over for a UFC pay per view and trying to quickly teach them how to play.

    I wasted 100$ on the champions edition and I know I'll hate every minute of playing it until I give up and accept it as a sunk cost. It's too late for me but save yourselves... Don't buy this game!
    PS: I took the time to create a metacritic account just so I could write this review to help you avoid wasting your money. Let's call it my good deed of the day.
    Full Review »