Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 120 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 120
Buy On
  1. Apr 23, 2020
    100
    The game flips the script on the very idea of nostalgia being the only guiding creative force behind a remake, making it another enemy to be slain.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 20, 2020
    100
    This is a jaw-dropping success, grafting new life onto an epic adventure, with action-packed combat that still oozes strategy. FFVII has redefined the genre once again. [Issue#175, p.66]
  3. 100
    The greatest disservice of Final Fantasy VII Remake is the last word of its title. Understand this: Final Fantasy VII Remake is no ordinary remake. To call it a remake suggests it’s faithful and loyal, playing it safe in its modernization. But this Remake is complete reinvention, so audacious and gutsy in its reimagining that the stunning visuals almost feel ... tame.
  4. Apr 16, 2020
    100
    I love almost everything about it, so much so that I struggle to find the words to do it the justice I believe it deserves...While it still has minor technical issues, they never got in the way of Remake ramming its fingers into my nostrils and dragging me face-first through one of the deepest, most satisfying, and most downright engulfing Japanese RPG campaigns I've ever experienced.
  5. Apr 15, 2020
    100
    So yeah, I really found myself loving Final Fantasy VII Remake, to a degree that I’m likely going to go back through it on Hard mode (which unlocks post-game) and try to platinum it if I can find the time. Even after 40 hours spent with it I’m finding it hard to pull myself away from the game, and I think there’s a good chance you’ll feel the same way too.
  6. Apr 14, 2020
    100
    This is a great game in it's own right but it is a transportive one for this lifelong fan. Returning to Midgar, reliving the adventures of Cloud, Tifa, Aerith, and Barret, takes me back to a moment where all I can remember is the magic of discovering this world and reliving the emotional swells of this epic story. With a tear in my eye and a smile on my face, I finally came home.
  7. Apr 10, 2020
    100
    Final Fantasy VII Remake pulls no punches. The story feels complete as it builds up to a fantastical ending sequence that has me running out of compliments. This game is something of a marvel to experience, which is why I’m now eagerly awaiting the next installment as I contemplate playing again. It’s easy to see how much respect and admiration the developers have for this story and these characters during every minute of this adventure, which made it difficult to put down, even for a minute.
  8. Apr 8, 2020
    100
    Remaking a universally acclaimed classic was always a fearful responsibility, but like its own sword-wielding heroes, Square Enix has risen to the challenge spectacularly.
  9. Apr 7, 2020
    100
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is everything we expected and then some. The premise is the same as in 1997, but there is still plenty of new material for those who want to explore more of Midgar and its inhabitants. In addition, elements such as the story and the combat are more like a modern take. That makes this throwback even more pleasant.
  10. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    Above all, though, Final Fantasy 7 Remake is a picture-perfect return to Midgar. It's one that's been a long time coming and, as it prepares its players for the next installment, it's possible that it's also laid the foundation for what could be the greatest series of Final Fantasy games ever put together - providing the quality holds up once the story begins to really expand in the next installment, of course.
  11. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    Final Fantasy VII Remake exceeded almost every expectation that I had: The game looks amazing, plays great, the cutscenes are remarkable and the soundtrack is breathtaking. Final Fantasy VII Remake us a must-play for fans of the original game and PS4 players in general.
  12. 100
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is perfection. It breathes life into the cold steel of Midgar, adding weight and dimension to that which was once simply an introduction to a more grand adventure. It’s filled to the brim with reverent fan service that respects the source material while occasionally taking leave to subvert expectations. Final Fantasy VII is one of the most defining games of all time, and Square Enix’s modern-gen treatment of Midgar lives up to the legacy of the original in every way imaginable. The worst part is leaving us off on the cliffhanger we all knew was coming, waiting for the rest of their journey, but as much effort as clearly went into Midgar alone, it’s bound to be worth the wait.
  13. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    The scale and detail of this partial remake is at times almost absurd. But this is a game full of beauty, intelligence and nostalgic power.
  14. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    An utter joy to play from start to finish, packed with memorable scenes, moustache-twirling baddies, and epic battles. The first part of Final Fantasy VII Remake isn't just polished, it is opulent.
  15. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is the best JRPG from Square since Final Fantasy VII. It takes a classic, carefully builds on it, and although certain changes made to the story may not be as well-received by all players, overall there's no denying that it's a massive success.
  16. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    Regardless of your history with the original game, Final Fantasy VII Remake is an astounding achievement. The wait for its release was a long one, but in gameplay, story, characters, and music, it delivers--the wait was worth it. For first-time players, it's an opportunity to understand why Final Fantasy VII is held in such high regard. It's the chance to experience a multifaceted story that grapples with complex subject matter, be in the company of memorable characters, and be moved by their plight. For returning fans, this isn't the Final Fantasy VII your mind remembers, it's the one your heart always knew it to be.
  17. 100
    Perhaps the best way that I can describe just how much I've appreciated Final Fantasy VII Remake is this: The original Final Fantasy VII was my least favourite in the series, but after playing the Remake, on a whim I loaded up the original game. Within the first couple of hours I was already so much more invested in it this time around. Being able to visualise the action of the original through the lens that the Remake has provided me has made the game more vibrant, interesting, and emotionally engaging. I don't necessarily see FFVII Remake as a replacement to the original game, as remakes generally are. It's a complement to it, where the developers have built on the world and characters in such a way that it's like two sides of a single coin - for me, at least, without one, the other doesn't exist. Making me love the original Final Fantasy VII is something I never thought Square Enix would achieve, but we do live in the strangest times.
  18. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    My recommendation is to go into Midgar with an open mind and allow it to wash over you. Final Fantasy VII Remake is a video game experience we only get every once in a while, and it's one of the best titles I've ever had the pleasure of playing.
  19. 100
    Final Fantasy VII Remake strikes a fantastic, resonant chord that will leave long-time fans and newbies alike wholly satisfied.
  20. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    Final Fantasy VII Remake still is the masterpiece it once was. Time goes on, but pieces like this one stay alive forever. Square Enix has managed to evolve the game while maintaining its essence, and even though there are some mistakes along the way, Final Fantasy VII Remake remains one of the best games in the current generation and, of course, the current year. It is no small task to put together both past and present, and Square Enix has achieved a level of perfection that we would never have imagined.
  21. Apr 15, 2020
    98
    Final Fantasy VII Remake falls just short of perfection, but it’s clearly one of the best RPGs to release so far and is definitely a contender for RPG of the year. I’ll go as far to say that this is one of the most important RPG projects of our generation, and I do think everyone, fan of the original or no, should experience it.
  22. Apr 13, 2020
    98
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is an astounding achievement. It is an unprecedented gathering of the creative minds behind the original, for which they succeeded in every way in their goal to bring their vision to gamers of today. This remake has ushered in a new era - a saga that will change the gaming landscape as we know it. For now, though, Final Fantasy VII Remake alone stands as one of the greatest modern RPGs ever made, remake or not.
  23. Apr 6, 2020
    96
    The only reason we might not consider Final Fantasy VII Remake a masterpiece is because the play is not over. But it is a work of art. A love letter to the original, written directly on your DualShock 4. Square Enix dresses in Squaresoft, fulfills all its promises and recovers the magic. In short, the remake is just what we expected: a dream come true.
  24. May 4, 2020
    95
    What a time to be alive, and a Final Fantasy VII fan at the same time, as the promises and pleads have been fulfilled. And in what way! This remake does almost everything right, and where it fails - it is just the dust in the wind. Gorgeous looking, beautifully told through well-written characters and their interactions, amazing combat, wonderful music - this game has it all. Minor flaws are just a sign that perfection is what you strive for, and not what you reach. Yet it promises even better sequel(s), which is something we can believe in with ease, after a grand piece of work such as this. Do not miss it.
  25. Apr 13, 2020
    95
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is more than just a remake. It stays true to the core elements of the original game, while also exploring, expanding, and breathing new life, depth, imagination, and personality into an already outstanding world and cast of characters. While it is a little light on playtime, settling in at around 30-35 hours for a playthrough, it is bursting with quality and feels like a complete game, a full experience that is just waiting to be continued. It weaves together the familiar with the new, and adds entirely new elements, personalities, and modern storytelling flare to a beloved classic. Remake is a beautiful game, and a must-play for those who lived the original, who have always wanted to experience the world of FFVII, and just about any JRPG fan out there.
  26. Apr 13, 2020
    95
    Overall, Final Fantasy VII Remake is a must-buy for fans of the original – but with some caveats attached. Those going into it expecting the complete FF VII experience from start to finish with a new gameplay setup and graphics will be disappointed, while those going in knowing that it is part of the overall package, just with a poor name choice, will wind up quite happy with it. Being able to go between a more classic gameplay approach or a modernized one offers up a lot of freedom to players, while the story itself remains my favorite in franchise history – and it’s now told with more depth and detail than ever before. The revamped graphics aren’t perfect – but do a better job on the whole of conveying the story, while the voice work helps it gain a new level of gravitas that wasn’t there before.
  27. Apr 10, 2020
    95
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a fresh start for a franchise that wasn't living up to fans' expectations on the last installments. A challenging combat system, charismatic characters and a plot that surprise in every chapter are the foundations of this ambitious project. Square Enix not only fulfill a promise made years ago; the team also expanded the world of FFVII beyond our expectations.
  28. Apr 10, 2020
    95
    On the scale of Final Fantasy games, Remake still soars. The story is laid out with an auteur’s obsessive eye, every scene plucking the heart strings. the battles are a breezy, yet bloody, affair that never goes stale. The graphics are ridiculous, turning every character into a model-beautiful specter sure to haunt your dreams. More than a steady grasp towards the platonic Final Fantasy ideal, this game achieves something unusual. Here then, is the Final Fantasy VII you remember, the shining vision of your youth, untouched by the decays of time. Wherever Square Enix goes from here, we can’t possibly get there soon enough. Miss out on Final Fantasy VII: Remake at your peril.
  29. Apr 10, 2020
    95
    Final Fantasy VII Remake walks in the shoes of the cult-classic leaving new footprints. Faithful in spirit, debatable for changes, this is a colossal attempt to retell the original story. Considering the legacy SquareSoft left behind, this is a job well done by Square-Enix.
  30. Apr 6, 2020
    95
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is the piece that knew to blend the past with the present. What Square Enix has done is cause for celebration, as it has been able to fabricate everything we imagined and the vision we had of the original more than two decades ago. Easily, Final Fantasy VII Remake can give modern makers a lecture on how a remake should be done. The adventure that started in Midgar relives again and has surprised us again.
  31. Apr 6, 2020
    95
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is an extraordinary game: not only as a magnificent reinterpretation of a classic, but also because of the courage instilled in its writing and perfect conception.
  32. Apr 6, 2020
    94
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake might be an early contender for Game of the Year 2020 thanks to a wonderful retelling of an iconic game. While it's only the first part in a larger story, there is no denying that the reworked combat system, deep RPG mechanics and iconic characters feel right at home in 2020. The graphics and music themselves are art and with new elements in the story there is plenty of love to go around even when you’re not going after Shinra.
  33. Apr 6, 2020
    94
    Well designed, inspiring and fun, Final Fantasy VII Remake is a masterpiece start to something new and we can't wait to play more in the future.
  34. Apr 6, 2020
    93
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is proof that although we can have great projects with very high production values, innocence still has a place in this medium full of magic.
  35. Apr 6, 2020
    93
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a masterful modernization of the series' classic formula. The game is an extremely solid JRPG that looks, sounds and plays great, despite some pacing issues and linearity. That said, the unexpected story twists may sour the experience a bit for those who expected a faithful remake.
  36. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 21, 2020
    91
    If you were a fan of the original FF VII, go ahead and add another 5 points to the final score. It’s a perfect remake: it faithfully follows original game’s storyline, is filled with fan-service, but remains approachable by complete newbies. [Issue#245, p.38]
  37. May 4, 2020
    90
    Right now, I can say I am stoked to find out where the follow up will go, because any doubt I had initially about this remake has long gone after playing through it. All I am left to say is that Final Fantasy VII Remake is a superb RPG for fans and newcomers, and even with all the changes, it still captures the heart of Final Fantasy VII, a special accomplishment that will make the fans fall in love with the title all over again.
  38. Apr 28, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is undoubtedly among the best of 2020. The first part of this remake meets every expectation, beyond its technical problems, and we are already hyped of what is to come. I dare say that it is one of the best installments in the series so far and I hope that this will become a new quality standard for Square Enix.
  39. Apr 23, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a dream that finally came true. A dream that not only is precious to die hard fans of the series, but also one that opens a beautiful door to those who never experienced a Final Fantasy game before.
  40. 90
    Final Fantasy VII Remake may not be what fans were expecting, but that's far from a bad thing. Square Enix has delivered a remarkable RPG that upgrades the iconic title with beautiful graphics, an expanded world, and first-rate combat.
  41. Apr 20, 2020
    90
    If you're new to the Final Fantasy VII series you'll have no trouble diving into this remake. On the flip side, if you're a fan of the original Playstation game you'll find a lot to love here and playing this version will definitely rekindle the flame! Final Fantasy VII Remake is certain to be on many "Game Of The Year" lists in 2020!
  42. Apr 17, 2020
    90
    The game’s neo-noir, Blade Runner-esque setting perfectly marries with its gritty but heartfelt tone. Despite the slightly off-putting differences in the character design, the aesthetic of the game is superb. Match the exquisite level design with seamless mechanics, addicting gameplay and rousing battles, and you have a recipe for perhaps one of the best games of the year.
  43. Apr 15, 2020
    90
    Returning to Midgar has been a much more fulfilling experience than I expected going in. Seeing all of these characters, and the world, fully realised in 3D has given me a whole new appreciation for them and I’m very much looking forward to what’s next in store. Exactly how successful the full project is remains to be seen, but the first part of the Final Fantasy VII Remake has done everything it could in getting me incredibly excited for the second.
  44. Apr 14, 2020
    90
    Square Enix deserve another standing ovation for resurrecting this classic in the manner they have done so. Let’s just hope we don’t have decades of waiting before we get to play Part 2.
  45. Apr 14, 2020
    90
    From Cloud’s journey of self re-discovery and vulnerability to Mark Hammil hamming it up as Don Corneo, expansion of as much minutia as possible feels like the primary goal here. And that goal is met in glorious fashion. Final Fantasy VII Remake reveres its source material, but isn’t afraid to get sillier, weirder, and even more earnest and emotional. It’s a classic, old school JRPG from the 90s, reimagined as a bloated, contemporary triple-a video game. It’s also, in a way, a significant meta text, but you’ll have to dive into that aspect on your own. Final Fantasy VII Remake is going to be weird in so many different ways for so many different people, and for that reason alone I have to give it an enthusiastic recommendation.
  46. Apr 10, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy VII Remake does the impossible, somehow allowing me to relive one of the biggest gaming moments of my childhood as if it were new.
  47. Apr 9, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake is a love letter to the original game. With likeable characters, engaging gameplay, and clever twists and turns, FF7R does everything that it needs to. An over-reliance on pre-existing knowledge of FF7 may make it a tough introduction for new players. The strong writing and excellent gameplay should carry newcomers over the finish line, even if they're confused by things by the end. The ending might be a little controversial, but the rest of the game sets up such a strong base that I can't wait for Final Fantasy VII Remake Part 2.
  48. Apr 8, 2020
    90
    The modernization of this genre classic and one of the most important games of all time has been successful. Well, this is actually only the first part of the original, but embellished in such a way that it feels like a proper, standalone title.
  49. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    A refreshing re-imagining of the beginning of Final Fantasy VII, Remake is at times wonderful but at others audacious, and I'm here for the ride.
  50. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    In the end, Final Fantasy VII REMAKE is a fantastic game – one that fans of the original should play. The new story beats and incredibly jaw-dropping conclusion left me yearning for more. And while some might be bummed this is simply the first installment in an episodic series of remakes, I don’t feel gipped by the episodic nature here. After forty hours with the JRPG, I’m eager to go back to relive chapters of the game, finding collectibles and powerups I might have missed throughout my first playthrough.
  51. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Much like its predecessor, Final Fantasy 7 Remake is far from perfect. Its linear design and difficulty spikes may be off-putting for some, but stick through the rough bits and there’s another incredible story and wonderful world waiting.
  52. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Although Final Fantasy VII Remake only concludes a very limited part of the whole story, there are still more than 30 hours worth of wonderful experiences. The way they retell the story is nearly perfect. The battle is fast, fluid and also full of classic elements. The only obvious flaw of the game is the dull puzzles. But apart from that, Final Fantasy VII Remake definitely is a must-buy masterpiece - especially for fans.
  53. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    FFVII Remake has some rough edges, but is generally the ultimate nerdgasm for FFVII fans and a cool new Final Fantasy game for newcomers who have never played the original. Square has made the impossible possible and not only made my ultimate fantasy come true, but made it even more beautiful than I would have dreamed.
  54. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Square Enix has created a fantastic action RPG that lives up to the legend of the original. It’s beautiful, moving and epic, and the combat system is fantastic. There are some narrative decisions that will be controversial, but overall it’s a game you shouldn’t miss.
  55. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Minor quality-of-life missteps aside, Final Fantasy VII Remake is still an absolute gem, polished to a high sheen and worthy of slotting into any serious gamer's collection. Granted, if you've been keeping up with the Final Fantasy franchise recently, it won't feel like Square Enix has reinvented the gameplay wheel. However, it sure did reinvent the wheel of time. Without saying too much, what we have here is a divergent “defy destiny” tale that's sure to wrong-foot veterans.
  56. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    I have spent 39 great hours with this remake, its brilliant combat system, the good memories and tributes to the original work and the committed expansion of the story. And one hour, the final, of complete uncertainty. The balance is positive. The aftertaste, bitter.
  57. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Although its linear structure and its lack of ancillary content are likely to frustrate some, and despite a more painful than fun post-game, Final Fantasy VII Remake is undoubtedly one of the best games in recent years and we look forward to seeing the treatment of the continuation of the adventure by Square Enix.
  58. 90
    At the end of it all, even under immense scrutiny and in spite of some disappointing shortcomings, there's no getting around the fact that I had a giant grin on my face for just about the entirety of Final Fantasy VII Remake. It's an enjoyable enough game if you're a casual fan of Final Fantasy or action RPGs, but if you're in it for the fandom you may just have your mind blown. It's not a perfect game, but it absolutely exceeded my expectations of what a remake of Final Fantasy VII could be. All that's left now is to (not so) patiently wait for the next part…
  59. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy VII is an ambitious retelling that updates its systems and story for the modern era. The new battle system is fantastic and does a superb job of blending strategy and action. Additional stories and character moments are appreciated, and the way each character is portrayed is perfect. Some technical aspects could be better, but if future installments maintain this trajectory, we can all rest easy.
  60. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake is one of the finest JRPGs in recent memory, setting a new benchmark for visuals and real-time combat in the series while managing to begin retelling one of gaming’s greatest tales in grandiose fashion. It’s just a crying shame we have to twiddle our thumbs and wait for the next chapter.
  61. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake is a masterpiece, a love letter to FF7 fans, an homage to one of the greatest games of all time. At its best it does everything the original did in 1997, revolutionizing the way video game stories can be told and reimaged.
  62. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    If you're willing to keep an open mind, you'll be able to enjoy Final Fantasy VII Remake for what it is at its core: a gorgeous, well-made, and fun RPG that successfully retells one of the best video game stories ever told with a few twists.
  63. 90
    Putting the few slight issues aside, Final Fantasy VII Remake stuns with how it expands on the original. At the same time, it takes its own risks and creates its own footsteps. FF VII Remake is beautiful, engrossing, and hard to pass up. This game is meant for both fans and newcomers, no matter how learned, and the sheer level of time and effort put into this reimagining truly shows through and through.
  64. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Some texture problems and a handful of uninspired sidequests aren't enough to derail Final Fantasy VII in the slightest. This remake respects the hell out of the original, reinventing one of the most legendary RPGs ever made for a modern audience. Satisfying combat, phenomenal bossfights and impressive visuals... that's what you sign up for when you give this new version of Final Fantasy VII a chance.
  65. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    A beautifully crafted and entertaining reimagining of a classic that brings renewed life to its story and characters.
  66. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is simply stunning, and a breath-taking masterclass in recreating something beloved for a new – and old – audience.
  67. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    This world is full of powerful characters and a setting that's worth remembering: remake or not.
  68. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a love letter from Square Enix to its old and new fans. An excellent title in all its elements, an almost perfect work, full of details that confirm its chiseled realization. The future, however, remains uncertain: the later parts of the project, today more than ever, will mark the true fate of the revival of the seventh Final Fantasy.
  69. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    After more than 20 years Final Fantasy VII is back and powerful as the original version. Square Enix has decided to extend the story incorporating brand new sequences and a deepening of the plot with many more mature themes than the past. Unforgettable characters and a brand new, excellent combat system are the strengths of Final Fantasy VII Remake. An unmissable game both for old fans and new gamers.
  70. 90
    Taking one of the most genre defining and well-loved games of all time and rebuilding it from the ground up was a tall order, but Square Enix pulled it off with modernized gameplay and a fleshing out of the world and many characters compared to the original. While only featuring a portion of the story fans know and love, Final Fantasy VII Remake still manages to feels like a complete game, yet still part of a larger narrative to come, and will have fans waiting anxiously for the next entry as soon as they finish.
  71. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Final fantasy 7 Remake is a superb rereading of the 1997 game that it surpasses visually but also in terms of narration. Very respectful of the original material, it brings an impressive dimension with its gigantic decors, its new combat system and its even more endearing characters. Some sequences are a bit repetitive, but in the end it is an a timeless story that we are happy to rediscover in its best light. And even if it can’t be as cult as the original, it will permanently mark the spirits. I'm waiting for more!
  72. Apr 6, 2020
    88
    This remake of a legendary RPG finds an impressive equilibrium between its past and its present, crafting a distinctive world and exciting combat system that feel modern.
  73. Apr 6, 2020
    88
    The first part of Final Fantasy 7 Remake deepens the structure of Midgar, the story and the characters of the original game, but leaves the players with too many questions about the future and the structure of next episodes.
  74. Apr 6, 2020
    88
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a great game, excellent, even, for today's standards. And for the most part, it is exactly what fans have been asking for during the past ten years. But the truth is that this isn't it; this isn't the game that was promised.
  75. CD-Action
    May 12, 2020
    85
    It’s more an adaptation than a regular remake and I’m OK with that. It’s also the best modern Final Fantasy – even if wordy and quite slow at moments [06/2020, p.34]
  76. Apr 30, 2020
    85
    It feels like we waited a lifetime to finally play this game, and even now it has only just begun. There is so much more of the original game to come. The problem is we have no idea when it will land and how many more times we will have to pay for a chapter, but if they are as quality as this entry I am all for it. Final Fantasy 7 was the first in the series that really grabbed me. It has its nostalgic hooks into me and I will be here for every entry. I hope they clean up the pacing issues and continue to wow me as they go along. For now this is one of the best games of the year, and still gives me chills with its presentation and music.
  77. Apr 20, 2020
    85
    Remake removes Final Fantasy VII from its agonizing stasis and animates its objectives with modern sophistication. In spite of its curtailed debut, Remake creates characters out of archetypes, finds class struggle amid its surging environmentalism, and generates dynamic fiction from a familiar narrative. By honoring moments held sacred and defying what may be expected, Remake stays true to the radical and dangerous ambition that defined Final Fantasy VII.
  78. Apr 16, 2020
    85
    This is an overwhelmingly beautiful retelling of one of the world's most famous Japanese role-playing games. Deepening the story and a new fighting system give newcomers and fans of the first hour an adventure that anyone can enjoy.
  79. Apr 13, 2020
    85
    Final Fantasy VII Remake brilliantly recreates the events of Midgar in a breathtaking way. Even though there's no denying just how amazing of an experience it is, the adventure within will still leave fans wanting much more.
  80. Apr 13, 2020
    85
    Overall, this is an amazing game that works on its own and fleshes out the story and setting of Final Fantasy VII in a remarkably cogent way. Fans of the original game may have wanted something more faithful in a functional sense but this is still an excellent game and one you will be more than happy to pour your time into.
  81. Apr 7, 2020
    85
    The remake of Final Fantasy VII isn't perfect. It has some highly redundant and simply boring side activities that derail the narrative at times, and the visuals are very uneven. But all of these are minor hitches. FFVII Remake is so much more than a mere nostalgia act. It's probably the most daring game Square Enix has created in years - one that generates great emotions and tons of fun.
  82. 85
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a successful return to the past; it's not without problems, but fans of the series will be happy to revisit an epic story and meet old friends again.
  83. Apr 6, 2020
    85
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is, in many ways, the game we hoped for to honor the original. It can be very satisfactory for the fans but the way it expands the history offers lights and shadows.
  84. Apr 6, 2020
    85
    It's crazy, even though we're playing a game that was created 23 years ago, we still want to forgive it for its youthful mistakes. With its excellent next-gen fighting system and all the iconic sequences of the Midgar arc, enhanced and improved, Final Fantasy VII Remake is a very good title, but is one that unfortunately trips itself up trying to do too much. Hence, its structure which brings us back 10 years back in time, its stammering technique which breaks the immersion, and some dubious additions to the scenario, managed to lower the blissful smile that we would have liked to keep throughout this first episode.
  85. Apr 6, 2020
    85
    Unlike the latest installments in this popular series, Final Fantasy VII Remake feels like a complete game. The game is entertaining, Battles are solid with a nice level of challenge and there are a variety of things to do. But as usual with Final Fantasy in recent years, you keep wishing for the game to open up more and to give you more freedom and it never happens.
  86. Apr 6, 2020
    85
    Final Fantasy VII: Remake is a fresh take on Square Enix's classic, with enough new stuff to bring in young gamers, and most of what made the game great over 20 years ago. A true "Remake."
  87. Apr 6, 2020
    85
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake is arguably the best non-MMO Final Fantasy game released in a very long time. Despite my qualms, it’s been a welcome Reunion.
  88. Apr 6, 2020
    84
    A technically impressive action RPG, but it offers only a fraction of the Final Fantasy 7 experience.
  89. Apr 6, 2020
    83
    A staggering reimagining of a genre touchstone, FFVIIR makes improvements upon the original in many areas but is similarly harmed by some uneven additions
  90. Apr 6, 2020
    82
    Visually impressive adventure with gripping boss fights and a top-notch soundtrack, but also mechanical as well as with storytelling flaws.
  91. Jun 5, 2020
    80
    The exquisite gameplay, graphics and sound design are let-down by some very iffy narrative devices and the game definitely suffers from some bloated sections that feel like complete filler - although your first playthrough will definitely keep you going for a while. All in all, part one is a success; let's hope the second installment doesn't take as long.
  92. May 1, 2020
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake wonderfully reinterprets the legendary JRPG via modern-day graphics and a tighter focus on narrative and characterization. Unfortunately, it's just the first part of a massive tale.
  93. Apr 22, 2020
    80
    As a result of magnifying such a comparably miniscule portion of play, the pacing in the remake lumbers. Still, the prospect of leaving planet Earth for a few hours comes at a premium in our present moment.
  94. Apr 16, 2020
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a wondrous exploration of the original, with fantastic writing, performances, and production values. However, an overindulgence in cut scenes and an extremely linear path through the game causes some serious sag in the middle chapters. A fine experience, but perhaps best viewed as a prelude to things to come.
  95. Apr 13, 2020
    80
    Unfortunately, not everything new works. Some of the new story elements feel out of place with the overarching story and tone, and quite a few of the many hours feel like padding. When the story, combat and characters come together, however, Final Fantasy VII Remake captures the magic that makes Final Fantasy special. Final Fantasy VII Remake is just the beginning of this new journey and it’s already off to a great start.
  96. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    So, does Final Fantasy VII Remake live up to the standards set all those years ago? Overall, yes. The world is lively, the script is well written and the combat feels natural. There is still a long way to go in the saga yet, but with these bones it feels like Square Enix has the potential to build something great. The first instalment strikes a great balance of catering to long-time fans while opening up the tale to a newer generation. If you don’t like it, there’s always the original. This trip to Midgar is well worth taking, even if it feels like the best may be yet to come.
  97. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is an awesome game with a few annoying flaws that stop it from reaching the same heights as its predecessor. Final Fantasy VII was lightning in a bottle, while Final Fantasy VII Remake is just a really good game that wears its skin. The story of the remake series isn't over yet and we hope that Square Enix improves upon the formula for the later entries, but for now, Final Fantasy VII Remake is still well worth your time.
  98. 80
    Fans will be arguing about it for decades to come but for now this is a surprisingly daring reinvention of the legendary original, although it’s a shame its biggest flaws were largely avoidable.
  99. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a deep, dense and strong invitation to rediscover an all-time classic, thanks to a new three dimensional approach of the vast city of Midgar. The game fills up so many gap, deepens the plot, and sometimes takes way too much time to take us from point A to point B. But thanks to a strong and evolving combat system, new looks of iconic characters and a brilliant work of reorchestration of Uemtasu's score. If only it could have gone just a little further.
  100. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is an enigmatic thing, a product born out of nostalgia but reimagined and redesigned to take advantage of technology and hardware that could capture the grandeur of this particularly beloved adventure. If you’ve played the original before, don’t go in thinking you’ll know exactly what’s going to happen because the story takes a good number of unexpected left turns. These changes are mostly fine but I’m curious to see what sort of tweaks will be made to the larger story in light of some of the more dramatic changes--with special regards to a final boss that screams, “Well, we just couldn’t help ourselves!” Final Fantasy VII Remake is a fresh take on a familiar story, expanded with a larger scope that just wasn’t possible twenty-three years ago.
  101. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    The expectations around Final Fantasy 7 Remake are sky high, and it mostly manages to deliver. Its combat is top notch, its enemy variety kept me constantly entertained, and seeing this snippet of story fleshed out with real emotional arcs and the previously hidden humanity behind Midgar filled me with pure joy. The boring RPG filler and Kingdom Hearts-esque convolution that was inserted in between did stop my ear-to-ear grin from being constant, but never long enough to kill the mood completely. That leaves this remake as one that still delivered on letting me relive (part of) a classic in stupendous fashion, while also standing as a great RPG all its own.
  102. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    At times it felt almost overwhelming to actually be playing it – like Square Enix had made a game specifically for me. I just wish the loyalty to the source material lasted throughout. Despite that, there’s no denying that this is the best Final Fantasy has been in a long time.
  103. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    At its best, Final Fantasy VII Remake is a loving, painstakingly meticulous reimagining of the original. While not every new facet is equally inspired, it remains an exuberant reminder of why it originally captivated so many.
  104. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    All things considered, Final Fantasy 7 Remake is still a polished and worthwhile affair, doing many things for many different people.
  105. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    Measured against the immense expectations that surround it, Final Fantasy VII Remake is a great game that will inevitably disappoint some fans. That said, playing through the Midgar storyline 23 years later is giddily surreal, and the game does a fantastic job of expanding the existing plot, while also pushing a surprising amount of fresh ideas. Some frustratingly poor level design hampers the fun at times, and visually the game is all over the place, but when it's at its best, Remake is brilliant, and it's elevated to even greater heights by an excellent combat system. It may not be the perfect remake that we've all been dreaming of these past five years, but it is a thoroughly enjoyable, nostalgia-driven ride that understands the magic of Final Fantasy VII.
  106. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a reconstruction on an almost unprecedented scale. Midgar feels like a real place, and strong character development sucks you into its fascinating world. The battle system is a great mix between real-time action and turn-based strategic elements, but with many consecutive lengthy fights in linear dungeon-like areas, it can sometimes become too stressful for the casual player, and the slow story progression won’t be for everyone either.
  107. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake isn’t the retelling of a cult classic that you’re expecting it to be. It’s a lengthy and deliberately slow-paced walk down the Midgar memory lane that leisurely basks within the warm glow of nostalgia, but at the same time it’s an exhilarating and cinematic explosion of action that not only celebrates the impact of the game which rewrote the rulebook for an entire industry in 1997, but also everything else that followed in its genre-defining wake.
  108. Apr 6, 2020
    80
    Final Fantasy VII Remake suffers from stop-start pacing, elements of archaic game design and some cheesy over-the-top filler material. But when it’s firing on all cylinders, Remake shows off the best of what Final Fantasy can offer in 2020: addictive combat, a compelling cast of misfit protagonists, and a living, breathing fantasy world. If you can break through the more sluggish and unenjoyable moments of the game, you’ll find an absolute gem of an action-RPG shining at the core, a promise of what Square Enix can do with role-playing games in this generation and generations to come.
  109. Apr 27, 2020
    77
    I don't know if I enjoyed Final Fantasy VII Remake as much as I was fascinated by it. The game is bound to divide fans and newcomers, but it's the kind of experience that's going to be dissected for decades to come - much like the original.
  110. Apr 10, 2020
    75
    Final Fantasy VII REMAKE is a spectacular game that soars and falls in equal measure. There is a lot to love here, but frustrations and disappointments mar the experience. A solid central story is undermined by needless padding. Exceptional combat loses its edge at times due to unfortunate design choices, and gorgeous visuals are muddied with some appalling technical shortcomings.
  111. Edge Magazine
    May 21, 2020
    70
    A breathtaking way to polish off the definitive videogame nostalgia project, certainly - padding aside, the first 30 hours of Remake suggest that this is change for the better. By the conclusion, though, you may feel like things are going off the rails in more ways than one. [Issue#346, p.80]
  112. Apr 23, 2020
    70
    The Final Fantasy VII Remake is a stellar production that kept a smile on my face from start to finish, but I have huge concerns about this project conceptually, and nothing about how Square-Enix has operated in the last fifteen years leads me to optimism. If given the choice to have a lower-scale, complete remake with the same gameplay and general improvements, I’d have taken that over this promising-yet-incomplete spectacle — the original was an important title for many reasons, and I’m concerned it won’t get the complete remake it so rightfully deserves.
  113. Apr 17, 2020
    70
    Mediocre world design, poor pacing, and plotting that fails to fully capture what made the original so special, it's hard not to walk away feeling like this isn't a disappointment across the board. At the same time, the franchise's combat has never been better, and Materia offers an incredibly rewarding amount of party customisation alongside weapon levelling. While the story on a whole might not hit all the right notes, the script is extremely well written and the dialogue has never been better. More importantly, the depth present within the battle system pairs wonderfully with a challenging, but very fair difficulty curve, making for some truly spectacular boss fights. Final Fantasy VII Remake will never be held in the same esteem as Final Fantasy VII - and for good reason - but damn good combat will keep action fans coming back to this RPG for years to come.
  114. Apr 10, 2020
    70
    It is a beautiful-looking game with a juvenile mind-set that’s fun to pass through but hard to be riveted by.
  115. Apr 6, 2020
    70
    Final Fantasy 7 Remake sets out to fully re-imagine a classic RPG with improved combat and an expanded story. Unfortunately, it's hurt by weak side quests and a surplus of padding, and its biggest change is bound to be controversial. It's one of the most coherent and enjoyable Final Fantasy releases in years, but it's also likely to be one of the most divisive.
  116. Apr 6, 2020
    70
    The core story and the combat are fantastic, but it's a shame Square Enix felt the need to bloat the game with a ton of nonsensical new elements. Tone it down, not up.
  117. Apr 6, 2020
    70
    If you've been raised on a diet of the very best role-players of the past ten years or so, Remake may struggle to hold your attention as it streamlines itself into a tunnel-vision state of failing to see the bigger picture of what could have been. Fingers, toes and chocobos crossed, then, that part two sees the promise of this remake project fully blossom.
  118. Apr 16, 2020
    60
    After years of waiting, it pains me to say Final Fantasy VII Remake fails to truly impress. The classic storyline — or at least what’s on offer here — benefits greatly from generous and stellar voice acting, but how you extract the tale of a generation is nothing short of a slog. Running up and down corridors and staircases for dozens of hours is a drag, and while the combat system can, at times, offer up brawls that put MMO raids to shame, mountains of fluff and a combat system that can’t settle on a single style make this one feel like a slight step back from the already problematic Final Fantasy XV. There’s very little freedom of movement here. Just a linear campaign with not much else to offer.
  119. Apr 6, 2020
    60
    Remaking a touchstone of the medium in this fashion is like creating a big-budget, 10-part Netflix drama series out of the title sequence from Grange Hill. Franchise fans will tune in to see an outsized sausage on a fork only to be confounded by the three episodes dedicated to the netball teacher’s character arc. Curious newcomers tempted by the production values and peerless reputation could find the soporific pacing and weirdly dated references to outsized sausages leaves them wondering what all the fuss was about. And everyone else might just shrug and watch The Witcher instead.
  120. Apr 6, 2020
    60
    Final Fantasy VII Remake manages to balance the introduction of new concepts with faithfully recreations of the original game’s most memorable aspects, but it also unnecessarily pads out this first installment in a larger story with too much downtime between its most striking moments.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 6, 2020
    What's not to guess is that I'm in. Square-Enix, I don't care what you call the next one: FFVII Remix, FFVII Reunion, FFVII 2.8 Enchanted Forest of Midgar Dreams, whatever. I'm sold. I'm buying in. I'm playing the next one. But since I have your attention following such a nice pledge, here's a request: do me a solid and hire a new translation team next time, won'tcha?
  2. Apr 6, 2020
    An expansive remake that treads carefully upon this most cherished of games, though some blunders will linger long in the memory. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  3. Apr 6, 2020
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is not what I expected. It’s a grand, ambitious, beautiful experiment, a bold new take on a game that millions of people remember fondly. It sometimes feels shackled by the weight of two decades worth of expectations, but it handles those restraints with aplomb. I certainly can’t wait to see what’s next. As a great man named Barret Wallace once said: There ain’t no getting off this train we on.
  4. Apr 6, 2020
    Remake is a great introduction to a genre-defining classic, allowing players with more modern tastes to learn the story and meet famous characters without having to endure archaic ‘90s graphics and gameplay. It will probably prompt a few newcomers to check out the original as well.
  5. Apr 6, 2020
    Remake is also the very best thing a game can be: fascinating. It forces us to confront our subjective tastes, and asks us to consider what we value in the games we play. Your feelings about Remake will be determined by what you, personally, valued in the original release.
  6. Apr 13, 2020
    The Final Fantasy VII Remake’s storytelling blows the original away.
  7. May 15, 2020
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is something new. It's something different. It's bold, and clever, and overwhelmingly arrogant. It's contentious, controversial, conceited, and some people may view it as simply a... con. But if it ain't a subversive masterpiece nonetheless, I don't know what is.
  8. Apr 6, 2020
    There’s a moment that many players experienced early on in the original game, myself included. Up until that point, the entire story had been contained in Midgar; then, all of a sudden, you leave the city and realize just how big the world really is. It’s almost shocking. So far, FFVIIR has successfully captured that initial feeling — now, I want to see the rest of the world.
  9. Apr 6, 2020
    In Final Fantasy VII Remake, everything looks like how I imagined it when I was a kid. This is not the Final Fantasy VII I remember, but the dream of a Final Fantasy VII. It’s a surreal, staggering, and loving tribute to a beloved role-playing game. The voice work, the music, the story, and the combat system are rebuilt from the ground up and brimming with detail.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4635 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    All the 0 rated reviews so far are people who failed to even understand what this remake project was. The remake is the first portion of theAll the 0 rated reviews so far are people who failed to even understand what this remake project was. The remake is the first portion of the original game due to how big the original game was. The developers really wanted to add to the experience that's why they've added so much more lore and events!

    The Remake has genuinely improved on the original by fleshing out the story and the characters especially! The music is something else too... some of the best arrangement I've heard in a long time!
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 10, 2020
    4
    All Square Enix needed to do was follow the script's core beats, and flesh it out, while fully realizing the setting's world, ambiance andAll Square Enix needed to do was follow the script's core beats, and flesh it out, while fully realizing the setting's world, ambiance and characters. For about half the game, they actually achieve this. It's a joyful, nostalgic trip to Midgar, with Avalanche growing dear to your heart all over again. Tifa and Aerith are stunning in their added depth and interactions with the rest of the cast. Infiltrating Don Corneo's abode had me laughing at just how good it was.

    But the further the story progressed, the harder did Nojima and Toriyama deviate from the original's story and developments. From introducing core villains, whose presence was supposed to be felt as a looming dread, without fully unveiling them yet, far too early over additions of fate ghosts to a completely absurd, rewritten ending that pulls everything into question while making it clear that no, this is not a Remake, but a reimagining, a reboot, with the publisher opening the next part up to being whatever they wish it to be (or is easier to produce than a faithful sequel), the so-called Remake is a massive letdown.

    I was ready to adore this game. Cautiously optimistic ever since they announced it, being of the old guard that had been wishing for a faithful remake for a decade before the announcement dropped, I wanted to love it. For a good amount of hours, I actually did. It is a great shame that they decided to abandon the script in favor of Nojima's prime storytelling device (not to spoil things directly, but if you look at a list of games he's written for on Wikipedia, you'll be able to tell what most of them have in common...).

    The real tragedy of this first part of the "remake" really is that they did nearly everything right for so much of the game. From adding sidequests to flesh out the Sector 7 slums and their inhabitants, adding dialogue, making a real show out of the Honey Bee manor, speeding up some tedious parts while allowing further exploration in others. Graphically, the game looks absolutely stunning and I am ready to consider the main cast here to be the definitive versions, the best overall designed and authentic renditions. The music is for the most part incredibly well arranged from the original Uematsu tracks, although the new tracks fall short on a stylistic level. Added characters and comedic relief work in the game's favor at the point they occur, before everything comes tumbling down to crash and burn.

    It left me asking myself whether these changes were intended from the start, or were taken as a get out of jail free option when Square Enix's executives realized just how expensive the full game would turn out being, if they kept the same level of detail and interaction throughout all we remember from the original. It's almost like they put so much of their budget into the first half, they couldn't possibly maintain this scope for future zones, cities, dungeons and the like. Abandoning the original makes sense on some level, considering that, especially when it comes with a sort of justification to do things differently with part 2. The problem is, that none of these full rewrites are good. They're fanfic-level absurdities that fail to grasp what made the original beloved in the first place. It's as if they didn't truly understand why fans wanted a remake, or what they expected of it. Maybe they figured that sales of Kingdom Hearts 3 indicated that people wanted more of that absurd type of modern Square Enix storytelling? I'm grasping at straws here, trying to somehow understand what made this company throw one of their most highly valued and cherished title into the river to drown any future expectations.

    If I had Nojima's timey wimey powers vested within me, I would like to turn back time to the moment that the relevant staff at Square Enix decided to make these fatal decisions, and force them to defy fate. I wished this game nothing but success, but this company has once again managed to disappoint and, in a sense, infuriate. My biggest fear is that the rewrites will tarnish the original's legacy, especially for the newcomer audience that expected to hop into it with no prior experience. To them, it'll feel very disjointed, but probably cool due to the way it looks and plays. They won't be able to grasp what made the original a classic for the ages, however.
    That's a shame.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 10, 2020
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Most people knew that this wasn't going to be a shot-for-shot replica of the original game which is fine, but the ending to FF7R completely derails from the original to the point where semantics of what a 'remake' is becomes irrelevant. It uses the history and characters of the FF7 universe to start a brand new story on an alternate timeline. Characters that should be dead, no longer are so fundamental motivations and character arcs are out of the window. The next parts will be starting fresh and this should be extremely worrying to anyone who knows Squares recent history. Square no longer has the ability to create new stories that are coherent or interesting. This is why people were excited for a remake of a story that everyone already loved. They couldn't possibly screw this one up and yet they still have.

    Aside from the ending, there are plenty of other negatives too. Filler is a major problem. The side quests are almost all basic filler fetch quests. "Go here, kill x enemies, come back, go somewhere else, repeat." I've seen people defending this saying that you can't create a 30+ hour game without some padding. I don't understand this at all. Either make the game shorter or make the "padding" GOOD content. The game is much more linear than I expected. Almost every single walkable area in the game is a narrow corridor.
    The hybrid combat system is actually pretty good but there are big flaws in the AI. The enemies always agro on the character that the player is controlling and your allies do very little to help or defend themselves. This combination seems to be Squares way of ensuring that you switch characters often but it is so poorly executed and feels forced.
    The camera sucks in combat even with the recommended changes to the settings. You can't see what you're looking at half the time, especially if the enemy is above you.
    There is also a serious texture problem. The worst being looking down to the slums from the plate. I believe that this will be fixed in the day 1 patch though. It needs to be.

    It sucks to give this game such a low score. FF7 is my all time favourite and I really wanted this to succeed. The game gets some things right, and when it does, it absolutely nails them. But sadly there is just far too much crap surrounding it, that i'm left disappointed overall.
    Full Review »