Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Feb 10, 2016
    100
    But no more than slightly. Firewatch is strong enough in virtually every respect that it can afford to fall a little short of perfection here and there. That may be annoying to anyone who demands absolute perfection, but for everyone else, it means that this is an absolute must-buy.
  2. Feb 26, 2016
    95
    Even better than presenting its dangers, Firewatch presents the threat of danger. This is no feel-good summer beach read; this is a brutally beautiful and fragile story of people running from their problems—and problems running away from any tidy conclusions. This is the video game equivalent of a page turner, and adventure games have rarely been in finer form.
  3. Feb 8, 2016
    93
    Firewatch is amazing for many reasons, but above all because it’s an adult game that deals with serious issues, with realistic adult dialogue to match. And it deals with those issues just like actual adults would: sometimes with humor, sometimes with anger, and sometimes with sadness.
  4. Feb 8, 2016
    92
    Firewatch distinguishes itself through integrity of its structure and preservation of its characters. Allowing control over Henry and Delilah's perilous connection provides a sense of ownership over the narrative and creates an important bond between action and place. Other story-focused games suffer from a damaging disconnect between agency and intention, almost as if they don't trust the player to act reasonably in accountable situations. Firewatch proves this dynamic not only to be valuable, but necessary to go forward.
  5. Feb 26, 2016
    90
    Firewatch contains some of the greatest dialogue we've heard in a while. If you like story-driven games with minimalistic gameplay, you should definitely play Firewatch.
  6. Feb 8, 2016
    90
    Firewatch manages to keep you on the edge of the seat from the beginning to the end, even when you're performing mundane tasks as a ranger. It is thanks to the amazing and intriguing conversations with beautiful landscapes that this game gets the player on the hook.
  7. 90
    This is a rare game that tackles strong morals and emotions under the guise of a beautiful walk through the wilderness that always manages to keep you on your toes, a walk you’ll be hard pressed to ever forget.
  8. Feb 8, 2016
    90
    A stunning example of interactive storytelling, Firewatch's greatest success is making you feel like it's really happening to you. And the less you know about it going in, the more you'll enjoy it.
  9. Feb 11, 2016
    86
    Behind an amazing art direction and great dialogue lies the moving story of an ordinary man, lost in a forest and in his life. It's a survival game in the most profound way, the survival from the fires that burn inside our soul.
  10. Mar 7, 2016
    85
    Between its excellent dialogue, enchanting visual design and care handling delicate subject matter, Firewatch is one of my favorite narrative experiences of 2016 so far.
  11. Feb 11, 2016
    85
    Firewatch is at its best when it allows you just explore is captivating landscapes and spend some time on your own thinking about everything and nothing all at once.
  12. 85
    Firewatch really gets you thinking, plays on your emotions, and delivers a unique experience that stays with you long after the final credits roll.
  13. Feb 10, 2016
    82
    It's only about 4-5 hours in length and in some ways, that does feel too short given the amount of unanswered questions that continue to bounce around our brains. Still, the game offers one such a unique and palpable sense of tension, and it excels in the realm of pure immersion.
  14. Apr 2, 2016
    80
    Firewatch is a simple game that tells a simple, far from impactful, tale, which approaches greatness thanks to superb writing, acting and design work. Gameplay is kept light and straightforward, but is always engaging – befitting a game that revels in the unique storytelling potential of games. This is a new studio's debut title, but it bears the quality of a product made by a team of veterans who have a great deal more to offer.
  15. Feb 17, 2016
    80
    Firewatch is a fine way to spend a weekend. It’s one of those rare games that can be enjoyed with a friend or loved one simply spectating; it’s marathoning a few episodes of Lost. Terrific writing and voice work along with a gorgeous world outshine the game’s flaws and make for a game that sticks with you long after you’ve watched its closing credits.
  16. Feb 12, 2016
    80
    Through the grounded reality it portrays and simple jobs players are tasked with, Firewatch sneaks up and surprises you when it zeroes in on a powerful message about the human condition.
  17. Feb 10, 2016
    80
    Though Firewatch hiccuped and jerked its way to a rather flat ending, I’d recommend it all-the-same to anyone who just wants to get lost and explore a beautiful environment, meet a great cast of characters, and escape from the real world for a few hours.
  18. Feb 10, 2016
    80
    Firewatch is a fresh idea, with an excellent script and memorable dialogs. The walkie-talkie relationship between the protagonist and his boss, Delilah, is simply brilliant but the decisions we make has no real or coherent consequences and, therefore, the magic disappears.
  19. Feb 9, 2016
    80
    Campo Santo's debut adventure offers up a taut mystery built around two tremendously engaging characters.
  20. Feb 8, 2016
    80
    It's not perfect, but Firewatch is one of those games that thanks to an outstanding narrative will drag you into its world and make you forget about its imperfections.
  21. Feb 8, 2016
    80
    Firewatch is burdened by some technical issues with the PS4 version, although it offers such a solid narrative experience only paralleled by its dialogue, which is masterfully written and performed. The unfolding of the plot pushes you forward, paving Campo Santo's way as one of those studios you want to keep track of.
  22. Feb 8, 2016
    80
    Firewatch left me both disappointed but also pleased. The system performance on PS4 is a bummer and I can overlook it, as this is a game about its story and choices in dialog, so performance never affected my input to the gameplay. It just simply feels rough around the edges and it shows.
  23. Feb 8, 2016
    80
    Firewatch has a funny, surprisingly intelligent narrative all captured within a spectacular and grand setting that worth a picture or two. Even though there were some obvious performance issues with the PS4 version of the game, Firewatch is still more than worth playing, multiple times.
  24. Feb 8, 2016
    80
    Firewatch feels like a natural and smart evolution of the adventure game, offering choices without as many constraints, but at the same time expertly funneling players down a path.
  25. Feb 8, 2016
    80
    Firewatch is an incredible and excellent adventure. Despite some frame rate issues, Campo Santo’s first project is a must have for anybody in search of a solid and unforgettable story.
  26. Feb 8, 2016
    78
    Firewatch is for those gamers looking for something fresh or a slow-paced adventure. The result isn't perfect and it's clear that the studio still has a long way to go, but this is a good game and proof that you don't need a complicated narrative to tell a story that can captivate you from beginning to end.
  27. Feb 8, 2016
    78
    I played through the game once and was disappointed by its unsatisfactory ending. After running through it again and making different choices, I have a better appreciation for how well the dialog is crafted and delivered, even if the mystery’s resolution was just as flat the second time around. My initial feeling of “That’s it?” gave way to a bittersweet feeling that, just as in real life, “That’s it?” is sometimes all there is.
  28. Feb 11, 2016
    75
    While some players will probably enjoy Firewatch, others will find it very boring. Campo Santo's production will divide the audience, that's for sure. But we have to admit the game is below our expectations. With slightly stronger writing and some real choices with important consequences, Firewatch would have been something exceptional.
  29. Feb 9, 2016
    75
    Firewatch is a little, fascinating adventure, that fail to fully satisfy its potential.
  30. Apr 4, 2016
    70
    Firewatch is a brief but enjoyable experience set in a stunning and lovingly crafted environment, but there is no real ending – there’s simply the place where you stopped reading the story.
  31. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 31, 2016
    70
    Dares to ask us how we deal with mistakes. It’s a shame the answer it provides is flat and unfulfilling. [April 2016, p76]
  32. Mar 2, 2016
    70
    Firewatch is an odd game, not only because it’s an indie title with no combat whatsoever. The world is so beautiful and the first hour is pure gaming magic. But in the end the story feels a bit flat. However, the artwork alone makes it worth playing.
  33. Feb 16, 2016
    70
    Firewatch doesn't provide the same emotional heights or satisfying conclusion you'd expect from such a story-heavy game, but Campo Santo definitely shows promise with their debut project. Even if it won't have you reaching for the tissues by the end, this woodland walking simulator still provides a pretty great way to burn through an otherwise unoccupied afternoon.
  34. Feb 11, 2016
    70
    Firewatch is great little game among all the big productions this spring, as it only takes you four hours to experience this glitchy game world. It is a good adventure with a few emotional moments, but it simply does not impress as much as we were hoping for.
  35. Feb 8, 2016
    70
    I wasn’t really captivated by what I played in the end. The beautiful setting of the Wyoming forest and the dialogue between you and Delilah kept me wanting to progress the story, but it ended up falling flat at its conclusion.
  36. Feb 8, 2016
    70
    You already know if you are going to be buying Firewatch, and if you loved Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture or Life Is Strange then this is the game for you. It’s small, short and almost perfectly formed, it’s just the shame the game broke so many times when I was playing it. I’m hoping these problems can be found and fixed very quickly after launch and I would suggest holding off buying the game until a patch has been released, but until then we don’t have much of a choice but to mark an otherwise lovely game down due to the problems encountered.
  37. 70
    Despite featuring some awful stuttering and skipping, Campo Santo's Firewatch is one of the strongest debut projects in recent memory. The Olly Moss-designed world shines on screen, and the engaging relationship between Henry and Delilah elevates the story, even in the face of a weak closing act.
  38. Feb 8, 2016
    70
    Firewatch suffers from minor yet persistent technical issues on PS4: Every time the game autosaves or quietly loads a new section of the world, the framerate noticeably stutters. That means every few minutes, there's a second or two of chugging, which hinders the immersion in a game that thrives on atmosphere. I also experienced two crashes--one while playing, and one while in a loading screen between story chapters.
  39. Play UK
    Mar 25, 2016
    60
    Brilliantly written on a small scale, Firewatch creates believable and engaging characters but is let down by the nonsensical tale they become embroiled in. [Issue#267, p.68]
  40. Feb 12, 2016
    60
    In 4-5 hours time, we see and hear many beautiful things. And we feel that something is in the air. But even if there's some great lines and acting, stunning visuals and great audio, we can't help but feel that something is missing at the end to make this experience special.
  41. Feb 8, 2016
    60
    An absolutely beautiful game from new studio Campo Santos fails to nail its narrative ambitions.
  42. Feb 8, 2016
    60
    Firewatch has the embers of a great narrative-driven game, but it fails to ever ignite into a furnace. Unforgivable performance issues detract from the otherwise outstanding art direction, but it's the abrupt story and unconvincing characters that really douse the hype here. Campo Santo's inaugural outing starts incredibly strongly, but your alarm bells will be ringing long before it burns out without ever really sparking into life.
  43. 50
    The most bizarre narrative bait and switch in video game history, as a tense, emotional thriller sticks the worst landing since Eddie The Eagle.
  44. Feb 8, 2016
    50
    It's a shame that the game loses the player so early, and that it takes so much of its length to win one back.
  45. Feb 8, 2016
    40
    Firewatch probably should have been a short movie. Or a short story. Or a radio play. It should have been something other than a minimally interactive multi-hour first-person perspective videogame. It’s too modest an undertaking, too divorced from any meaningful player involvement. It is not the stuff of videogames. It doesn’t work.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 8, 2016
    For a game that takes place in such a wide-open wilderness, the actual story is almost claustrophobic in its quick pace and clipped storylines—a short story rather than a great American novel of rugged adventure in the remote mountain west. It's a shame, too, because by the time the game ended I was finally starting to be able to feel my way around Firewatch's unique landmarks and winding paths without relying on that map overly much.
  2. May 5, 2016
    Firewatch is undoubtedly beautiful, with its world seemingly hand-drawn and brimming with the yellows, oranges and browns of a Wyoming sunset. This backdrop, coupled with two characters that are remarkably believable and who take part in such genuine banter result in a package of truly immersive fiction.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 663 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 9, 2016
    0
    Played it for about 10 minutes on ps4 and cant deal with he performance issues. Will make you sick with its fluctuating frame rate. Avoid thisPlayed it for about 10 minutes on ps4 and cant deal with he performance issues. Will make you sick with its fluctuating frame rate. Avoid this game until they properly patch it. WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE BEFORE RELEASE. Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2016
    0
    hasnt been tested properly before release, i experienced a gamebreaker bug at day 77. not amused...

    other than that its just another
    hasnt been tested properly before release, i experienced a gamebreaker bug at day 77. not amused...

    other than that its just another Walking Simulator, nerdy Story, nerdy Humor, Zero gameplay
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2016
    8
    The game is wonderful, with a great story, solid sense of place, and two of the best characters i've seen in a game, it most certainly isn'tThe game is wonderful, with a great story, solid sense of place, and two of the best characters i've seen in a game, it most certainly isn't for everyone. For those who don't enjoy "Walking Simulators" (Gone Home, The Stanley Parable, Everybodys Gone to The Rapture) Firewatch won't do much to change your mind, but for those of us who do, it's a treat.

    I would give the game a 9-9.5, but until the performance issues are fixed, or at least treated somewhat, I don't feel comfortable giving the game any higher than an 8.
    Full Review »