Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Oct 31, 2019
    80
    Groundhog Day is a fun, mind-bending adventure that encourages trial and error. Its funny, witty and everything is presented in a pleasing manner. The VR implementation is good and I had zero issues throughout. Groundhog Day came from nowhere and really surprised me. I really enjoyed it.
  2. Sep 17, 2019
    80
    Groundhog Day Like Father Like is an entertaining follow-up to Bill Murray's classic movie, which replicates the successes of the film in a playable way. It is not especially long or innovative in the playable, but if you like the movie and experiences like Job Simulator, here is a good proposal.
  3. 70
    Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son is an enjoyable return to Punxsutawney in game form. The repetition is both an interesting concept and a bit of a pain, but you will appreciate it, and the VR shenanigans, as the scenarios develop.
  4. Sep 17, 2019
    70
    Like Father, Like Son is an interesting VR experience that mostly succeeds despite lacking the charm of the source material.
  5. 65
    Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son is primarily a superb adventure game occasionally stymied by overly finicky – and at times outright broken – minigames. At most times a stellar lighthearted VR romp with some grand heartfelt moments, Groundhog Day's charm subsides at times as players are forced to do minigames over and over to succeed. The superior writing and structure shine through, but expect some moments of frustration.
  6. Sep 25, 2019
    60
    With a script that’s got its moments, and some good, solid sarcasm from your protagonist, Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son tells an engaging story of cynicism lost and superficiality seen through. Some of its mini-games are best forgotten, and the problem of repeating dialogue is never completely sorted out, but as sequel to a film that seemingly defied follow-ups, this is a brave and at times entertaining result.
  7. Sep 25, 2019
    60
    Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son is a singular gaming experience, with time loops the player must replay again and again to change the course of events. It’s an interesting game but it lacks rhythm and interactions.
  8. Sep 17, 2019
    60
    Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son should be praised for its devotion to the source material and bravery in its expansive approach to a time-honored classic film, but it fails in certain glaring areas that may frustrate its audience.
  9. Sep 17, 2019
    60
    At the end of the day, this is a neat experiment that fans of the film will enjoy, but overall it fails to measure up to the source material.
  10. Sep 18, 2019
    59
    Too often, the gameplay and production values took away from the joy. I’m not sure if the developers were pressed for time or under budgetary restraints, but it just felt rushed and unpolished overall. Like I said before, it’s not so much that Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son is a totally bad game — it isn’t. It’s just really disappointing that it wasn’t a lot better.
  11. 50
    While I understand it’s trying to emulate the movie, this ultimately makes Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son not any fun to play. Having to repeat the same tedious, overly lengthy, and often difficult, minigames over and over is just not fun. While I can say I was impressed with the storytelling and voice acting, and it really did feel a lot of effort went into making the game feel just like the movie. I just wish it was actually fun to play.
  12. Sep 17, 2019
    40
    Unlike its protagonist, Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son shows little interest in forging its own identity. If you’re craving a return to Punxsutawney, rewatching the movie is a far more rewarding choice.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Sep 18, 2019
    1
    It should be noted that there is a lot of heavy cursing in the game, which wasn't expected as there was no cursing in the actual movie. My sonIt should be noted that there is a lot of heavy cursing in the game, which wasn't expected as there was no cursing in the actual movie. My son had been looking forward to this game for awhile as we are both fans of the movie. Now I've wasted the money and we won't be playing the game due to the constant vulgarity. Disappointed x 10 Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2020
    7
    The story was good, and the repeating days were neat. The look of the game defiantly degraded from the sad moments, but over all a greatThe story was good, and the repeating days were neat. The look of the game defiantly degraded from the sad moments, but over all a great experience if you get a good discount.

    Plus, @Jmack5, the game is literately rated M, not the company's fault, but your own.
    Full Review »