User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 12 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2016
    2
    A brilliant, fascinating game that is completely broken on PS4. Corrupted save files make the game unplayable, and the controls are ill-suited to a gamepad. I had moments of full-on childlike wonder playing KSP, and for astrophysics nerds this game has no equal, but this awful port of a great PC game is too unstable to play at length. I hope it gets patched, because a functional versionA brilliant, fascinating game that is completely broken on PS4. Corrupted save files make the game unplayable, and the controls are ill-suited to a gamepad. I had moments of full-on childlike wonder playing KSP, and for astrophysics nerds this game has no equal, but this awful port of a great PC game is too unstable to play at length. I hope it gets patched, because a functional version of this game deserves a 9/10. I've had it a month now, and still no patch. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2016
    2
    Absolutely wonderful game, with all the great features you'd expect from the PC version. The controls can be a bit unwieldy at times, but you learn to overcome that pretty quickly; even the building aspect becomes second-nature after an hour or two.

    Which brings me to my negative review: it's difficult to play for more than an hour or two because the game crashes and corrupts all of
    Absolutely wonderful game, with all the great features you'd expect from the PC version. The controls can be a bit unwieldy at times, but you learn to overcome that pretty quickly; even the building aspect becomes second-nature after an hour or two.

    Which brings me to my negative review: it's difficult to play for more than an hour or two because the game crashes and corrupts all of your save files after a few hours. A complete wipe is catastrophic if you're trying to do anything more than orbit and (if you're lucky) land on the Mun. Space stations, satellites, science all get wiped. It is even more frustrating in career mode, which is effectively non-playable in its current iteration. An update fixing this issue would result in a 9/10 review from me, but I can't get behind this current version. Back to the PC for me.
    Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2016
    3
    The game is fun BUT (HUGE BUT) the game crashes and data gets corrupted which forces me to start over from the beginning of the game. Luckily I have only gone an hour or two in the game but I feel really bad for those who have invested so much time in this game only for the game to crash and forces them to start over. It's a very frustrating problem and obviously game-breaking. Until thisThe game is fun BUT (HUGE BUT) the game crashes and data gets corrupted which forces me to start over from the beginning of the game. Luckily I have only gone an hour or two in the game but I feel really bad for those who have invested so much time in this game only for the game to crash and forces them to start over. It's a very frustrating problem and obviously game-breaking. Until this bug gets fixed, I am not playing this game again. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2016
    0
    I have been playing for about 10 hours now and all i can say is this game is crap. I played on the PC and its absolutely the best game ever. The PS4 version crashes, doesn't save correctly, has buggy UI, not to mention that rockets are impossible to get into a stable orbit because the controls are **** When building rockets you cant even zoom out so the size of rockets you can make areI have been playing for about 10 hours now and all i can say is this game is crap. I played on the PC and its absolutely the best game ever. The PS4 version crashes, doesn't save correctly, has buggy UI, not to mention that rockets are impossible to get into a stable orbit because the controls are **** When building rockets you cant even zoom out so the size of rockets you can make are extremely limited. This is a cash grab by the developers and quite frankly its a waste of time if not on PC. DONT BUY!!!! Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2016
    0
    I just landed on the Mun, but the game crashed and have to do it over again. Tried again, just left the atmosphere, but the game crashes again. Tried another go at it and almost made a full orbit around planet Kerbin but hey guess what? The game crashes AGAIN. But oh no on top of that all of my save files for KSP are now corrupted so now I have to start completely over. I can expect aboutI just landed on the Mun, but the game crashed and have to do it over again. Tried again, just left the atmosphere, but the game crashes again. Tried another go at it and almost made a full orbit around planet Kerbin but hey guess what? The game crashes AGAIN. But oh no on top of that all of my save files for KSP are now corrupted so now I have to start completely over. I can expect about half a dozen crashes in a single sitting of playing this "video game" And here I think its maybe my ps4 but all of my friends and many I have discussed the issue with on reddit and various gaming forums have experienced very similar if not the same exact issues. The game as of right now is literally unplayable. A broken piece of garbage being pawned off as something of any value whatsoever. Please for the love of all that is good in this world do not buy this piss poor attempt at a pc to console port. You would be wasting your money on alot of dissappointment. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2016
    1
    It's a wonderful, wonderful game. The problem is it is riddled with bugs. At any moment you could, lose all saved progress, have the game simply crash or get trapped in some kind of view only hell ! It's not occasional either, it's pretty much every 20 minutes for me. Totally unplayable. Someone at Sony or flying tiger, must have known they were releasing the game in this state. Shame onIt's a wonderful, wonderful game. The problem is it is riddled with bugs. At any moment you could, lose all saved progress, have the game simply crash or get trapped in some kind of view only hell ! It's not occasional either, it's pretty much every 20 minutes for me. Totally unplayable. Someone at Sony or flying tiger, must have known they were releasing the game in this state. Shame on them, I have already asked for a full refund. When it is fixed, I will be really excited to give it another try. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2016
    0
    I created a metacritic account to review this game to save you $40. I have over 1,000 hours on the PC version of Kerbal and it is an extreme blast. This PS4 game had potential. I got it because I love my PS4 and my computer is getting old. Played it all weekend and despite the poor reviews, it worked very well. Then, after several hours of work in career mode (taking care not to make shipsI created a metacritic account to review this game to save you $40. I have over 1,000 hours on the PC version of Kerbal and it is an extreme blast. This PS4 game had potential. I got it because I love my PS4 and my computer is getting old. Played it all weekend and despite the poor reviews, it worked very well. Then, after several hours of work in career mode (taking care not to make ships with very many parts and tempt the game to break) the game crashes and all my saved data is erased. I waited two months for a patch or update but even after the PC 1.2 update there is no PS4 update (there is one for Xbox One but it seems to not be working either). This game can be enjoyable but you can only play for about an hour at a time before it crashes and erases your saves. I just tried to get a refund from the PlayStation story but they won't do it after 30 days so if you do get it and this save wipe issue occurs, get your money back quickly! Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2019
    3
    This game is in an unacceptable state. Every aspect of it is glitched. You want to get your spaceship off a launch pad? Glitch. You want to take a temperature measurement? Glitch. You want to revert a flight? Glitch. It is almost as if no one from the studio will ever touch the thing to test or fix it. Little to no QA on this. I would recommend avoiding, if you hate being frustrated byThis game is in an unacceptable state. Every aspect of it is glitched. You want to get your spaceship off a launch pad? Glitch. You want to take a temperature measurement? Glitch. You want to revert a flight? Glitch. It is almost as if no one from the studio will ever touch the thing to test or fix it. Little to no QA on this. I would recommend avoiding, if you hate being frustrated by incompetent game designers whom take advantage of consumer's wallets. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Aug 22, 2016
    42
    What I can't overlook, however, is all the evidence that no matter how great Kerbal Space Program may be on PC, it just doesn't belong on consoles.
  2. Aug 11, 2016
    73
    A great game but not the best port that we've seen due it's awful controls and the lack of modding on the console versions.
  3. 60
    Kerbal Space Program is a fantastic game but one that you should play on PC. I can forgive some of the control issues because of the limitations of the platform but we’ve seen other developers do intuitive controls for games designed initially for PC like Divinity: Original Sin and even Blizzard’s Diablo III. Imagine buying a great physics text book but only being able to read it while using oven mitts to turn the pages. That is Kerbal Space Program on PlayStation 4.