User Score
0.3

Overwhelming dislike- based on 5779 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Bugs and glitches everywhere. Animations are broken. Realism? Yeah, forget about that. And Franchise is still so barebones that I just can't bear playing it. Fix this game. We deserve better than whatever this is.
  2. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This is criminal to have put out a game this awful. Being the only NFL simulation football game on the market it is absurd that EA Sports somehow got their exclusivity renewed by putting out garbage year in and year out. This game’s focus is on microtransactions and has been for years. The release was a debacle with so many server issues and to top it off, not only does it have the sameThis is criminal to have put out a game this awful. Being the only NFL simulation football game on the market it is absurd that EA Sports somehow got their exclusivity renewed by putting out garbage year in and year out. This game’s focus is on microtransactions and has been for years. The release was a debacle with so many server issues and to top it off, not only does it have the same glitches as in years’ past, but it has also introduced new ones, like no lines on the field, rainbow-coloured coaches to name a few. If this game didn’t have the NFL license, no one would think twice of buying this rubbish. So sad we have been subjected to such trash. I hope one day we are treated with a simulation football game with the NFL license that we deserve. One that does not rely on scripting and animations.. a franchise that is engaging.. game modes that were part of the game over ten years ago.. a game that shows it was made with CARE!!! One can only hope. Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This is a new low for Madden NFL. This game claims to be a simulation title but it makes no attempt to be simulation and replicate real football. They have neglected their core audience in an attempt to attract new players and have failed at making those modes fun and entertaining. The game is full of bugs and lacks any depth to keep players coming back for more. The ratings in the gameThis is a new low for Madden NFL. This game claims to be a simulation title but it makes no attempt to be simulation and replicate real football. They have neglected their core audience in an attempt to attract new players and have failed at making those modes fun and entertaining. The game is full of bugs and lacks any depth to keep players coming back for more. The ratings in the game indicate that the rating adjusters don't watch the games or at least cannot evaluate what is happening on the field. Every year Madden looks like a rushed product and this year is no different. I genuinely hope EA learns from their mistake and don't put out another game this bad. Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    I play exclusively franchise mode. No changes or improvements made to the mode so there’s no reason for me to buy the game this year. I’ve officially retired from Madden. I tried to stick it out thru Madden 20 but realized after 2 seasons of CFM it wasn’t a good game. Learning from my mistakes early this year.
  5. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    I’ve bought madden every year for the last 20 years. No more. This game is a joke. EA should be embarrassed. How you can’t make a decent franchise mode in 2020 is beyond me. All they care about is MUT. It has ruined madden. There is no immersion to this game. It feels completely stale. I’m honestly more sad than mad. I love football but I can’t buy this game.
  6. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Copy and paste of madden 20. Same glitches that plagued madden for countless years. No excuse for the lack of care put into this product. EA is the laughing stock of sports games, and has been for years. I wish there was a way to rate this - 1 because it isn't even worthy of a zero.
  7. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Absolutely terrible game! Riddled with glitches and bugs.. Face of the franchise is ridiculously bland, cheesy and just plain bad! Classic Franchise is literally a cut paste from madden 20 and still is many years behind where it should be and still does not have better scouting, team building coaching carousel. The newest mode the yard is fun for first 5 minutes then you realize what aAbsolutely terrible game! Riddled with glitches and bugs.. Face of the franchise is ridiculously bland, cheesy and just plain bad! Classic Franchise is literally a cut paste from madden 20 and still is many years behind where it should be and still does not have better scouting, team building coaching carousel. The newest mode the yard is fun for first 5 minutes then you realize what a ridiculous concept for a “simulation football game” to make a arcade game! Expand
  8. Aug 27, 2020
    1
    I almost feel guilty giving this game a 1, but I will say SOME of the new animations within the gameplay engine are improved — at least when there isn't a glitch or bug to take you out of the moment, which happens a lot.

    So why do I almost feel guilty for the 1? Because in the micro-step forward Madden 21 took in its gameplay engine, it took giant leaps backwards in every other
    I almost feel guilty giving this game a 1, but I will say SOME of the new animations within the gameplay engine are improved — at least when there isn't a glitch or bug to take you out of the moment, which happens a lot.

    So why do I almost feel guilty for the 1? Because in the micro-step forward Madden 21 took in its gameplay engine, it took giant leaps backwards in every other department.

    "Micro" being the key word.

    Aside from the plethora of absurd bugs, glitches, and inexcusable typos (Any "Seahacks" fans out there?), Franchise Mode has, also inexcusably, been untouched with the exception of the NFL's updated playoff structure, which is merely a patch.

    For fans who want simulation football, and Madden being the only simulation football game they can get their hands on, EA Sports should be ashamed of the unpolished, uninspiring, and completely unchanged game mode, Classic Franchise, that gives consumers a "simulation" experience.

    This gets us back to "micro."

    No one can deny the game modes that got the most amount of attention are Madden Ultimate Team and the new mode called The Yard. Why? Because those modes depend entirely on microtransactions.

    With the revenue Madden pulls in from microtransactions, from a capitalistic perspective, of course that's where the company is going to allocate their resources.

    But if arcade football that entices you to gamble your money away isn't your thing, why in the name of John Madden should EA be allowed to have an exclusive deal with the NFL to be the only simulation game, if they continue to grossly undeliver a simulation franchise mode?

    The answer is: They shouldn't be.

    EA should not be allowed to monopolize simulation football if they're going to continue delivering an underwhelming product to paying consumers who want an authentic simulation experience ripe with broadcast presentation you'd actually see on TV and fun features that were removed over a decade ago. (See YouTube and hop on social if you want specific examples. The #FixMaddenFranchise community has done an incredible job of putting together a solid case).

    Consumers deserve better. The NFL deserves better. NFL players deserve better.

    Unfortunately, microtransactions have ruined the Madden franchise.

    We're not going to see a better Franchise mode until gambling and microtransactions are removed from the game — and who knows when that will be.

    If you're looking for simulation football with a franchise mode that brings you back to the NFL 2K5 glory days, when Madden actually had competition, Madden NFL 21 is not your answer this year.

    Nor has it been for several years.

    And that's just sad.

    On a micro and macro level.
    Expand
  9. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This game is plagued with issues, menu slow downs, graphical glitches, same broken physics engine where weird stuff breaks in game... Literally all the focus on this year's game was anything but franchise mode. It's the exact same as madden 20, no additional features. This is a sad reminder of what happens without
  10. Aug 29, 2020
    0
    This is the worst release of Madden in the history of the franchise. What Trip Hawkins, founder of EA must think of the game and the shameful pretence to be simulation when the game couldn’t be further away from that, I have no idea. Madden 04-12 had a better franchise mode than anything we’ve seen in the last 9 years. When I load up an old Madden it’s painful to go to the latest versionThis is the worst release of Madden in the history of the franchise. What Trip Hawkins, founder of EA must think of the game and the shameful pretence to be simulation when the game couldn’t be further away from that, I have no idea. Madden 04-12 had a better franchise mode than anything we’ve seen in the last 9 years. When I load up an old Madden it’s painful to go to the latest version and experience the wasteland of franchise mode. I don’t know if this game can even be turned around at this stage. Madden is going the way of NBA Live. Expand
  11. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    They are selling you an update for madden 20 that cost $60. Classic EA scam.
  12. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    I’d be easier to say what’s good



    There jerseys sometimes look nice,
    The end
  13. Aug 26, 2020
    1
    Holy disappointing, not sure what's going on but one of the biggest properties is been just re skinned for another year.
  14. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Enough is enough, EA. For more than a decade you’ve been slacking on this game series, constantly neglecting the fans. Now You’re just clowning us. As an example; we’ve been asking you for years to add mouthguards, but it was not possible you told us. However now you add them in the yard where you can buy it for real money, BUT NOT IN THE REAL SIM GAME??? - Furthermore, completelyEnough is enough, EA. For more than a decade you’ve been slacking on this game series, constantly neglecting the fans. Now You’re just clowning us. As an example; we’ve been asking you for years to add mouthguards, but it was not possible you told us. However now you add them in the yard where you can buy it for real money, BUT NOT IN THE REAL SIM GAME??? - Furthermore, completely neglecting franchise, gameplay, well actually anything that doesn’t involve microtransactions. Goddamn disgrace. Money grab game, that's all it is. Don’t clown yourselves, save the 60 dollars Expand
  15. Aug 27, 2020
    1
    Same ol same ol with more glitches. When are they going to redo their game engine. Way to many problems with it.
  16. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Played during EA Play days. It was littered with bugs and glitches. It's like nobody touched the game outside of a few new features they added into the game. Bugs and glitches go all the way from my first game having my player being completely invisible, to having dropped passes touch the ground for the opposing team to pick it up and run it for a touchdown, spelling is bad throughout,Played during EA Play days. It was littered with bugs and glitches. It's like nobody touched the game outside of a few new features they added into the game. Bugs and glitches go all the way from my first game having my player being completely invisible, to having dropped passes touch the ground for the opposing team to pick it up and run it for a touchdown, spelling is bad throughout, literally the same exact franchise as every year prior, game crashing on boot up on PC and never happening again, old textures from last years game in arena stadiums, and I could go on forever. I do somewhat enjoy The Yard, and honestly its my favorite mode this year. I played over 247 hours on franchise mode in last years Madden and I honestly CANNOT go through another franchise with the same amount of hours because of how stale it is. This game is far beyond anything simulation, morphing as you fall to the ground to grab an interception, Super human AI always touching the ball after a ball gets tipped, new pass rush is a joke as you watch your defender lay out a blocker but watch the blocker jump right back up because the game wants you to fail, All-Pro is too easy, All Madden is too unfair, your AI defenders get stuck from moving during interceptions, in face the franchise even though I am "Unlocking" traits they are not unlocking at all for me in the game, I'm watching players get kicked from my team in franchise and completely disappear from the game. I could go ON AND ON on how bad this game is. I completely understand that COVID can make the game buggy and unplayable to an extent, but this just shows how lazy EA is when it comes to their sports game. And a lot of these issues have been in since last year! They literally add one or two small features in the game, slap a new year and cover player then call it a day. Do yourself a favor and stop supporting this nonsense so we can actually get competition back into the NFL franchise. Having MUT be the main focus every year is just a big slap to the fans who would like a simulation-based football game. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT BUY. Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    They haven’t changed the game since 2013, franchise is still the bland unimpressive mode it’s been the past couple years yet it’s the mode EA cashed millions on to retain the rights of it. All the other Arcade modes are filled with glitches and micro transactions. FOTF is incredibly cheesy and doesn’t even take into account what your player has done to craft the story. Horrible game from aThey haven’t changed the game since 2013, franchise is still the bland unimpressive mode it’s been the past couple years yet it’s the mode EA cashed millions on to retain the rights of it. All the other Arcade modes are filled with glitches and micro transactions. FOTF is incredibly cheesy and doesn’t even take into account what your player has done to craft the story. Horrible game from a horrible company. Expand
  18. Aug 27, 2020
    1
    Forget the fact the game is copy and pasted from the year before with little effort or passion put into it each new release. Forget that an otherwise cool game mode, MUT, is absolutely ruined by being ridiculously Pay to Win with the gambling card packs. Forget that Franchise Mode hasn't had a meaningful upgrade in years and instead has had features stripped from it little by littleForget the fact the game is copy and pasted from the year before with little effort or passion put into it each new release. Forget that an otherwise cool game mode, MUT, is absolutely ruined by being ridiculously Pay to Win with the gambling card packs. Forget that Franchise Mode hasn't had a meaningful upgrade in years and instead has had features stripped from it little by little until now, where it is a shell of a game mode.

    Forget all that. The thing that matters most right now is the game is just an unpolished, buggy mess and it's the only NFL game allowed to be made. That's why you shouldn't buy this game. You should not support and justify EA having the exclusive simulation rights to make an NFL game when they are making 100s of millions of dollars on it every year and they can't even take the time to make sure the core game is a quality, polished, finished product.

    They've obviously put what little money and man hours the devs are allowed to use on improving this game into the release of a new game mode, which of course, was created to sell microtransactions instead offering a fun experience to the consumer who just spent $60 on a broken, lifeless game that has less than a 1 year life span.
    Expand
  19. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    This is a good game if you are a fan of bad games. I don't want new game modes and ultimate team packs. I just want an NFL football simulation that is worth paying $60 for, and a decent franchise mode.
  20. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Absolutely terrible game. Same glitches that have been around for years. Terrible AI. AI fails time do basic football knowledge. Franchise mode is garbage and they chose to waste more time on the Yard mode than the actual game. Don’t waste your money on this game. I’ve been a madden supporter for years but it’s time for us to send a message to the NFL that we need competition. CompetitionAbsolutely terrible game. Same glitches that have been around for years. Terrible AI. AI fails time do basic football knowledge. Franchise mode is garbage and they chose to waste more time on the Yard mode than the actual game. Don’t waste your money on this game. I’ve been a madden supporter for years but it’s time for us to send a message to the NFL that we need competition. Competition leads to better products Expand
  21. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    I have never done this before and I created an account just for this. The game is terrible arguably the worse game I have ever played. It sucks on every level. I did not like Madden 20 but in 24 hours I want my refund. Everything is wrong , the defenders will sit and watch the ballcarrier run right by them defenders will stop running in a middle of the play because they are out o staminaI have never done this before and I created an account just for this. The game is terrible arguably the worse game I have ever played. It sucks on every level. I did not like Madden 20 but in 24 hours I want my refund. Everything is wrong , the defenders will sit and watch the ballcarrier run right by them defenders will stop running in a middle of the play because they are out o stamina the physics are more broke than usual. Big rigs might be a more polished game than this. I do not have to get started on CFM. We all know it's a disaster. Anyone who says there is nothing wrongg with the game Is either insane or paid by EA. I regret purchasing this atrocity of a "game". Madden 21 is an insult to anyone who calls themselves a football fan and an insult to anyone who Calls themselves a gamer. Before this game I would have said Madden 20 is the worse game I ever played but Madden 21 takes the cake. The grind for MUT is so unreal it's like I have part time job because I refuse to drop hundreds on an online casino to b competitive. Pokemon fire red is a better game than this on every level. In squads the only way you can play QB is if you snap the ball under enter. I will digress because I assume I have lost the reader but I cannot in good conscious tell anyone to purchase this disgrace of a "game" I hope everyone at Madden and EA know that one day all the chickens will come home to roost Expand
  22. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Yeah, I've never review bombed, but EA deserves this. I'm sure the 10s combating these bombs are from people who enjoy the game. Nothing inherently wrong with that. However, I care about gaming and the industry as a whole and what EA has done for the last 10 years is a complete joke. They don't have to make a whole new game every year, but they need to have a good foundation. Madden hasntYeah, I've never review bombed, but EA deserves this. I'm sure the 10s combating these bombs are from people who enjoy the game. Nothing inherently wrong with that. However, I care about gaming and the industry as a whole and what EA has done for the last 10 years is a complete joke. They don't have to make a whole new game every year, but they need to have a good foundation. Madden hasnt had a good foundation for years and they have had plenty of feedback. They just know they don't have to listen. Consider F1 or even 2K, the latter of which has the same microtransaction models, the foundation is still there to enjoy. You can have a great experience without that stuff. Maybe people like MUT, thats fine. But the core Madden experience is bad. I cant expect a game to be perfect, but I need it to have enough redeeming qualities to accept the flaws. Madden hasn't accomplished this baseline in years. Expand
  23. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Game is trash, playing Madden 18 every year... They repackage same game and charge us 90
  24. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. EA continues to ignore customers & release a lazy effort of a game with too many issues once again Expand
  25. Aug 26, 2020
    1
    There is football in this game. Aside from that there's a lot of gambling, glitches, and stagnation. If you like this game for MUT, avoid gacha games.
  26. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Ea sports have flat out refused to touch the franchise mode in this game. Face of the franchise is the worst piece of storytelling I have ever seen, you could find more realistic storylines from a $1 book from the library. The yard is a shallow game mode designed to help ea suck more money out of this game. Mut is the same play to win cash grab it has always been. Do yourself a favour andEa sports have flat out refused to touch the franchise mode in this game. Face of the franchise is the worst piece of storytelling I have ever seen, you could find more realistic storylines from a $1 book from the library. The yard is a shallow game mode designed to help ea suck more money out of this game. Mut is the same play to win cash grab it has always been. Do yourself a favour and do not buy this game. Roger goodell please terminate the contract between you and ea sports. Expand
  27. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    The worst Madden yet. 15 years of NFL license exclusivity and no competition has led us to this point. EA only cares about MUT and micro transactions, Franchise Mode was far better back in Madden 2005. Do yourself a favour and buy that or NFL2K5 off eBay instead of this garbage. #boycottMadden
  28. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Don't buy. Just download the roster on the community page. It's just the same game. They'll gladly take your money on mut and you'll never see those resources used on the game. No changes to franchise mode. Added an arcade mode in a game that has simulation exclusive rights just because 2k got rights. Keep getting robbed.
  29. A1k
    Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Absolutely horrid game Franchise is exactly the same as 20, MUT is the same ole same ole garbage, The game has a plethora of Bugs and Glitches ect. This game is not worth your money please do not waste your money on it!
  30. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    I have lost my faith in EA to deliver a half decent football game. I have fallen for EA's marketing scheme for far too long and I'm just done getting my hopes up. I continue to buy this game because I hope to experience how it feels to be part of the National Football League but instead I get the typical EA experience. And sad truth is that I actually think the developers at EA want toI have lost my faith in EA to deliver a half decent football game. I have fallen for EA's marketing scheme for far too long and I'm just done getting my hopes up. I continue to buy this game because I hope to experience how it feels to be part of the National Football League but instead I get the typical EA experience. And sad truth is that I actually think the developers at EA want to give us a good game but maybe they are not capable of doing so. In conclusion I'm buying two copies of 2k's next football game. Expand
  31. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    An atrocious football simulation game. EA has greatly expanded the number of game modes in Madden over the past couple of years at the detriment to the depth and immersion of all modes in the game. This game added no features to its already anemic franchise mode and it features many bugs upon release such as rainbow colored coaches, players wearing the wrong college jerseys in FOTF, andAn atrocious football simulation game. EA has greatly expanded the number of game modes in Madden over the past couple of years at the detriment to the depth and immersion of all modes in the game. This game added no features to its already anemic franchise mode and it features many bugs upon release such as rainbow colored coaches, players wearing the wrong college jerseys in FOTF, and blank fields that have no sidelines or hash marks, just to name a very select few. The Yard serves only as an excuse to monetize the game further. Face of the Franchise has a pathetically cringey story. Even Ultimate Team has atrociously laggy menus that make it completely unbearable to endure. Many gameplay and AI flaws from previous titles have continued into this one as well. You can only get so much fun from such broken gameplay. Please do not give EA $60 or more for this piss poor effort. Expand
  32. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Same game but actually WORSE. Gameplay is trash and scripted. The only things this game cares about are microtransactions. Spend your money ELSEWHERE
  33. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This game is straight up unplayable, somehow to an even greater degree than the previous few Madden titles. There is still no user control of your players; they get pulled into animations depending on which predetermined outcome the game has scripted. Players still don't know football fundamentals, like how to run a route, cover, or block. In fairness, it's hard to learn footballThis game is straight up unplayable, somehow to an even greater degree than the previous few Madden titles. There is still no user control of your players; they get pulled into animations depending on which predetermined outcome the game has scripted. Players still don't know football fundamentals, like how to run a route, cover, or block. In fairness, it's hard to learn football fundamentals when the laws of physics in your universe aren't even respected, and players routinely shift and warp through each other. There are more egregious and game-breaking glitches than ever before, but maybe a prospective buyer can overlook the awful and broken gameplay now that there are also more microtransactions than ever before. EA is no longer even trying anymore to hide its contempt for its customers. Expand
  34. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This game is atrocious. Same game as Madden 20, which was a bad game. Franchise mode has been the same for years. All they added was pass rush moves and the yard. This game should be a 6 max. I’m giving it a 0 because EA has ran out of excuses in my eyes. Do not buy!!!!
  35. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Broken game, same game, encouraging children to gamble, no attempt at improvements, have not tried to improve for years, games on previous console are superior.
  36. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    I can't justifiably give this game anything other than a 0 because it simply doesn't work. There are so many visual and gameplay bugs that it honestly feels unfinished. This year's Face of the Franchise mode is atrocious, with poor voice acting and a story that doesn't make a lick of sense. The menus are ridiculously slow in MUT, and Franchise remains basically unchanged from last year.I can't justifiably give this game anything other than a 0 because it simply doesn't work. There are so many visual and gameplay bugs that it honestly feels unfinished. This year's Face of the Franchise mode is atrocious, with poor voice acting and a story that doesn't make a lick of sense. The menus are ridiculously slow in MUT, and Franchise remains basically unchanged from last year. EA's touted The Yard mode shows potential, but was broken and unplayable when I tried it.

    This is by far the worst Madden I've played in over a decade, and I've already returned the game. Do yourself a favor by avoiding it and demanding better from EA. #FixMaddenFranchise
    Expand
  37. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    All these years we’ve begged EA to make a better product and every year they find a way to slap us in the face. This is a glorified 60 dollar patch. The NFL needs to reconsider their exclusivity deal if this is the best EA has to offer. Pathetic and Lazy. Also you introduce gambling children to Gambling with MUT. PS: It’s not surprise mechanics it’s called selling gambling to children.All these years we’ve begged EA to make a better product and every year they find a way to slap us in the face. This is a glorified 60 dollar patch. The NFL needs to reconsider their exclusivity deal if this is the best EA has to offer. Pathetic and Lazy. Also you introduce gambling children to Gambling with MUT. PS: It’s not surprise mechanics it’s called selling gambling to children. Belgium called what you do illegal and taking advantage of kids and took your company to court for it. You have a responsibility to your consumers to make a better product and if you don’t believe that let alone do the bare minimum go away, there is something inherently wrong when I and many others can go back to the older generations of consoles and find a better product. To those wanting to buy this game DO NOT BUY THIS GAME it’s not worth the price tag let alone what it represents. There was no love put in this game it’s a soulless game. Expand
  38. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    I don't know what to say, the game is awful! EA should be ashamed of this game, but they are proud of it. How can you keep making this game so bad when you used to make this game so good?? You would think that with all the technology the game would be awesome, but that's not the case with Madden anymore, it keeps getting worse and worse.
  39. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spoiler alert! This game is hot garbage! Franchise was ignored, yet again. Then the roll out of the game for online was a complete disaster. Paid $100 to get the game early with all those extra MUT packs? Well sorry, the game isn't giving you those packs right now. Want to be able to see the yard markers? Well that isn't happening. The only fun thing is you get FIFA 21 added to the game for free.Just another money grab from EA. Expand
  40. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Same game as previous years with no upgrades. They created more bugs as shown all over youtube. They mispelled the Seahawks. They changed the logo for Titans and Texans to the Vikings logo. Did not fix pursuit lanes, or OL blocking. Still animation based, so no physics at all. Refused to release any gameplay before launch, because of how bad the game is. Madden claims to be an NFLSame game as previous years with no upgrades. They created more bugs as shown all over youtube. They mispelled the Seahawks. They changed the logo for Titans and Texans to the Vikings logo. Did not fix pursuit lanes, or OL blocking. Still animation based, so no physics at all. Refused to release any gameplay before launch, because of how bad the game is. Madden claims to be an NFL Simulator, but has put 0 effort into simulation. It has now been broken for 6 years, and the only thing that gets any development, is MUT. (EA is now being sued over FUT and MUT due to it's predatory child gambling). Ultimately, it's the exact same game, but they created more bugs and didn't test anything. They promised it will be better in 22 though... just like they said in 18, 19, and 20... This is a cash grab, plain and simple. Anyone rating this game better than a 0, is getting paid. This game has been universally hated by everyone, which is why EA sent out a video a month ago, explaining why it's bad and to try recover their lost pre-orders. Pathetic. Expand
  41. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    The game is pretty much a copy of Madden 20, with 1 new mode(the yard) added. Franchise mode is unchanged, gameplay is just as bad, and glitches are not fixed. This game is worth $5 tops. The other new mode, face of the franchise, is the worst story mode I have ever seen. What you do has no impact on the storyline, and the story itself isn’t even good, it is corny and unrealistic. Just goThe game is pretty much a copy of Madden 20, with 1 new mode(the yard) added. Franchise mode is unchanged, gameplay is just as bad, and glitches are not fixed. This game is worth $5 tops. The other new mode, face of the franchise, is the worst story mode I have ever seen. What you do has no impact on the storyline, and the story itself isn’t even good, it is corny and unrealistic. Just go buy madden 20 for like 5 bucks, this update is not worth it. Expand
  42. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This game is boring. Full of glitches. Also franchise mode literally hasn't been touched since Madden 13. There is no depth or replayability whatsoever
  43. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    A new year of madden no improvements to franchise. Gameplay sucks they didn't make any improvements on actual gameplay back in the day it seemed they were always trying to make gameplay better it does not feel like simulation football at all. It feels like arcade football. Loaded with glitches even a name was spelled wrong. It's time for EA to get rid of all the SJW lib tards that workA new year of madden no improvements to franchise. Gameplay sucks they didn't make any improvements on actual gameplay back in the day it seemed they were always trying to make gameplay better it does not feel like simulation football at all. It feels like arcade football. Loaded with glitches even a name was spelled wrong. It's time for EA to get rid of all the SJW lib tards that work for them. Expand
  44. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is an atrocity. Franchise mode has been abysmal for the last 8 years. Like please give us offline gamers a reason to buy the game. Let us relocate/rebrand. Let us sign assistant coaches. Let us meet with and ask college players questions before the draft to see if they fit in with how we want to build our team!!! Another issue, why does the 2nd preseason game have the same exact energy has a Week 17 game against a rival with the division on the line??? Why isn’t there a halftime show with more highlights and analysts discussing what teams or players could be doing better or what players have been playing well? I’m sure Menefee, Bradshaw, Long, Strahan and Johnson would love to be in the game! For god sakes get rid or this commentary team. Give us Nantz and Romo. Face of the Franchise is horrible. Flat out horrible. How are you going to market the combine to us and then have the 40 yard dash be a cut scene!? Saying the story itself is cringeworthy is giving it too much credit. It stinks! No matter how good or bad you play, you always seem to get drafted by the Bears? Where’s the fun in playing if it’s preset to where you go? Next, the presentation hasn’t changed over the last 4 years!!! The Super Bowl celebration has been virtually identical since 2017! One of my biggest gripes with this game (and Madden in general for current-gen) other than how bad Franchise is, has been the immersion aspect. I’ve owned every Madden since ‘03. EA needs to explain how Maddens on PS2 and PS3 have been far better and far more fun than the PS4 installments! For the life of me I just don’t understand why we can’t get a real career mode!! How we play in college and the combine should affect our ranking on draft boards. How sick would it be if they had NFL analysts sitting at a desk at the draft talking about your player and his college stats and combine on the night of the draft!!?!? Have your college player meet with teams and their coaches to discuss how well you fit in before draft night!! Scouting just needs a complete overhaul. Blocking needs to be overhauled. I don’t need my TE running past an untouched LB to block a safety 15 yards down field on a stretch play. Then you have little things like typos, grammatical errors, glitches. Really? Madden 21 is an unfinished product. Tbh I think they should’ve skipped the current gen version and put all of their efforts into the PS5 and new Xbox installments of the game. But based off the fact they’ve wasted an entire generation of consoles with the Maddens for PS4 and Xbox 1 I don’t have high hopes for next-gen. Expand
  45. Aug 26, 2020
    1
    No improvement to franchise mode at all. Gameplay is the same as last but with more bugs and glitches. The Yard doesn't even work.
  46. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Madden 21 is just another sad wasted year for simulation football fans. Look, maybe you haven't played a football game in a decade, it might be ok for you then, or maybe you just play MUT, it might be ok for you then, but for the simulation faithful that have been buying this game as the only simulation football option for 16 years it simply isn't ok. Do yourself a favor, even if you hateMadden 21 is just another sad wasted year for simulation football fans. Look, maybe you haven't played a football game in a decade, it might be ok for you then, or maybe you just play MUT, it might be ok for you then, but for the simulation faithful that have been buying this game as the only simulation football option for 16 years it simply isn't ok. Do yourself a favor, even if you hate baseball go try the Show 20. Its opened my eyes and blown my mind on just how good a sports videogame can be. Expand
  47. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Same trash game as last year. Same trash game as last year. Same trash game as last year. Same trash game as last year. Same trash game as last year. Same trash game as last year. Same trash game as last year. Same trash game as last year. Same trash game as last year
  48. Aug 26, 2020
    2
    The NFL needs to pay attention. I haven't reached this point yet but my friends won't watch games with me anymore. They were big madden players and because the game gets worse and the NFL keeps signing new deals they have slowly stopped watching games.... Putting a bad name on the NFL.
  49. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Honestly I feel like EA should be taken to court over how bad this game is...It's LITERALLY an unfinished buggy project. EA needs to be held accountable for this, enough is enough.
  50. Sep 1, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Where do I begin, I have been a long time madden fan and over the past few years I have seen the same game copy and pasted. I know the positive people try to shame Ryan Moody and Soft drink sports but I truly feel they are looking out for the community. How can people say the game is great when it is madden 19 with more glitches ? What happened to EA taking the time and making a quality football game? FOOTBALL FANS. Do not waste your money. Expand
  51. Aug 26, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. WAIT FOR A CHEAP USED COPY The not so simulation game brings the hype of a new game mode to this years edition of the copy and paste franchise. The Yard on the outside looks like a nfl street fanfare, but plays like a bland extra feature......



    Death of the franchise. If you have played madden 13,14.....20 then you have played madden 21. The only new feature and this is not a joke .... menu color theme....
    Expand
  52. Aug 28, 2020
    1
    As a standalone game if there had been no predecessors it would be a good game. But the fact it is a yearly release and this is what EA deem acceptable in 2020 is inexcusable. The recycled everything along what lack of fixes from the previous year is a joke. How any person can stand by this product and with a straight face say they are proud of this game is beyond me.
  53. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This is probably the worst madden I played in years and it’s Madden 20 with a updated rosters and a new game mode no one asked for EA should lose the NFL license after this. Only
  54. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This game is a dumpster fire. No other way to put it. Face if the franchise is worse than last year. It literally does not matter wether you win or lose. You can lose each game 70-0 and still have 10 D1 offers out of high school. Franchise mode got copy pasted, Superstar Ko got copy pasted, the yard is OK, but nowhere near enough to bring it out of 0 territory. The soundtrack is garbage,This game is a dumpster fire. No other way to put it. Face if the franchise is worse than last year. It literally does not matter wether you win or lose. You can lose each game 70-0 and still have 10 D1 offers out of high school. Franchise mode got copy pasted, Superstar Ko got copy pasted, the yard is OK, but nowhere near enough to bring it out of 0 territory. The soundtrack is garbage, and they really didn’t do much on gameplay Expand
  55. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Fix franchise mode. The Madden franchise mode this year is virtually identical to last year. And last year it was bad.
  56. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This game has no reason to even be considered simulation football. The only thing it simulates is the constant laziness of EA and the ridiculous decision to keep this game a EA exclusive. Who in their right mind would ever approve of this atrocity. Players feel stiff and uncontrollable, the running game is completely based on if you get sucked in to a animation or not, and the game isThis game has no reason to even be considered simulation football. The only thing it simulates is the constant laziness of EA and the ridiculous decision to keep this game a EA exclusive. Who in their right mind would ever approve of this atrocity. Players feel stiff and uncontrollable, the running game is completely based on if you get sucked in to a animation or not, and the game is unbelievably laggy and is constantly stopping causing the immersion to completely disappear. Granted there wasn’t much immersion going for madden anyways but that just is the icing on the cake. Expand
  57. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This game is basically a copy of Madden 20 with The Yard as the new game mode but it seems as if the amount of effort they put into the certain customizations that you pay for was way more than the effort put into the actual gameplay of the yard.
  58. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    I can't believe I have to repeat the same things, another year.
    This game is just terrible. I can't find and list all the glitches and all the problems that this game has. But I can write the biggest one of this problems: the company production. 10 years WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS, 10 years WITH NO INNOVATIONS OF GAMEPLAY, 10 years of LIES AND MORE LIES told those who support them buying their
    I can't believe I have to repeat the same things, another year.
    This game is just terrible. I can't find and list all the glitches and all the problems that this game has. But I can write the biggest one of this problems: the company production. 10 years WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS, 10 years WITH NO INNOVATIONS OF GAMEPLAY, 10 years of LIES AND MORE LIES told those who support them buying their games. The only community they listen to is their wallet. With thousands of people who criticize their game each year (see Ryan Moody), they simply don't care.
    I don't really know how they still have the courage to show this broke game in tournament like Challenge etc.
    It's so sad to think that we, as football lover, can't play a real football game because of EA. This is not football. This is an embarrassing gameplay based on animations.
    Do you want to play this game? Buy Madden 15. It's the same thing with lower cost.
    You, EA, the only company to dispose of NFL license, ruined years of football video games.
    Expand
  59. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Don't get confused by the cosmetic changes they added this year. The yard is nice concept with cool customization but the base fundamentals of the game are still broken. Players still go through each other, blockers get stuck on top one another, AI is terrible, franchise mode is LITERALLY the same. Yeah they added new colors to menus, added some new music, and updated roster, but whatDon't get confused by the cosmetic changes they added this year. The yard is nice concept with cool customization but the base fundamentals of the game are still broken. Players still go through each other, blockers get stuck on top one another, AI is terrible, franchise mode is LITERALLY the same. Yeah they added new colors to menus, added some new music, and updated roster, but what else? They are just adding old features back from years ago and making them worse. I played beta, purchased, and played enough where I'm refunding my purchase. Expand
  60. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    So sick of this same garbage year after year. If you want to make a simulation game with realistic franchise, I'll jump aboard. If you want to continue with the arcade crap, rename the title and enjoy the micro-transaction fest that you've turned the legendary Madden title into. Face of the Franchise has a 40 yard dash in the combine. If you're a WR, you run a 4.30. RB is a 4.34. QB is aSo sick of this same garbage year after year. If you want to make a simulation game with realistic franchise, I'll jump aboard. If you want to continue with the arcade crap, rename the title and enjoy the micro-transaction fest that you've turned the legendary Madden title into. Face of the Franchise has a 40 yard dash in the combine. If you're a WR, you run a 4.30. RB is a 4.34. QB is a 4.6 no matter how fast or slow you react to the button system. Stadium re-locator is the same crap as the past few years, the glitches are the same crap that hasn't been fixed, the Superstar abilities are so over the top that it makes the game like a Marvel Comic, etc... This is the year we all have had enough of your trash. You're FIRED! Expand
  61. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    just madden 20 but dark background and broken arcade mode. So much for "Exclusive NFL Simon license"
  62. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    this game is so bad, refunded him only 5hrs in. The yard is completely broken. Franchise untouched. Animations of players warping around the field. This game should be free. This should be treated like Fornite packs only. Smh this isn't football NFL do better
  63. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    It's an abomination of a game... I really don't know what more to say to it. It's ridiculous to me that a company the size of EA is incapable of making a good football game. I hope they get their license revoked to spark competition with 2k...
  64. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    I have played Madden since 04 and this game gets more disrespectful to the fanbase as the years go on. They are literally feeding us the same game play with even worse game play than ever. Its insane smh, so embarrassing its a waste of time and money. Do not get! Just play Madden 20 if you are a masochist and save 60+ bucks.
  65. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Worst in series so far. Series continues to go backwards. What was once a great game has now became unplayable.
  66. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Have been with Madden from the start and I can’t go yet another year of being ignored as one of the customers that supported and help build this sports gaming giant. We’ve gone 2 generations of console of almost no focus on the franchise mode. There is a couple Indie games doing it better than EA. #fixmaddenfranchise

    Also please add physics back into the game. Ignite engine was awesome.
    Have been with Madden from the start and I can’t go yet another year of being ignored as one of the customers that supported and help build this sports gaming giant. We’ve gone 2 generations of console of almost no focus on the franchise mode. There is a couple Indie games doing it better than EA. #fixmaddenfranchise

    Also please add physics back into the game. Ignite engine was awesome. It’s a football and no physics?!
    Expand
  67. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    No changes to franchise mode, same gameplay from other years. Feels like Madden 17.5.
  68. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    They really have 0 concern for making a playable game. They've had the same broken bugs in their source code for years and feel no need to address it. They don't even try to put out a quality product.
  69. Aug 26, 2020
    2
    This game is sloppy and seems very unfinished. The bugs in this game make it unplayable in most of the game modes. Face of the franchise is a disaster that tries to mold together multiple corny storylines and stale jokes. Not to mention your stats don’t matter as the story line stays the same no matter what you do. The only reason I gave a 2 is because the yard panned out to be a fun andThis game is sloppy and seems very unfinished. The bugs in this game make it unplayable in most of the game modes. Face of the franchise is a disaster that tries to mold together multiple corny storylines and stale jokes. Not to mention your stats don’t matter as the story line stays the same no matter what you do. The only reason I gave a 2 is because the yard panned out to be a fun and enjoyable aspect however the bugs and desync problems make it impossible to complete multiple games. Overall this game has been on a downward slope for a long time and we’re finally seeing it crash and burn. Save your $60 please. Expand
  70. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Same game different name. The yard doesn’t make up for the lack of depth in franchise and the missing desire to binge play. Expand
  71. Aug 27, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How does EA get away with charging $60 for a roster update? The Dev team that copy and pasted Madden 20 into Madden 21 should be fired. The Madden franchise and its loyal fans deserve better than this poor excuse for a game which is nothing more than a blatant cash grab by EA. Bought a digital version and after playing for 2 days, I wish I could get a refund. EA and the dev team doesn’t deserve my or anyone else’s money for this $60 patch. Expand
  72. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    This is horrible, EA just keeps ignoring the FOOTBALL fan and just focus on earning money through kids using MUT. It's disgusting. They have exclusive rights to a simulation football game, yet they don't care about that. They care only about MUT money.
    RIP franchise mode. RIP simulation football
  73. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    a zero is too high. this game hurts to turn on its so bad. you'd be cruel to buy this even for your worst enemy
  74. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Just rename this sh*t "Madden Ultimate Team 21" because clearly MUT is the only thing EA feels like investing money in.

    Graphic are the same, they tout new features that exist on NFL 2K5.... really? I could somewhat accept EA's shameless push for micro-transactions if they actually re-invested these MILLIONS to improve future game but if anything i feel like since MUT was introduced, EA
    Just rename this sh*t "Madden Ultimate Team 21" because clearly MUT is the only thing EA feels like investing money in.

    Graphic are the same, they tout new features that exist on NFL 2K5.... really?

    I could somewhat accept EA's shameless push for micro-transactions if they actually re-invested these MILLIONS to improve future game but if anything i feel like since MUT was introduced, EA makes even less of an effort to improve their game....

    NCAA 14 is a better game....
    Expand
  75. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Terrible game. Awful gameplay that relies completely relies on animations that can’t decide on whether it’s simulation or arcade. Franchise mode, the backbone of the franchise, remains untouched and shallower than other modern sports games, and even maddens from 15 years ago. Ultimate Team is a gambling game mode that preys on children and their parents credit card. Do not buy this game.Terrible game. Awful gameplay that relies completely relies on animations that can’t decide on whether it’s simulation or arcade. Franchise mode, the backbone of the franchise, remains untouched and shallower than other modern sports games, and even maddens from 15 years ago. Ultimate Team is a gambling game mode that preys on children and their parents credit card. Do not buy this game. And if you can’t restrain yourself at least buy it used so as to not support the greedy and predatory company that is EA. Expand
  76. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Stupid game, horrible and I hope they finally learn their lesson and make a quality game or 2k does Expand
  77. Aug 26, 2020
    1
    Somehow they’ve managed to make gameplay worse this year, from players being tackled by nothing to players walking around mid play and not doing anything. It’s not close to how a simulation football game should play. EA will continue to deliver a terrible product however.
  78. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Actually non playable. Constant crashes and disconnections. I can't even review the game because of that. Playing on base PS4.
  79. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hands down one of the worst football "simulation" experiences I've ever had. A huge majority of my issues are persistant issues from game to game. Littered with bugs, completely unplayable at times. There are too many times where a player does a balancing act on their facemask for 15 second. Just for an opposing player to be the only one who grabs it, because EA Tiburons idea of simulation football is to completely script events to make the game "harder" when in all actuality. All that they're doing is making you want to turn the game off.

    For 7 years, Franchise Mode has remained a stain on this community, the lack of love and effort for this project is glaring. There is not a single developer in that ideas room that knows football.

    It's basically the same game, with added features from games prior, marketed as brand new features. Decades behind every other sports game.
    Expand
  80. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Madden has ran out of excuses. Madden 21 is the only simulation NFL game available despite being more arcade-y than ever.
  81. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    same buggy and glitch y mess withe nothing changed it has been the same for 9 years do not buy
  82. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Rushed, buggy, And soulless. Face of the franchise is terrible. Madden on ps2 was better.

    #FixMaddenFranchise
  83. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Absolutely zero Improvement to franchise. All they care about is the gambling card game called MUT. It's a shame that EA has a monopoly on making simulation football games
  84. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Same terrible game. This monopoly on the NFL is getting old. They (EA) just don't care what product they put out. As long as they sell MUT packs and cosmetics it's all good in their minds. We didn't ask for the yard. Fix franchise mode. We didn't ask for another terribly produced story mode. Fix franchise mode. Fix the damn gameplay! Downfield blocking, DB reactions, cheese, bad AI, fadeSame terrible game. This monopoly on the NFL is getting old. They (EA) just don't care what product they put out. As long as they sell MUT packs and cosmetics it's all good in their minds. We didn't ask for the yard. Fix franchise mode. We didn't ask for another terribly produced story mode. Fix franchise mode. Fix the damn gameplay! Downfield blocking, DB reactions, cheese, bad AI, fade routs, glitches! It's the same damn story EA! Not a single new feature in franchise but they built two new modes?? Why?? I've bought madden every year for the last 22. I'm done. The fact that games like The Witcher, Ghosts of Tuchema, GTA, and RDR exist in a world where they just now in 2020 put in "reach for the pylon" feature. Pathetic. I'm buying a ps3 and getting NCAA. Don't support EA. #fixmaddenfranchise


    #fixmaddenfranchise
    Expand
  85. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Abysmal game by a greedy careless company. Animation based which neglects all skill. Broken glitches, poor servers, no depth to the game yet millions of micro transactions. This game is an abomination. Ea Farts should come ashamed of themselves. Do they even test their product?
  86. Aug 27, 2020
    1
    It’s just not good. Competition breeds greatness. EA has gotten away with a mediocre NFL game for far too long. All they need is competition, bring NFL2K back! This is the year NFL fans who loves a great NFL game takes a stand against the ONLY football game that’s out here. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! Force EA to do better!
  87. Aug 28, 2020
    0
    Absolute joke! EA are a joke! Franchise mode has not been updated in years. Compared to NBA2K i just can't believe they can put out garbage like this, oh hang, yes i can because they keep buying up the NFL license so they have the monopoly on NFL sim games and can get away with it. They are just after the $$$ from MUT and do not care about putting out an amazing game like we all know 2KAbsolute joke! EA are a joke! Franchise mode has not been updated in years. Compared to NBA2K i just can't believe they can put out garbage like this, oh hang, yes i can because they keep buying up the NFL license so they have the monopoly on NFL sim games and can get away with it. They are just after the $$$ from MUT and do not care about putting out an amazing game like we all know 2K would. EA is now just a gready corporate America company that doesn't give a rats about its product or customers. They have the ability, games like NCAA 14 and older Maddens were brilliant but why bother now when they have no competition. Give up the licence EA, you guys should be ashamed of yourselves for putting out garbage like this. Don't buy, play Madden 20 and save yourself the money, its basically the same game but with more glitches. Unbelievable ... Expand
  88. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    Horrible game. Worst sports game on the market. EA should be ashamed. It’s time for them to give up the license
  89. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The lack of effort that went into this game is unforgivable. no new features added to franchise mode. all the bugs and glitches are still in the game. And EA has poor customer service blocking people when trying to ask for features or asked them to fix there game I would not buy madden 21 Expand
  90. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another year another madden game that is basically a roster update. EA have completely lost their way when it comes to Madden. Minor changes from Madden 20. Franchise mode is completely untouched! It is quite pathetic at this point. Expand
  91. Aug 27, 2020
    1
    Visuals are really the only decent thing about this game and even then they aren't anything to gawk over. EA wasted a console generation worrying more about milking MUT and thinking gameplay improvements weren't selling points. Until they ditch animation dictated gameplay, make franchise which is their actual most popular mode a core part of each installment this series will be nothingVisuals are really the only decent thing about this game and even then they aren't anything to gawk over. EA wasted a console generation worrying more about milking MUT and thinking gameplay improvements weren't selling points. Until they ditch animation dictated gameplay, make franchise which is their actual most popular mode a core part of each installment this series will be nothing more than a big patch update year to year. Their newest flagship mode "The Yard" is interesting tho has no place in a game that's marketed as simulation. But its a new mode and its monetized so EA will probably make its development a priority in the years to come. This game just isn't even enjoyable. Theres no definitive GOOD thing this game has going for it. It just kinda exist. #FixMaddenFranchise Expand
  92. Aug 30, 2020
    0
    Same game as Madden12, Madden 13, Madden 14, Madden 15, Madden 16 and Madden 17 but little worse.
  93. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is another one of EA's trash. Horrible. Here's why
    Face of the franchise, trash buggy and short, like two cutscenes and 3 full games that you have to play offense and defense as other players which is trash trash trash
    Franchise this game mode was never touched MuT horrible pack odds
    The Yard, repetive and not feeling like I warn anything Head 2 Head disconnected city
    I can't find a single positive of this game after playing a week It really is the worst and has no improvements at all and the meta is already running the ball which is impossible to stop because of the fall forward animations
    Expand
  94. Aug 26, 2020
    0
    Don't buy. I cannot stress that enough. Do. Not. Buy. Nobody is jumping on a trend to hate Madden and EA because its the cool thing to do. Listen to everyone. Its genuinely that bad. I give it an unforgiving zero because its just Madden 20 with the yard and never before seen awful glitches. Face of the Franchise in Madden 20 was okay. I liked having full control of my destiny and playingDon't buy. I cannot stress that enough. Do. Not. Buy. Nobody is jumping on a trend to hate Madden and EA because its the cool thing to do. Listen to everyone. Its genuinely that bad. I give it an unforgiving zero because its just Madden 20 with the yard and never before seen awful glitches. Face of the Franchise in Madden 20 was okay. I liked having full control of my destiny and playing every game, but your story ends after one year and then its just a career mode. But it really bugged me that it retired me automatically when I turned like 38 with another year on my contract?? And I was still a 99 overall?? Also I had every single passing record broken with like 9 Superbowl wins and I couldn't get my legacy score to surpass Tom Brady?? And then you retire and after all your hard work theres just a note that pops up saying 'cool dude' and then it exits you out. In this years new and improved version, you'll get to play two games a year and surpass Tom Bradys legacy after answering a couple interview questions. Franchise mode is the same. Animations for games are the same. The new intros show highlights of the game before its even played because im not sure they know how football works. Franchise mode is exactly the same except worse with all the stupid glitches. It really looks like nothing else is new in this game. They spent the year making the screen blue. How dope. Im overwhelmed with how how bad it is. I could go on about everything else but just listen to everyone else. Everything bad is true. I don't want to waste my breathe anymore on EA. Expand
  95. Aug 29, 2020
    0
    It's junk. RyanMoody21 and others in the community were right before launch, this game is busted. The glitches are horrible for this gambling simulator that pretends to be a football game. NFL should be ashamed to have their license attached to this.
  96. Aug 27, 2020
    0
    EA doesn’t care for their consumers and it shows in poor taste. EA stuck their foot that they just stepped in dog feces with into our mouths, spoon feeding us bs with the “gameplay” trailer, as well as cheesing us with the actual gameplay, which is flat out terrible. The franchise “update” is a literal sham and a joke; this has to be a joke right? Madden 21 may just be, the worst footballEA doesn’t care for their consumers and it shows in poor taste. EA stuck their foot that they just stepped in dog feces with into our mouths, spoon feeding us bs with the “gameplay” trailer, as well as cheesing us with the actual gameplay, which is flat out terrible. The franchise “update” is a literal sham and a joke; this has to be a joke right? Madden 21 may just be, the worst football game of all time. Expand
  97. Aug 29, 2020
    0
    this is not football. This is the same game as madden 25 if not worse in gameplay wise. #fixmaddenfranchise
  98. Aug 30, 2020
    0
    Having grown up playing most of the NCAA series and Madden series, it’s sad to see how bad Madden and EA have gotten each and every year. Madden 21 is no better, this game is a straight copy and paste from Madden 20, madden 19 and madden 18 and so on.... and the greed instilled in this company is a joke. Gambling and looting microtransactions used to lure kids into buying useless cardHaving grown up playing most of the NCAA series and Madden series, it’s sad to see how bad Madden and EA have gotten each and every year. Madden 21 is no better, this game is a straight copy and paste from Madden 20, madden 19 and madden 18 and so on.... and the greed instilled in this company is a joke. Gambling and looting microtransactions used to lure kids into buying useless card packs, gameplay bugged down by animations and it physics based gameplay, and the same legacy issues we’ve dealt with in gameplay since the Xbox 360 and PS3 days of madden. These developers don’t care, they make fun of their consumers and call them “clowns”, they laugh at the score on this site and they continue to ignore the changes and requests of what the consumers haves asked for, for the last 10+ years. It needs to change. The game is terrible, the gameplay is atrocious, the lack of attention to detail is a joke... EA and Madden have become an embarrassment. Do not support this company and do not buy this game or any EA game for that matter. Just remember, this a multi-billion dollar company that can’t even replicate a basic game of physics based football... They don’t care... spend your hard-earned cash elsewhere on a company that listens to it customers and fan base, like maximum football. Expand
  99. Aug 30, 2020
    0
    This game is complete trash. I should of just taken my $60 and put it in a paper shredder. I have encountered many glitches in the game. Player movement is robotic and lifeless. They promised that the stretch play would not dominate the game, but yet it’s the same as last year. They slowed down the user to where it’s almost pointless to use a LB or Safety. Franchise mode is the exactThis game is complete trash. I should of just taken my $60 and put it in a paper shredder. I have encountered many glitches in the game. Player movement is robotic and lifeless. They promised that the stretch play would not dominate the game, but yet it’s the same as last year. They slowed down the user to where it’s almost pointless to use a LB or Safety. Franchise mode is the exact same thing as last year except the menu is different. This is Madden 20, but with way more glitches. #NFLDropEa Expand
  100. Aug 28, 2020
    0
    Straight boots cheeks. Please just stop. Either stop making the game, or give a product worth $60.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Oct 8, 2020
    40
    Madden NFL 21 is another blatant recycling of last year’s edition of the „simulation“ of the American football. Sadly, most of the modes remained the same. Gameplay received a few minor tweaks, and in the end it still persists as a cash grab not worth anybody’s time.
  2. Sep 14, 2020
    70
    Madden NFL says goodbye to a generation with more questions than answers and with an uncertain perspective on what may happen in the years to come.
  3. Sep 9, 2020
    70
    For NFL diehards, there remains hundreds of gaming hours at your disposal in Madden 21. These same diehards – much like players of EA’s NHL and Sony’s The Show – will be left with the impression they’ve played this game before, however.