User Score
1.1

Overwhelming dislike- based on 976 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 976
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2019
    1
    Basically made to be a multiplayer game. To many micro transactions. Nothing new for a single player like myself.
  2. Sep 8, 2019
    1
    Worst NBA 2K Ever ! Unfinished game with tonns of problems and glitches. Especially MyTeam mode. To complete spotlite challenges u need spent a tonn of money. About 500$ or more on packs with players . This discusting loot boxes game. Shame to Devs and especially greed owners.
  3. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    This is too much... you buy a game and it is only playable if you pay for extra coins to buy skills or gamble for cards.. this must end! If I pay for AAA title I want full experience! Not only a demo! Disgraceful
  4. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    A casino game with a basketball mini game? and 3 year old children can play it? so, you're introducing gambling at a very early age, that's the way the industry works now. RIP AAA games. I hope you 2K Games go bankrupt and all your shareholders and executives rot in jail, life sentence for all of you! You're even worse than EA, that's just unbelievable, this is a new low!
  5. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Trash casino game. Trash casino game. Trash casino game. Trash casino game. Trash casino game. Trash casino game. Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2019
    1
    Game feels so slow and buggy and my team is just one big casino for you to waste ur money
  7. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    Another incomplete broken glitched out game this year. How hard is it to put out a working game?
  8. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    Ronnie 2k and the devs blatantly lied about most of the features in the game. Disappointing.
  9. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    Fake micro transactions with gambling theme targeting children. Abuse of game companies. Gameplay is the same as 19, with barely any updates.
  10. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Game graphics are great. Wants too much money to enjoy content. This micro transaction/ loot box system is egregious.
  11. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    Loot Box Simulator. That's what this needs to be called. It's just absurd how despicable 2K is these days.
  12. Sep 6, 2019
    1
    Same crappy game from the last year but with now with VRC! Avoid this game at all cost!!!
  13. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    Worst 2K that ever dropped and I've been loyal since 2k6 , Mike Wang has lost all credibility and respect
  14. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    Just from watching videos everywhere, EVERYTHING looks the same. Different HUD here and there, different layout and STILL THE SAME SINCE 2K18. Not wasting my money on a 2GB LOOKING UPDATE PUT ON A DISK PERIOD.
  15. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Ummmm....the game was released in beta stage. They didn't play test this. No way they did. For all the glitchy game play, lies, and freezing, they could've at least brought a new park and affiliations. They straight up lied about the badge expansions because for a majority of the "new" badges they just took out basic skills that were given since the beginning of 2k and turned it into aUmmmm....the game was released in beta stage. They didn't play test this. No way they did. For all the glitchy game play, lies, and freezing, they could've at least brought a new park and affiliations. They straight up lied about the badge expansions because for a majority of the "new" badges they just took out basic skills that were given since the beginning of 2k and turned it into a badge. That's a lie. Game can't even keep track of stats. Even if they update some of this, I'm keeping this at 0 because no game should be advertised as if they tested it extensively (with celebs and community playing lol) and then release it IN BETA STAGE. Can't even guarantee that you're loading into a friend's neigbirhood for the 3RD STRAIGHT YEAR. Enough said right there. 2k lied. 2k lied. 2k lied. 2k lied. 2k lied. 2k lied. Expand
  16. Sep 6, 2019
    2
    This is a joke. I don’t know whom I don’t like more - devs who’s adding casino and selling same game every year, but with different roaster or - people who still buying it, and because of whom all of this micro transaction hell continues in gaming industry.
  17. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    Same copy and paste trash with the same micro-transactions every single damn year
  18. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Pathetic excuse of a game launch. If I could get my money back I would. Year after year they increase their profits while not keeping the same garbage servers and limited development staff. Go with another sports title because this is not it.
  19. Sep 7, 2019
    1
    If you play my career mode the main character is presented as a moral, ethical person who puts team first . Ironic that this game is predatory pile of trash. I own take2 stock, and even as a share holder I wish the business would reel in the predatory **** I loved 2k14 n 2k15 since then I buy every year and it seems to suffer worse server latency. If your gna milk the playerbase forIf you play my career mode the main character is presented as a moral, ethical person who puts team first . Ironic that this game is predatory pile of trash. I own take2 stock, and even as a share holder I wish the business would reel in the predatory **** I loved 2k14 n 2k15 since then I buy every year and it seems to suffer worse server latency. If your gna milk the playerbase for record profits invest in something besides advertising. Expand
  20. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    To be honest, I never bought this game, but went to a friends house who loves these games, after he complained how bad it was to see and play myself. Do they intentionally make these games super buggy at start, so when they kind of make it better, it makes them look good?? The game is essentially designed to scam you out of money. Save your money or support games made byTo be honest, I never bought this game, but went to a friends house who loves these games, after he complained how bad it was to see and play myself. Do they intentionally make these games super buggy at start, so when they kind of make it better, it makes them look good?? The game is essentially designed to scam you out of money. Save your money or support games made by Publishers/Developers with morals. Expand
  21. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Not sure if this an underage casino or a basketball game?? Very odd and the fact it's a 3+ game is pretty sick! Exposing addictive behavior that's only available to 18+ everywhere else apart from the video games industry is wrong. My children won't be getting any of these games.
  22. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    i want to go into Take Two and take a massive dump on their desk like they have mine.
  23. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    A casino for three years old children? You have surpassed the entire gaming industry
  24. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    2k20 is a bust. After countless empty promises, the player is left with the exact same game from a year ago, except worse. It feels like all the players are moving through quicksand and the dribbling has been botched. No new attribute charts added and the game almost feels unfinished. True 2k fans remain disappointed for the third year in a row with 2ks newest attempt to make as much money2k20 is a bust. After countless empty promises, the player is left with the exact same game from a year ago, except worse. It feels like all the players are moving through quicksand and the dribbling has been botched. No new attribute charts added and the game almost feels unfinished. True 2k fans remain disappointed for the third year in a row with 2ks newest attempt to make as much money as possible without putting in any effort. Expand
  25. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They destroyed the Mygm experience. No customization at all. They skiped mygm story. Everything. Seriously they need to fix that. Expand
  26. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    Currently being kicked from MyCareer at the end of most games, so buy it if you like grinding and receiving nothing. Also, 2K seems to be completely oblivious to what is going on. They are tweeting like everyone has been having a great time and there aren’t hundreds of replies asking why the game isn’t working on every tweet, and that really compelled me to leave a bad review here
  27. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    This is sad. The parks are the exact same as nba 2k19, but re-skinned. Feel like 2K put no effort in this game. The dribbling is clunky, the game speed is so slow, and there are bugs and glitches on top of each other with badges and rep. Don’t waste your money on this game!
  28. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    I have owned every 2K since 2K11. This game has been my favorite game for years and my friends and I play MyLeague with 3 different competing teams each year. It is an amazing tradition for over 7 years that may come to an end. 2K has been producing horrible games the past 3 years and 20 is no different. This money hungry company has surpassed EA, who set a Guinness World Record for howI have owned every 2K since 2K11. This game has been my favorite game for years and my friends and I play MyLeague with 3 different competing teams each year. It is an amazing tradition for over 7 years that may come to an end. 2K has been producing horrible games the past 3 years and 20 is no different. This money hungry company has surpassed EA, who set a Guinness World Record for how bad their micro-transactions were. What happened to the 2K that sold the game for $20 and was better than any recent game made. Expand
  29. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    You guys slagging this game off .. why the hell do you buys this rubbish knowing what its going to be like , same with FIFA , same with Madden , every year i see these games slagged off and every year people buy them !! i dont get it , DONT BUY THESE GAMES, thats the only way people like 2K , Activision , EA will ever learn.
  30. Sep 9, 2019
    1
    Guys! I love basketball. But clearly having a monopoly on the genre for gaming consoles for as long as you have isn’t healthy. It’s a copy and paste from previous iterations. Minimal effort. Casino mechanics. Don’t get me started on the YouTubers you guys hire to fake smile their way through opening card packs

    Curb your marketing division and rein in the huge publicity until you actually
    Guys! I love basketball. But clearly having a monopoly on the genre for gaming consoles for as long as you have isn’t healthy. It’s a copy and paste from previous iterations. Minimal effort. Casino mechanics. Don’t get me started on the YouTubers you guys hire to fake smile their way through opening card packs

    Curb your marketing division and rein in the huge publicity until you actually provide something worth the full AAA price... and seriously. It feels like a mobile game half the time. Refund please.
    Expand
  31. Sep 6, 2019
    2
    Easily still the best gameplay in a modern NBA game. 2k20 has gone in the opposite direction of what fans want. Instead of letting players enjoy their game they purchased $60 for, they make it a complete grind or alternatively, pay money for in game currency for THE CHANCE to improve your team/players.
    This game is a farce compared to its previous forms. The micro-transactions are a
    Easily still the best gameplay in a modern NBA game. 2k20 has gone in the opposite direction of what fans want. Instead of letting players enjoy their game they purchased $60 for, they make it a complete grind or alternatively, pay money for in game currency for THE CHANCE to improve your team/players.
    This game is a farce compared to its previous forms. The micro-transactions are a poison pill that gamers are tolerating less and less. The game has no notable additions compared to NBA 2k19 and even NBA 2k18. Every year the game becomes nothing more than a roster update and a player appearance update. If they cared to update the game after launch, players from last season would not JUST NOW be getting physical updates. It's something so minuscule that shows a lack of care for these games. Why does Derrick rose just now have his headband and cornrows/braids, or Clint Capela just now has a simple colored patch he had all of last season. Are these nitpicks? Yes! Things so simple it wouldn't be hard to update throughout a year on a $60 AAA Title like 2k claims to be. Just such a disappointment that continues to diminish every year
    Expand
  32. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is practically the same thing as 2k19,the park is the same and pretty much the whole thing, lame Expand
  33. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    I have never rated a game in my life, i always enjoy whatever i buy, a game is meant to entertain you, and even if there are flaws you can always look past them. ******* f****** i have never in my long history of gaming was so disappointed and frustrated and just frankly sad !! 1. The game is not ready. it has a lot of glitches And bugs: No name glitch, reputation bugs, dribblingI have never rated a game in my life, i always enjoy whatever i buy, a game is meant to entertain you, and even if there are flaws you can always look past them. ******* f****** i have never in my long history of gaming was so disappointed and frustrated and just frankly sad !! 1. The game is not ready. it has a lot of glitches And bugs: No name glitch, reputation bugs, dribbling animations bugs, double team bugs, shooting bugs
    2.False advertising: no new parks, no new piecharts, no new hairstyles, clothing selection is limited.
    3. the game is a copy paste of the previous 2k19: the park is the same, the gym is the same, the apartment is the same, all the stores are the same today is the first time i felt like i was robbed by a gaming company. I think that NBA 2k is a perfect example of everything that is wrong with the nowadays gaming industry: greed and incompetence.
    Expand
  34. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    Literally no improvements. Lazy entry in the series. Taking advantage of fans. Hugely disappointing.
  35. Sep 10, 2019
    1
    This casino simulator is very good, too bad is full of pointless basket minigames that ruin the experience.
  36. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    I want a Basketball simulator, not a arcade.
    I want a fast and good menu, i also dont want to waste time in a social sims area.
    I want a fair game, not a pay to win/enjoy game.
    You are the cancer in the gaming industry, microtransactions have no place in a game we pay full price for.
  37. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    POSTED: 7 SEPTEMBER
    You have to understand that 2K is the epitomy of a soulless, late-stage capitalism company and their game entirely reflects that fact. If you take that into account regarding every single aspect of the game then you will never be surprised by anything you may come to encounter in NBA 2K20. If you love or even just like the game of basketball DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.
    POSTED: 7 SEPTEMBER
    You have to understand that 2K is the epitomy of a soulless, late-stage capitalism company and their game entirely reflects that fact. If you take that into account regarding every single aspect of the game then you will never be surprised by anything you may come to encounter in NBA 2K20. If you love or even just like the game of basketball DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.
    Playing online is one thing (cheaters, for example, run rampant without consequence), but even in MyCareer games playing with and against AI players there is no logical consistency in the game. Not only is the AI horrendously badly designed, but the game is entirely dependent on random animations.
    Expand
  38. Sep 10, 2019
    1
    Love this new casino game, but I'm not sure why they added so many basketball mini games.
  39. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    This game is complete garbage do not waste 60 beans on this game.You are buying the same game game every year,wake up people play actual good games.Thank you and have a good day!
  40. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    The only reason I play this game is MyGM - I loved the fully sandbox elements of previous installnents. However, in this game they gutted all the customisation sliders and sandbox elements completely in favour of an action points system that severely limits your ability to do, well, anything! Oh they also force you to play on 6 minute quarters so say goodbye to realism. I’ll be taking myThe only reason I play this game is MyGM - I loved the fully sandbox elements of previous installnents. However, in this game they gutted all the customisation sliders and sandbox elements completely in favour of an action points system that severely limits your ability to do, well, anything! Oh they also force you to play on 6 minute quarters so say goodbye to realism. I’ll be taking my copy back to the store for a refund tomorrow. GG 2K. I’m going back to 2K19. Expand
  41. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    I see what you're doing 2k. Keep repackaging the same product every year, but just put different make up on it each time. I get it. The profit margins must be insane and your shareholders must love it - especially when the micro-transaction revenue kicks in. Ronnie2k probably must have 10 Ferrari's by now. But the community is waking up to it. There's a huge divergence between the amountI see what you're doing 2k. Keep repackaging the same product every year, but just put different make up on it each time. I get it. The profit margins must be insane and your shareholders must love it - especially when the micro-transaction revenue kicks in. Ronnie2k probably must have 10 Ferrari's by now. But the community is waking up to it. There's a huge divergence between the amount of money you take from consumers every year and the value you provide. We all see it now. At this point keeping micro-transactions in the game is almost criminal. I believe this a prime example of unethical capitalism. The publishers of NBA 2k have become rent-seeking elites. Expand
  42. Sep 6, 2019
    0
    Trash excuse for a game . Dont even know how they actually expected people to like this.
  43. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    *Predatory Gambling Warning for NBA 2k20* My rating is a message to the developers and publishers at 2k. Never before have I truly boycotted a game on principal, especially a sports franchise I enjoy on a yearly basis. This year is a different matter. My main concern is the age rating given to the game; an E for everyone. This however is in spite of the ESRB guidelines that state that*Predatory Gambling Warning for NBA 2k20* My rating is a message to the developers and publishers at 2k. Never before have I truly boycotted a game on principal, especially a sports franchise I enjoy on a yearly basis. This year is a different matter. My main concern is the age rating given to the game; an E for everyone. This however is in spite of the ESRB guidelines that state that simulated gambling should be rated teen and gambling with real money should be rated adults only. Gamers have unfortunately grown use to loot boxes and other similar concepts in recent years and are in themselves an introduction to gambling but along with these loot boxes comes the far more malicious traditional gambling devices which need I remind you is in a game accessible to 3 year olds. These mechanisms include; slot machines, prize wheels and pachinko. All of which are staples of casinos and other gambling establishments. 2K games released a trailer showing these mechanics and it received universal criticism by the community for creating a thinly veiled ground for exploitation of children, a problem that has grown in recent years along with many news reports of children spending money, unaware of its worth and not aware of the dangers associated with gambling. The trailer shows jubilant players presented in a similar way to YouTube videos popular with children, winning multiple prizes, however gambling in games are not properly regulated so the chances of winning are not available to player, leading the more impressionable to be given a false representation of success. Particularly in relation to other incidents where marketing and promotion is done in association with “influencers” (a fancy word for popular Internet personalities) who have their odds of success altered by the developers to provide an incredibly misleading likelihood of success to children whom do not have the ability to doubt or question what they see from their favourite internet celebrity. This by itself is a gross abuse of trust and is in my opinion tantamount to a kind of fraud. Whether this has been done in the NBA 2K series is unclear but there is certainly precedent for the tactic being used, particularly in association with children most notably; loot boxes in games and packs of Pokemon cards or similar card games including stickers.

    I must remind anyone who is looking to purchase this game which is rated as E for everyone has real gambling in which real money is used to buy a virtual currency which is then spent on the gambling. This is nothing more than a loophole to avoid the adult rating which is reserved for games which have “Prolonged scenes of intense violence, graphic sexual content and gambling with real money.” This loophole is also used in pachinko (ironically in NBA 2K20) in Japan where gambling is illegal. You buy little balls from a counter and if you win you get more balls, however they cannot be exchanged within the establishment otherwise it would be considered gambling, machines are instead placed outside like vending machines where the gamblers can then exchange the balls for money. This is a similar exploitation of the system used in this game to circumvent the age rating and thereby deceive parents or guardians into buying a game which they expect to be suitable for a child. This I remind you is a game meant for 3+ age demographic. The trailer showing these gambling mechanics was taken down after backlash but upon release of the game, nothing has been changed regarding the gambling. What makes this worse is the blatant disregard for the age ratings and integrity of the publishers as it just so happens that the CEO of Take two interactive aka 2K is the chairman of the ESRB, the group who has failed to identify this game for what it is, a cash grab added on top of an otherwise good sports game with the explicit aim to exploit those who have gambling addictions and those who do not know any better. The lack of awareness from the publisher and developers has not been addressed despite protests regarding the company’s less egregious in comparison forms of gambling in the past few years. So to up the ante to the current level seen in 2K20 at best blindly misguided and at worst malicious exploitation. I think you know which it truly is. It is solely up to the player base alone to manage, what I feel to be a gross abuse of the consumers and a level of tone deafness that can only be rectified by impacting their bottom line, that being how much money they can squeeze from their fan base. Do not buy this game, even if you love sports games as I do, the idea parents will unknowingly allow their children will be freely able to gamble. All the child has to do to achieve the results they see in the internet and the marketing is spin the wheel or just pull another slot machine lever. I’m sure my parents won’t mind if I buy some more coins they say as the vicious cycle starts anew. Disgusting.
    Expand
  44. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Every year is same, so this year 2K20 is same as 19 as 18 as 17. etc. If you are fan of micro transactions and overhyped 2KTV gamers/celebs/athletes telling "how awesome and game changing 2K20 is this year" this game is for you. I'm a fan of basketball but this is ridiculous. There are 2 type of gamers who play this. Day 1 players who spend tons of $ on VC to max out their player and thenEvery year is same, so this year 2K20 is same as 19 as 18 as 17. etc. If you are fan of micro transactions and overhyped 2KTV gamers/celebs/athletes telling "how awesome and game changing 2K20 is this year" this game is for you. I'm a fan of basketball but this is ridiculous. There are 2 type of gamers who play this. Day 1 players who spend tons of $ on VC to max out their player and then dominate Neighbourhood and players who wait when this game costs 3.99$ and play it because - meh.. why not. This is terrible practice by 2K, but hey - it's all about $ at the end of the day. If it ain't broke don't fix it. Expand
  45. Sep 10, 2019
    0
    This is not a basketball game it a casino, with a basketball game attached.
  46. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    A predatory half-finished cash scam. PLEASE do not buy and support this game or they will never change.
  47. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    This is one of the worst examples of greed in the gaming industry. Do NOT buy this game, this has to stop and we stop it by showing companies we are not going to spend money on a casino game dressed up as a basketball game. The sad thing is; this used to be such a great franchise. What a shame.
  48. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    This is just another sports games with little improvements and full of loot boxes. If im paying full price for a game there's no need to hide content behind these pay walls.
  49. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    The game is practically the same thing as 2k19 is only playable if you pay for extra coins to buy skills or gamble for cards
  50. Sep 10, 2019
    0
    Anyone who supports this kind of **** is actively hurting Gaming as a whole
  51. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    You can’t even enjoy the game unless you pay to upgrade your myplayer and all the free modes such as myleague and my gm are intentionally bad
  52. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    One of the worst experiences for a game of 2019 this goes for the PlayStation 4,Xbox One and PC versions and i'm sure the Switch version is just as awful as the others.
  53. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    Sad to see this game turn into madden. Very little effort and greed. Wont buy another one untill they start trying again
  54. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    NBA 2k20 is a major bust. This game is a recycled version of last year with a few feature not exciting or worth playing.
  55. Sep 7, 2019
    0
    I'm just going to go back to playing NBA games released before the time of Microtransactions. Not like this game has much else to offer over them.
  56. Sep 8, 2019
    0
    Gambling 2k20. Card packs, slot machines, spinning wheels, plinko, disgusting!
  57. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    How can you lie about your own game?? Ronnie2k and 2k studios have just slapped their fanbase in the base.
  58. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Microtransactions in a $60 AAA game. Disgusting. Don't buy it. Greedy company that wont put out a good product, just like EA.
  59. Sep 11, 2019
    0
    Less of a game and more of a gambling addict's dream. Stop feeding the publisher's pockets and boycott this. This kind of immoral practices will eventually kill video gaming.
  60. Sep 16, 2019
    0
    The sheer fact that the ESRB would rate this casino simulator of a basketball game an E for everyone really says everything you need to know about the state if gaming. NBA 2K20 brings little to nothing good or new to the table and quite frankly, feels like a copy and paste of last years game. I think that we as the consumer should vote with our wallets and take a stand against corruptThe sheer fact that the ESRB would rate this casino simulator of a basketball game an E for everyone really says everything you need to know about the state if gaming. NBA 2K20 brings little to nothing good or new to the table and quite frankly, feels like a copy and paste of last years game. I think that we as the consumer should vote with our wallets and take a stand against corrupt gaming publishers that consistently scam its player base with unfinished, unpolished garbage year in and year out. I will never buy another sports game until this cancer is eradicated. Expand
  61. Sep 15, 2019
    0
    This **** micro transactions and gambling for packs got to go. F**k this. We need someone else to develop real bball game. This is pathetic.
  62. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Too many bugs and micro transactions. Game has some major flaws like players not gaining rep or virtual currency.
  63. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Not microtranactions... MACROTRANSACTIONS mk19 was bad enough but these are out of control this year
  64. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    The game depends on microtransactions more than any other game I have ever seen. Not only is this a ridiculously greedy attempt of getting even more money out of the customer's pocket than the $60 we already paid, the game itself is incredibly buggy and the load screens let you finish your studies before you get to play the game. And if you do get to finally play, the game screws you overThe game depends on microtransactions more than any other game I have ever seen. Not only is this a ridiculously greedy attempt of getting even more money out of the customer's pocket than the $60 we already paid, the game itself is incredibly buggy and the load screens let you finish your studies before you get to play the game. And if you do get to finally play, the game screws you over with a disconnect which renders all of your progress up until then obsolete. On the topic of progress: The progress bars are frozen right now and no matter what you do, nothing counts towards it. Expand
  65. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Complete garbage. They put a basketball in my gambling simulator and then rated it E for everyone. Avoid like the plague. Save yourself the money and buy a basketball game from 10 years ago, you'll get more value and more fun.
  66. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Of course even the the critics give this game a rating of 7.9 out of 10 and go as far to commend 2k20 for its “less invasive micro transactions” when blatant examples of gambling takes place in the game. Another tainted and corrupted games series ruined by EA’s malpractices. Damn shame
  67. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Wouldn’t even buy this garbage of a game if it was on sale for 30 bucks (which it will be by November). I wish I looked at reviews prior to buying it, because I pissed away 60 bucks. They copy and pasted 2k19, but added in a ton of bugs and the game is slow as hell. How can a game regress this bad? No graphic upgrade, no broadcast upgrade, my league and mygm are exactly the same. It’s aWouldn’t even buy this garbage of a game if it was on sale for 30 bucks (which it will be by November). I wish I looked at reviews prior to buying it, because I pissed away 60 bucks. They copy and pasted 2k19, but added in a ton of bugs and the game is slow as hell. How can a game regress this bad? No graphic upgrade, no broadcast upgrade, my league and mygm are exactly the same. It’s a shame that 2K used to be a top tier video game (had it on the same level as MLB the show) but now has dropped to a horrendous game. Hell, even Madden made more upgrades to their game. Don’t waste your money and stick with 2K19 Expand
  68. Sep 18, 2019
    0
    They put basketball in my gambling game. This game only exists to make money of gambling and conditioning children to be okay with it.
  69. Sep 22, 2019
    1
    Setting no Rookie Difficulty in My Career is the biggest mistake. Firstly, not all the players are pro in gameplay, especially people like me who is not a hardcore gamer. Secondly, I always...ALWAYS..purchase VC for upgrading my player, but in the end of the day, I still feel dissapointed for all my purchase can't work that much to improve my player. Thirdly, a game is supposedly to beSetting no Rookie Difficulty in My Career is the biggest mistake. Firstly, not all the players are pro in gameplay, especially people like me who is not a hardcore gamer. Secondly, I always...ALWAYS..purchase VC for upgrading my player, but in the end of the day, I still feel dissapointed for all my purchase can't work that much to improve my player. Thirdly, a game is supposedly to be ENTERTAINING, but with no rookie difficulty for some players, it makes them more upset and not enjoying the game anymore. I guess this is the last time I buy NBA 2k series. Hope you understand to hear the customers' wants and needs and not your ego, since you've lost one. Expand
  70. Sep 17, 2019
    0
    Do yourself, the hobby of gaming, and everyone else a favour and do not support this microtransaction ridden mess. Supporting this trash only sets negative precedents in the future for our hobby. If you pay an up front cost for a game, none of this should be in the game in any shape or form. Disgraceful stuff, and I hope to see MUCH MORE push back against this disaster and others similarDo yourself, the hobby of gaming, and everyone else a favour and do not support this microtransaction ridden mess. Supporting this trash only sets negative precedents in the future for our hobby. If you pay an up front cost for a game, none of this should be in the game in any shape or form. Disgraceful stuff, and I hope to see MUCH MORE push back against this disaster and others similar going forward. Expand
  71. Sep 12, 2019
    0
    Disgusting slot machine. This devolution of games must be stopped immediately. Still it is not much of e review bombing since the gameplay itself is absolutely identical to last years edition. Therefore this game actually deserves 0 and morally maybe even negative one...
  72. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Predatory gambling simulator disguised as a basketball game, full of bugs and glitches
  73. Sep 19, 2019
    0
    I play mostly offline (play now mode) so I usually don`t experience most of the online problems that are present for last few years, but this game is stuttering even in offline games. It feels like a laggy mess, not optimised even after patch 1.03. This issue is defiantly present on PS4 pro console running 4k and it sill haven't been resolved. This game is almost unplayable at this pointI play mostly offline (play now mode) so I usually don`t experience most of the online problems that are present for last few years, but this game is stuttering even in offline games. It feels like a laggy mess, not optimised even after patch 1.03. This issue is defiantly present on PS4 pro console running 4k and it sill haven't been resolved. This game is almost unplayable at this point because it feels at times that it`s running at 30fps during gameplay. This is unacceptable and until this issue is fixed I give this game 0 because it`s unplayable in 4k. 2k needs to step up an start to respect there customers. Expand
  74. Sep 19, 2019
    1
    1/10 because this is a great Casino Simulation game but a terrible NBA simulation game. I never knew gambling was such a huge part of the NBA players careers until I played this game. Thanks 2K games for enlightening me. NO MORE LOOT BOXES IN FULL PRICED GAMES!! Why is this rated E for EVERYONE!?
  75. Sep 12, 2019
    0
    Who in their right mind thought that this game was ready to be released? So many bugs made this game unplayable. You want to progress trough the game? Well thats not going to happen. Putting the bugs aside there is the greedy predatory mechanic involving literall casino games to fool players into spending real money. What a disaster of a game.
  76. WDJ
    Sep 8, 2019
    0
    2k19 Carbon Copy! Hey and you get to start everything all over again and pay $60 plus more in game purchases!
  77. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Admittedly I haven't played the game as of now, but after they made a trailer for it's loot boxes, are you willing to buy a game with a trailer like that?
  78. Sep 17, 2019
    0
    The worst NBA game ever. A lot of bugs, the game was unfinished. Don't buy this crap.
  79. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Ok the best sh*t in 2019 goesss toooooo NBA 2K20. That's not a game. This is just a payment method.
  80. Sep 19, 2019
    0
    This game has more to do with gambling, than with actual basketball. What a shame
  81. Sep 12, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Minor graphic update that still is not up to todays standards is not worth a $60 release Also not mention all the gambling going on plus all the buggs and all the false marketing and all the lies told by ronnie 2k Expand
  82. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Just an absolute cash grab by a once loved franchise that like Madden refuses to improve the gameplay experience but instead keeps adding monitization mechanics like "a freaking casino".... Yes, you can't spend real money on that but you can spend real money on 2K's virtual currency which than allows you the ability to use that for the casino. Just a crap game!
  83. Sep 17, 2019
    0
    I really love how this game has finally brought much needed attention to a corrupt game industry!
  84. Sep 19, 2019
    0
    This game is an example what a AAA game looks like now a days.Broken on release,full with casino type of microtransactions,false promises,greedy bastards.I hope all the loot boxes get banned so you can go and work in a supermarket you lazy **** there they are going to kick you out.
  85. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    This game shows quite well all that is wrong in these days sports game. I really don't like the fact that you can't even play single player game without connection to server and that connection is so often broken, that it is just unacceptable. And all the greedy with these microtransactions make me sick. I really hope that someday some developer will go back to make sports game greatThis game shows quite well all that is wrong in these days sports game. I really don't like the fact that you can't even play single player game without connection to server and that connection is so often broken, that it is just unacceptable. And all the greedy with these microtransactions make me sick. I really hope that someday some developer will go back to make sports game great again, because 2k and EA won't do that. They just ruined them. Expand
  86. Sep 17, 2019
    0
    Gambling Simulator 2020. I cannot believe this is rated Pegi 3 and E for Everyone.

    Slot machines, roulette, ball drop, card packs, and this is something kids (and adults) can unfortunately spend large sums of money on. 2K and Take Two don’t have a moral compass. They don’t care whose lives get destroyed if it makes their company even more money. That’s the tragedy here: Not that this is
    Gambling Simulator 2020. I cannot believe this is rated Pegi 3 and E for Everyone.

    Slot machines, roulette, ball drop, card packs, and this is something kids (and adults) can unfortunately spend large sums of money on.

    2K and Take Two don’t have a moral compass. They don’t care whose lives get destroyed if it makes their company even more money. That’s the tragedy here: Not that this is a bad game (which it is), but more that this game is a vehicle to financially crush addicts, that it takes advantage of individuals and families, including children who get access to their parents bank accounts.

    And the ESRB rates this E for Everyone? That’s a lie and they know it.
    Expand
  87. Sep 18, 2019
    0
    Micropagos por todos lados, bugs por doquier y publicidad dentro de el juego. Una completa basura
  88. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    **** you 2k this game sucks man who even keeps buying this **** microtransaction normie garbage
  89. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The shooting is trash, it’s full of bugs, nothing new has been added. It’s basically 2k19.5 Expand
  90. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    NBA $2k spent to get Lebron James! This game is the equivalent of the Colombian girl who's dating your rich grandpa for his "personality" with the exception being that this game is for 3 year olds instead of boomers who got a free ride on college and spend their retirement reeing on Facebook whenever they see an interracial couple; but joining their Christians Against Vaccines group andNBA $2k spent to get Lebron James! This game is the equivalent of the Colombian girl who's dating your rich grandpa for his "personality" with the exception being that this game is for 3 year olds instead of boomers who got a free ride on college and spend their retirement reeing on Facebook whenever they see an interracial couple; but joining their Christians Against Vaccines group and reading the posts would be far better entertainment than this steaming pile of hog **** Expand
  91. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    This game is just a casino. Simple as that. The only thing 2k cares about is manipulating their fanbase into wasting all their money on dumbass micro transactions. I'm baffled.
  92. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Awful gambling same game every year and boring gameplay. I am so disappointed because we just have two basketball game that both sucks.
  93. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Awful game. Heavily monetized, gameplay isn't enjoyable, essentially a somehow more monetized version of 2K19. Ronnie2k even lied about many "new" things added to the game and lied about gameplay mechanics to get people to buy this POS. Please don't buy this turd of game and let them get away with lying and swindling people out of their money.
  94. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    This is an embarrassment to all sports games; including fifa! You spend more time on slot machines, roulette tables, opening card packs and literally gambling then you do actually playing the actual game. It is a disgrace how they are even getting away with this. So lazy they couldn't even change the taskbar logo.
  95. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    Game is broken and microtransaction riddled. Terrible game DO NOT BUY !!!!!!!
  96. Sep 9, 2019
    0
    An expensive patch for 2k19 that only adds more issues and faster way to spend your actual money
  97. Sep 10, 2019
    0
    Why did you put basketball in my casino for Kids? Seriously, what were you thinking about while doing this game?
  98. Sep 10, 2019
    0
    A sh*t port of 2k19 that somehow manages to have more visual bugs than the older version.

    In addition they have a disgusting form of legit gambling in their game while advertising their game to kids and young teenager.

    dont buy the game for 60$, dont buy it for 20$, honestly you should not even play it for free, just pick up 2k19 for cheap and you will have a much better experince
  99. Sep 11, 2019
    0
    nba live needs to hurry up. this game has so many bugs. Which could be fixed with a patch. Still no patch gamestop bring me my money
  100. Sep 11, 2019
    0
    Im sad because I just want a quality basketball game THAT ISNT A PAY TO WIN CRAP FEST THAT PROMOTES GAMBLING TO CHILDERN!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Dec 9, 2019
    85
    NBA 2K20 isn't the most groundbreaking opus in the IP, but it's still a must-have for all the basketball fans out there.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Visual Concepts’ tireless scouting for new stuff hasn’t affected its immaculate eye for detail. [Issue#168, p.78]
  3. Oct 16, 2019
    75
    NBA 2K20 includes fewer innovations than a "copy/paste club", yet manages to still play and feel pretty great. Gambling and microtransactions involved are becoming more and more toxic with each year tho.