User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 254

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2015
    9
    The game is great to play, especially to eat up time. A side scrolling game where I often get confused with the controls. I failed tooooo many times, but I still love this game. I definitely recommend it.
  2. Mar 10, 2015
    9
    This is one of the most addictive games I've played since I first played Trials HD and one of the better PS+ titles. I can't believe people on here saying the controls are unresponsive, and rating the game at 1 and 0! The controls are tight and work exactly as intended. Anyone who thinks otherwise and immediately writes the game off while coming on here to post a scathing negative reviewThis is one of the most addictive games I've played since I first played Trials HD and one of the better PS+ titles. I can't believe people on here saying the controls are unresponsive, and rating the game at 1 and 0! The controls are tight and work exactly as intended. Anyone who thinks otherwise and immediately writes the game off while coming on here to post a scathing negative review is a fool! If you take a few hours and practice the control scheme and get the hang of it, it is tons of fun. I highly recommend it! Don't listen to the numb skull people who played the game for 15 minutes and think they have enough knowledge about it to come on here and give it a 1. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2015
    10
    This is an amazing game, excellent levels, good game-play, beautiful graphics, excellent soundtrack, addictive and rej-oinable to try to get every challenges. No words
  4. Mar 7, 2015
    9
    I didn't know what to expect going in besides the fact I would be skateboarding. To my surprise, this is one of the best games I've played on a next gen console and by far (besides maybe transistor) the best free ps plus game. I found my self ADDICTED. Starting out thinking it was a challenging game, I noticed myself landing 70x combos hours later. Even without the ps+ free offer. It'sI didn't know what to expect going in besides the fact I would be skateboarding. To my surprise, this is one of the best games I've played on a next gen console and by far (besides maybe transistor) the best free ps plus game. I found my self ADDICTED. Starting out thinking it was a challenging game, I noticed myself landing 70x combos hours later. Even without the ps+ free offer. It's worth every penny. A MUST HAVE. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2015
    9
    I always had been curious about this game. I had seen my favourite Youtubers play the original OlliOlli, and I was quite interested by the gameplay mechanics. Fortunately, OlliOlli 2 is a thrilling game with a fantastic control scheme. Yes, the game is quite challenging however it can be genuinely satisfying and rewarding at times. I feel that these three words can describe OlliOlli 2.I always had been curious about this game. I had seen my favourite Youtubers play the original OlliOlli, and I was quite interested by the gameplay mechanics. Fortunately, OlliOlli 2 is a thrilling game with a fantastic control scheme. Yes, the game is quite challenging however it can be genuinely satisfying and rewarding at times. I feel that these three words can describe OlliOlli 2. Beautiful, fun and challenging. The graphics and music of OlliOlli 2 are superb. The sound effects were also impressive. There is quite a bit to do in OlliOlli 2, however I think they should have added a level creator mode and an endurance mode. Apart from that, Olli Olli 2 is a fantastic game. I would definitely recommend you to get this game providing how cheap it is. Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We’ve always been big fans of skateboarding games, so we were really excited to get our hands on OlliOlli2: Welcome to Olliwood. OlliOlli2 is an indie title for both the PS4 and PSVita developed by Roll7. The basic goal of the game is to get the best possible score at the end of each run by doing tricks and combos. Also by scoring extra points by completing challenges.

    Each trick/combo is scored from a selection of ratings ,ranging from sloppy to sick, depending on how well you land the trick or combo. This is where things get frustrating, if your timing isn’t on point then the whole score of the trick will be brought down by the landing. This also makes the game addictive because we found ourselves constantly replaying the run trying to perfect the trick/combo. The difficulty of the game progressively gets harder as you progress through the levels in the game, starting from amateur and going pro. The challenges get harder and the surfaces become less flat, with more objects and obstacles that you need to get over by performing tricks. The levels alter from a variety of worlds making the game feel less repetitive as you face different obstacles that require you to learn new tricks in order to get over.

    Gameplay is hard, the controls are easy but trying to get to grips with them to learn the extensive number of tricks can be quite difficult. There is a list of all the tricks, and theres a lot of them, in the Tricktionary which you can easily access through the pause menu. There are 27 trophy to achieve in this game, ranging from some pretty easy ones to more difficult ones that require some skill.

    Even though this game did frustrate us at times with the seem less impossible challenges, the music does a great job of keeping you calm. This game looks and sounds fantastic. The music goes great with the gameplay and creates a cool, chilled atmosphere which is greatly accompanied by the visuals. The visuals are an improvement from the first OlliOlli, they’re a lot more slicker and with it’s vibrant and colourful backgrounds, the game looks retro inspired.
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2015
    8
    A pleasant surprise for me, given that I have not heard of this one before I seen it available as a free game for PlayStation Plus members. A very good looking game, gameplay itself is amazing and very smooth. However, like most skating games, controls are virtually impossible to truly "master". Errors will occur often. Really my only complaint about this one, I am enjoying this one rightA pleasant surprise for me, given that I have not heard of this one before I seen it available as a free game for PlayStation Plus members. A very good looking game, gameplay itself is amazing and very smooth. However, like most skating games, controls are virtually impossible to truly "master". Errors will occur often. Really my only complaint about this one, I am enjoying this one right now as a time killer and something to throw on and have some fun. Expand
  8. Apr 26, 2015
    9
    I can honeetly say that this game was one of the few games I didn't even know existed until it was free on PS Plus. When I did get it, however, I thought it was a decent game. Its hard as hell, but that makes me love it even more.
  9. Mar 11, 2015
    8
    Good game and great music. This is extremely tough, though so be warned...
    The graphics are pretty nice and it is fluid. I doubt I'll be able to complete the levels on super hard, but that won't stop me trying.
  10. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    Gameplay is very strong in this one. While the game is immensely challenging, new tricks aren't hard to learn, so you rarely feel cheated. 'Career' mode's pace is awesome. You go from trying to land perfecty to doing entire levels in a single combo to doing so in crazy cinematic style, fitting a 'revert manual' or a 'grind-switch' in every piece of the level for that impossible highscore.Gameplay is very strong in this one. While the game is immensely challenging, new tricks aren't hard to learn, so you rarely feel cheated. 'Career' mode's pace is awesome. You go from trying to land perfecty to doing entire levels in a single combo to doing so in crazy cinematic style, fitting a 'revert manual' or a 'grind-switch' in every piece of the level for that impossible highscore. Game is also a 2d treat to the eyes. Expand
  11. May 11, 2015
    9
    I don't understand any of these low idiot user reviews for this game. They make no sense. Trust me, it's a great game - especially for fans of either the Trials or Tony Hawk series.
  12. Mar 26, 2015
    9
    It always amazes me that people rate games based off how it didn't meet their misguided expectations. OlliOlli is truly a delight to play. It's an entry in the endless runner genre with a skateboarding twist. The controls are actually quite complex and the constant negative comparisons to Tony Hawk games are absolutely silly. I didn't even think of Tony Hawk when I started playing thisIt always amazes me that people rate games based off how it didn't meet their misguided expectations. OlliOlli is truly a delight to play. It's an entry in the endless runner genre with a skateboarding twist. The controls are actually quite complex and the constant negative comparisons to Tony Hawk games are absolutely silly. I didn't even think of Tony Hawk when I started playing this game, I immediately got a Bit Runner vibe. This game absolutely proves you can pull off a fun skateboarding game in 2D. The only reason I docked it a point is the music isn't very well selected overall. There is one track in particular that actually made me think my headphones were partially disconnected. It was absolutely dreadful. Other than that, awesome game. Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2015
    8
    Trust me, if you feel like there is a mass lack of skating games on the new consoles, then you're in luck, because this game will definitely fill you without disappointment. It's fast paced, very arcade-like. It looks great, the music is amazing, and it's just a whole lot of fun to play. There isn't too much variety, which is why this game is down 2 points for me, but it's definitely aTrust me, if you feel like there is a mass lack of skating games on the new consoles, then you're in luck, because this game will definitely fill you without disappointment. It's fast paced, very arcade-like. It looks great, the music is amazing, and it's just a whole lot of fun to play. There isn't too much variety, which is why this game is down 2 points for me, but it's definitely a whole lot of fun to play. Expand
  14. Mar 18, 2015
    8
    Как только объявили мартовский плюс, я пождумал, что нам дали очередной инди-высер (конечно не считая Valiant Hearts). Но, поиграв в Oli Oli 2, я убедился, что не все так плохо. Разнообразие трюков,трасс, соревнований, уровней сложностей - все меня порадовало. да, сюжета здесь толком нет, но разрабы умудрились сделать игру, которая может отвлечь тебя на некоторое время. Не знаю, стоит лиКак только объявили мартовский плюс, я пождумал, что нам дали очередной инди-высер (конечно не считая Valiant Hearts). Но, поиграв в Oli Oli 2, я убедился, что не все так плохо. Разнообразие трюков,трасс, соревнований, уровней сложностей - все меня порадовало. да, сюжета здесь толком нет, но разрабы умудрились сделать игру, которая может отвлечь тебя на некоторое время. Не знаю, стоит ли тратить на нее 100 или 300 рублей, но бесплатно поиграть точно стоит Expand
  15. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    Fantastic and addicting game. It takes a while to get used to the controls but once you get the hang of it this game is a blast. One of the best games to come out so far this year. If you have PS Plus (which you should) this game is free for March 2015!
  16. Mar 8, 2015
    9
    I'm kind of mind blow by some of the bad reviews that this game is getting. I'll just say right away if you're into button mashing games like tony hawk then this will not be for you. I would put OlliOlli2 closer to skate in comparison of controls. You use the Left analog to execute many of your moves. Triggers will control spins and special grinds much like skate. They blend some of theI'm kind of mind blow by some of the bad reviews that this game is getting. I'll just say right away if you're into button mashing games like tony hawk then this will not be for you. I would put OlliOlli2 closer to skate in comparison of controls. You use the Left analog to execute many of your moves. Triggers will control spins and special grinds much like skate. They blend some of the trick options from skate and have goals similar to tony hawk where you have to collect the items, land certain tricks, go for points ect. For 20$ I ensure you'll get your moneys worth in play time. For ps plus subscribers this is def. a must have for your ps4 or vita Expand
  17. Sep 8, 2015
    8
    It's not like we are going to get skate 4 anyway.
    Shut your mouth and stop complaining. It is actually pretty good and has some sick ass music (aka my jam)
  18. May 27, 2016
    8
    I originally rated this a 2/10 after playing it for about 15 minutes...but I've changed my score to an 8 after trying it again and decided it's a fantastic game. I have been playing it on my vita and it's super fun once you get used to the controls
  19. Apr 25, 2015
    9
    Absolutely great, satisfying, original skateboarding game. This game takes a lot of time to master and is so much fun. There are many improvements over the first game with new features such as launches, manuals, new tricks, grind switches and lots more. This was free on playstation plus in march. Personally, I think I should have payed for it. Also, the soundtrack is **** INCREDIBLE. GoodAbsolutely great, satisfying, original skateboarding game. This game takes a lot of time to master and is so much fun. There are many improvements over the first game with new features such as launches, manuals, new tricks, grind switches and lots more. This was free on playstation plus in march. Personally, I think I should have payed for it. Also, the soundtrack is **** INCREDIBLE. Good job, roll7. Expand
  20. May 13, 2015
    9
    I recently bought this game after having an obsession over Skate 3 on my PlayStation 3. So i decided to look on the PlayStation store to see if i could download it on my PlayStation 4, unfortunately you cannot. However whilst looking i came across this gem of a game. In one word its beautiful although challenging.

    At first i found it difficult to get used to the totally unique controls
    I recently bought this game after having an obsession over Skate 3 on my PlayStation 3. So i decided to look on the PlayStation store to see if i could download it on my PlayStation 4, unfortunately you cannot. However whilst looking i came across this gem of a game. In one word its beautiful although challenging.

    At first i found it difficult to get used to the totally unique controls but once i overcame the learning curve the game felt sharp, yet fluid and effortless. Passing through each level can take a huge number of attempts as you learn when and when not to continue combos to eventually reach the end but the super quick re-spawn times means you never stop playing.

    I have one minor problem with the game though and that is some of the more difficult tricks for example double kick-flips and 720 flips are very difficult to pull off due to the fact you must move the analog stick in more than one direction as well as hold either R1 or L1 therefore making these tricks harder to preform accurately especially when you are mid combo and travelling at high speed.

    to conclude i love this game with its fast pace and seriously addictive game play but one thing stops it from being a 10.
    Expand
  21. Aug 27, 2018
    9
    If you like indie games, skateboarding and retro aesthetics, you will love this game.
    I have to admit that I have personally become a bit difficult to get used to the controls since I am used to skate games like Skate 3 or Tony Hawks, but once you get used to it it is very fun since you can perform many tricks and the game is very Quick.
    Suitable for all audiences!
  22. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    This is my favorite game, ever. I've played a bunch of skateboarding games, snowboarding games and this game is the best. The controls are EXTREMELY precise which I love. The levels are designed very well and the music is pretty good. Most of the criticism of the game seems to be written by those who don't respect the game enough to get good at it. They fail to land over and over andThis is my favorite game, ever. I've played a bunch of skateboarding games, snowboarding games and this game is the best. The controls are EXTREMELY precise which I love. The levels are designed very well and the music is pretty good. Most of the criticism of the game seems to be written by those who don't respect the game enough to get good at it. They fail to land over and over and instead of trying to master their timing the say "the controls are unresponsive". The controls don't respond to poor timing and a quitter attitude. I've put a couple of hundred hours into the game and I can tell you that the controls are phenomenal. You need frame-perfect timing for maximum scores which shouldn't be considered a bad thing. It should be considered a great thing because the developer is encouraging real skill and doesn't try to make you feel like a bad-ass for pressing one button.
    Making this game free on PS4+ was a mistake. It devalues the game in the mind of the player and I suspect many of those who pay nothing for a game consider it worthless before they play it and so are unwilling to put in the time required to get good.
    The only criticism of the game I have are the challenges. Collecting things is boring and it encourages a way of playing which doesn't increase the players skill level (no tricks, no need to land perfects) just go through the level over and over and over until you get the thing. This is only annoying in later stages when the player is able to do advanced tricks and is forces to play like a newbie in order to complete the challenge.
    I urge you to give this game a fair try. It's an absolute gem. Can't wait for Olliolli 3.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. CD-Action
    Jul 4, 2015
    90
    Improved animation fluidity and collision detection made OlliOlli 2 a near-perfect arcade game. [07/2015, p.75]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 26, 2015
    85
    OlliOlli2 improves on its predecessor in nearly every way and remains and absolute blast. [May 2015, p74]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 20, 2015
    90
    And to think it was given away free on PS Plus. [May 2015, p.93]