Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Mar 14, 2019
    85
    It was almost inevitable that One Piece World Seeker would have some faults, but it’s hard not to love the game regardless of them.
  2. 85
    Overall, despite the occasional combat snag or nagging disappointment I couldn’t play as Franky, One Piece: World Seeker absolutely shocked me with how good it is. It’s a massive, familiar, comfort food sort of open world game, that just happens to have the upbeat vibe, wacky characters, and bright colors of One Piece powering its engine.
  3. Apr 5, 2019
    80
    Overall, One Piece: World Seeker captures the entire spirit of the franchise and compresses it into a new and unique story, on an island that you'll enjoy exploring and with characters some of you may have even grown up with.
  4. Mar 16, 2019
    80
    One Piece: World Seeker nails what makes the series as beloved as it is, and does justice to its source material in a way other One Piece games haven’t. It may not be perfect, but it’s still well worth a look for both longtime fans of One Piece and newcomers who want to see what a proper game based on the series can be.
  5. Mar 13, 2019
    80
    Ultimately, One Piece: World Seeker is a super fun game that does the iconic franchise justice and serves as an engrossing and delightful standalone experience. Now more than ever, I’m eager to dive into the series egregiously long story and see what else the Straw Hats have been up to for the past two decades, and what brought them to where they are in this title. The game’s shortcomings are easy to overlook thanks to the gorgeous environments, captivating music, engaging story, and utterly loveable characters. I highly recommend it for fans of the series, curious newcomers, and pirate enthusiasts everywhere.
  6. Mar 21, 2019
    75
    With One Piece: World Seeker it feels like we are finally getting higher quality licensed anime games, but it still has a way to go to be truly incredible or essential, even for fans of the series. Still, if you want to run and rocket with Luffy and the crew, this is a great place to do so.
  7. Mar 18, 2019
    75
    I liken One Piece World Seeker to a filler arc or a movie for the series. It’s non-canonical, but nonetheless can be an enjoyable experience. The game leans heavily on the player to be knowledgeable to the series and might be a turn off for those not familiar with the series. This is a competent title, but it falls short of what the teaser trailer promised.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 13, 2019
    Japanese developer Ganbarion has put together one hell of a game, certainly the most ambitious ever created for the One Piece franchise. I’ve played Monkey D. Luffy in fighting games countless times, and I’ve never connected with the character nearly as much as I have just running through the green grassy hills of One Piece: World Seeker. [Impressions]
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 139
  2. Negative: 88 out of 139
  1. Apr 2, 2019
    5
    This game is a good idea but had poor execution. Giving fans an open world One Piece game is a great idea but the open world feels so lifelessThis game is a good idea but had poor execution. Giving fans an open world One Piece game is a great idea but the open world feels so lifeless and empty that it is kind of boring. I wish they would have given us a way to sail to other islands by using the Thousand Sunny and letting us have ship combat with navy or other pirate ships.

    The missions and combat are really repetitive and the enemy AI doesn't seem to do much but take their beatings, which consisted of me just mashing 1 button.

    The bosses don't fare any better as they really require no strategy other than block their attacks, then counter with your own, repeat steps til the boss' health is depleted.

    Luffy's crew are reduced to a support cast that either offer cooking or crafting and the rest are either seen just standing around or in cutscenes. They are not playable or able to join you on any of your missions.

    The only pros I can think of are the way you travel the map is fun, the skill tree is a good way to reward progress, and the story is really interesting. This is a half decent One Piece game but needed some more polishing before release.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2019
    2
    I dont like this game but i like lists:

    1. The "World" The world, while beautifully rendered is completely empty, no animals, no
    I dont like this game but i like lists:

    1. The "World"
    The world, while beautifully rendered is completely empty, no animals, no significant things to discover, mostly nothing. the only part that feels a bit more alive is steel city and even there it feels empty. you only have one kind of tree and one kind of grass spread around the map. but a lotta shiny things to collect. For an open world game this feels more like a tech demo with just some stuff rammed into it so its not completely bare. but not a thing worth exploring.

    2. the gameplay
    this is is weird to me. world seeker is some weird hybrid of a character action game and a stealth game. the game clearly is designed to be played a stealth. the enemy have detection zones, you have solid snake boxes in which you can hide to avoid detection, you have some stealth kill related powers. on the other hand, luffy feels like a character in a character action game, most of his moves are cool dmc like action moves and you feel like that how you want to play a OP game. ruffy isn't a ninja.
    also, i played on normal, there isn't really a reason to stealth. there's like 5 enemys on the map at once and i can very easily beat thos just by punching them. and if a core concept of the game is ignorable on the normal difficulty this feels like a failure. and if you say "but stupid critic, you can play on harder and then you need to stealth!" i say "but if i only need a feature of a game when i play on a harder difficulty, doesn't that sound like a badly put together game?"

    3. the story
    i was not able to care, its so convoluted and unnecessary. The crew is pretty irrelevant but you have that sweet new original character jeanne whos everywhere always and super enganging...

    4. the crafting system
    its bad. there stuff you can collect on maps, only glowing dots for everything though, no models no animations, just little sfx effects you can collect. bare bone like almost everything. with your sfx in hand you can now craft one kind of equip which gives you numerical boni to things. that's it. its so bare bone and boring.

    5. enemy design
    welp. except for the bosses which are the OP characters you love, even though very repetitive fights, the enemy's are mostly the same, with two major variants. they are boring to fight and work all the same. On that note, the gun shots are a **** to evade with no clear tell of when they are going to shoot which makes the game very unsatisfying.

    6. the travel system
    this is fun. except for the lazily limited options to hold on to and no option to bounce off of building sides, its just fun.

    overall this game is bad. it looks pretty if you look at it for less than 2 minutes but its empty, repetitive, lazy and just not engaging. the idea of a OP stealth game going through development and getting released without anyone saying its maybe not the best genre for this franchise is bizarre to me.

    i really like OP and i really wanted to like this game but i just cant.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2019
    5
    Not good for a One Piece game. And the open world is just lifeless and didn't look like from One Piece world. This game is just a generic openNot good for a One Piece game. And the open world is just lifeless and didn't look like from One Piece world. This game is just a generic open world with a title One Piece in it. Full Review »