Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
Buy On
  1. Oct 24, 2019
    100
    More than just Fallout in space, this action-RPG is a delightful sci-fi romp with razor-sharp writing, lashings of humour and enough content to entertain you for months.
  2. 100
    With a startlingly original new world to play in – combined with a warm feeling of familiarity – Obsidian has managed to deliver the one of the best first-person RPG's. This is the game that fans of this genre have been craving, and it is a pure joy to watch Obsidian plop the role-playing crown back squarely down on its head.
  3. 100
    The combination of The Outer Worlds‘ stunning visuals and immersive story telling have positioned the game to be an amazing start to a beloved franchise. We’ve only just scratched the surface with Halcyon’s tale, and I am certain Obsidian has begun planting seeds for its future.
  4. 100
    Dizzyingly deep, painstakingly polished, remarkably replayable, and marvelously moreish, The Outer Worlds is one of the most refined and well-written RPGs of the generation.
  5. Oct 22, 2019
    100
    The Outer Worlds is an impressive spiritual successor to Obsidian’s work on Fallout: New Vegas, mixing familiar design elements and the same zany attitude with an imaginative new universe and even deeper role-playing. While you can breeze through the main questline a bit quicker than in similar games, this is the sort of RPG experience you’ll want to play through multiple times, with multiple builds, to see all the systems and narrative paths on offer.
  6. Oct 29, 2019
    95
    The Outer Worlds, much like a solar eclipse has blocked out the rest of the genre with it's excellent systems and setting. Obsidian have delivered one of the best games of the year and in my opinion the best RPG of its kind in years. From it's jaw-dropping visuals and design, to the hilarious world and its colorful cast of characters, The Outer Worlds represents the new benchmark for the genre and is a masterclass in player choice. If you hold even a passing interest in RPGs, stop everything you're doing and play it right away. This is a very special game that deserves all of the recognition I'm sure is coming.
  7. Oct 22, 2019
    95
    With the best writing of any game thus far in 2019, any fan of RPGs needs to play The Outer Worlds.
  8. Nov 7, 2019
    93
    Regardless of any decisions made in The Outer Worlds, know that Obsidian has justified them. This is a game that is confident with itself. It is in no way small. Featuring some of the strongest games writing I’ve witnessed in years, it’s hard not to want to dive back into this world as a completely different character and tinker with the story just to see how it attempts to gel with player choice. For awhile, I thought this genre was nearing life support. Now, I’m confident that the community will embrace The Outer Worlds to the point where Obsidian has to give us more of this universe. It’s so well-realized, so lovingly crafted. It’s the best choice.
  9. Oct 22, 2019
    93
    Even if the larger beats don’t always land, The Outer Worlds shines with a constant stream of small, bright moments. An amusing interaction with a clueless guard. A sugary corporate jingle. A brutal sneak attack. A solution to a problem you are sure won’t work, but it does. The team at Obsidian excels at encouraging creative experimentation within its responsive and absurd setting, ensuring that every visit to Halcyon is full of delightful surprises.
  10. Oct 23, 2019
    92
    The Outer Worlds is a triumph for Obsidian Entertainment and AA games in general. They set out to create a successor to New Vegas and succeeded on every conceivable level. Every mechanic I loved from that game, including the stunningly robust faction system, has been taken to new heights. Sure, the world isn't quite as big as New Vegas, but with the almost-limitless choices the game offers you, it feels just as massive. The Outer Worlds may not reinvent the genre, but it is an outstanding example of how engaging RPGs can be when created by developers who have a passion for them and video games in general!
  11. Oct 31, 2019
    91
    The Outer Worlds is an absolute steal if you’re opting to go the Xbox Game Pass route, but even at $60, it’s well worth your time. It’s exciting to see a viable alternative to the Fallout series, which is exactly what Obsidian has created here.
  12. Oct 22, 2019
    91
    The characters can be intriguing, subtle, or over-the-top. But you remember them, and that’s saying much more than I can about other RPGs I’ve played this year.
  13. Oct 22, 2019
    91
    With full character development, a wonderful companion system, and a spirit all its own, The Outer Worlds is everything I had hoped it would be and more. From the excellent writing to the beautiful environments, each new world is vast enough to feel expansive without being desolate and wasted space. The gameplay and combat is fantastic and handles great, with the only downside being its occasional dip in frame rate or issues loading textures. The Outer Worlds fulfills the promise every other RPG makes of putting you in control and I can’t wait to try the game over and over again with different styles and tactics.
  14. Dec 4, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is the Bethesda RPG you always wanted, but it's not made by Bethesda. This is one of the finest RPG experiences that let you take complete control of your storyline, and it's one hell of a ride.
  15. Nov 6, 2019
    90
    There’s no denying that The Outer Worlds bears the imprint of earlier Obsidian games and a number of other timeless RPGs as well, but those influences do little to diminish the accomplishment of some amazing worldbuilding, entertaining storytelling and brilliantly realized characters. The Outer World tackles some serious subjects but never feels weighted down by them and it’s a fully realized example of an RPG that allows for an immense amount of player agency while keeping its larger narrative on track.
  16. Nov 5, 2019
    90
    Player choice is one of the best parts of Obsidian’s new RPG, The Outer Worlds. The game’s connections to Fallout: New Vegas are undeniable and can hold it back in some instances, but it still carves a pulpy, sci-fi identity of its own.
  17. Nov 3, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is the spiritual successor to Fallout New Vegas, and Obsidian made every effort to upgrade it in almost every aspect. The final result is a solid RPG that must be played by any fan of the genre.
  18. Oct 25, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is a kooky space opera with beautiful aesthetics, a deeply engaging cast of characters, and a tightly focused storyline. Kick the hornets' nest, smoke the insects out, or sneak past: your choice might just topple a mega-corporation or two.
  19. Oct 25, 2019
    90
    It’s an almost instant classic with some of the best character interactions I have had in years.
  20. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is an excellent attempt at capturing the Fallout formula in a new setting. It's honest about what it's trying to be, and it never shies away from it. While it may lack the sheer size of Bethesda's behemoth, The Outer Worlds still captures the fun and enjoyment of exploring, completing quests, finding new loot, and being a futuristic adventurer. Anyone who enjoyed the previous-generation Fallouts or is looking for a solid RPG will find a lot to like in The Outer Worlds.
  21. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    For over 40 hours, The Outer Worlds allowed me to be a space cowboy with all the adventure, intrigue, and danger that came along with it. Planet-hopping throughout Halcyon is one of the best experiences I’ve had in a game in years, introducing me to a cast of sympathetic and interesting characters, throwing me into exciting gunfights, and inundating me with tough decisions to make. This is a must-play for RPG fans, and an absolutely vital game for Fallout fans.
  22. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    It packs so much RPG goodness into a tight package that fans are going to be engrossed from beginning to end. More importantly, the choices presented to them are so inviting and diverse that it will be easy to start up a second playthrough and feel like new experiences are on the horizon. Put simply, The Outer Worlds is the deep sci-fi RPG that gamers have been promised from so many franchises, and only now has been delivered.
  23. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The long awaited follow-up from Obsidian knocks it out of the Tossball park.
  24. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is everything you’d want from a modern RPG. There’s no “right” way to play, and there are no easy decisions. At least, the game doesn’t seem to think so. It provides a well-realized, organic universe to explore and allows you the freedom to choose your way through gorgeous environments and complex conflicts. I already want to tour the solar system as a different explorer and see what else the game is hiding beneath the surface. It marks a tremendous achievement from one of the most accomplished developers in the genre.
  25. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is a role-playing triumph. With its sights set squarely on player choice, Obsidian delivers a brilliantly crafted sci-fi adventure that's packed with witty writing, great characters, and a fantastic degree of freedom. Add solid combat and rewarding exploration to the mix, and you've got the recipe for an RPG that begs to replayed time and time again. An essential purchase for fans of the genre.
  26. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    I think anybody that enjoyed playing the Fallout games, as well as anyone that has enjoyed the Mass Effect titles, would unequivocally enjoy their time playing The Outer Worlds. I had so much fun exploring every nook and cranny, scouring out-of-the-way locations for loot, taking everything that wasn’t nailed down, and immersing myself in the otherworldy locations around Halcyon.
  27. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    Visually impressive and superbly executed, The Outer Worlds is the type of RPG experience that dreams are made of. As soon as the credits roll, you’ll find yourself wanting more. In this case, that’s a compliment.
  28. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is exactly what players expected from Fallout: New Vegas developer Obsidian Entertainment, and that's not a bad thing.
  29. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    Obsidian Entertainment has learned from its previous titles and used those lessons in The Outer Worlds. It makes the best RPG from the studio to date, with a story full of choices and consequences, weird planets and inhabitants and a plethora of play-styles. It's a shame the combat feels clunky from time to time and there are fewer planets to visit than expected, but that shouldn't spoil the fun that The Outer Worlds has to offer.
  30. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    In the end it's the freedom of choice, and how those choices impact the world Obsidian has created that makes The Outer Worlds so great. You can be and act almost as you please, and do as little or as much for the people around you. Great writing, creative quest lines and solid voice acting makes the 40 hours a great experience.
  31. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds has quickly cemented its place as one of the best RPGs of the current generation. Excellent combat, exploration that never gets stale, characters that never grow old, stories and events that hide endless secrets...The Outer Worlds is simply fantastic.
  32. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is consistently compelling throughout, and it's a superb example of how to promote traditional RPG sensibilities in a sharp, modern experience.
  33. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    A deep, funny, and intricately designed RPG reminiscent of the golden age of Fallout, when conversations mattered and comedy-grade cynicism came fitted as standard.
  34. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    Obsidian has out-Fallouted recent Fallout efforts.
  35. Oct 22, 2019
    89
    An excellent adventure that mixes all the good stuff by Obsidian Entertainment, although it's not as big as some other contestants in the genre.
  36. Oct 28, 2019
    88
    There are more RPGs out there that promise you can make your own character en story, but The Outer Worlds makes that promise come true more than any other game I've ever played. An amazing experience.
  37. Oct 22, 2019
    88
    A great return to the mainstream scene from Obsidian, with the proper New Vegas spiritual heir that we've all been waiting.
  38. Oct 23, 2019
    86
    Cretive science-fiction, great dialogue, an open game with decisions and consequences. This feels like a mixture of Fallout New Vegas, Mass Effect and BioShock. Despite some flaws Obisdian delivers a very good role-playing game.
  39. Nov 8, 2019
    85
    While a bit safe in design, The Outer World offers a well imagined new world with great writing, crazy characters & politics, 30 well-packed hours with tons of replayability and a sublime background texture of Easter eggs, tributes and well crafted jokes.
  40. Oct 28, 2019
    85
    The Outer Worlds is truly the rightful heir to Fallout, but that religious respect for the origins means that nothing new is here. Still a very good action-RPG game that will help you forget Fallout 76.
  41. Oct 24, 2019
    85
    The Outer Worlds has flaws that need to be addressed by its developers in potential sequels but I still had an absolute blast with it. In the current AAA market, it's simply a breath of fresh air so give it a shot when you have the chance.
  42. Oct 22, 2019
    85
    The Outer Worlds is Fallout with a heavy scifi influence. A role that gives you so much freedom of choice, whereby every choice also influences the rest of the game in small, practical ways. We have not felt so free in a rpg for a long time.
  43. 85
    The Outer Worlds is the kind of inspired take on a genre that could only come from a team as passionate and talented as Obsidian. It's not perfect, but it's creative, succinct, compelling and funny in all the right ways. I sincerely hope that this signals the beginning of a new, ongoing franchise because the people and stories of the Halcyon Colony will stick with me for a long time to come.
  44. Oct 22, 2019
    85
    Obsidian takes the aging Bethesda open-world RPG formula and makes it feel fresh with an outer space setting, shorter length and incredibly sharp writing that should appeal to fans of that signature style of game and fun sci-fi adventures.
  45. Oct 23, 2019
    84
    With The Outer Worlds, Obsidian delivers a worthy entry into the RPG genre with a fun script and good direction. While the scope of the game is shorter than in appears, character development and decision-making guarantee a solid experience, despite some polishing issues.
  46. Oct 23, 2019
    83
    The Outer Worlds is more than the spiritual heir to Fallout: New Vegas. It's a rich and imaginative game about politics, the influence of corporations in our lives and everything in between.
  47. Oct 22, 2019
    83
    In the quest design and the RPG mechanics, The Outer Worlds is a bit too solid and well-known. Yes, I had a lot of fun and actually got exactly what I expected - but a little more courage to innovate would certainly not have hurt the game. But what is not, can still come. The basis for many more exciting adventures in the Halcyon colony are laid.
  48. Oct 22, 2019
    83
    If you've spent years craving the old Fallout formula, The Outer Worlds will hit the spot.
  49. Oct 22, 2019
    82
    The Outer Worlds is not a huge game, but it has many ambitions: it’s funny and brilliant, and gives the player plenty of possibilities to play the role he wants. Obsidian has made one of the best RPGs of the year.
  50. Nov 11, 2019
    81
    The Outer Worlds regains the spirit of Fallout: New Vegas to offer a space adventure that brings back the best of the genre. His dialogues and his funny characters draw more than one smile and his plot keeps glued to command for hours.
  51. If you like classic role playing games, The Outer Worlds will totally absorb you away from real life and keep you entertained. Also, the follower system is quite successful.
  52. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 18, 2019
    80
    An out-of-this-world adventure that, for better and worse, feels far from alien, even if you’ve been frozen for a few years. The familiar done well and then some. [Issue#169, p.85]
  53. Edge Magazine
    Nov 10, 2019
    80
    It might not always say what you want it to hear, but the words stay with you. [Issue#139, p.110]
  54. 80
    For the first ten hours or so I thought that The Outer Worlds would become a game of the year contender. Unfortunately it ultimately proves itself to be a little too shallow for that, but the combination of stunning vistas, excellent party members, and entertaining gunplay make it much like the 70's and 80's science fiction that it's clearly inspired by: A lot of fun when you're looking to switch the brain off and just unwind.
  55. Nov 7, 2019
    80
    A very stylish RPG from the masters at Obsidian is certainly not a disappointment, even though we’ve seen better from this very studio. The story is a weaker point, as are the dull fights, but I love the environment of the terraformed planets. This is a game to be savoured several times over.
  56. Oct 30, 2019
    80
    The Outer Worlds is the Bethesda RPG you always wanted – it just so happens to be made by an entirely different developer. This sci-fi adventure is one of the best RPG examples of a choose-your-own adventure, allowing you to take the steering wheel for both the storyline and how you tackle each objective.
  57. Oct 24, 2019
    80
    The Outer Worlds soars on the strength of its characterisation not only of the main crew but its supporting cast. Every character met is a fleshed out personality with their own hopes and dreams that will keep the quest log full, just to hear the peaks and troughs of life on the fringes of space from another point of view. With such a lot going for it narrative wise, it's a relief to see the combat, skill tree, and controls not let the side down; the only downside being the emptiness of some of the major settlements, especially after speaking to so many about a hub of life on every corner. With the time and care given to making everything so unique, not only the buildings but also the inhabitants, it's a small gripe that doesn't detract from an otherwise great title.
  58. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    The Outer Worlds is an extremely familiar experience that successfully draws inspiration from some of the most appreciated gaming series of the 21st century. It's well written with lots of exciting twists in the story and has lots of memorable moments. The character gallery and humor definitely carry the story and although some elements could have been improved, we still are very fond of Obsidian's new space opera.
  59. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Obsidian offers a new videogame that brings back the outstanding first person RPG gameplay from Fallout New Vegas. However, due to some flaws, this game also feels like it's from 2010, making it a bit obsolete from its very launch date.
  60. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Obsidian Entertainment achieves another great RPG game with The Outer Worlds. It presents a good story and ambience with plenty of customization options for our character and ways to proceed in every single situation. Even so, its technical errors and other details prevent the game from reaching the excellence it could have achieved.
  61. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Old at heart but young in spirit, The Outer Worlds is a vibrant and stunning new chapter from Obsidian that doubles down on what the studio does best and throws in some surprisingly fun gameplay on top of that.
  62. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    The presentation being lacklustre should in no way be a dealbreaker though. Obsidian have crafted a smart, witty, deep RPG experience that feels confident in its own shoes. It keeps its focus on having good role-playing mechanics, whilst still managing to have an involved combat system that improves on what we’ve seen done in the genre before. Microsoft and Obsidian seem set on making The Outer Worlds a franchise, and if that’s the case then this is a hell of an introduction.
  63. 80
    Anyone less discerning with their revolutionary tales might think I’m being harsh. And perhaps I shouldn’t expect so much from a game that named its city of corporate excess Byzantium. But when The Outer Worlds attempts to play with ideas like the logical conclusion of America’s market empire in 2019, I get to be disappointed when the endeavor falls short.
  64. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    The Outer Worlds is the game that fans have wanted Obsidian Entertainment to make for the better part of a decade. The story is the main attraction here, with Obsidian's witty writing coming to the fore in an interesting and funny interstellar setting. If that's what you look for in your RPGs, The Outer Worlds will not disappoint.
  65. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    While I have certain issues with the variety in the game's design, its story and narrative were consistently engrossing. I'd be remiss to not say I was hoping the Outer Worlds might be more than it is, but I still really enjoyed what's there.
  66. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Fallout similarities are distracting, but get into The Outer Worlds’ narrative meat and a more distinctive adventure emerges.
  67. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    The Outer Worlds marks Obsidian operating at the top of its game, and a strong foundation for a new franchise that seems destined for greatness.
  68. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Even with these unfortunate and evident shortcomings on the technical side, The Outer Worlds is a rewarding and ultimately intriguing adventure to partake in. Delivering on that same kind of old-and-new synergy of RPG staples that have allowed this niche of AA-tier RPGs -- limitations notwithstanding -- to flourish in recent years.
  69. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Obsidian’s The Outer Worlds feels like a modern-age Fallout title, for better and for worse Although it’s grown out of much of the buggy, janky feeling that its predecessors were known for, it isn’t nearly as expansive as the classics you might remember. It seems that stepping out of Bethesda’s spotlight has raised the production value but limited the game’s depth of content. Still, with quality writing and stellar gameplay, everyone should visit Halcyon’s shores when they get a chance.
  70. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    The Outer Worlds is a great space opera action-RPG, with some great art, a lot of humor, and mechanics similar to Fallout, which can please the fans... by the creators of Fallout!
  71. 80
    The Outer Worlds might not be exactly what you think it's going to be. It's a smaller game, one that focuses on replay value and role play fantasy to really get the most out of the experience. It's a dense game though, where there's plenty of lore packed into smaller sandbox style areas. It's up to you to poke around in the corners of these areas to get the most out of it.
  72. Oct 22, 2019
    75
    Yes, The Outer Worlds has all that we wanted from the writers of Fallout New Vegas. But, while bringing that weird universe with a great liberty of actions, nice questing and a good amount of content (around 20 hours with replayability), the game fails to be à 2019 game. The companion system and the AI don't work quite well, and the global graphics and technical design are weak.
  73. Dec 5, 2019
    70
    I can see that while I play, The Outer Worlds is everything needed and expected from a first-person RPG, one that can then be expanded on in the future, with innovative systems, original worlds, and unexpected characters - they now have a hub to fit into. The problem for players is: why play this game instead of waiting for the one that fully escapes the shadow of Fallout?
  74. Oct 22, 2019
    70
    Despite an intriguing setting and some solid gun combat, The Outer Worlds borrows too much from the series it's heavily influenced by, leaving it feeling void of originality.
  75. Oct 22, 2019
    65
    For better or worse, The Outer Worlds is a perfectly middle-of-the-road open-world RPG. It doesn’t take any big risks, but that also keeps it from falling on its face. Despite some great writing, the game doesn’t have much to say about the corporate dystopia it establishes, ultimately playing it too safe to justify the premise. Obsidian’s expertise with the genre makes The Outer Worlds a competent RPG, if not an especially interesting one.
  76. Feb 3, 2020
    60
    What probably best summarizes The Outer Worlds is that, in spite of my qualms with aspects of it, I still enjoyed my time playing it. It doesn’t overstay its welcome and by the fills a void that feels wider in the wake of many larger western studios losing interest in making dedicated RPG experiences. It’s not the kind of game to stand the test of time and Obsidian has made much better and more interesting games in the past, but there is a pleasant experience to be had. For those looking for that style of single-player RPG will find a lot to like and could do a lot worse.
  77. Oct 23, 2019
    60
    It’s safe, but very welcoming. I can even see it developing into sequels if Microsoft chooses to support it and the fans embrace it, which I have no doubt will happen – some games are just made to cosplay. For those that were disappointed with Fallout 76 going online multiplayer, this is the single-player RPG you’ve been looking for. If you’re hankering for somewhere you can while away the hours talking shit, chuckling and prodding at the locals, you won’t be disappointed.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 22, 2019
    A conventional, easygoing scifi RPG with slightly wasted satirical elements that fades very quickly from the mind.
  2. Oct 22, 2019
    The Outer Worlds is so impactful that it made me question and ultimately settle more thoughtfully into my beliefs.
  3. Oct 22, 2019
    The Outer Worlds is a Fallout game wearing a fake mustache.
  4. Oct 28, 2019
    Obsidian's long-awaited The Outer Worlds is, quite frankly, everything I needed it to be. Rich, dense, brilliantly written, it's everything we've been missing in the wake of "live services" and other "AAA" trash.
  5. Oct 23, 2019
    That’s the joy of The Outer Worlds: the diversity of outcome and the complicated nature of the choices it gives you. I always tried to do good, but I wasn’t always sure that I had. Often, I let my feelings lead, and sometimes they’d get me into trouble...That never happened with Fallout.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1205 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    This game is excactly what I was hoping for. As a huge fan of the older Fallout series I can tell, this the progression the newer FalloutThis game is excactly what I was hoping for. As a huge fan of the older Fallout series I can tell, this the progression the newer Fallout games failed to achieve. Full Review »
  2. Oct 25, 2019
    7
    An interesting study.

    It is hard to not want to like this game given its pedigree. It is certainly a good game and a mostly well made game
    An interesting study.

    It is hard to not want to like this game given its pedigree. It is certainly a good game and a mostly well made game in its own right but that said the whole is not quite as good as the sum of its parts.

    Lets get the TL;DR out of the way. While it does a lot of what people expected of it from playing like a merger of Fallout and bioware RPGs the end result of such story lines lack that same narrative spark that Bioware RPGs are known for. It takes the trying too hard over the top comedy of Borderlands, adds the romance, relationships and endless dialog of a bioware RPG, Bethesdas janitor simulator gameplay where all you do is wander an near endless sandbox picking up and sorting garbage and sets it with a setting and cast straight out of "a whole ship of Han Solo's" of firefly. To some that sounds like their wet dream of a video game. Honestly when its all assembled its like the worst parts of all of those franchises. Its tedious, ridiculous, and sometimes actually enjoyable. It is however long stretches between those moments.

    The remainder is specifics as to why it plays like this.

    On the flipside of the coin its mechanical game play feels a bit too simplified and lacking the same teeth. Especially when you feel the results of your consequent level upgrades. Playing as if theres really little change from level to level or even over several levels to major skill unlocks.

    Its biggest flaw is its setting and narrative. Like it is trying a little too hard to be this much fallout, this much bioware, that much borderlands. Also the "whole ship of han solo's" trope is played out and honestly just as unbearable as it has been since the likes of Firefly first tried it. The "cast of lovable goofballs and badasses" is ridiculous and shows that the plot itself lacks teeth that could have been had with such a story. It renders most of the characters stories without depth and illicit little actual caring for their plight due to the ever present comical or whimsical nonsense lurking around the corner. It may be a style many people like but its the difference between watching some vapid summer popcorn munching blockbuster that cant even go half its runtime before it starts lulling you to sleep with constant barrage of "awesome" and pandering fan service and sitting down to experience an actual film with depth, that provokes thought and reflection or elicits genuine emotion
    that leaves you wanting more and more. That proves to be a BIG problem in a game that has so many hours of dialog as it becomes tedious and forgettable VERY quickly.

    Do not get me wrong, Its a good game, but at this stage of reviewing its important to get a more objective perspective than people review bombing it into oblivion, or blindly fawning over it like its the second coming that WILL wear off when people get deeper into the content and/or when the novelty of it has worn off and when looking back on it.

    Its definitely a game of the year type game. That said it marks a fairly pedestrian if not outright bad year in gaming. I would give it either the highest possible seven or the lowest possible 8 and leaning personally more toward a 7. However accepting the game related to the entire potential audience for it and trying to also not be TOO nitpicky critical siding on the games behalf I would begrudgingly accept an 8 as a reasonable approximation. Though definitely in the B- category.

    Its not a generation defining title like say a Dark Souls was for last gen, but its definitely a solid foundation that a somewhat quick sequel in about 2 years can iron out most of the mechanical issues and give time to craft a better story while utilizing the same engine and assets or perhaps with modest graphical upgrades as an early if not launch title for next generation.

    So personally I would say unless you are REALLY dying for an RPG right now you could stand at least a couple weeks for a significant price reduction and be fully justified in doing so. Rushing to pay full price for this I cannot really recommend because while a sound cobbling together its literally nothing you have not already seen before.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2019
    5
    It's got great RPG elements, and you can play however you want. Player choice is fantastic and the dialogue is done very well. Characters areIt's got great RPG elements, and you can play however you want. Player choice is fantastic and the dialogue is done very well. Characters are very interesting, and they all have their own quirks which brought many a smile to my face. City design, and interiors are crafted beautifully.

    The Bads

    The graphics are just terrible! Everything is a blurry saturated colourful eye-sore, it's so hard to differentiate anything in this world, everything has the same colour palette and enemies blend in with what's behind them!

    Enemy design leaves something to be admired, blue dinosaurs, pink dinosaurs, green dinosaurs, blue green pink dinosaurs, they might be very well designed, but I can't **** see them!

    The worlds in this game are terrible, everything is exactly the same, it's only the cities and interiors that seem to have had any effort put in, you walk down a highlighted path, bumping into the same marauders situated in the middle of the road, surrounded by a few boxes, it's the same interaction in what feels like the same area over and over and over again. No outposts, structures, places that you would remember, if I asked you to name the last interaction you had with marauders you would say, in the middle of the road surrounded by boxes, it's bad, super bad. I know it's not fallout, but if there was named areas, such as a shopping mall full of marauders, It would have changed this game completely.

    No places to visit outside of the cities, it's just a vast swamp of colours, grass, trees, rocks.

    The loot is nothing special, looting feels janky to me in this game, objects get surrounded by a blue highlight to show that it can be picked up, however nothing seems worth picking up, it's just bottles and food, the occasional gun that looks identical to the others even with it being a different kind, I don't know, looting just feels off in this game to me.

    To summarise,

    It's the best RPG we have had this year, full of choices, consequences, roll playing, character creation, but it's a far cry from what it could have been, it is definitely not game of the year and it is not as good as the feedback it is receiving, outside of the quests and story it's nothing but a copy and paste over saturated eye burner which leaves little in terms of game play.

    5/10.
    Full Review »