Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    87
    The Ground Forces expansion makes War Thunder even bigger than it was already, an MMO F2P that lets you choose the war you want: simulation or arcade, air or ground, challenging or relaxing, competitive or cooperative, free or with fee, PC or PS4.
  2. 85
    War Thunder is a gorgeous-looking and extremely competent flight combat game, though the lack of some of the PC version's game modes means it has yet to reach its full potential.
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    85
    Thanks to a wider variety of gameplay and game situations, War Thunder won the scepter of the best free-to-play in the skies of World War II.
  4. Jun 3, 2014
    82
    War Thunder surprised me. I am not very good at it, but I still have a lot of fun playing it. Because it is a free-to-play game, some players will download it on a whim and quit 20 minutes in due to the poor controls. Those that brave the steep learning curve will be rewarded with a realistic combat simulator that could be truly great one day.
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    80
    While the initial learning curve is daunting, this is one of those games that opens up dramatically the more that you play it, so the time commitment is worthwhile whether you're a laidback dogfighter or a hardcore simmer.
  6. Jun 4, 2014
    80
    War Thunder is easily among the best of what is offered on the PlayStation Store. It stands head and shoulders above the other free to play offerings and even over many at cost. The core of this lies in the generous free to play model which allows you to play for hour and hours without paying a dime. Though microtransactions were disabled in the pre-release version, I did get to explore the store and actually make some purchases in the EU release. A pillar of War Thunder’s longevity lies in its generous free to play model that allows you to play for hour and hours without paying a dime. That's the way free to play should be done.
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    80
    War Thunder is a game you must play. After all, it's free. Even if you keep crashing, it can absorb you easily and you'll end up creating your own squad with your friends and find out that a flight simulator can be really amusing. Even the information details about planes can be interesting.
  8. Play UK
    Jan 16, 2014
    80
    Surprisingly good fun. [Issue#239, p.68]
  9. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    War Thunder delivers a deep, engaging experience, packed with plenty of missions and planes to unlock.
  10. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    With its variety of planes and future plans to expand its warfare, War Thunder delivers fast-paced and spectacular dogfights.
  11. Dec 18, 2013
    75
    War Thunder is a free look at beautiful airplanes and intense dogfights, with controls that can be as arcady or realistic as you want them to be. The lack of certain content and the cluttered menu's stand in the way of a higher grade.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 14, 2020
    0
    In my opinion, this game is not interesting, I did not like the graphics at all, so I will not play it anymore.
  2. Nov 27, 2019
    0
    You must be kidding me! Nowadays you can find far more exciting gameplay and cooler graphics. That's probably one of the lamest products I'veYou must be kidding me! Nowadays you can find far more exciting gameplay and cooler graphics. That's probably one of the lamest products I've seen this year! Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2019
    0
    The game is clearly not my choice. Low graphics and few modern tanks available. I am very disappointed.