Persona 2: Eternal Punishment Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 246 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome back to the twisted world of Persona, where nightmares become reality and reality becomes a nightmare... Over 50 hours of dark twisted gameplay, plus stunning anime cinematics that absorb you into the intriguing world of Persona! Enlist the help of the nightmarish denizens of PersonaWelcome back to the twisted world of Persona, where nightmares become reality and reality becomes a nightmare... Over 50 hours of dark twisted gameplay, plus stunning anime cinematics that absorb you into the intriguing world of Persona! Enlist the help of the nightmarish denizens of Persona through the use of the unique "Contact System!" Unleash total devastation by combining over 80 Persona to defeat the minions of evil. Change the fate of your characters by employing the revolutionary "Rumor System." Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Persona 2: Eternal Punishment Movie 4
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 100
    Its unique modern-day setting along with terrific characters and a dark story make Persona 2 an engaging game from start to finish. It's truly a must for serious RPG fans.
  2. The demonic and fittingly adult storyline goes hand in hand with the updated and modernized look, it's almost as if a Clive Barker movie went RPG.
  3. Daily Radar
    88
    There's more than 50 hours of continually branching narrative and vicious freeform combat awaiting those brave enough to enter its dark and twisted world.
  4. 82
    Its unique visual style, its unusual characters, and its absorbing gameplay systems make it a game to kill plenty of hours with this winter.
  5. GMR Magazine
    80
    This game looks as good as it can, and the gameplay still offers a few tricks you won't find in your average RPG. [Aug 2004, p.103]
  6. A very intricate, engrossing, and abnormal RPG. If you like things a tad on the bizarre side, Persona: Eternal Punishment is right up your alley. People who should stay away from Persona 2 are novice players.
  7. The aspect of contacting and interacting with demons was also an element that I fully embraced. It broke the monotony of simply killing and killing in order to gain experience points.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. BradR.
    Jul 11, 2001
    10
    It's really good!
  2. Oct 31, 2021
    10
    I cannot stress how much I love Persona 2 Eternal Punishment and it's a shame considering how much newer Persona fans overlook it.

    - The
    I cannot stress how much I love Persona 2 Eternal Punishment and it's a shame considering how much newer Persona fans overlook it.

    - The best story in the franchise
    - Gameplay that seems "Dated" but actually is still extremely good but grindy
    - Just amazing soundtrack altogether
    - Second part of the duology with characters appearing from past games
    - Best character cast available in the Persona franchise.

    Now I will say the only thing really bad about the game was some the dungeons. Specifically speaking areas with pitfalls. Those are the worst and those dungeons tend to become frustrating but everything else is just perfect.
    Expand
  3. Baofu
    Jul 21, 2004
    10
    I have played this game many times before and even now as I play it again, still it gives the creeps on me again. Complete with adult I have played this game many times before and even now as I play it again, still it gives the creeps on me again. Complete with adult storyline, demonic style, combined with very good graphics this game really rocks. Only one good advice is that do not ever get too deep into the game or you'll find yourself asking if it's reality based. Believe me coz' if you'll do it you'll spin your head hard enough. Anyway try this game coz' this is really a good game with a good story and good graphics. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2022
    10
    Persona 2 Batsu is a great game imo. It's story and characters just really interest me a lot and I love how the characters are more fleshedPersona 2 Batsu is a great game imo. It's story and characters just really interest me a lot and I love how the characters are more fleshed out in this game.


    The gameplay is a massive improvement as well, Persona 2 Innocent Sin was a braindead trashfire with a boring story and mediocre characters, Eternal Punishment fixes the difficulty issue by giving the bosses higher stats so that the game is actually difficult.

    The art, music and menus have that 2000's ooze that I just cant get enough of, Kazuma Kaneko's pieces are works of art, Kenichi Tsuchiya is a musical genius, rhe menus are customizable (you can have Jack Frost that why I gave it a 10 and not a 9).

    Overall, P2 EP is one of my favorite JRPG's of all time.
    Expand
  5. G.Alvarez
    Sep 1, 2001
    10
    Just not the sterotype of medieval adventure with princess (a.k.a. "ff9").
  6. Apr 18, 2020
    8
    This was a good game. Was.

    While the soundtrack is great, this game suffers due to its age. The art, gameplay, and menus are so outdated this
    This was a good game. Was.

    While the soundtrack is great, this game suffers due to its age. The art, gameplay, and menus are so outdated this game is nearly unplayable post 2000.

    The battle system is much slower and more complex than the modern personas and definitely will become annoying if it doesn’t come to you naturally. The strongest parts of the game are the the story. The characters are a step up from the previous game and the story has aged well outside of Hitler being involved. However, without social links or confidants, you only get to know the characters so well.

    I’d say this version of the game is stronger than the first half based on Maya being a much better and more developed character than Tasuya as well as actually concluding the game.

    Buy, rent, watch an LP, or skip? LP. Getting the game legally is harder to do each year and while the gameplay may not be worth it, the storyline and characters are still enjoyable.
    Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2020
    0
    Gioco terribilmente noioso e privo di logica...fatto male sotto ogni punto di vista...una grande occasione persa

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

18
22
#22 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
24
#24 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000