• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 11, 2000
The Legend of Dragoon Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 373 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A peaceful beginning. The legend was born 10,000 years ago. A violent uprising. A civilization of flying creatures enslave the human race. A bloody war. In a bid for freedom, the humans harness the spiritual forces of Dragons and triumph. Tranquility and harmony exist between all. But theA peaceful beginning. The legend was born 10,000 years ago. A violent uprising. A civilization of flying creatures enslave the human race. A bloody war. In a bid for freedom, the humans harness the spiritual forces of Dragons and triumph. Tranquility and harmony exist between all. But the past and the future are about to collide...Unveil a fantasy of Magnificence, Deception, Magical Combat and Retribution. Transform into Dragoons and unleash extraordinary powers. Incredibly diverse characters wield unique weapons and Dragoon attacks powered by the forces of Earth, Light, Fire, Wind, Lightning, Water and Darkness. Totally unique and innovative tactical combat "Additionals" System. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Legend of Dragoon Movie 3
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    This one has it all -- an innovative combat interface, a sweeping story and some of the most gorgeous graphics seen in a PSX RPG. Quite simply, it's a must-buy for any console RPG fanatic.
  2. 100
    Its powerful story, great cast of characters, gorgeous graphics, and one of the most inventive battle systems in a long time all work together to create an instant classic.
  3. To each his own opinion but for this one reviewer Legend of Dragoon is truly legendary.
  4. If I never again see a story that contains color-coded heroes, it will be too soon.
  5. Borrows too heavily from other games and lacks that "hook" to make it worth dealing with excessive defending, a thin story you'd expect to see on Power Rangers, and aural competence.
  6. CNET Gamecenter
    60
    When all is said and done, The LoD is like your typical one-night stand: it's OK for a quick fix but it's nothing that will get you emotionally involved.
  7. Despite the hype, Legend of Dragoon is a soulless creature, a subpar game held aloft by deceptive marketing. Don't trust it.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 126
  1. MichaelS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Even though many say this game is a FF7 remake with a new name, it stands to reason that all RPG games are the same but in the field of the Even though many say this game is a FF7 remake with a new name, it stands to reason that all RPG games are the same but in the field of the genre in and of itself this games stands high in the ranks with breath-taking graphics, a battle system that constantly grows, and a story to shake the ages. Inevitably making LoD a must own for all RPG fans world wide. Expand
  2. JoeW.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    I believe that the game is as original as an rpg can be. Most rpgs have the same basic story, an uneducated man discovers that he has the I believe that the game is as original as an rpg can be. Most rpgs have the same basic story, an uneducated man discovers that he has the power to save the world. The game play is what sets them apart. The use of additions in fights adds an element of skill to this game that others lack. And the graphics of the FMV's is incredible. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Simply put thee best RPG ever to be put on this earth. The graphics are revolutionary for its time and the addition system made the turn basedSimply put thee best RPG ever to be put on this earth. The graphics are revolutionary for its time and the addition system made the turn based combat system that much more interactive. NEEDS a sequel. Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2021
    10
    The Legend of Dragoon is a 2000 role-playing video game developed and published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation.

    + My
    The Legend of Dragoon is a 2000 role-playing video game developed and published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation.

    + My Favorite RPG and VideoGame of PS1
    + Great Characters and Story
    + Fun Combat
    + Excellent Soundtrack
    + Amazing Animations
    Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2019
    10
    Easily one of the best games I had back in my childhood. Pretty grindy in a way. The dubbing and translation was really flawed but the gameEasily one of the best games I had back in my childhood. Pretty grindy in a way. The dubbing and translation was really flawed but the game design, graphics and battle system was really fun. Not mentioning it's theme revolving dragons was the dopest thing back in my childhood. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This game was clearly made to compete with the gigantic and legendary Final Fantasy series. And personally, I felt it to be better in everyThis game was clearly made to compete with the gigantic and legendary Final Fantasy series. And personally, I felt it to be better in every way. The music is a beautiful thing to listen to, the fmv's hold up to this day, the story is deep and emotional, the characters have a lot of development (even having one of the saddest moments in video game history), an innovative combat system, and some good character designs as well. This game succeeds in its mission, and has the potential to be a fantastic rival franchise to Final Fantasy. It's a wonder Sony let it fall into obscurity. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2021
    0
    I signed up for metacritic just to put a zero on this pointless and inconsistent game, the worst I ever played

See all 126 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

32
3
#3 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
4
#4 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000