• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 11, 2000
The Legend of Dragoon Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 268 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A peaceful beginning. The legend was born 10,000 years ago. A violent uprising. A civilization of flying creatures enslave the human race. A bloody war. In a bid for freedom, the humans harness the spiritual forces of Dragons and triumph. Tranquility and harmony exist between all. But theA peaceful beginning. The legend was born 10,000 years ago. A violent uprising. A civilization of flying creatures enslave the human race. A bloody war. In a bid for freedom, the humans harness the spiritual forces of Dragons and triumph. Tranquility and harmony exist between all. But the past and the future are about to collide...Unveil a fantasy of Magnificence, Deception, Magical Combat and Retribution. Transform into Dragoons and unleash extraordinary powers. Incredibly diverse characters wield unique weapons and Dragoon attacks powered by the forces of Earth, Light, Fire, Wind, Lightning, Water and Darkness. Totally unique and innovative tactical combat "Additionals" System. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    This one has it all -- an innovative combat interface, a sweeping story and some of the most gorgeous graphics seen in a PSX RPG. Quite simply, it's a must-buy for any console RPG fanatic.
  2. 100
    Its powerful story, great cast of characters, gorgeous graphics, and one of the most inventive battle systems in a long time all work together to create an instant classic.
  3. To each his own opinion but for this one reviewer Legend of Dragoon is truly legendary.
  4. If I never again see a story that contains color-coded heroes, it will be too soon.
  5. Borrows too heavily from other games and lacks that "hook" to make it worth dealing with excessive defending, a thin story you'd expect to see on Power Rangers, and aural competence.
  6. CNET Gamecenter
    60
    When all is said and done, The LoD is like your typical one-night stand: it's OK for a quick fix but it's nothing that will get you emotionally involved.
  7. Despite the hype, Legend of Dragoon is a soulless creature, a subpar game held aloft by deceptive marketing. Don't trust it.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 93
  2. Negative: 2 out of 93
  1. NateD
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Beck in '01, i got this game in hopes of satisfying my thirst for RPGs. It had awesome graphics (For a PS1), a good story, and a dude in Beck in '01, i got this game in hopes of satisfying my thirst for RPGs. It had awesome graphics (For a PS1), a good story, and a dude in red holding a huge sword!! all that said, i must tell you: if you started playing this back in 2000-2001, chances are you HAVEN'T FINISHED THIS GAME!! honestly, as I look at my 360, my PS3, and my Wii, i tend to cry at how far games have come, yet how unsatisfying Next Gen RPGs are. I pull out my PS2 and pop in Legend of Dragoon and i'm back in 2001 with my PSX experience!!! Expand
  2. DeoneL.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    This is the best Playstation game I've played for now. I liked the graphics, the sounds, almost everything about the game! I hope when This is the best Playstation game I've played for now. I liked the graphics, the sounds, almost everything about the game! I hope when they make another one then they won't screw it up like when Halo 2 came out and losts of people said it was overrated. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Simply put thee best RPG ever to be put on this earth. The graphics are revolutionary for its time and the addition system made the turn basedSimply put thee best RPG ever to be put on this earth. The graphics are revolutionary for its time and the addition system made the turn based combat system that much more interactive. NEEDS a sequel. Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2014
    10
    That's the best RPG ever made. That's how epic adventures have to be. That brilliant masterpiece sure does deserve a remake or sequel (orThat's the best RPG ever made. That's how epic adventures have to be. That brilliant masterpiece sure does deserve a remake or sequel (or prequel). PLEASE SONY!! Expand
  5. PedroG.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    I have this game and I say, on behalf of my school,that this game is the best one ever to come in playstation RPG! Whoever would think this I have this game and I say, on behalf of my school,that this game is the best one ever to come in playstation RPG! Whoever would think this game is boring, is a total non-gamer. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    The Legend of Dragoon is a role-playing video game developed and published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation.

    + My
    The Legend of Dragoon is a role-playing video game developed and published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation.

    + My Favorite RPG of PS1
    + Great Characters and Story
    + Fun Combat
    Expand
  7. KahmereW.
    Mar 24, 2003
    2
    This game is ok but I have played better. Chrono Cross and Vagrant story is better. I have played my share of games and have alot of old ass This game is ok but I have played better. Chrono Cross and Vagrant story is better. I have played my share of games and have alot of old ass games but this game is the worst...... Expand

See all 93 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

32
3
#3 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
4
#4 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000