• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Aug 16, 2005
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChuckG.
    Jun 25, 2005
    10
    This game rocks u kill u see it in cartoon version its all good.
  2. TobyG.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    I got to play this game entirely and it's SWEET!
  3. ZemZ.
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    In reality i score this game an 8.5. first let me open this review by stating that the published reviews are misleading. camera issues are minamal, spiderman 3 has more issues than DJ. okay now that that's cleared up let me start by pointing out that i hate platformers & that i love shooters, but i still enjoy this game, you don't have to be a masocist or a platformer enthusist In reality i score this game an 8.5. first let me open this review by stating that the published reviews are misleading. camera issues are minamal, spiderman 3 has more issues than DJ. okay now that that's cleared up let me start by pointing out that i hate platformers & that i love shooters, but i still enjoy this game, you don't have to be a masocist or a platformer enthusist to enjoy DJ. you just have to be prepared for this game to kick your @$$ some stages are chananging, very challenging, & this is not a pick it , play it , beat it game. you have to play, really play. but DJ is a good solid game. you have tons of wepons including C4 hamsters, dule pistoles, a shotgun, a freeze gun, & many others & you can up grade them. still the humor & plot will keep you playing long into the wee hours in the morning, easy to start hard to stop, if your interested enough to read this review you'll probably have a blast with this bargan bin bounty, enjoy. Expand
  4. JimmyJava
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    Love the C4 Hamster!
  5. EduardoR.
    Aug 19, 2005
    8
    Very addictive. Really cool characters. I love this game.
  6. SammyR.
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    Death Jr. is a fantastic game. The combat is so cool. You have all sorts of weapons like, pistols, a flamethrower, the awesome C4 Hamster, and a scythe. The game is slightly hard, but it's tough to not replay a level because the game is so fun. If you own a PSP, you need to buy this game.
  7. LaraB.
    Aug 25, 2005
    8
    Game is great fun, but frustrating when you have to start the levels all over again when you die. But overall, it's an addictive game with a fun storyline and easy controls.
  8. NickB.
    Aug 21, 2005
    9
    Very nice platformer/shooter cross-over, lots of grizzly humor and more playable than reviews led me to believe. If you're looking for the best game of this type, probably on another console; but for a handheld this can't be beat.
  9. Jul 7, 2018
    8
    As far as PSP games go, there are far worse ones than Death Jr. That isn't to say the game is a masterpiece by any means, but it's a good game all things considered. The whole game feels very similar to the Ratchet and Clank games. Death Jr is at first quite appealing visually, and many people have said the theme is not unlike some of Tim Burton's theatrical works such as The NightmareAs far as PSP games go, there are far worse ones than Death Jr. That isn't to say the game is a masterpiece by any means, but it's a good game all things considered. The whole game feels very similar to the Ratchet and Clank games. Death Jr is at first quite appealing visually, and many people have said the theme is not unlike some of Tim Burton's theatrical works such as The Nightmare Before Christmas and Corpse Bride. The characters are all outlandish takes on popular horror tropes, and each of the stages has a theme relating to a specific horror genre. The game itself isn't scary and it's not supposed to be. The game make many attempts at humor although some of them simply fall flat on their face.
    The game features an assortment of weaponry that the player progressively attains as they get further into the story, again feeling very much like a Ratchet and Clank game, albeit these weapons often have a twist of dark humor in them (such as the C-4 Hamsters), their functions are the same as many of the weapons commonly found in 3rd person shooter genres.
    As for the story, there isn't really much of one to speak of. It's there, but because of the non-linear order of the stages it's hard to follow what's going on. What I mean by non-linear is that you start off in a main hub area in which you can enter gateways to each of the stages, which can be completed in any order. After you've completed the first set of stages, the next set becomes available, and the process continues until the end of the game.
    Moving on to the actual gameplay, the engine is fairly solid and the controls are decent. The mix between the beat-em-up style combat and the parkour nature of the stages is a nice touch. The stages do get a bit repetitive after a while, though. There aren't any real bugs in the game, at least none that are game-breaking.
    Overall, Death Jr. is a decent game for it's time, though I wouldn't get excited about it.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

61
26
#26 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
49
#49 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. This is a tired, dull platformer that only manages to avoid the pitfalls of purgatory by way of its groovy style and decent character design.
  2. It seems likely the world will see more of DJ, and gamers should look forward to it; but maybe next time the movie should come out before the game.
  3. Simply put, the control of DJ should’ve been left to the directional pad, the camera should’ve been centered to the nub, and the weapon select should’ve been placed on a subscreen accessed by the start or select buttons.