Bravely Default II Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 111 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into a brand-new world with four brand-new heroes. A new world, a new story, and all-new Heroes of Light await in an original RPG experience arriving on the Nintendo Switch system in 2020! This successor to the original Bravely Default game comes from the team that brought you theStep into a brand-new world with four brand-new heroes. A new world, a new story, and all-new Heroes of Light await in an original RPG experience arriving on the Nintendo Switch system in 2020! This successor to the original Bravely Default game comes from the team that brought you the Bravely series and Octopath Traveler, and features music from Revo (Sound Horizon/Linked Horizon), acclaimed composer of the Bravely Default soundtrack.

    * Brand-new entry in Square Enix's Bravely Series
    * Travel the world in search of the four Crystals with the latest incarnation of the brave band known as the Heroes of Light
    * Latest creation from Team Asano, creators of the Bravely series and Octopath Traveler
    * New world filled with new characters, but with the atmosphere and excitement the Bravely series is known for
    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Bravely Default 2 - Nintendo Direct Mini Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 111
  2. Negative: 2 out of 111
  1. 100
    It seems inevitable to me that there are going to be a lot of people that dismiss Bravely Default II as a “retro-style JRPG.” They’ll see the turn-based combat, the very “JRPG” design of the characters, and all the other genre tropes that the game indulges, and assume that that’s all it is. Nothing could be further from the truth. Nuanced writing, impeccable design and subtle subversion highlight that Bravely Default II is, instead, a game that uses its genre rather than allow it to become beholden to it. In many ways it's a highly metafictional thesis that explores what people love about JRPGs, and what is genuinely important to the genre. In doing so the game has become this wonderfully nuanced, beautiful, entertaining and emotive experience, and in my book, that makes it a masterpiece.
  2. Feb 25, 2021
    90
    The wait for Bravely Default II has been long and hard, but now that it is finally here it convinces with high quality graphics, storytelling, gameplay and sound. While this title is not without flaws, these are minor compared to the overall excellence of this title. A joy to play at home on the big screen or on the go, this title is a great addition to any turn-based RPG fan's library.
  3. 85
    Bravely Default II is a fun sequel that does it’s best to improve on it’s predecessor. While the dungeon designs are simplistic and the side quests lack variety, it’s hard to ignore what Bravely Default II does well.
  4. Feb 25, 2021
    80
    As a standalone title, Bravely Default II stands as a superb JRPG. But when it gets to be compared to the original, it sadly falls short. No matter how great its strengths are, they will always be remembered as being even greater before. Yet you should still not miss it if you are into the genre or if you loved the original, as it is a wonderful title no matter what you compare it to.
  5. Feb 25, 2021
    79
    Bravely Default 2 is a nice JRPG with a strong combat system, that only falls short in terms of its story.
  6. Mar 8, 2021
    73
    Bravely Default 2 is a decent JRPG cut from the same cloth as its inspirators. The combat is undeniably addictive, but its old-school sensibilities see it occasionally suffer from poor pacing and frustrating periods of grind.
  7. Feb 25, 2021
    40
    AIt hits all of the usual story beats and it will scratch an itch for JRPG obsessives, but there’s an absolute lack of substance. There’s no discernable creativity, flair, or ingenuity in any part of it. It doesn’t want to either reinvent the wheel or even add a lick of polish to it. It is a game which exists and functions as it was meant to; a JRPG as by-the-numbers as they come, I just wish the developers had been brave enough to take a few more risks.

See all 116 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 127
  2. Negative: 27 out of 127
  1. Feb 27, 2021
    10
    Best RPG in a while. Definitely better than P5R where there is only repetitive combat.
  2. Mar 23, 2021
    10
    Best Jrpg recently.
    If you like the turn based Jrpg, it's a gorgeous game for you.
  3. Mar 1, 2021
    10
    10/10, played 100 hours and would easily play a hundred more. Give me BD3!!!
  4. Feb 27, 2021
    8
    It doesn't try to reinvent the wheel and that's why I personally enjoy the game a lot.
    You either know what you're getting yourself into;
    It doesn't try to reinvent the wheel and that's why I personally enjoy the game a lot.
    You either know what you're getting yourself into; i.e. an old-school RPG in the image of the golden days of Final Fantasy, or you don't and you might feel surprised by sudden Difficulty bumps at each boss fight.

    Not being able to steamroll through the game like in a lot of modern RPGs? Sign me up.
    Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2021
    8
    The spiritual successor of old-time classic ATB Final Fantasy.

    First, tbh, I partially lose my hope with how SE do jrpg for quite some time
    The spiritual successor of old-time classic ATB Final Fantasy.

    First, tbh, I partially lose my hope with how SE do jrpg for quite some time and never play new FF after X. This game is a true spiritual successor to classic FF I-V.
    If you love FF V, this game is quite similar to many aspects such as job system and class change.
    The story is simple and set in a fantasy world, something FF I-V and IX did well. No time traveling or change the timeline bs that the newer FF and even FF VII remake tried to add but failed to execute well, leaving the story as incomprehensible.

    The art style is glorious and beautiful, in particular, background, world map, and town. I hope more jrpgs follow this style, even though it is harder on their artists.

    The downside is that, since it is modernized of ATB FF, it might not be for you if you don't like turn based. Some mechanics are conservative. This means if you are more of a fan of modern jrpg or wjrpg, check the demo first if you still like the game as this game might not be mainstream.

    My score 8/10 is a temporary score as I just got my game today and it is based on the demo and the first few hours of the actual game. Will update my score and review it when I play more.
    Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2021
    6
    Gorgeous graphics game with lovely music. The combat and job system is quite fun. The downside is that the story is somewhat simple, it has aGorgeous graphics game with lovely music. The combat and job system is quite fun. The downside is that the story is somewhat simple, it has a lot of spam and boring dungeons and it becomes very repetitive at the end. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2021
    0
    Horribly boring story, gives you zero motivation to care about anything that's going on. Overall bad character design and voice acting. TheHorribly boring story, gives you zero motivation to care about anything that's going on. Overall bad character design and voice acting. The FFV-esque Job system is absolutely not enough to save this game. I wish I could get a refund. Expand

See all 127 User Reviews