Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Nov 18, 2021
    100
    For anyone new or returning to the Pokémon series, Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl is a perfect starting point that bridges the gap between classic and modern Pokémon games. The quality-of-life additions make the game more accessible without making it feel bloated, the art style is simplistic and cute, and the gameplay mechanics will keep players moving through the adventure with ease. For veterans of the series, these versions are an easy recommendation and an excellent recreation of a fan favorite. With only a few exclusive Pokémon between Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl, either one is an excellent choice for any player.
  2. Nov 24, 2021
    90
    It’s been a long time since players have gotten to revisit Sinnoh, and all things considered this may be the definitive way to enjoy it. While some changes may seem minor, they really do add to the overall enjoyment experience. Sinnoh was always fun but flawed, and while that’s still a teensy bit true here, it’s better than ever before. Although it’s easy to say it’s a shame that it’s missing the Platinum content, what’s here is still fantastic and will make it more fun to replay for years to come. Sinnoh fans will hopefully be excited to see their region well taken care of while they were gone, and new players can easily enjoy it without having to pick up old systems and cartridges that are now significantly more expensive. Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are the best remakes we’ve gotten since Heart Gold and Soul Silver and offer up a fantastic, faithful yet slightly re-imagined version of Sinnoh to enjoy before the next entry in the series makes its debut.
  3. Nov 17, 2021
    90
    I've had an absolute blast with Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl, and I know there's plenty more for me to see thanks to their sheer size. With changes that lean mostly toward quality of life improvements, this is a firm reminder that Pokémon games can be extraordinary and one of the most enjoyable remakes I've played in a long time.
  4. Nov 17, 2021
    90
    Pokemon Brilliant Diamond is like a warm hug, offering nothing but smiles and enjoyment throughout. Long term fans will find the quality of life changes make it even easier, but nonetheless, it's an otherwise faithful remake and a joy from start to finish.
  5. Nov 17, 2021
    88
    From a certain point of view, Pokémon Brilliant Diamond is a remake that doesn't like to take too many risks, improving on the original experience without making any major changes. Yet this is also its greatest strength, especially for those who never played the original chapters on DS. The result is an authentic recreation of a historical title, polished and cleaned up from outdated game design elements.
  6. Nov 17, 2021
    86
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Nov 29, 2021
    85
    It's a bit too easy, but still... Pokémon Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl is a wonderful reissue of a set of classic games, with lots of visual improvements and an admirable loyalty to the original titles. Worth your money.
  8. Nov 17, 2021
    85
    Overall, Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are a must-play. Despite the chibi-style graphics feeling wacky in places, the gameplay overall is fantastic. The changes to the Grand Underground are incredible, offering up a wider selection of Pokemon early on, and Exp. Share really isn’t an issue. Even if you played the original games, BDSP offers many new features to the point where it feels like a new experience. And we won’t spoil it, but the post-game is something all veteran fans will absolutely love, especially if you like battles…and Platinum.
  9. 85
    While it feels like Game Freak have been trying to find their footing with Pokémon over the last few years, Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are a confident showing by ILCA that proves the series is far from dead. The classic formula is unchanged here, and still holds up, which will no doubt please long-time fans and newcomers alike. Smart new additions that feel like natural additions to the base game, coupled with a visual overhaul that captures the feel of the originals make for an experience that’s as nostalgic and comforting, as it is fresh and reinvigorating for the franchise.
  10. 85
    Taken on its own, without the history of the franchise and the desire to see it be more, Pokémon Brilliant Diamond is a great RPG. There's a wide variety of content, the gameplay is fun and polished, and the presentation of the remake is charming and warm. While it's easier to recommend to newer Pokémon fans than those who played the Nintendo DS originals, taking another trip around a much more visually striking Sinnoh region turned out to be more satisfying than I anticipated. I'm certainly not in a hurry to leave it any time soon; that's for sure. However, with Pokémon Legends on the horizon, this one-two punch of Pokémon titles could be a winning way to close out one year and welcome in another, with a blast from the past followed by something we haven't really seen before. That's a Jigglepuff double-slap I can get behind.
  11. Nov 17, 2021
    85
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are the best way to enjoy the fourth generation. Coming back to Sinnoh after so many years feels amazing because of the new art style and the charismatic characters that inhabit the region. Also, the new features are very welcome for a better experience. These remakes are a must for any Pokémon fan who wants to feel nostalgic while also being great for new players.
  12. Nov 17, 2021
    85
    While Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl don’t move the needle in terms of what Pokémon games will look and play like moving forward, they mostly hit the mark in being faithful to the originals. I’ve really enjoyed my time re-exploring Sinnoh, despite my qualms with the lack of critical path difficulty. They’re a welcome throwback to a simpler time when I felt completing a Pokédex was a somewhat realistic task to undertake. Veteran trainers will find plenty here to scratch a nostalgic itch, and new trainers who missed out the first time around have a solid adventure to embark on.
  13. Nov 17, 2021
    84
    Players of the DS original might mostly experience the same game. But including some new cool features, its well modernized graphics and raised accessibility, this Pokémon RPG will be a joy to play as well for fans as for gamers of every age, who can get out just a little of the franchise.
  14. Nov 30, 2021
    80
    I enjoyed Diamond and Pearl back in the day, I enjoyed Platinum a little while later, and I enjoyed Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl here and now. It hits the notes most would want from a Pokemon game, and with this being a remake and Legends being right around the corner, I think its conservative approach can be forgiven.
  15. Nov 30, 2021
    80
    Pokemon Shining Pearl and Brilliant Diamond, despite ignoring some of the original's issues, is a great remake that runs remarkably well and sports excellent visuals.
  16. 80
    Although Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are not the definitive way to experience the Sinnoh region, they are a nostalgic joyride worth revisiting for fans of the originals and a worthwhile investment for newcomers.
  17. Nov 26, 2021
    80
    Whether you’re a Pokémon fan who fondly remembers the original or a newcomer looking for a way in to the series, Pokémon Brilliant Diamond is easy to recommend. It may seem a little bit costly for a remake that stays fairly close to the source material aside from a snazzy new look, but there’s still a lot of game here. Even better, it’s enjoyable no matter your age, gender or skill level. Once you’ve started playing Pokémon Brilliant Diamond you really will feel the urge to catch ’em all. And the improvements here mean it’s never been as easy or enjoyable.
  18. Nov 25, 2021
    80
    I believe going with the route established by the Let's Go games would have been better, but that doesn't mean that Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl aren't excellent entries in the Pokemon franchise, and games that Pokemon fans would enjoy playing - old and new alike.
  19. Nov 24, 2021
    80
    In spite of a lot of missteps and unforced, unnecessary errors, however, Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are great outings.
  20. Nov 22, 2021
    80
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are incredibly faithful remakes of Diamond and Pearl, warts and all. There are some nice new additions that enhance the experience, and the visual style is unique and quite good-looking. It’s hard not to recommend these to any Pokémon fan or newcomer to the franchise. There might be a few negatives, but none of them take much away from the overall excellent experience.
  21. Nov 22, 2021
    80
    If a good remake is defined by its loyalty to the original, then Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are very good remakes indeed. They are Diamond and Pearl down to nearly every detail, looking nicer than ever before with a few small tweaks, most of which are pretty good ones. It leaves in some of the original’s roster flaws, but they’re largely forgivable if you’re like me and have some degree of nostalgia for a time when Pokémon’s scope was smaller. And yet, I can’t help but be disappointed that Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl weren’t braver in how they improved upon the originals in the same way other Pokémon remakes were, bringing even some now-historic improvements back to correct history’s mistakes. Of course, I still had a perfectly pleasant time revisiting both Sinnoh and the simultaneously simpler yet more challenging era of Pokémon that took place within it reminded me of a time when this series asked a bit more of us.
  22. Nov 17, 2021
    80
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl take me back to a simpler time in Pokémon where Mega Evolutions, Z-Moves, and Dynamaxing didn’t exist. It’s a wonderful reminder of how far Pokémon has come and it feels like a love letter to arguably the most formative generation of Pokémon.
  23. Nov 17, 2021
    80
    Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are good remakes of an inherently flawed Pokemon game. The games lean a little hard into recapturing the experience of the originals, which is a detriment and somewhat negates the fantastic visual and quality-of-life improvements. Honestly, it feels that Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are a preemptive olive branch to Pokemon fans ahead of Pokemon Legends: Arceus, in that it provides a decidedly retro experience as an alternative option to what is sure to be the most envelope-pushing Pokemon game made since the franchise launched 25 years ago. Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are made for those looking to celebrate the past of the Pokemon experience. For the rest of us, it's a nice distraction to hold us over until the launch of the next Pokemon game in a couple of months.
  24. Nov 17, 2021
    80
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Pokémon Shining Pearl are faithful recreations of the classic DS titles, updated with plenty of small, ease-of-life changes. While some fans might feel alienated by the features that have been added to make the game easier, the changes are a net positive that make the game a smoother experience all-round. The upgraded Underground and Super Contest Show are both more involved and offer more things to do, and the remade music tracks sound beautiful. Although a lot more could have been done to make these remakes truly special, what's here will make Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl a worthwhile experience for returning fans and new ones alike.
  25. Nov 17, 2021
    80
    The original DS Diamond and Pearl were great back in the day, and 15 years later this new coat of paint makes them just as entertaining. The improvements may not be as drastic as some may have hoped, but what's here is a solid Pokémon adventure regardless.
  26. Nov 17, 2021
    80
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are bordering on a masterclass of how to do faithful remakes of a classic and beloved series. They're nostalgic, charming, lovely experiences that perfectly mix the old with the new to present a journey that will appeal to fans of the originals while still keeping things fresh and up-to-date. As one half of a pair of Sinnoh games, they deliver on their half in spades, and show that The Pokémon Company is ready, willing, and able to mess with the formula for the sake of the series. I have my complaints here and there, too, but overall, these are the Diamond and Pearl remakes that I didn't know I wanted until I fell in love with them.
  27. Nov 23, 2021
    78
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are not the best games of the series nor the bravest, but they strongly respect the original games and the ones who played them, and they do everything they can to show that.
  28. Nov 17, 2021
    78
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl offer exactly what you expect, sometimes a bit disappointing, but still oh so nice.
  29. Nov 20, 2021
    77
    Two fairly correct remakes that will especially appeal to those who did not know the originals. On the contrary, veterans may be missing more news and, in particular, the changes introduced by Pokémon Platinum.
  30. Nov 20, 2021
    76
    Unique remakes of their kind, which find all their strengths and weaknesses in the morbid attachment to the past.
  31. Nov 30, 2021
    75
    Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are no revolutions, nor do they alter the idea behind the originals. They, however, have managed to give me lots of fun. Maybe it's the sentiment, or, maybe, this old-school DS gameplay is just better for me? I recommend Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl to all newcomers wanting to start their adventure in this vast world.
  32. Nov 22, 2021
    75
    In Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl we have two distinct souls: the strict remake and the new features. It's still a pleasure to explore Sinnoh, but a more ILCA should have done more to blend all the new stuff and the core game.
  33. Nov 21, 2021
    75
    For fans, these throwbacks aren’t to be missed, but if you’re looking for a reason to see what Pokefuss is all about, you’ll find better avenues into the franchise than these remakes.
  34. Nov 19, 2021
    75
    Despite everything, it's impossible to shy away from your pleasure when it comes to beating the League (not that easy, by the way) and watching your Pokémon evolve. A return to Sinnoh that could be improved, but very pleasant.
  35. Nov 17, 2021
    75
    Whether you like the new "chibi" art direction of the Pokémon Diamond and Pearl remakes or not, you have to admit that a lot of fans will be happy to see the Gen 4 back on Nintendo Switch. Despite a lack of real new features and some flaws in the graphics, it's a real treat to be able to play again this iconic game with good tech on the Switch. Especially since (re)discovering Sinnoh is a great way to remember the area and better enjoy the return to the past with Legends Arceus.
  36. Nov 22, 2021
    74
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl prove two things: that the original was a game loaded with charisma and that makes you come to the end of the remake looking forward to it, and that without the improvements and additions that the developers keep adding, however small and unambitious we may think they are, the house of cards falls down on us.
  37. Nov 17, 2021
    73
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Pokémon Shining Pearl are a worthy return to Sinnoh, respectful remakes that seek to offer exactly the same experience as the original Nintendo DS works; albeit with new conveniences that help the pace of the adventure while borrowing quality-of-life details already established in the series. On the other hand, they are also much more permissive releases, with facilities during the adventure that cannot be turned off and that help too much in once-challenging situations. They are very conformist titles. The return of the random encounters did not convince us, especially after seeing how well the ability to see creatures in the environment worked. With plenty of content thanks to the Grand Underground and a generous endgame, it will provide plenty of hours of gameplay even though they are limited to the first four Pokémon generations. All of this, coupled with a beautiful art style despite being low-key on a graphical level, makes for an unmissable trip to Sinnoh for fans; especially those planning to play Pokémon Legends Arceus in a couple of months.
  38. Dec 2, 2021
    72
    Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Pokemon Shining Pearl contain a variety of classic designs, enough to make people feel the charm of the Pokemon series. For players who have never been involved in the Pokemon series, it is a good entry game. However, from the perspective of long-time fans of the series, the current form of this work is undoubtedly unqualified and disappointing.
  39. Nov 17, 2021
    72
    On the flip side, I'm not sure who this release is for. If you've never played Diamond and Pearl, you'll probably love these games. Assuming you don't mind a couple of tiny steps backwards in terms of mechanics. If you're familiar with the old games, this will be a mostly pleasant nostalgia trip. Especially if you've forgotten everything that happens, like me. The only hitch is the baffling visual and audio design. More than anything, these choices suggest that the Pokemon Company isn't exactly sure what fans want out of these games. Brilliant Pearl feels well-crafted yet confused, like they pursued several disparate visions at once. If you can see past these strange decisions, you'll find a set of pretty respectable Pokemon games.
  40. Dec 2, 2021
    70
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl are good remakes of good games. The changes implemented are small yet effective, however, there’s a lingering sense throughout the experience that this all could have been so much more.
  41. Nov 30, 2021
    70
    The fourth generation of Pokémon brings several truly important upgrades and changes, but it just as often stands still, stuck in the past.
  42. Nov 30, 2021
    70
    All in all, Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl provide a great way to experience the Sinnoh region for first-timers, complete with quality of life features that keep the game from feeling dated. For long-time fans, Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl provide an accessible, no-frills version of the original Diamond & Pearl with a few minor feature updates and a lovely fresh coat of paint. For me, the improved presentation was enough to make for an enjoyable playthrough, but players looking for the definitive version of fourth generation Pokémon, a content-rich postgame, or a well-balanced experience, may just want to dust off their old copy of Platinum.
  43. Nov 30, 2021
    70
    I think ILCA did an excellent job on recreating the originals, but Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl aren’t great remakes. My gold standard for a game remake is Resident Evil 2. It brought almost every aspect of the original into a modern framework, improved upon it, and added new content. In contrast, these games got a (very) slight graphical upgrade and some quality of life changes. With how closely they follow the originals, these games are more recreations than remakes.
  44. Nov 30, 2021
    70
    Are Sparkling Diamond and Sparkling Pearl good remakes? The answer to this question depends on your affinity with the artistic direction of Chibi, as well as your expectations in terms of loyalty or, on the contrary, novelties. Here the cursor clearly leans towards fidelity, which seems to reserve the two games for a nostalgic audience. Newcomers might indeed be put off by some gameplay elements that have aged rather badly. Neither shameful nor indispensable, Sparkling and Perle Scintillante clearly fall into the category of remakes which "do the job" but do not go beyond.
  45. Nov 29, 2021
    70
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl does little new, but therefore also little wrong. The atmospheric remakes offer a faithful Pokémon experience with some subtle (and less subtle) changes to the formula. You should not expect more from it.
  46. Nov 29, 2021
    70
    There remains about Pokémon Brilliant Diamond the glint of something far gone, and there is something warmly reassuring about the place.
  47. Nov 29, 2021
    70
    At the end of the day, I can't help but feel that Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl offer a bit of a disjointed experience - and while some parts make sense (I'm sure the buggy nature of the release comes due to the double-whammy of this both being ILCA's first attempt at a Pokemon release, as well as a direct result of the pandemic), I'm still left wondering why they chose to keep things so rigidly close to the originals. A more liberal reinterpretation of the game's map would've done wonders for the game feel on its own, for example. Were the games held back in scope to not step on Arceus: Legends' toes? I don't know, and I doubt we ever truly will. It's a shame either way - when it's firing on all cylinders, ILCA's first outing shows loads of promise and offers one of the most engaging Pokemon releases in years. I just wish the game itself didn't feel like it was constantly running up against limitations of its own design. Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are good, but they could've been so much more.
  48. Nov 29, 2021
    70
    If you’re a newcomer or existing Gen 4 fan, you’ll still have plenty of fun with Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl. There's noticeable quality-of-life improvements, the Grand Underground is enjoyable, battling against friends is always a joy and there remains an entertaining story. Personally, I just think there’s room for improvement.
  49. Nov 28, 2021
    70
    Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl have their flaws and are not particularly ambitious remakes, but they’re somehow still fun. I don’t regret the 25 hours I spent with the main story of Brilliant Diamond, and there is enough post-game content to keep me interested for a while longer. I just can’t help but wish that these gems shined just a little bit more brilliantly.
  50. Nov 22, 2021
    70
    Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl keep enough classic elements to feel like a comfy nostalgia trip, while smoothing over enough of the rough edges that they feel relatively contemporary with other recent Pokemon games. It can't be easy for a storied franchise to pay homage to its legacy while also modernizing in this way, but Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl strike the right balance. It's the classic Pokemon you remember, without most of the little annoyances you've forgotten.
  51. Nov 22, 2021
    70
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl is a fun adventure, and the Grand Underground is bound to keep you busy. However, it fails to reach the heights of Pokémon Platinum, with a limited Pokédex that excludes several great Pokémon unnecessarily.
  52. Nov 22, 2021
    70
    Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl show that not all remakes are worth playing if you have the originals on hand.
  53. Nov 17, 2021
    70
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl play it safe, faithfully remaking two classic DS games -- at times to a fault.
  54. Nov 17, 2021
    70
    These games bring back the classics with beautiful new graphics, but even with its new features, there isn’t any innovation, but a step backwards for the series.
  55. Nov 17, 2021
    70
    If you’re looking for a nostalgia-fuelled blast of classic Pokémon, Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl are as good as it gets. It's the classic 2006 DS adventure through and through, freshened up with a slick coat of paint and some much-needed quality-of-life upgrades. As someone who sank hundreds of hours into those original games, part of me is thrilled. The other part, unfortunately, can’t shake the feeling that the long-awaited gen-four remakes could’ve been considerably more than a pretty basic reheating of 15-year-old games.
  56. Nov 17, 2021
    70
    There are some much-needed quality of life improvements, and the games are well polished and run really smoothly on the Switch. It’s hard to see newer fans finding much to appreciate here, but those that have fond memories of the original Diamond and Pearl will have a lot to love about Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl.
  57. Nov 17, 2021
    70
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl lead us to rediscover the fascinating Sinnoh region fourteen years after the original. Too bad that many of the improvements introduced by the Platinum version have been removed and that these remakes do not present any substantial upgrade, except for a renewed visual aspect.
  58. Nov 17, 2021
    70
    The problem is that these are very good remakes of Diamond & Pearl and excellent games in and of themselves - they’re just nowhere near the best Gen 4 remake. Given that Platinum is still superior to Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl in almost every conceivable way, it’s difficult to comprehend why these games even exist aside from making them available on a modern console, in which case… just port Platinum. That’s the main takeaway I have from my time with Shining Pearl: it’s brilliant and it shines, but not quite as brilliantly bright as a game that came out 13 years ago.
  59. Nov 24, 2021
    68
    Long-time Pokemon fans that don't mind the repetitive nature of these games will have a lot to look forward to here. Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl is by no means a bad Pokemon game. It's competently developed, but some of the decisions made prevent this entry in the franchise from standing out. The lack of changes from the original titles further bogs down this otherwise solid addition.
  60. Nov 23, 2021
    65
    If you haven’t experienced Pokemon Diamond or Pearl yet and don’t have access to Platinum, then the Gen 4 remakes on Switch might be worth exploring. Sinnoh has its own charm to it, and completionists will likely enjoy the endgame that is Grand Underground collecting. I just hope that when the time comes to remake Black and White, whatever team handles it is a lot less conservative.
  61. Nov 22, 2021
    65
    Everything genuinely good about this game exists mostly because the original Diamond and Pearl games had a good story and interesting characters. This game takes all those and rehashes it only through the veil of basic 3D characters that have the mobility of Funko Pops. Boring textures and an almost purposeful lack of detail takes something that was originally served as a masterful dish and converts it into a repackaged microwaved TV dinner.
  62. Nov 22, 2021
    65
    What we have here is a very similar, yet different, version of Pokémon Diamond and Pearl in high definition on Switch, but it’s not definitively the best version to play today, as was the case with FireRed/LeafGreen, HeartGold/SoulSilver and Alpha Sapphire/Omega Ruby when they launched. While it’s not a stunningly brilliant or shining remake, it is a very faithful one that plays it safe and is a welcome return to Sinnoh for those with fond memories of visiting on the DS — but I’m more excited to see what’s new in the region with Pokémon Legends Arceus.
  63. Nov 30, 2021
    60
    As it stands, Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are faithful remakes in terms of storyline and post-content material. However, there are real issues here with the game’s level balancing, pared down content and overall user experience that does not go unnoticed. There’s no denying that these games are still enjoyable, especially for youngsters that haven’t experienced the originals. But for veterans yearning for a polished remake, Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are a beautiful disaster.
  64. 60
    Overall, Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are perfectly decent Pokémon games, but feel like a significant step back when compared to newer titles and the quality of previous Pokémon remakes. It relies too heavily on the Pokémon formula always providing a decent game, but doesn't bring much else to the table.
  65. Nov 28, 2021
    60
    Brilliant Diamond lacks ambition and will frustrate fans of Pokémon Platinum more than it pleases. Still, an extremely faithful classic Pokémon remake might be just what we need before Game Freak wildly changes up the formula with 2022’s Pokémon Legends: Arceus.
  66. Nov 24, 2021
    60
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond is a surprise. Despite some teething issues, it came through as a decent if uninspired showing for fans of fourth-generation Pokémon games, and an enjoyable return to the Sinnoh region. Some issues could’ve been ironed out better, but for old players and new, this is probably the ideal way to experience Pokémon Diamond and Pearl.
  67. Nov 19, 2021
    60
    Despite the fresh coat of paint they feel stuck in the past, rolled off the factory line with seemingly little question as to why they’re doing it...Pokémon fans and newbies alike will love Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl because Diamond and Pearl were great. But there’s not enough brilliance or shine here to add the lustre they deserved.
  68. Nov 17, 2021
    60
    A cheap-looking and unambitious remake of a generic Pokémon entry that seemed bereft of new ideas in 2006, let alone now.
  69. Nov 17, 2021
    60
    While some of the slower elements of the original games have been fixed, and The Grand Underground makes up for the comparatively weak Pokédex, Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl’s new art style and a few other stumbles make this pair of games a somewhat disappointing retread of Generation 4. They’re also very clearly in the shadow of Pokemon Legends: Arceus, the upcoming open-world-like Pokemon game that has fans hoping it can take the series in exciting new directions beyond 20-year-old mechanics. If the remit of these remakes was to remain faithful to the original Gen 4 pair, we wish they’d also stuck to the pixel-art aesthetic. Aside from The Grand Underground – and the connectivity with the current games in the series – there’s very little reason to play Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl over your original DS copies.
  70. Nov 29, 2021
    50
    Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl are fine enough remakes for reliving some memories and sharing them with the next generation. But beneath the glow of nostalgia, there’s a carelessness about their build that makes them fall short of expectations.
  71. Nov 29, 2021
    50
    By attempting to remain as faithful as possible to the original games, this remake has ended up with a great deal of problems. While other Pokémon games (including the remakes) have continued to evolve the franchise, Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl will likely only be enjoyable for players who have a nostalgia for the originals.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 17, 2021
    No doubt these will sell well regardless of what I say, but if you're not already dying to play these, I would save the $60 for Pokémon Legends: Arceus, due out in January.
  2. Nov 19, 2021
    The original Pokémon Diamond and Pearl were strange, uneven games. The remakes file them down to something still enjoyable, but textureless.
  3. Nov 17, 2021
    I’ve spent years — the better part of a decade, since the Ruby and Sapphire remakes on 3DS — going through the motions with new Pokémon games, trying desperately to fight through superfluous features and recapture the magic of my childhood. But the Diamond and Pearl remakes’ simple, derivative, and basic formulas helped refocus my love for a franchise almost as old as I am. [Polygon Recommends]
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 482 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 20, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I love underground this remaser and i enjoy this game but i don't like exp share all / Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2021
    9
    Good game, I haven't played the original diamond and pearl but I'm finding this one fun.
  3. Nov 20, 2021
    10
    ILCA le hizo justicia a mi Generación favorita. Adoro los modelos Chibis ya que originalmente el Overworld de Pokémon fue así y los gráficosILCA le hizo justicia a mi Generación favorita. Adoro los modelos Chibis ya que originalmente el Overworld de Pokémon fue así y los gráficos luminosos son bastantes bonitos. Full Review »