Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 16, 2020
    85
    Save Koch is an absorbing story with well-written characters and a genuinely engaging mystery.
  2. Apr 20, 2020
    80
    Between a strict time limit, ruthless enemies, and heavy consequences, Save Koch is an intense sleuthing experience that’s held back by minor technical issues. Each round is unique enough to give this game a healthy shelf life.
  3. Mar 11, 2020
    70
    A game that is set in a brilliant setting, and starring a townful of colorful characters, albeit with so many information and details that will often keep players guessing. It’s a game with heart, though the players need to go through many layers of Koch’s crispy bacon before uncovering its true strengths and merits.
  4. Mar 11, 2020
    60
    Save Koch is definitely a unique indie game to keep an eye on with its intense procedurally generated mystery-based campaign.
  5. Mar 9, 2020
    60
    Save Koch is impressive in the weight of its narrative choices, but a little cushioning could have gone a long way in making unraveling its mystery more enticing.
  6. Mar 5, 2020
    60
    Save Koch is a complex and surprisingly hardcore simulation game with a noir theme, but there a few too many fail states and it's too repetitive to be truly enjoyable.
  7. May 1, 2020
    50
    While it has a nice premise and ambitious goals with its social deduction, several frustrating problems drag down Save Koch.
  8. Mar 11, 2020
    50
    Save Koch has an interesting game world, features some funny dialogues and is certainly based on some solid ideas. However their execution leaves a lot to be desired: the game pretty much abandons the players to their luck without much guidance, causing a feeling of disorientation where it's almost impossible to know what to do, and its rather arbitrary missions work mostly on a trial and error basis.
  9. Mar 6, 2020
    50
    Save Koch could have been a very enjoyable experience, but is ultimately ruined by its confusing lore and repetitive gameplay. Save Koch tried to employ roguelike style features in order to foster multiple playthroughs, but it becomes incredibly tiresome after only a few runs. If Save Koch had only explained its gameplay better and reworked its repetitive elements it would have been an intriguing experience. In its current state Save Koch spends much of its run wearing on the player's patience.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Mar 13, 2020
    7
    The art and story are great, and the gameplay is unique – but Save Koch can be difficult and gets repetitive after some time.
  2. Mar 12, 2020
    9
    I read press reviews of this game and am surprised. Yes, I agree, the game is difficult. Yes, I agree - hardcore. BUT it is original. Koch isI read press reviews of this game and am surprised. Yes, I agree, the game is difficult. Yes, I agree - hardcore. BUT it is original. Koch is not like any other game. It does not copy other games. Most modern games (including AAA games) practically copy each other, changing only the graphics (pirates - fantasy - space themes). My opinion is that the game deserves a very high rating. For the idea. For courage. For sharp words, which are very organic and appropriate sometimes appear in the replicas of heroes. Definitely recommend it! Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2020
    9
    I agreed with some press reviews about the hardcore first impression and sometimes several deaths in a row. But I really enjoyed this uniqueI agreed with some press reviews about the hardcore first impression and sometimes several deaths in a row. But I really enjoyed this unique genre and atmosphere and try more.

    After a few tries, this game could turn into the real detective series with unexpected endings :)

    Not typical for a Switch game, but with great noir aesthetics and variety of characters involved in the story. I could recommend this game for anyone who wants to have a new experience with a great narrative-based game.
    Full Review »