Starlink: Battle for Atlas Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 63 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Starlink: Battle for Atlas is an action-adventure game through which you assemble a custom Starship model mounted to your game controller to launch into an interplanetary adventure. Lead a group of heroic interstellar pilots who use modular starships to mix and match their unique gear andStarlink: Battle for Atlas is an action-adventure game through which you assemble a custom Starship model mounted to your game controller to launch into an interplanetary adventure. Lead a group of heroic interstellar pilots who use modular starships to mix and match their unique gear and skills on the fly. Travel the stars to unite the galaxy against villainous destructive forces. Modular, customizable starships: Mix and match pilots, hulls, wings, and weapons to assemble the starship of your dreams with a level of customization and creativity. Changes to your physical ship instantly appear in-game allowing you to immediately jump into the battle. Starships at your fingertips - Take control of your starship in a whole new way. Your custom starship attaches directly to your game controller as you pilot through Atlas. Open, living star system - Travel seamlessly through the vast exotic alien worlds of the Atlas Star System, full of unique challenges to discover and overcome. Explore 7 massive unique planets and space. Plus, fly directly from the planet into space for more battles and back to another world. Creative combat - Build your unique play style. Experiment with different pilot abilities and weapons to discover and unleash devastating combos upon your enemies and overcome deadly challenges. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Starlink: Battle For Atlas - Official Star Fox Trailer | E3 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 63
  2. Negative: 2 out of 63
  1. Oct 15, 2018
    100
    Regardless of which version you purchase, Starlink: Battle For Atlas will provide one of the best console space shooters in years, and is now my favorite Star Fox game of all time.
  2. NF Magazine
    Feb 26, 2019
    85
    Starlink as a new franchise isn't perfect, but it's still a whole lot of fun. [Issue #37 – January/February 2019, p. 71]
  3. Oct 22, 2018
    80
    A title that begs for a sequel. As a proof of concept, it’s an absolute success as there are plenty of impressive moments and pieces of tech that help it stand out from other massive action games.
  4. Oct 15, 2018
    75
    As conflicted as I am about Starlink Battle for Atlas, one thing is clear: if you’re buying it, you should definitely get the Nintendo Switch version. Not because you get the extra Star Fox content, but rather two in-game starships — that advantage means your chances for survival instantly double without breaking the bank.
  5. Oct 31, 2018
    75
    Starlink: Battle for Atlas can become a good starting point for a new franchise with a toys-to-life concept done the right way. Sadly, its repetitive nature lacks the ingredients to keep you hooked.
  6. Oct 23, 2018
    70
    Starlink Battle For Atlas is probably the best way of doing a toys-to-life game, but the game itself is a bit repetitive. Thankfully the fights are spectacular and there are many amazing combo's to make, which kind of saves the game.
  7. Oct 17, 2018
    30
    Before you know it, Starlink turns playing with toys into something that feels an awful lot like work.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 67
  2. Negative: 6 out of 67
  1. Dec 18, 2019
    10
    This game blows me away each time I boot it up, seriously. The atmosphere is space, which I love, you can hop from planet to planet with theThis game blows me away each time I boot it up, seriously. The atmosphere is space, which I love, you can hop from planet to planet with the smoothest transitions I have seen in a space game on Switch, or any game for that matter (I only played the day 1 edition of No Mans Sky). The storyline is a little cheesy, but its still fun, kind of like watching a really well made Saturday morning cartoon. The graphics are gorgeous and really show what the Switch can do. The toys are everything for me, I love games that bring toys to life and do it the right way. I could never get into Skylanders or anything of that sort because it was a bit too childish for me. But this game is the right balance, it could be fun for a kid or (a nerdy adult like myself). The toys are totally affordable right now, so of course I went mad with purchasing every single ship and every weapon pack, along with pilots too. The toys are well-made and detailed, they look nice on a display shelf. There is so much to do!!! You can identify species on different planets, collect loot, take down bad guys with awesome weapons, travel space, take part in dog fights with space pirates. If you like space and flying, just get this game. If you are a collector, get the physical edition, if not, get the digital deluxe. Just make sure you realize what you are getting into with the physical edition. Weapon types matter, pilots do as well, and ships count as lives.
    P.S. As many reviewers have mentioned, Star Fox was made for this game, Ubisoft knows what they are doing when it comes to working with Nintendos' tech at this point, and their characters shine with the Snowdrop engine.

    Summary of Score
    Graphics: 8.5
    Gameplay: 9.5
    Storyline: 7.5
    Replayability: 10.0
    Overally score is 10.0 because I must combat the over-negative reviews and bump this up to the score it deserves, which is an 8.8.
    Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2018
    10
    A newly and fresh ip of space adventure. Mixed element from No man's sky and Skylander. Maybe when i'm back to 10 years old i'm never feltA newly and fresh ip of space adventure. Mixed element from No man's sky and Skylander. Maybe when i'm back to 10 years old i'm never felt repetitive, the music and voice acting are really awesome. Enough to cleanse away the feel of repetitive. Recommended to play it with your child. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Having such a blast with it. This game will be for you if 1) you like spaceships customization 2) well crafted space shooter gameplay 3)Having such a blast with it. This game will be for you if 1) you like spaceships customization 2) well crafted space shooter gameplay 3) STARFOX! The story is simple enough that you can simply enjoy it, the controls are tight and well thought and the universe is so cool to explore. The fact that you can take this with you on the go is so amazing! A must buy. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2019
    9
    StarLink (or should I say StarFox) Battle for Atlas is a fantastic open world/space shoot-em-up game, although the storyline may be StarLink'sStarLink (or should I say StarFox) Battle for Atlas is a fantastic open world/space shoot-em-up game, although the storyline may be StarLink's weakest point what I really admire about the game is all the attention to detail that they put into all the ships they created and all the battles in combat that you get to participate in heck even the voice acting is really good, while there are so many good things I can say about the game I still have to mention there are a few problems as well such as Texter Poppins and stuff not loading properly but these problems range from minor to nonexistent, overall the game is just a blast to play you'll actually forget about all the bad things that happen in game, UBIsoft did a great job integrating StarFox into a new universe that's why I'm giving the game a 9/10, there is still room for improvement but for now this is one of the best "StarFox" games I have ever played Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2019
    8
    El juego esta muy bueno y interesante.Podes estar varias horas jugando sin problemas.Aunque es un poco Repetitivo.Pero si te gusta los juegosEl juego esta muy bueno y interesante.Podes estar varias horas jugando sin problemas.Aunque es un poco Repetitivo.Pero si te gusta los juegos de naves y exploración es una excelente opción, Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2018
    8
    I bought the digital version and it's a good game. There are a lot of repetition but the worlds are diverse to look at. Overall, I am veryI bought the digital version and it's a good game. There are a lot of repetition but the worlds are diverse to look at. Overall, I am very happy with this game. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2018
    0
    300 dollars for essentially a no mans sky clone, you have got to be kidding me...

See all 67 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall

    The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall Image
    Published: August 29, 2018
    Preview over 20 of the most-anticipated video games arriving this fall, including Red Dead Redemption 2, Spider-Man, Fallout 76, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, and more.