Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 9, 2021
    100
    The House in Fata Morgana: Dreams of the Revenants is a true artistic work and does not fail in any aspect of its proposal. Highly recommended for fans of the genre.
  2. Apr 30, 2021
    100
    Sublime writing, beautiful artwork, and a haunting soundtrack combine to undertake one most nuanced and thoughtful explorations of all the best and worst of the human condition—disturbing and intense, but ultimately hopeful, and with a level of care and humanity that’s rare to see in a game that goes to the dark places this one does. Perhaps most of all, it’s a perfect example of how much visual novels can push the boundaries of videogames as a medium and as an art form, both because and in spite of their “gameplay” constraints. The House in Fata Morgana is, quite simply, a masterpiece on every level.
  3. 100
    The House In Fata Morgana had a profound effect on me: I now have an answer to the question of “what was the last game to leave you in tears”, and they went from tears of sadness to joy after the main story’s stinger. I’m not sure there’s going to be another visual novel on Switch that hits me this hard - but I’d love to see someone try.
  4. Apr 15, 2021
    100
    I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about The House in Fata Morgana. My time with the game was well spent, and I crave a replay as soon as possible, so I can dive even deeper and appreciate the game at a different pace. This definitive version of the Fata Morgana series is perfectly suited for the Switch, allowing you to read on the go as you move through one of the most beloved visual novels in the genre.
  5. Apr 14, 2021
    100
    The House in Fata Morgana borrows the moves of classic tragedies, performing events past to demonstrate the tragedy of the current. It is impressive how little time it takes to understand the motives and dreams of the Rose Manor residents, even when they fall to their lowest extent. The storytelling, art style, and music harmonizes its themes of vintage times and freely mold each scene from childish hope to shock and terror. Having every game in this series on one of the most convenient gaming systems for visual novels makes it very difficult to argue its value.
  6. 100
    There are moments where Fata Morgana becomes very uncomfortable to witness, and a little like when I played Saya no Uta, I did need to put it down from time to time. This game is nowhere near as explicit or extreme as that one, but thematically it is, if anything, more demanding of the player. It's a little like how the real Grimm brothers fairy tales are deeply uncomfortable to read, though it's certainly not of the extreme, overt violence of a Marquis de Sade novel. If you want to see how a visual novel could be elevated to something approaching "high art," you owe it to yourself to play The House in Fata Morgana. The fact that the Switch release comes with even more stories and features as a "complete" edition just makes it all the more essential.
  7. Apr 8, 2021
    100
    The House in Fata Morgana on Nintendo Switch is the best way to experience a true masterpiece of storytelling.
  8. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Oct 7, 2021
    85
    I think fans of gothic literature, visual novels and/ or engrossing stories will find something to love about this game. Just know that if you start it, you've got to reach the end to really appreciate what it has to offer. [Issue #55 – October 2021, p. 28]
  9. Jun 11, 2021
    80
    The House in Fata Morgana: Dreams of the Revenants Edition is a long and finely constructed visual novel. It promises an intricate plot of suspense, intrigue and revenge for anyone willing to commit forty or more hours to the story.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 560 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 95 out of 560
  1. Apr 15, 2021
    10
    This is, hands down, the best visual novel I've ever read. The music, the atmosphere, and the characters themselves all come together in aThis is, hands down, the best visual novel I've ever read. The music, the atmosphere, and the characters themselves all come together in a beautiful tale. Everything is perfect. Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2021
    3
    Having just finished the absolutely phenomenal Danganronpa series and the very good Raging Loop I was looking for another visual novel toHaving just finished the absolutely phenomenal Danganronpa series and the very good Raging Loop I was looking for another visual novel to scratch that itch.

    I had heard good things about this. The art style was nice. Thought I would give it a go.

    It's basically an anthology of stories set in a mysterious mansion with a history of tragedies.

    The first story was really promising! In isolation I'd say it was a really good 7 or 8 out if 10. After that, however, is where things really started to fall apart. Every story follows a similar pattern after that. It's all written in the manner of a 14 year old who's not good at writing. I don't know if it's just due to the bad translation but it was next to unbearable.

    There were scenes that went on for way to long where a character would have one opinion and the other character would be trying to change that opinion. The scene would basically be one character saying "I'm going to do x" over and over and the other character would be saying "No. Please don't do that. Do y instead." and they would repeat this over and over and over and over and over to the point where I was just skipping through to the end of the scene where the character did inevitably change their mind.

    Because I had heard such good things about it I persevered hoping that at some point it would get good... But it never did. It never did. To see this averaging 100 on critic reviews on Metacritic is completely ludicrous. They must be on crack.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2021
    2
    Mediocre at best. And that's being nice.
    Can't recommend it, don't waste your time.