User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 259
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2020
    10
    Once again Bethesda make a masterpiece switch port.
    I loved the game, so much fun and great history.

    I will play yougblood next
  2. Jul 1, 2018
    8
    Pros: This game is solid. I like Wolfenstein and DOOM titles, classical old-school FPS what a real man cannot ask for more. The storyline is attractive. HD rumble of NS is good too.
    Cons: The font size of subtitle is too small, especially in hand-held mode. Maybe because of the hardware performance, the resolution ratio is a little bit low, making it vague when playing.
    In all, 8/10,
    Pros: This game is solid. I like Wolfenstein and DOOM titles, classical old-school FPS what a real man cannot ask for more. The storyline is attractive. HD rumble of NS is good too.
    Cons: The font size of subtitle is too small, especially in hand-held mode. Maybe because of the hardware performance, the resolution ratio is a little bit low, making it vague when playing.
    In all, 8/10, recommended.
    Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2018
    10
    No way this game should fall below the 85% mark. It's an excellent port that keeps the experience intact. Panic Button did an amazing job as usual, maximizing the capacity of the Switch for a perfect handheld experience. If you want crisper graphics, play the other versions, but on the switch screen the game is just perfect!
  4. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    Increíble que este juego se mueva en Switch con absoluta fluidez. Gran historia e inmersión, frenetismo, gran banda sonora y control perfecto. Inmprescindible si te gustan los shooters. Me encantaría ver la primera parte en Switch. 9/10
  5. Jul 4, 2018
    10
    Another great job by Panic Button. This is not the best looking version of the game, but that is to be expected and who cares. The Switch version gives you the ability to blast Nazis anywhere! If you enjoyed DOOM, you will enjoy Wolf 2. Another visually demanding game has been squeezed into the tiny Switch, it controls well and provides more play options than any other version available.Another great job by Panic Button. This is not the best looking version of the game, but that is to be expected and who cares. The Switch version gives you the ability to blast Nazis anywhere! If you enjoyed DOOM, you will enjoy Wolf 2. Another visually demanding game has been squeezed into the tiny Switch, it controls well and provides more play options than any other version available. (8/10, but rating 10/10 just to counter the idiots that give the game a zero) Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2018
    9
    Bethesda is like 8/10 on all of it's games. I can't think of a game they have made in the recent past that is less than that. This game brought so much value. The story was excellent, game play tuned, graphics pristine. If you're going to go in on this game, make sure you will commit to the other series. As well, make sure you pick up all the other Wolfenstein games from Bethesda.
  7. wmw
    Jul 10, 2018
    9
    Pros: Very dynamic, excellent game-play and good story and enemy design.
    Cons: Graphics looks bad sometimes but I think they achieved a lot with Switch limited power compared to PS4 and X1.

    Summary: Don't remember last time I had that much fun. If you're Wolfenstein fan - you won't be dissapointed.
  8. Jul 3, 2018
    10
    Fabulous and what great games are made of :)
    A great mix of intrigue, politics, questions and action
  9. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    Superbe portage réalisé par le studio Panic Button, à qui l'on doit également les portages de Doom et Rocker League. Ils prouvent que la Switch peut faire tourner les productions AAA si l'on s'en donne les moyens. Pour revenir au jeu, c'est humour trash et violence frénétique ! Visuellement, ça en en jette pas mal que ce soit en mode docké ou portable. Le downgrade est perceptibleSuperbe portage réalisé par le studio Panic Button, à qui l'on doit également les portages de Doom et Rocker League. Ils prouvent que la Switch peut faire tourner les productions AAA si l'on s'en donne les moyens. Pour revenir au jeu, c'est humour trash et violence frénétique ! Visuellement, ça en en jette pas mal que ce soit en mode docké ou portable. Le downgrade est perceptible (resolution plus basse, texture moins fine, un peu de floutage) mais il est habillement dosé pour que le soft ne soit pas dénaturé. Bien que le jeu semble plus clair que les autres versions, il suffira d'aller faire un tour dans les réglages vidéo du jeu et de laisser tout juste apparaître le chiffre 4, ce sera plus sombre certes mais bien plus beau ! Les animations sont de qualité, et le jeu tourne avec un très solide 30fps. La bande son est ouf, et la voix de Bruce Willis ne fera que renforcer cet aspect cinématographique au plus grand bonheur des joueurs !

    Ce que j'ai aimé (+) :
    - L'action ultra prenante... le jeu se dévore comme un bon film
    - Qualité du portage
    - Un 30fps ultra stable
    - Bande son exceptionnelle / La voix de Bruce ;-)
    - Scénario

    Ce que je n'ai pas aimé (-) :
    - Les textures auraient pu être un chouillat plus fines (même réflexion que pour Doom) la Switch aurait pu gérer.
    - Le rendu de l'eau... mais là je chipote.
    - ON VEUT UN MODE MULTI JOUEURS !!!!!!!!!!

    Pour résumer, Wolfenstein devient un incontournable FPS sur Switch qui passe à côté d'un 10/10 pour manque de mode multi joueurs.
    Expand
  10. Aug 1, 2018
    10
    Wolfenstein 2 excels at story, gameplay, and Panic Button have out done themselves with this port. The only thing it's missing is a co-op horde survival mode. Keep exaggerating the resolution to justify your favorite platform not supporting mobile play. It always gives me a good moral boost.
  11. Jul 26, 2018
    10
    So im familiar with all wolfenstein games lastly wolf2 on playstation2 pro got it cheap and when the switch version launched i had to order it wasnt dissapointment. The physical version still require 8gb addiotanal download, you can start playing right away but the quality and gameplay bumbs up a huge marging when setup is fully complete. You will also loose all savedate if you startSo im familiar with all wolfenstein games lastly wolf2 on playstation2 pro got it cheap and when the switch version launched i had to order it wasnt dissapointment. The physical version still require 8gb addiotanal download, you can start playing right away but the quality and gameplay bumbs up a huge marging when setup is fully complete. You will also loose all savedate if you start before the download is complete. And they didnt use full 32gb cartridge nor give us the dlc or combat simulation, but othet than that this is the most impressive gaming experience ive had, and ive owned everys system and some pcs since early 2000's. Not only it looks outstanding handheld mode it is easy to play. i used bring em on difficulty on ps4p version but switch imnrocking do or die and when you learn to play with the switch it is really easy, rewarding on most fun. Handheld mode i dont use gyrocontrols but tvmode it makes fine tuning ur aiming really efective and fun. I have to say i choose the switch version over ps4pro and same goes for skyrim. It is very special to move these games whereever you want or just enjoy home at ur porch or tvmode i can but love the switch. Expand
  12. Oct 25, 2018
    9
    Now with the patch v1.2 the game comes to be a realy impressive port, now that the constant blur is gone. It's a good trade buy this game due to portability. And the gyro controls gives a new way to play. The game itself have a long single player mode, many ways to finish the game, making new all time you play it. Thanks Bethesda, we want more and more games from your team!
  13. Jul 6, 2018
    8
    Cierto, este juego es peor gráficamente comparado con las otras versiones,pero estamos hablando de una "consola portátil". Panic Button hace un gran trabajo haciendo este port.
  14. Sep 14, 2018
    8
    I am not a big fan of Western FPS. Yet I bought this game out of support for 3rd party developers. Don't want the WII U debacle to repeat again this generation. It shows you one thing: Panic Button is one of the best developer for Switch. The fact that they can compress a 40 + GB game into the Switch is astounding. Of course, it is blurry, but it has perfect frame rate, and portability,I am not a big fan of Western FPS. Yet I bought this game out of support for 3rd party developers. Don't want the WII U debacle to repeat again this generation. It shows you one thing: Panic Button is one of the best developer for Switch. The fact that they can compress a 40 + GB game into the Switch is astounding. Of course, it is blurry, but it has perfect frame rate, and portability, Switch's best feature. The game itself is typical high production values, violent and non-sensical storyline (I will probably get a lot of down vote for this). I couldn't get into it, but as a lifelong gamer, I can appreciate its craftmanship. If you want your fill for FPS on the Switch, then this is one of its best releases. Expand
  15. Jul 11, 2019
    8
    The fact that Wolfenstein II is on switch is already an unreal accomplishment. Testing this shooter on the Nintendo Switch was both a weird but plausible experience.

    The weakest aspect is definitely the graphics. With no wifi, I mostly played the game without the graphical updates. The depth of field is pretty bad, the character models can look poor and fake sometimes. But the
    The fact that Wolfenstein II is on switch is already an unreal accomplishment. Testing this shooter on the Nintendo Switch was both a weird but plausible experience.

    The weakest aspect is definitely the graphics. With no wifi, I mostly played the game without the graphical updates. The depth of field is pretty bad, the character models can look poor and fake sometimes. But the explosions,, different environments, and pre rendered cutscenes kind of balances those sacrifices. Winning America from Nazis is a typical but bad ass story for me.

    The auto-aim helps a lot on the Switch. With many weapons and ways to kill, skirmishes especially boss fights felt chaotic and intense. Though some fights felt unfair or hard suddenly, and navigation could get bad sometimes.

    To try a first person shooter on the go was a unique experience that I didn't mind. Even with graphical setbacks, average mapping, and unfairness, I love the gameplay, interesting characters and story, and the fact that this existed.
    Expand
  16. Aug 1, 2018
    8
    I won't even talk about the graphics as we all know what to expect in terms of down grade on the switch. Gameplay wise, it's Doom, Doom Doom and Doom, in a new setting/location. I played through the entire game on hard mode and it was thoroughly entertaining, if you liked Doom you'll probably like this one equally. The story; I'm shocked to read reviews saying it was too long or bad etc,I won't even talk about the graphics as we all know what to expect in terms of down grade on the switch. Gameplay wise, it's Doom, Doom Doom and Doom, in a new setting/location. I played through the entire game on hard mode and it was thoroughly entertaining, if you liked Doom you'll probably like this one equally. The story; I'm shocked to read reviews saying it was too long or bad etc, it was one of the few times i didnt mind long cut scenes in a shooter. The story is compelling and hits home for a lot of people with it's connection to social issues. The only downside I had was the length. Where are the Silent Hills and Syphon Filters of today, with hours of gameplay before even asking what extras are in it. For $60, I shouldnt beat the story as a leisure gamer, in a matter of two or three days. That was a big disappointment for me at such a high price point, but other than that, game is pretty exceptional and a great addition to your Switch lib Expand
  17. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Wolfenstein 2 on the switch is a fun game. Sadly the fun doesn't last for long because the campaign is surprisingly short. You cant replay the entire campaign after you finished the campaign with all the upgrades you haved unlocked. This is for story reasons but its still disappointing. Also, the hub level on the submarine is fun until you finish the campaign because all the interestingWolfenstein 2 on the switch is a fun game. Sadly the fun doesn't last for long because the campaign is surprisingly short. You cant replay the entire campaign after you finished the campaign with all the upgrades you haved unlocked. This is for story reasons but its still disappointing. Also, the hub level on the submarine is fun until you finish the campaign because all the interesting main characters disappear for story reasons. I wish that they maybe had it that now and them the character would return. The graphics are pretty good but still not good as the graphics compared to the ps4 or xbox1, but that's okay. It still is a great looking game. Overall I had fun with the game but I feel the replay value is small. I wish that every single level could be replayed and that there were a few more boss fights and levels. Expand
  18. Aug 13, 2018
    8
    Gameplay quase que tradicional de um FPS padrão. A narrativa é o forte desse jogo. Nota 8 pela boa jogabilidade e narrativa, mas também por falta de inovação pois muitas vezes vocês pensa "É um FPS comum". Se você gosta muito de jogos de tiro, jogue. Mas se não quer mais do mesmo, talvez fosse interessante considerar outro jogo. Mas não se engane: houveram "cutscenes" em que sentiGameplay quase que tradicional de um FPS padrão. A narrativa é o forte desse jogo. Nota 8 pela boa jogabilidade e narrativa, mas também por falta de inovação pois muitas vezes vocês pensa "É um FPS comum". Se você gosta muito de jogos de tiro, jogue. Mas se não quer mais do mesmo, talvez fosse interessante considerar outro jogo. Mas não se engane: houveram "cutscenes" em que senti calafrios pois a narrativa é imprevisível. Expand
  19. Dec 13, 2019
    8
    First of all, the switch version is fantastic with the gyro controls, the combat is smooth and satisfying.
    The story is great and interesting.

    The only downside is the lack of a multi-player, if it had that it would be close to a 10/10 game.
  20. Oct 20, 2018
    9
    Well a very good game. with a very deep storyline. Was amazed with the story and was so amazed also with how they come up with the idea of a 2 weapon hands on. very good all in all
  21. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    Wow! this game looks and plays brilliantly. Love the cinematics and cut-scenes are an entertaining mix of cool, macabre and sometimes bizarre.

    A must own Switch game if it's your only console.
  22. Dec 9, 2018
    9
    Increíble port y excelente juego, aunque es un desperdicio de juegazo que no tenga multijugador.
  23. Feb 28, 2019
    9
    This game is currently one of the best first person shooters available on the Switch. Anybody who expects Xbox One or PS4 quality of graphics and frame rates on this glorified tablet is asking the world and should probably purchase this game on a different platform. Anybody who wants a solid FPS available on the go may want to consider this game. I have played it both docked and inThis game is currently one of the best first person shooters available on the Switch. Anybody who expects Xbox One or PS4 quality of graphics and frame rates on this glorified tablet is asking the world and should probably purchase this game on a different platform. Anybody who wants a solid FPS available on the go may want to consider this game. I have played it both docked and in handheld mode and during gameplay I haven't experienced any noticeable frame rate drops in either mode. However, many cut scenes have some horrible frame rate issues in docked mode. Since this seems to be limited to cut scenes in docked mode I am still able to happily say that it doesn't ruin too much of the experience for me, yet this is why I feel uncomfortable with giving the game a 10/10. Expand
  24. Jul 25, 2019
    10
    No comment... It's Amazing...
    This quality on Nintendo Switch... OMG !
    PLEASE... More Wolfenstein on Nintendo Switch !
  25. May 16, 2019
    9
    this game is a diamond among diamonds on the switch, there are tons of games on the switch but not nearly enough FPS yet, and this game scratches my itch for FPS on the go. now im not always traveling but especially while laying in bed or spending time with family in the living room away from my switch dock, this is a great way to experience this game even if it is a bit cut down fromthis game is a diamond among diamonds on the switch, there are tons of games on the switch but not nearly enough FPS yet, and this game scratches my itch for FPS on the go. now im not always traveling but especially while laying in bed or spending time with family in the living room away from my switch dock, this is a great way to experience this game even if it is a bit cut down from other versions. the only issue i have is that the sensitivity from handheld to tv is alittle weird and takes a bit of getting used to but from the still very nice cinematic to the smoothness of the game, panic button always hits these switch ports out of the park and has me excited for more games to come and see what else they can do on the switch! Expand
  26. Jun 6, 2019
    9
    Wolfenstein II again with DOOM is another great addition to the AAA list on Switch! Again because of the success of Wolfenstein II on Switch we are getting Wolfenstein: Youngblood day and date with the other version and hopefully will get Wolfenstein III on Switch!
  27. Dec 20, 2019
    8
    Un 1st Person Shooter clásico pero refrescante para lo que tenemos hoy en día. Pese a que trata de ser más profundo que DOOM echando mano de una buena historia, no está a la altura del masacrador de demonios en términos de jugabilidad.

    Lo bueno: - Una historia cruda que evoluciona de la mano con las mecánicas del gameplay. - La violencia macarra propia de la época en que se hizo el
    Un 1st Person Shooter clásico pero refrescante para lo que tenemos hoy en día. Pese a que trata de ser más profundo que DOOM echando mano de una buena historia, no está a la altura del masacrador de demonios en términos de jugabilidad.

    Lo bueno:

    - Una historia cruda que evoluciona de la mano con las mecánicas del gameplay.
    - La violencia macarra propia de la época en que se hizo el primer Wolfenstein resulta refrescanrte.

    Lo malo:

    - Tener que presionar un botón para agarrar curaciones, armaduras e items distrae mucho si estamos en medio de una escaramuza.
    - Que el botón de lanzar granada y el de cambiar de arma sea el mismo es una enorme estupidez.
    Expand
  28. Dec 11, 2019
    10
    Let's.... KILL... SOME.... MOTHERFOKING...... NAZI. SO DAMN GOOD. Play. It's a nice spin on ww2 games. In other games like cod ww2, you always know there will not be a sequel to the game, because the allies will always win, because those games are about the war. But in this game the nazi's already won, so you will not know if it's the end of the serie. just play it, better than world at war
  29. Feb 22, 2020
    10
    Awesome characters
    Awesome story Awesome difficulty Awesome enemie

    what say more? Killing nazis is my new hobby

    I recommend it.
  30. Jun 18, 2020
    8
    Un juego superdivertido. Plagado de topicazos, americanadas y tipos duros pero muy jugable
  31. Jun 20, 2020
    8
    Really impressive. The game runs perfectly fine. The game can be blurry at times (especially in fog) but it's perfectly playable. It's a shame they did not port the previous game to the switch. If you haven't played The New Order, you will have to catch up on the story.
  32. Oct 28, 2020
    10
    Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is a sequel to the previous installment "The New Order" and it does everything right, with minimal flaws.

    Pros: - Long (10-12 hours) - Graphics look great - Alternative History - Gunplay is awesome - Multiple difficulties - Awesome soundtrack - Great variety of weapons and they can be upgraded - Well optimized - Well written characters -
    Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is a sequel to the previous installment "The New Order" and it does everything right, with minimal flaws.

    Pros:
    - Long (10-12 hours)
    - Graphics look great
    - Alternative History
    - Gunplay is awesome
    - Multiple difficulties
    - Awesome soundtrack
    - Great variety of weapons and they can be upgraded
    - Well optimized
    - Well written characters
    - Cutscenes are absolutely awesome

    Cons:
    - Some animations are stiff (Like Bj's animations, which you can see in his shadow)
    - The graphics can look washed out at some places
    - Those expeditions kinda stuff are kinda meh
    - Bad DLCs

    10/10 The game is absolutely worthy of this rating since I can find everything in this game that I loved in New Order. Get the base game, avoid the DLCs.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. NF Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    85
    Stepping into the shoes of B.J. Blazkowicz makes for one wild ride! [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 66]
  2. Aug 17, 2018
    75
    At its core, Wolfenstein 2 for Switch feels exactly like the adventure we played last year. With solid mechanics and a thrilling story, the game truly shines. Despite some heavy technical downscaling, the shooter still plays very well on the Switch.
  3. Aug 9, 2018
    67
    Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is an absolute must play for anyone who enjoys that genre at all. As for the Switch version, it is a bit of a mixed bag. If you only own Nintendo consoles and never use anything else, get it. If you are looking to play the game on the go and the Switch is your preferred gaming console, get it. If you have other consoles and you only use your Switch now and then, and want the best experience possible with Wolfenstein II, go a different route and experience it for the first time the way the developers intended.