Yoshi's Crafted World Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 92 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Discover the flip side of Yoshis world. Lead Yoshi on a brand new adventure that will turn everything youve come to expect from side-scrolling games upside down! Explore a great, big world decorated like a miniature diorama in a new art style for the franchise, where each side-scrollingDiscover the flip side of Yoshis world. Lead Yoshi on a brand new adventure that will turn everything youve come to expect from side-scrolling games upside down! Explore a great, big world decorated like a miniature diorama in a new art style for the franchise, where each side-scrolling stage has the traditional front side as well as a flip side with different views and surprises. Look for items throughout the stage as Yoshi makes his way to the goal. You can even join up with a friend.

    Features:

    * Join Yoshi in this new action platforming game
    * Each course offers both a main path and a hidden path that offers different views and surprises
    * The lively art style looks like a minature diorama
    * Enjoy simultaneous 2-player action
    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Yoshi’s Crafted World - Story Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 92
  2. Negative: 0 out of 92
  1. May 8, 2019
    100
    Easy doesn’t mean a lack of fun, and if Yoshi’s Crafted World is anything, it’s fun. Good Feel has very nearly perfected its quirky practice of hyper-stylized visuals fused with quality gameplay. As ever, the pure joy of hurling eggs at encroaching Shy Guys and Piranha Plants remains one of the biggest draws in all of video games. The new, multilayered stages composed from bric a brac are charming to the max. There’s also a bevy of unlockable goodies, including a multitude of cute costumes to dress Yoshi in, and that will keep players busy returning to Crafted World’s numerous stages for a good, long time.
  2. Mar 27, 2019
    90
    Yoshi’s Crafted World is a real joy to play. While it’s monotonous during the flip side levels, its masterful platform design makes up for it in droves.
  3. Mar 27, 2019
    85
    Yoshi's Crafted World is a really fun title with a great design, perfect for fans of platform games and of course Yoshi fans. This makes us recommend the game to all players looking for an entertaining adventure starring their favorite dinosaur.
  4. Mar 27, 2019
    80
    Yoshi’s Crafted World was a delight to play through, especially thanks to the stunning paper craft scenery. In terms of presentation, this as good as anything Nintendo has produced, which is an incredible accomplishment. Does Crafted World rank as one of the Switch’s best platformers? Not quite. This is a simple collectathon at heart that never really attempts to strive to be anything more. Children and those craving a cutesy cathartic adventure will love this new Yoshi entry, but those looking for a challenge are better off looking elsewhere.
  5. Mar 29, 2019
    80
    Yoshi's Crafted World is another successful main game Switch debut for one of Nintendo's favourite characters and is wonderfully accessible for every kind of gamer. The games adorable art style is a joy to behold, and it's always fun to play with a friend in co-op. It may not be perfect, but it's a lovely little adventure that should be experienced by all fans.
  6. Nintendo Force Magazine
    Aug 28, 2019
    75
    The soundtrack of Yoshi's Crafted World is abysmal. [Issue #39 – May/June 2019, p. 68]
  7. Mar 27, 2019
    60
    It’s charming, it’s sweet, it’s peddling a message of kinship and harmony… but it does it all so dryly...Sorry, Yoshi – you’re a good boy, but you’ve got to learn some new tricks.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 109
  2. Negative: 9 out of 109
  1. Mar 29, 2019
    10
    This game is the logical evolution of this saga. It shows a perfect combination of precious graphics and new interesting game mechanics thatThis game is the logical evolution of this saga. It shows a perfect combination of precious graphics and new interesting game mechanics that provide freshness and multiple varied situations. The soundtrack may be scarce at first, but it perfectly fuses with the gameplay so that you are not aware of the repetition of some themes. This game is the perfect opportunity to experience a relaxed trip through the crafted worlds with one of our favourite characters. Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Game makes a lot of fun! And is my favourite Game for the Nintendo Switch. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2019
    9
    Yoshi's Crafted World is an extremely cute little game that's perfect for playing in small bursts. I downloaded the demo just two days beforeYoshi's Crafted World is an extremely cute little game that's perfect for playing in small bursts. I downloaded the demo just two days before release as I had no idea the game was coming out until that point. But after playing said demo I just had to get it for my Switch. It's certainly not anything that will rock the gaming world or leave the biggest mark on the world but it's an absolute joy to play.

    I don't have the sheer time to devote to games like I did back when Yoshi's Island first came out way on back in the day but this game fits that perfect little spot between other things where I can just sit down and play for a couple minutes finish a level and get back to doing whatever else needs to be done.

    If you want some cute and silly, or you have a younger kid who has a Switch I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2021
    8
    Not all great games are sweat-dripping, knuckle bracing, jaw-dropping thrillers.

    Yoshi's Crafted World, while not the hardest game in the
    Not all great games are sweat-dripping, knuckle bracing, jaw-dropping thrillers.

    Yoshi's Crafted World, while not the hardest game in the world, is the perfect adventure for the casual player.
    A wonderful soundtrack, vivid art style, and a stellar story are the main components in this great addition to the Switches roster.
    The only downfalls are a lack of difficulty for a hardcore player, and some of the levels can feel repetitive at times, while 100 percenting the game is extremely hard, as you are required to get all the sunflowers in every level, which takes extensive amounts of time to find, and some are hidden in the most obscure places.

    Not for everyone, but worth a play.
    Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2019
    8
    Short story - Super cute and fun. While I will say Woolly World was definitely the better of the two Good-Smile games, Crafted World is anShort story - Super cute and fun. While I will say Woolly World was definitely the better of the two Good-Smile games, Crafted World is an absolute delight from beginning to end. The adorable setting that felt like a child's craft project was an absolute delight to play through, with so many interesting sights to see and hidden secrets to find along the way. The game even has a cute and charming story with some funny antics from our baddies, complimenting the super fun boss fights that come with them. The best part of the game are the event levels that don't play like traditional side-scrollers and often have a cool or fun challenge to them. I have a few minor complaints about the reuse of music or the odd two player mode, but they're drops in the bucket of an otherwise fantastic product. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2020
    7
    My son wanted a game and at the time not much has been released so here we are.
    The game has a cute aesthetic and jingles that put a smile on
    My son wanted a game and at the time not much has been released so here we are.
    The game has a cute aesthetic and jingles that put a smile on your face. I like how you can choose which colour Yoshi can go adventuring with.
    The game is very easy. I hardly died and that was due to experimenting instead of the challenge. Due to ease of the game, it does make it a little boring to run through. However, the level variety and varying/unique mechanics on some levels can redeem the some of the boredom.
    The main issue is the repetition of the stages. To get all the flowers in the level you will need to get special items. Instead of giving you a list of the special items in one level in one shot, you will have to get the item, return the item and go through the stage AGAIN to get the next item. Worst part is some items are unfairly hidden and a chore to find.
    Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2019
    0
    I bought this game to play co op. Due to them changing the mechanic so that you can't walk through each other and are constantly jumping ontoI bought this game to play co op. Due to them changing the mechanic so that you can't walk through each other and are constantly jumping onto each other, the game is unplayable in co op. Thus a 0, maybe they will patch it so it works. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.