Super Mario 3D World Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Work together with your friends or compete for the crown in the first multiplayer 3D Mario game for the Wii U console. In the Super Mario 3D World game, players can choose to play as Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach or Toad.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Super Mario 3D World + Bowser's Fury - Official Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Put simply, Super Mario 3D World is stunning. Its world is beautiful, its design is impeccable, and its fun is infectious. I'm running out of superlatives here, so let me finish where I started: Go play it.
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    100
    It really is a fantastic game. That thrill of hitting the top of the flagpole is still there after all these years, Mario and co leap about at the top of their game, it's colourful, friendly, joyful, and the most fun I've had with a platform game since Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    100
    While not as revolutionary as Mario 64 or Galaxy, 3D World manages to feel simultaneously fresh and nostalgic in a way the New Super Mario Bros. series never quite realized.
  4. Games Master UK
    Dec 19, 2013
    92
    It's not a game that'll single-handedly save the Wii U, but it is a typically brilliant, typically Nintendo experience - and one that'll live in the memory long after the final flag pole has disappeared from view. [Jan 2014, p.45]
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    90
    Traditional Mario, who perfects all the possible aspects of the plumbing trade. Indeed, this is not a revolution, but you will be frequently surprised, and you will never be bored in his company.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    90
    While I’d still like to see a proper 3D Mario game on Wii U, 3D World does so much right that it’s hard to bash the formula, especially when it veers off course so often.
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    60
    If you’ve sampled a wider range of platformers, and if you don’t have an inherent predilection for Mario worlds, Super Mario 3D World will proceed like a pleasant enough curiosity. It’s a bit like hearing oldies on a radio station. It’s familiar and safe. Then it’s over and out of your head entirely, leaving you room to discover new and better music.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 473
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    By far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The localBy far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The local multiplayer is an absolute blast anyone can join & leave whenever. Perfect game for families or hanging out with friends. Highly recommended! Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Oh boy, this game is a much more ambitious version of Super Mario 3D Land, does it work?, hell yeah, it's fun, fast, and always presenting youOh boy, this game is a much more ambitious version of Super Mario 3D Land, does it work?, hell yeah, it's fun, fast, and always presenting you with something different, the different gameplay styles with different characters adds a hell of a lot of replayablility to this game, the stamps you can collect in levels and then use in Miiverse posts was a great idea that really does pay off, the music is a thing of sheer wpicness all by itself, but then being pushed further by the best graphics on Wii U yet, I can go on and on, but the message would always be the same, the game RULES! Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the best games I have ever played in YEARS. It starts off with Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach and Toad taking a nice stroll in the Mushroom Kingdom. Suddenley they encounter a broken Clear Warp Pipe, Mario and Luigi in plumber fashion fix up the Pipe and suddenley a green fairy known as the Sprixie pops out and tells Mario and company that Bowser is up to his evil schemes. Bowser suddenly pops out of the pipe, captures the Sprixie and takes her away. Mario and company without hesitation jump into the pipe and follow Bowser. They are taken to a whole new world known as the Sprixie Kingdom where Bowser has captured all the Sprixies in 7 different landscapes all of them with there respective themes. So now Mario and company have TWO objectives: Save the 7 Sprixies and the Sprixie Kingdom. This game is a blast especially in Multiplayer, the fun NEVER ends and it NEVER will, this is a must buy game for the Wii U and a very fun game in general. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    I would to Start off by saying if you don't find a way to play this game you are a Fool. Now let me tell you why I said that. 1st off this isI would to Start off by saying if you don't find a way to play this game you are a Fool. Now let me tell you why I said that. 1st off this is the best game available, and my game of Generation Pick so far. 2nd This has Some of the best content Imaginable. 2nd The Soundtrack to this Game is Epic! Now lets talk about the graphics Which in my honest opinion the best I've seen. Hear me Out. the Art Style is So beautiful. The Levels are so Varied. And With out a Doubt The Water effects and Rain is the Best in gaming. This is also one of the most challenging games i have ever played, the Bonus Content Will test you to know end, But When you Finish a level the Since of Pride you feel is Great. The multiplayer makes this a totally different beast all together. The Replay Value is immense. I'm sure you seen the reviews, both written and Videos. trust me when i say this is A must Play! Thanks for reading this C4platinum Expand
  5. May 12, 2014
    9
    My opinion in short:
    - great multiplayer fun
    - fun new ideas - awesome graphics - replayability because of stamps and stars - stamps for
    My opinion in short:
    - great multiplayer fun
    - fun new ideas
    - awesome graphics
    - replayability because of stamps and stars
    - stamps for Miiverse
    - new items are awesome!
    - soundtrack is superb
    - the different characters are not soooo different from each other in my opinion
    - playtime feels a little short though
    - buy it if you like jnr's or mario!
    Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2021
    9
    Super Mario 3D Worlds
    Fun yet flawed
    Super Mariod #D Worlds originally came to Wii U in 2013 and is now available on the switch in this new
    Super Mario 3D Worlds
    Fun yet flawed
    Super Mariod #D Worlds originally came to Wii U in 2013 and is now available on the switch in this new collection, Here you can play with up to 4 players, you can play as Mario, luigi, princess peach, and toad.. setting out to rescue these faries from bowser…
    Super mario 3D worlds starst out with pure nintendo magic.. this is a 7 hour long, pure platforme meets collectathon.. eacuh of the levels in each world contains 3 stars for you to find… and at least trying to look for them is necessary because of the collectathon aspect, there are road blocks in your way that require a certain amount of stars to proceed.. this can be annoying in some games, but here in 3d orlds the ask is pretty manageable and wont have you banging your head off of a wall trying to move on.. in fact looking for the stars really is the hook of this game.. as the levels here are all super short… youre mostly dodging enemies and obstacles, and collecting upgrades to help you find these stars.. and for the first half of the game I was having a lot of fun.. I couldn’t put the controller down.. the colors, the sounds, the level design.. the star finding.. I was hooked.. unfortunately though 3d worlds doesn’t do enough to consistently feel so amazing… the uniqueness and variety starts to fade the longer the game goes on.. reused assests and even reused boss battles… Super Mario 3d Worlds feels so padded out and full of repeat content.. so you don get that feeling of excitement to see the next world or level im used to for Mario games… youre just hoping, man I sure hope theres no desert or lava here… and this also leads to levels just blending.. ask me what my favorite level was from 3D worlds.. I couldn’t tell you, because its all a blur, and levels standing out really only matter in 2 types of games, racing and platforming… and a las, here we are with a platforming game that has levels youll forget about in a week…
    Thankfully 3D worlds is still fun to play through and see through to end. Even with my omplaints, super Mario 3D worlds proves to be a gret and addictive collectathon that was hard to put down..
    I just wouldv liked to see a little more Nintendo magic and variety in the level design.
    I give Super Mario 3D Worlds
    an 8.5/10
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2016
    0
    no lo recomiendo para nada, un desperdicio total de juego solo para los fans ma sacerrimos de nintendo que le perdonan de todo, incluso que leno lo recomiendo para nada, un desperdicio total de juego solo para los fans ma sacerrimos de nintendo que le perdonan de todo, incluso que le rian en la cara cuanod los estafan. Expand

See all 473 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked

    Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked Image
    Published: October 10, 2017
    We rank every Super Mario game by score from worst to best.
  2. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  3. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.